DETAILED ACTION
Claims 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 21, 24, 25, 27, 28, 30 have been canceled. Claims 31-34 have been added. Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13, 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 26, 29, 31-34 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Enablement
Claims 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 26, 29, 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for administering a composition comprising a replication defective HSV1 particle comprising a genome comprising a nucleotide encoding collagen to a subject, does not reasonably provide enablement for obtaining a therapeutic effect against any “dermatological signs of aging”, doing so in any subject other than mammals, doing so via any route of administration, or an HSV encoding collagen and fibronectin, elastin, lumican, vitronectin, vitronectin receptor, laminin, neuromodulator, or fibrillin (claims 31, 32). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make/use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The specification does not enable administering HSV encoding collagen to any subject such that a therapeutic effect against any “dermatological signs of aging” is obtained, doing so in any subject other than mammals, or doing so via any route of administration.
Claim 16 is drawn to diminishing a dermatological sign of aging using a composition comprising: (a) a herpes virus comprising a recombinant herpes virus genome, wherein the recombinant herpes virus genome comprises a collagen protein; and (b) an excipient.
The claim encompasses any herpes virus including HSV1, HSV2, VZV, EBV, HCMV, HHV-6A, HHV-6B, HHV-7, HHV-8….
It appears the claim is attempting to say the virus encodes a collagen protein but does not encode collagen alpha-1 (VII) chain (COL7).
The claim encompasses obtaining any therapeutic effect against any “dermatological signs of aging”, doing so in any subject including insects, fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals, or doing so via any route of administration including intramuscular, intravitreally, orally, etc. (claim 19).
The claim encompasses any therapeutic effect including “treatment, reduction, and/or prevention of fine lines and/or wrinkles; (b) reduction of skin pore size; (c) improvement in skin thickness, plumpness, and/or tautness; (d) improvement in skin smoothness, suppleness, and/or softness; (e) improvement in skin tone, radiance, and/or clarity; (f) improvement in procollagen and/or collagen production; (g) improvement in skin texture and or promotion of retexturization; (h) improvement in appearance of skin contours; (i) restoration of skin luster and/or brightness; (j) improvement of skin appearance decreased by aging and/or menopause; (k) improvement in skin moisturization; (1) increase in skin elasticity and/or resiliency; (m) treatment, reduction, and/or prevention or skin sagging; (n) improvement in skin firmness; (o) reduction of pigment spots, mottled skin, and/or scars; (p) improvement of optical properties of skin by light diffraction or reflection; or (q) any combinations thereof” (claim 33).
The specification does not correlate performing the method in a mammal to any insects, fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals, or doing so via any route of administration including intramuscular, intravitreally, orally, etc. (claim 19). The specification does not teach obtaining any therapeutic in skin effect via any route of administration as broadly encompassed by claim 16. The specification does not teach obtaining any therapeutic effect listed in claim 33. The specification does not teach any HSV encoding collagen and fibronectin, elastin, lumican, vitronectin, vitronectin receptor, laminin, neuromodulator, or fibrillin (claims 31, 32) or how to use such a vector in the treatment of skin.
Given the lack of guidance in the specification taken with the art at the time of filing, it would have required those of skill undue experimentation to determine how to perform the method of claim 16, to arrive at the products in claims 31 and 32, or to use the product in claims 31 and used in the method of claim 32.
Written Description
Claims 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 26, 29, 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification lacks written description for administering HSV encoding collagen to any subject such that a therapeutic effect against any “dermatological signs of aging” is obtained, doing so in any subject other than mammals, or doing so via any route of administration.
Claim 16 is drawn to diminishing a dermatological sign of aging using a composition comprising: (a) a herpes virus comprising a recombinant herpes virus genome, wherein the recombinant herpes virus genome comprises a collagen protein; and (b) an excipient.
The claim encompasses any herpes virus including HSV1, HSV2, VZV, EBV, HCMV, HHV-6A, HHV-6B, HHV-7, HHV-8….
It appears the claim is attempting to say the virus encodes a collagen protein but does not encode collagen alpha-1 (VII) chain (COL7).
