DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
In claim 1, “each comprises a first end and a second end” is not the proper form for introducing elements in US practice.
In claim 1, “the first end of the first support member”, “the first end of the send support member”, “the second end of the first support member”, and “the second end of the second support member” all lack antecedent basis.
In claim 7, “the first end and the second end of each support member” and “the support member” lack antecedent basis.
In claim 8, “the support member” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 9 “each support member” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 10 “the support member” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 12 “each support member” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 13, “each comprises a first end and a second end” is not the proper form for introducing elements in US practice.
In claim 13, “the first end of the first support member”, “the first end of the send support member”, “the second end of the first support member”, and “the second end of the second support member” all lack antecedent basis.
In claim 18, “each comprises a first end and a second end” is not the proper form for introducing elements in US practice.
In claim 18, “the first end of the first support member”, “the first end of the send support member”, “the second end of the first support member”, and “the second end of the second support member” all lack antecedent basis.
The direct machine translation of a foreign application into English has made the claims unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. CN 109987366 A (translation attached).
Zhao discloses a warehousing shelving unit, having:
(Re claim 1) “at least one storage layer and at least one temporary storage layer” (420, 113 figure 2, para 0030, 0033). “the storage layer having at least one storage location for storage of goods, and the temporary storage layer having at least one temporary storage location for temporary
storage of goods” (420, 113 figure 2, para 0030, 0033). “wherein the temporary storage location is defined by a first support member and a second support member, a moving area for a first robot to walk is arranged below the temporary storage location” (111 figure 2,4). “the first support member and the second support member each comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, a first opening is formed between the first end of the first support member and the first end of the second support member, and a second opening is formed between the second end of the first support member and the second end of the second support member” (111 figure 2,4).
(Re claim 2) “a support frame and at least one support structure wherein the support structures are arranged on the support frame at intervals in a height direction of the support frame, an upper area of the support structure forms the storage layer, and the storage location is located on the support structure; and wherein the first support member and the second support member are connected to one of the support structures and are located below the support structure” (110, 111 figure 4).
(Re claim 3) “the first support member and the second support member are connected to the support structure located at a lowest layer” (111 figure 2).
(Re claim 4) “the first support member and the second support member are spaced apart to form a first channel for a first robot to pass through between the first support member and the second support member, and the first channel and the moving area at least partially overlap” (111,112 figure 2).
(Re claim 5) “in a width direction of the support frame, the support frame has a first end surface and a second end surface opposite to each other; and the first support member and the second support member form a support assembly, a second channel is defined between the support assembly and the first end surface and/or a second channel is defined between the support assembly and the second end surface, and the second channel is configured for the first robot to walk” (111 figures 2-4).
(Re claim 6) “a third channel is arranged below the temporary storage layer, the third channel is configured for the first robot to walk when being unloaded, and the third channel and the moving area at least partially overlap” (111 figures 2-4) various channels are defined by the support members and the areas underneath them.
(Re claim 7) “the first end and the second end of each support member are both connected to the support structure located above the support member through a connecting member” (110 ,111 figure 4).
(Re claim 8) “an end of the connecting member facing away from the support member is fixedly connected to a surface of the support structure facing the support member; or wherein an end of the connecting member facing away from the support structure is fixedly connected to an upper surface of the support member, so as to hoist the support member on the support structure” (110, 111 figure 4). The first and second support members are connected by a vertical member to the horizontal members above.
(Re claim 12) “each support member comprises two support blocks arranged at intervals, each of the support blocks is connected to a support structure located above the support block through a connecting member, and a third opening is formed between adjacent support blocks” (111 figure 4a,c).
Zhou discloses a method for controlling a robot, applicable to a warehousing system, wherein the warehousing system comprises at least one warehousing shelving unit, the warehousing shelving unit comprises:
(Re claim 13) “at least one storage layer and at least one temporary storage layer, the storage layer having at least one storage location for storage of goods, and the temporary storage layer
having at least one temporary storage location for temporary storage of goods” (420, 113 figure 2). “wherein the temporary storage location is defined by a first support member and a second support
member” (111 figures 2-4). “a moving area for a first robot to walk is arranged below the temporary storage location” (112 figure 2). “the first support member and the second support member each comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, a first opening is formed between the first end of the first support member and the first end of the second support member, and a second opening is formed between the second end of the first support member and the second end of the second support member” (111 figures 2-4). “wherein the method comprises: determining a target temporary storage location” (para 0069). “controlling a first robot to take out goods from the target temporary storage location and then move away from the target temporary storage location through a first opening or a second opening when the first robot currently performs a task of taking goods” (para 0069). “controlling the first robot to reach the target temporary storage location through the first opening or the second opening to perform a task of placing goods when the first robot currently
performs the task of placing goods” (para 0061).
(Re claim 14) “controlling the first robot to walk based on one of the following driving routes when the first robot is in a loaded state or an unloaded state: a: reaching the target temporary storage location though a robot channel on a first side” (para 0069). “b: reaching the target temporary storage location though a robot channel on a second side” (para 0061). “c: leaving the target temporary storage location, and then reaching a target location through the robot channel on the first side” (para 0069). “d: leaving the target temporary storage location, and then reaching the target location through the
robot channel on the second side” (para 0061). “wherein the robot channel is located between the warehousing shelving units or between the warehousing shelving unit and a public area, and the first side and the second side are located on two sides of the warehousing shelving unit respectively” (112 figure 3,8).
