DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings received on September 25, 2024, are acceptable.
Specification
The specification received on September 25, 2024, is acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US12435793 (“Cao”).
Regarding claim 8, Cao discloses (see figs. 17-19) a control valve, comprising:
a valve body (“2110”) defining an inlet (“2118”, an outlet (“2114”), and a fluid flow path (mainly defined by “2112a”, “2112b”, “2112c” and “2112d”) extending between the inlet and the outlet;
a valve seat (“2116”) disposed in the fluid flow path;
a control element (mainly defined by “2126”);
a valve stem (portion of member “2122” extending through a center bore of thermal buffer “2124”; see fig. 17) coupled to the control element and configured to move the control element between a closed position (see fig. 17), in which the control element sealingly engages the valve seat, and an open position (see fig. 19), in which the control element is spaced from the valve seat;
an extension (“2120”) coupled to the valve body and comprising an extension cavity (cavity delimited by inner surface “2125” of extension “2120”);
a bonnet (“2130” and “2160”) coupled to the extension to close the extension cavity;
an actuator stem (mainly defined by “2143”, “2132” and/or “2133”) movably disposed in the bonnet;
a thermal displacer (thermal buffer “2124”) configured to limit thermal conductivity between process fluid flowing through the fluid flow path and the bonnet; and
a stem connector (“2128”) configured to couple the actuator stem to the valve stem, wherein the stem connector has an outer diameter (radially outer diameter of connector member “2128”) that is less than an outer diameter (radially outer diameter of thermal buffer “2124”) of the thermal displacer but is larger than an outer diameter (radially outer diameter of portion of member “2122” extending through a center bore of thermal buffer “2124”; see fig. 17) of the valve stem such that the stem connector provides a stop that engages an end of the thermal displacer (thermal buffer “2124” abuts connector member “2124”; see fig. 17) to retain the thermal displacer within the extension cavity between the stem connector and the control element.
Regarding claim 9, Cao discloses (see specification col. 12, lines 63-66) the thermal displacer (“2124”) is made of a non-metallic material (“cryogenic temperature resistant material such as PTFE, PCTFE, UHMWPE, TFM™ 1600 PTFE”).
Regarding claim 10, Cao discloses (see specification col. 12, lines 63-66) the thermal displacer (“2124”) is made entirely of PTFE (polytetrafluoroethylene), PCTFE (polychlorotrifluoroethylene), or PEEK (polyether ether ketone) (thermal buffer “2124” is made from “cryogenic temperature resistant material such as PTFE, PCTFE, UHMWPE, TFM™ 1600 PTFE”).
Regarding claim 11, Cao discloses the thermal displacer (“2124”) is clamped to the valve stem (portion of member “2122” extending through a center bore of thermal buffer “2124”; see fig. 17) via the stem connector (“2128”; see fig. 17).
Regarding claim 15, Cao discloses (see figs. 17-19) a control valve, comprising:
a valve body (“2110”) defining an inlet (“2118”), an outlet (“2114”), and a fluid flow path (mainly defined by “2112a”, “2112b”, “2112c” and “2112d”) extending between the inlet and the outlet;
a valve seat (“2116”) disposed in the fluid flow path;
a control element (mainly defined by “2126”);
a valve stem (portion of member “2122” extending through a center bore of thermal buffer “2124”; see fig. 17) coupled to the control element and configured to move the control element between a closed position (see fig. 17), in which the control element sealingly engages the valve seat, and an open position (see fig. 19), in which the control element is spaced from the valve seat;
an extension (“2120”) coupled to the valve body and comprising an extension cavity (cavity delimited by inner surface “2125” of extension “2120”);
a bonnet (“2130” and “2160”) coupled to the extension to close the extension cavity; and
a thermal displacer (thermal buffer “2124”) disposed within the extension cavity and having a cylindrical body (see specification col 12, lines 57-63; see by example thermal buffer “124” in fig. 6C) and a central aperture (see aperture extending through thermal buffer “2124” in fig. 17) that is formed in the cylindrical body and sized to receive the valve stem to couple the thermal displacer to the valve stem (see fig. 17), the thermal displacer configured to limit thermal conductivity between process fluid flowing through the fluid flow path and the bonnet (see specification col. 12, line 63, through col. 13, line 8),
wherein the valve stem extends entirely through the thermal displacer (see fig. 17) and the cylindrical body entirely surrounds a portion of the valve stem extending through the thermal displacer (see fig. 17).
Regarding claim 16, Cao discloses (see specification col. 12, lines 63-66) the thermal displacer (“2124”) is made of a non-metallic material (“cryogenic temperature resistant material such as PTFE, PCTFE, UHMWPE, TFM™ 1600 PTFE”).
Regarding claim 17, Cao discloses a stem connector (“2128”) coupled to the valve stem (portion of member “2122” extending through a center bore of thermal buffer “2124”; see fig. 17), wherein the thermal displacer (“2124”) is retained between the control element (“2126”) and the stem connector (see fig. 17).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 6 and 21 are allowed.
Claims 12-14, 18, 19 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the control valve, wherein the thermal displacer is disposed within the extension cavity, in combination with the remainder limitations of the claim.
Claims 2-4, 6 and 21 are allowable because they depend on allowable base claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the control valve, wherein the extension comprises an extension body, further comprising a clearance gap between an inner surface of the extension body and the thermal displacer, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the control valve, wherein a guide sleeve is coupled to an end of the valve stem and a vapor barrier disposed between the guide sleeve and the thermal displacer, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Regarding claim 14, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the control valve, wherein a sealing element is at least partially disposed between the valve stem connector and the thermal displacer, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Regarding claim 18, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the control valve, wherein the extension comprises an extension body, further comprising a clearance gap between an inner surface of the extension body and the cylindrical body of the thermal displacer, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Regarding claim 19, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the control valve, wherein a guide sleeve is coupled to an end of the valve stem and a vapor barrier disposed between the guide sleeve and the thermal displacer, in combination with the remainder limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 22, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the control valve, wherein one end of the actuator stem is disposed in the stem connector and one end of the valve stem is disposed in the stem connector, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 25, 2026, have been fully considered.
With regards to the objections to the drawings and specification, in light of the cancellation of claims 7 and 20, and amendment of claim 14, since the subject matter at questions is no longer required by the claims, the objections to the drawings and specification are now withdrawn.
With regards to the prior art rejection of claims 1-4, 6 and 21 over Cao, the claim amendments overcome this/these rejection(s) and claims 1-4, 6 and 21 are now allowable.
With regards to the prior art rejection of claims 8 and 15, including dependents thereof, over Cao, the amendments filed August 25, 2026, have overcome the previous rejection; however, claims 8-11 and 15-17 remain rejected under a different embodiment of Cao, see Office action above. Since the new rejection was driven by Applicant’s amendments, the current Office action is made final.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753