The claim encompasses obtaining any therapeutic effect against any “dermatological signs of aging”, doing so in any subject including insects, fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals, or doing so via any route of administration including intramuscular, intravitreally, orally, etc. (claim 19).
The claim encompasses any therapeutic effect including “treatment, reduction, and/or prevention of fine lines and/or wrinkles; (b) reduction of skin pore size; (c) improvement in skin thickness, plumpness, and/or tautness; (d) improvement in skin smoothness, suppleness, and/or softness; (e) improvement in skin tone, radiance, and/or clarity; (f) improvement in procollagen and/or collagen production; (g) improvement in skin texture and or promotion of retexturization; (h) improvement in appearance of skin contours; (i) restoration of skin luster and/or brightness; (j) improvement of skin appearance decreased by aging and/or menopause; (k) improvement in skin moisturization; (1) increase in skin elasticity and/or resiliency; (m) treatment, reduction, and/or prevention or skin sagging; (n) improvement in skin firmness; (o) reduction of pigment spots, mottled skin, and/or scars; (p) improvement of optical properties of skin by light diffraction or reflection; or (q) any combinations thereof” (claim 33).
The specification does not correlate performing the method in a mammal to any insects, fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals, or doing so via any route of administration including intramuscular, intravitreally, orally, etc. (claim 19). The specification does not teach obtaining any therapeutic in skin effect via any route of administration as broadly encompassed by claim 16. The specification does not teach obtaining any therapeutic effect listed in claim 33.
Accordingly, the specification lacks written description for the method of claim 16.
The specification lacks written description for an HSV encoding collagen and fibronectin, elastin, lumican, vitronectin, vitronectin receptor, laminin, neuromodulator, or fibrillin (claim 31) or how to use such a vector in the treatment of skin (claim 32). The specification does not teach any HSV encoding collagen and fibronectin, elastin, lumican, vitronectin, vitronectin receptor, laminin, neuromodulator, or fibrillin or how to use such a vector in the treatment of skin. Accordingly, the specification lacks written description for the product in claim 31 or using it to treat skin as required in claim 32.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13, 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 26, 29, 31-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,122. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both encompass HSV encoding collagen. The inactivated ICP4 in the claims of ‘122 is optional in the instant application (claim 23).
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13, 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 26, 29, 31-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 10,786,438. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both encompass HSV encoding collagen. The inactivated ICP4 in the claims of ‘438 is optional in the instant application (claim 23).
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13, 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 26, 29, 31-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,155,016. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both encompass HSV encoding collagen. The inactivated ICP4 in the claims of ‘016 is optional in the instant application (claim 23).
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13, 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 26, 29, 31-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-36 of U.S. Patent No. 9,877,990. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both encompass HSV encoding collagen. The inactivated ICP4 in the claims of ‘990 is optional in the instant application (claim 23).
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13, 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 26, 29, 31-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,185,564 in view of Krishnan (201702900866). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both encompass HSV encoding collagen. The inactivated ICP4 in the claims of ‘438 is optional in the instant application (claim 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13, 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 26, 29, 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan (20170290866) in view of 20060172416; 20200375868; 2024067926; CA2151547.
Krishnan taught an HSV particle with a genome encoding COL7 combined with an excipient. Krishnan did not teach the genome encoded a collagen other than COL7 as required in claim 1.
However, vectors encoding non-COL7 collagen were well-known in the art as described by 20060172416 - retrovirus encoding COL1A2 (para 41); 20200375868 - AAV encoding COL3 (para 104); 2024067926 - retrovirus encoding COL7 (claim 1); CA2151547 – plasmid encoding COL2 (Fig. 11-14).
Thus, it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace COL7 with any other collagen to express any other collagen in vitro. Those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to replace COL7 with COL1, COL2, COL3,… to investigate the role of collagens in tissue maintenance in vitro. Those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to use HSV particle rather than a retrovirus for protein expression because HSV was well-known to provide superior genetic carrying capacity, non-integrating episomal safety, and the ability to infect both dividing and non-dividing cells, notably excelling in neuronal tissue.
Krishnan taught the HSV was replication defective as in claim 2.