(Re claim 15) “the warehousing shelving unit comprises a support frame and at least one support structure” (110 figure 4). “wherein the support structures are arranged on the support frame at intervals in a height direction of the support frame, an upper area of the support structure forms the storage layer, and the storage location is located on the support structure” (100,110 figure 2). “wherein the first support member and the second support member are connected to one of the support structures and are located below the support structure” (111,114 figures 2-4). “wherein in a width direction of the support frame, the support frame has a first end surface and a second end surface opposite to each other; and the first support member and the second support member form a support assembly, a second channel is defined between the support assembly and the first end surface, and/or a second channel is defined between the support assembly and the second end surface, and the second
channel is configured for the first robot to walk” (111 figure 4). “wherein if the first robot is in a loaded state or an unloaded state, the driving route further comprises: e: reaching the target temporary storage location through the second channel; and f: leaving the target temporary storage location, and then reaching the target location through the second channel” (112 figures 2, 8-10).
(Re claim 16) “a third channel is arranged below the temporary storage layer, the third channel is configured for the first robot to walk when being unloaded, and the third channel and the moving area at least partially overlap” (112 figures 2, 8-10). “wherein if the first robot is in a loaded state, the driving route further comprises: g: reaching the target temporary storage location through the third channel; and h: leaving the target temporary storage location, and then reaching the target location through the third channel” (112 figures 2, 8-10, para 0061, 0069)
(Re claim 17) “the first support member and the second support member are spaced apart to form a first channel for a first robot to pass through between the first support member and the second support member, and the first channel and the moving area at least partially overlap” (112 figures 2, 8-10). “wherein first channels of a plurality of warehousing shelving units are arranged correspondingly, the first channels corresponding to the plurality of warehousing shelving units form a connected
channel” (112 figures 2, 8-10). “the driving route further comprises: i: reaching the target temporary storage location through the first channel of an adjacent warehousing shelving unit and a robot channel of the warehousing shelving unit where the target temporary storage location is located” (112 figures 2, 8-10 para 0061). “j: leaving the target temporary storage location, and then reaching the target location through the first channel of a current warehousing shelving unit, the robot channel of the current warehousing shelving unit, and the first channel of the adjacent warehousing shelving unit” (112 figures 2, 8-10 para 0061).
Zhou discloses a warehousing system, comprising:
(Re claim 18) “the plurality of warehousing shelving units, wherein each of the plurality of warehousing shelving units comprises at least one storage layer and at least one temporary storage layer, the storage layer has at least one storage location for storage of goods, and the temporary storage layer has at least one temporary storage location for temporary storage of goods” (420, 113 figure 2). “wherein the temporary storage location is defined by a first support member and a second support
member” (111 figures 2-4). “a moving area for a first robot to walk is arranged below the temporary storage location” (112 figures 2-4). “the first support member and the second support member each comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, a first opening is formed between the first end of the first support member and the first end of the second support member, and a second opening is formed between the second end of the first support member and the second end of the second support member” (111 figures 2-4).
(Re claim 19) “a robot channel located between adjacent warehousing shelving units or between the warehousing shelving unit and a public area; wherein the robot channel is configured for a first robot and a second robot to pass through, and the second robot is configured to transport goods between a storage location and a temporary storage location” (112 figures 2, 8-10).
(Re claim 20) “first support member and the second support member are spaced apart to form a first channel for a first robot to pass through between the first support member and the second support member, and the first channel and the moving area at least partially overlap” (111,112 figures 2-4, 8-10). “wherein the first channels of the plurality of warehousing shelving units are arranged correspondingly, and the first channels corresponding to the plurality of warehousing shelving units form a connected channel” (112 figures 2, 8-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Lin US 5,116,182.
Zhou discloses the system as rejected above.
(Re claim 9) Zhou does not disclose that in a width direction of the support frame, each support member has a first side surface and a second side surface opposite to each other, and at least one of the first side surface and the second side surface forms a groove.
Lin teaches disclose that in a width direction of the support frame, each support member has a first side surface and a second side surface opposite to each other, and at least one of the first side surface and the second side surface forms a groove (12 figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Zhou to include that in a width direction of the support frame, each support member has a first side surface and a second side surface opposite to each other, and at least one of the first side surface and the second side surface forms a groove because it allows for a greater support surface area while still allowing support by the robot from underneath.
(Re claim 10) Zhou does not disclose that a plurality of grooves are formed, and the plurality of grooves are arranged on the support member at intervals.
Lin teaches that a plurality of grooves are formed, and the plurality of grooves are arranged on the support member at intervals (12 figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Zhou to include teaches that a plurality of grooves are formed, and the plurality of grooves are arranged on the support member at intervals because it allows for a greater support surface area while still allowing support by the robot from underneath.
(Re claim 11) The combination of Zhou/Lin does not disclose that the depth of the groove is in a range of 1/3 to 1/2 of a width of the support member.
The most optimal groove width could have been arrived at through routine experimentation and one skilled in the art could have arrived at a range of 1/3 to 1/2 of a width of the support member; In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Zhou/Lin to include that the depth of the groove is in a range of 1/3 to 1/2 of a width of the support member because it provides the correct amount of support for the range of stored goods.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 110654760 A (provided in applicants IDS) discloses support member attached to the legs of the racks and other member suspended depending from the racks support structure (figure 1, 10). CN 214421445 U (attached) discloses a robot channel located between two sets of support members and under the rack (figure 2).
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655