DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2024; 04/28/2025; 08/20/2025; 09/03/2025; 01/30/2026; 04/22/2026; and 08/03/2026 have been fully considered by examiner and made of record..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 20 and 21 recite the limitation “disabling a capability to access networks using the NAS protocol” however the claim limitations are entirely silent as to what the scope of “disabling a capability” means. Is all access through the NAS protocol being disabled, is only a particular mode being disabled, is the NAS protocol used to perform the disabling or is it what is disabled? This confusion amounts to a gap in the claim thereby rendering the limitations indefinite.
Claims 2-5 and 7-18 are rejected for the same reasons by virtue of their dependency on Claim 1 and failure to cure the deficiency, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 17-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koshta et al (US 2022/0312307).
1. A user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3, UE 302) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform operations ([0081-0085]), the operations comprising:
transmitting, a first message to a network node, the first message including a request for access to a first network according to a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol ([0055], requested S-NSSAIs by UE 302, Fig. 3 step 1. Registration Request (requesting S-NSSAIs));
receiving, a second message from the network node, the second message including an indication of no network slice being available to service access to the first network requested by the user equipment ([0055], UE 302 is indicated in CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND that all requested S-NSSAIs are rejected with cause—“S-NSSAI not available due to the failed or revoked network slice-specific authentication and authorization.” As described above, UE 302 would not be able to activate any service on N1 mode until NSSAA is successful for any one of the rejected S-NSSAIs. Besides gNB, eNB are not aware of the NSSAA failure results hence they will allow re-selection to NR cells. Resulting in UE camping moving to DEREGISTERED state. Thus, UE enters DEREGISTERED state and remains camped on N1 mode);
disabling, a capability to access networks using the NAS protocol based upon the receiving the second message ([0056], FIG. 3 explains that UE 302 would deactivate 304 N1 mode capability and behaves as per 3GPP TS 24.501 section 4.9 so as to search for PLMNs in LTE, UMTS, GSM, and non-3GPP having EPC core support. (The non-3GPP having EPC core support handling is not mentioned in section 4.9 for generic handling of disabling of N1 mode capabilities say REG ATTEMPT counter reaches max count, but for completeness is contemplated in the present disclosure.) UE 302 disables N1 mode capabilities such that MME 306 can select the appropriate PGW based on this information as indicated in 23.502 section 4.11.0a.4—PGW selection in LTE for PDN session(s)—MME 306 selects PGW-C+SMF or a standalone PGW-C based on this information);
storing, an identity of the first network; and after storing, exploiting the stored identity of the first network, during a network selection process ([0058], Because N1 mode is deactivated, UE 302 need not search 5G RAT for the same PLMN, and UE will not perform needless NR RAT cell measurements. Also, UE will not reselect to NR cells or report NR cells during handover. These changes result in saving UE battery and getting early service on suitable PLMN and RAT. Conversely, by not deactivating N1 mode, then when a UE camps on LTE, eRRC may initiate re-selection to NR. This can cause ping pongs LTE and N1. The results is that the UE remains on N1 mode with no service. Hence, it is beneficial to UE that N1 mode capabilities are disabled in this scenario (avoiding same PLMN indicates knowing identity)).
2. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the first message is a registration request message ([0055], requested S-NSSAIs by UE 302, Fig. 3 step 1. Registration Request (requesting S-NSSAIs)).
3. The user equipment of claim 2, wherein the registration request message includes a request for one or more single-network slice selection assistance informations (S-NSSAIs) ([0055], requested S-NSSAIs by UE 302, Fig. 3 step 1. Registration Request (requesting S-NSSAIs)).
4. The user equipment of claim 3, wherein the second message is a registration reject message ([0067], UE receives Registration Reject with #62 “No network slices available” with each of the requested S-NSSAI cause relating to—“S-NSSAI not available in the current PLMN or SNPN” or “S-NSSAI not available due to the failed or revoked network slice-specific authentication and authorization” for all requested S-NSSAIs).
5. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the indication of no network slice being available is a 5G system mobility management (5GMM) cause value #62 “no network slices available” indication ([0067], UE receives Registration Reject with #62 “No network slices available” with each of the requested S-NSSAI cause relating to—“S-NSSAI not available in the current PLMN or SNPN” or “S-NSSAI not available due to the failed or revoked network slice-specific authentication and authorization” for all requested S-NSSAIs).
6. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the disabling the capability to access networks using the NAS protocol includes disabling an N1 mode capability ([0056], FIG. 3 explains that UE 302 would deactivate 304 N1 mode capability and behaves as per 3GPP TS 24.501 section 4.9 so as to search for PLMNs in LTE, UMTS, GSM, and non-3GPP having EPC core support. (The non-3GPP having EPC core support handling is not mentioned in section 4.9 for generic handling of disabling of N1 mode capabilities say REG ATTEMPT counter reaches max count, but for completeness is contemplated in the present disclosure.) UE 302 disables N1 mode capabilities such that MME 306 can select the appropriate PGW based on this information as indicated in 23.502 section 4.11.0a.4—PGW selection in LTE for PDN session(s)—MME 306 selects PGW-C+SMF or a standalone PGW-C based on this information).
7. The user equipment of claim 1, the operations further comprising discarding the first network during the network selection process ([0058], Because N1 mode is deactivated, UE 302 need not search 5G RAT for the same PLMN, and UE will not perform needless NR RAT cell measurements. Also, UE will not reselect to NR cells or report NR cells during handover. These changes result in saving UE battery and getting early service on suitable PLMN and RAT. Conversely, by not deactivating N1 mode, then when a UE camps on LTE, eRRC may initiate re-selection to NR. This can cause ping pongs LTE and N1. The results is that the UE remains on N1 mode with no service. Hence, it is beneficial to UE that N1 mode capabilities are disabled in this scenario (avoiding same PLMN indicates knowing identity)).
8. The user equipment of claim 1, the operations further comprising deleting the stored identity of the first network based upon an occurrence of a first event ([0075], UE 702 deletes the rejected S-NSSAIs for the camped PLMN and attempts initial Registration Request procedure using the requested S-NSSAIs derived from configured NSSAI or from the default configured NSSAI).
9. The user equipment of claim 8, wherein the first event comprises an expiration of a timer ([0078], On the timer expiry).
10. The user equipment of claim 9, wherein the user equipment starts the timer after disabling the capability to access networks using the NAS protocol ([0077], for the case that UE 702 remains camped on the same 5G PLMN in DEREGISTERED state, a timer is started in UE 702 (T3502 or a UE implementation specific timer). The timer value of this can be same as T3502 given by the network (if it is less than 1 hour duration) then it must be at least 1 hour or more. Alternatively, this timer can be provided by the slice server and indicated by AMF 712 in the Configuration Update Command while providing the rejected S-NSSAI list with cause—“S-NSSAI not available due to the failed or revoked network slice-specific authentication and authorization).
11. The user equipment of claim 8, wherein the first event comprises receiving, by the user equipment, a third message from the network node ([0079], If AMF 712 was indicated a change in slice specific authentication and authorization parameters earlier by UDM 706 or AAA-S 714, then AMF 712 will initiate the NSSAA procedure again with AAA-S 714, or else it will send the REGISTRATION ACCEPT with the same rejected S-NSSAI list and cause (implying there is no change in the authentication credentials for UE 702). UE 702 can either return to the same PLMN-RAT combination if REGISTRATION ACCEPT is received with all requested S-NSSAIs are rejected with NSSAA failure and continue receiving the service and re-start the proposed timer. The timer based approach to this problem will ensure that UE 702 keeps re-checking with network periodically if the slice is accessible to it now after its authentication credentials are enabled).
12. The user equipment of claim 11, wherein the third message includes an indication that registration with the first network is available for access by the user equipment ([0079], If AMF 712 was indicated a change in slice specific authentication and authorization parameters earlier by UDM 706 or AAA-S 714, then AMF 712 will initiate the NSSAA procedure again with AAA-S 714, or else it will send the REGISTRATION ACCEPT with the same rejected S-NSSAI list and cause (implying there is no change in the authentication credentials for UE 702). UE 702 can either return to the same PLMN-RAT combination if REGISTRATION ACCEPT is received with all requested S-NSSAIs are rejected with NSSAA failure and continue receiving the service and re-start the proposed timer. The timer based approach to this problem will ensure that UE 702 keeps re-checking with network periodically if the slice is accessible to it now after its authentication credentials are enabled).