Krishnan taught the HSV was HSV1 as in claim 3.
Krishnan taught the HSV was had an inactivated ICP4 gene as in claim 4.
The secondary references taught COL1, COL2, COL3 as required in claim 7.
Krishnan taught the HSV also encoded a selection marker as encompassed by claim 10.
The HSV of Krishnan was in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier which is “suitable for intradermal or superficial injection” as required in claim 13.
Krishnan taught using a vector encoding collagen to improve skin which is equivalent to claim 16.
Krishnan taught the subject was human as required in claim 18.
Krishnan taught the route of administration was topical, subcutaneous, intradermal as required in claim 19.
Krishnan taught the route of administration was intradermal as required in claim 20.
Krishnan taught the HSV was HSV1 as in claim 22.
Krishnan taught the HSV was had an inactivated ICP4 gene as in claim 23.
The secondary references taught COL1, COL2, COL3 as required in claim 26.
Krishnan taught the HSV also encoded a selection marker as encompassed by claim 29.
Thus, Applicants' claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 13, 16, 18, 19, 20, 22, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolattukudy (20140341877) in view of 20060172416; 20200375868; 2024067926; CA2151547.
Kolattukudy taught using HSV1 comprising a protein of interest (para 63). Kolattukudy did not teach using non-COL7 collagen as the protein.
However, expressing non-COL7 collagen using vectors was well-known: 20060172416 - retrovirus encoding COL1A2 (para 41); 20200375868 - AAV encoding COL3 (para 104); 2024067926 - retrovirus encoding COL7 (claim 1); CA2151547 - plasmid encoding COL2 (Fig. 11-14).
Thus, it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to express a protein of interest using HSV1 described by Kolattukudy using non-COL7 collagen as the protein described by 20060172416; 20200375868; 2024067926; CA2151547. Those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to express a non-COL7 collagen instead of the proteins contemplated by Kolattukudy to investigate the role of non-COL7 collagen in human tissue in vitro.
Kolattukudy used HSV1 (para 63) as required in claim 3.
20060172416; 20200375868; 2024067926; CA2151547 taught some of the collagens listed in claim 7.
The HSV is suitable for injection as required in claim 13 because it is in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (para 63).
Kolattukudy used HSV1 to treat skin disorders (claim 1; title) as required in claim 16.
Kolattukudy taught the subject was human (para 9, 14) as required in claim 18.
Kolattukudy taught intradermal and other routes of administration as encompassed by claim 19 and 20 (para 17, 49, 53, 56).
Kolattukudy used HSV1 (para 63) as required in claim 22.
20060172416; 20200375868; 2024067926; CA2151547 taught some of the collagens listed in claim 26.
Thus, Applicants' claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 26, 29, 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolattukudy (20140341877) in view of Krishnan (20170290866).
Kolattukudy taught using HSV1 comprising a protein of interest to improve skin (para 63; claim 1). Kolattukudy did not teach using COL7 collagen as the protein as encompassed by claim 16.
However, Krishnan taught an HSV particle with a genome encoding COL7 combined with an excipient for treating skin wounds.
Thus, it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to express a protein of interest using HSV1 described by Kolattukudy using COL7 as the protein described by Krishnan. Those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to express COL7 instead of the proteins contemplated by Kolattukudy for healing wounds in human tissue as taught by Krishnan.
Krishnan taught the subject was human as required in claim 18.
Krishnan taught the route of administration was topical, subcutaneous, intradermal as required in claim 19.
Krishnan taught the route of administration was intradermal as required in claim 20.
Krishnan taught the HSV was HSV1 as in claim 22.
Krishnan taught the HSV was had an inactivated ICP4 gene as in claim 23.
The secondary references taught COL1, COL2, COL3 as required in claim 26.
Krishnan taught the HSV also encoded a selection marker as encompassed by claim 29.
Thus, Applicants' claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael C. Wilson who can normally be reached at the office on Monday through Friday from 9:30 am to 6:00 pm at 571-272-0738.
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
The official fax number for this Group is (571) 273-8300.
Michael C. Wilson
/MICHAEL C WILSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638