13. The user equipment of claim 12, wherein the third message includes an indication that a network slicing subscription is changed ([0079], If AMF 712 was indicated a change in slice specific authentication and authorization parameters earlier by UDM 706 or AAA-S 714, then AMF 712 will initiate the NSSAA procedure again with AAA-S 714, or else it will send the REGISTRATION ACCEPT with the same rejected S-NSSAI list and cause (implying there is no change in the authentication credentials for UE 702). UE 702 can either return to the same PLMN-RAT combination if REGISTRATION ACCEPT is received with all requested S-NSSAIs are rejected with NSSAA failure and continue receiving the service and re-start the proposed timer. The timer based approach to this problem will ensure that UE 702 keeps re-checking with network periodically if the slice is accessible to it now after its authentication credentials are enabled).
14. The user equipment of claim 8, wherein the first event comprises the user equipment being switched off ([0064], A UE may not be able to activate a rejected slice until UE performs power cycle).
17. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the identity that was stored is associated with an entry of a list of subscriber data ([0077], Alternatively, this timer can be provided by the slice server and indicated by AMF 712 in the Configuration Update Command while providing the rejected S-NSSAI list with cause—“S-NSSAI not available due to the failed or revoked network slice-specific authentication and authorization.” [0079], AMF 712 will initiate the NSSAA procedure again with AAA-S 714, or else it will send the REGISTRATION ACCEPT with the same rejected S-NSSAI list and cause (implying there is no change in the authentication credentials for UE 702)).
18. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the network node comprises an access and mobility function (AMF) ([0077], AMF).
20. A processor-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by at least one processor of user equipment ([0081-0085]), cause the user equipment (Fig. 3, UE 302) at least to perform:
transmitting a first message to a network node, the first message including a request for access to a first network according to a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol ([0055], requested S-NSSAIs by UE 302, Fig. 3 step 1. Registration Request (requesting S-NSSAIs));
receiving a second message from the network node, the second message including an indication of no network slice being available to service access to the first network requested by the user equipment ([0055], UE 302 is indicated in CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND that all requested S-NSSAIs are rejected with cause—“S-NSSAI not available due to the failed or revoked network slice-specific authentication and authorization.” As described above, UE 302 would not be able to activate any service on N1 mode until NSSAA is successful for any one of the rejected S-NSSAIs. Besides gNB, eNB are not aware of the NSSAA failure results hence they will allow re-selection to NR cells. Resulting in UE camping moving to DEREGISTERED state. Thus, UE enters DEREGISTERED state and remains camped on N1 mode);
disabling a capability to access networks using the NAS protocol based upon the receiving the second message ([0056], FIG. 3 explains that UE 302 would deactivate 304 N1 mode capability and behaves as per 3GPP TS 24.501 section 4.9 so as to search for PLMNs in LTE, UMTS, GSM, and non-3GPP having EPC core support. (The non-3GPP having EPC core support handling is not mentioned in section 4.9 for generic handling of disabling of N1 mode capabilities say REG ATTEMPT counter reaches max count, but for completeness is contemplated in the present disclosure.) UE 302 disables N1 mode capabilities such that MME 306 can select the appropriate PGW based on this information as indicated in 23.502 section 4.11.0a.4—PGW selection in LTE for PDN session(s)—MME 306 selects PGW-C+SMF or a standalone PGW-C based on this information);
storing an identity of the first network; and after storing, exploiting the stored identity of the first network during a network selection process ([0058], Because N1 mode is deactivated, UE 302 need not search 5G RAT for the same PLMN, and UE will not perform needless NR RAT cell measurements. Also, UE will not reselect to NR cells or report NR cells during handover. These changes result in saving UE battery and getting early service on suitable PLMN and RAT. Conversely, by not deactivating N1 mode, then when a UE camps on LTE, eRRC may initiate re-selection to NR. This can cause ping pongs LTE and N1. The results is that the UE remains on N1 mode with no service. Hence, it is beneficial to UE that N1 mode capabilities are disabled in this scenario (avoiding same PLMN indicates knowing identity)).
21. A method (Fig. 3, UE 302) comprising: transmitting, by a user equipment (UE), a first message to a network node, the first message including a request for access to a first network according to a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol ([0055], requested S-NSSAIs by UE 302, Fig. 3 step 1. Registration Request (requesting S-NSSAIs));
receiving, by the UE, a second message from the network node, the second message including an indication of no network slice being available to service access to the first network requested by the UE ([0055], UE 302 is indicated in CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND that all requested S-NSSAIs are rejected with cause—“S-NSSAI not available due to the failed or revoked network slice-specific authentication and authorization.” As described above, UE 302 would not be able to activate any service on N1 mode until NSSAA is successful for any one of the rejected S-NSSAIs. Besides gNB, eNB are not aware of the NSSAA failure results hence they will allow re-selection to NR cells. Resulting in UE camping moving to DEREGISTERED state. Thus, UE enters DEREGISTERED state and remains camped on N1 mode);
disabling, by the UE, a capability to access networks using the NAS protocol based upon the receiving the second message ([0056], FIG. 3 explains that UE 302 would deactivate 304 N1 mode capability and behaves as per 3GPP TS 24.501 section 4.9 so as to search for PLMNs in LTE, UMTS, GSM, and non-3GPP having EPC core support. (The non-3GPP having EPC core support handling is not mentioned in section 4.9 for generic handling of disabling of N1 mode capabilities say REG ATTEMPT counter reaches max count, but for completeness is contemplated in the present disclosure.) UE 302 disables N1 mode capabilities such that MME 306 can select the appropriate PGW based on this information as indicated in 23.502 section 4.11.0a.4—PGW selection in LTE for PDN session(s)—MME 306 selects PGW-C+SMF or a standalone PGW-C based on this information);
storing, by the UE, an identity of the first network; and after storing, exploiting the stored identity of the first network, by the UE, during a network selection process ([0058], Because N1 mode is deactivated, UE 302 need not search 5G RAT for the same PLMN, and UE will not perform needless NR RAT cell measurements. Also, UE will not reselect to NR cells or report NR cells during handover. These changes result in saving UE battery and getting early service on suitable PLMN and RAT. Conversely, by not deactivating N1 mode, then when a UE camps on LTE, eRRC may initiate re-selection to NR. This can cause ping pongs LTE and N1. The results is that the UE remains on N1 mode with no service. Hence, it is beneficial to UE that N1 mode capabilities are disabled in this scenario (avoiding same PLMN indicates knowing identity)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshta et al (US 2022/0312307) in view of "Cause #62 handling in case of "S-NSSAI not available in the current registration area"", 3GPP TSG-CT WG1 Meeting #137-e, C1-225423, Apple, August 18-26, 2022, 40 pages (hereinafter “Apple”).
Regarding Claim 15, Koshta teaches all aspects of the user equipment of claim 8, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Apple teaches wherein the first event comprises removal of a universal subscriber identity module from the user equipment (sec. 5.5.1.2.5 #6 pg. 5 teaches In case of PLMN, the UE shall consider the USIM as invalid for 5GS services until switching off, the UICC containing the USIM is removed or the timer T3245 expires).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate triggering actions based on events, such as SIM removal or subscriber modification, as taught in Apple, in the system of Koshta, in order to prevent unnecessary connection attempts until the subscription information is valid.
Regarding Claim 16, Koshta teaches all aspects of the user equipment of claim 8, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Apple teaches wherein the first event comprises a modification in a list of subscriber data (sec. 5.5.1.2.5. #6 pg. 5, If the UE is not performing initial registration for onboarding services in SNPN and the UE shall delete the list of the equivalent PLMNs and enter the state 5GMM-DEREGISTERED).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate triggering actions based on events, such as SIM removal or subscriber modification, as taught in Apple, in the system of Koshta, in order to prevent unnecessary connection attempts until the subscription information is valid.
Conclusion
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641