The following is a final office action in response to communications received April 30, 2026. Claims 15-20 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As per the prior art rejection of claim 1 in page 2, applicant argue “Chen does not appear to teach or reasonably suggest restricting communications on an established data bearer to network control and encryption establishment, exchanging cryptography data over the data bearer, determining that encryption has been established, and removing the communication restriction as recited by claim 1”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The Office Action indicates Chen teaches establishing a data bearer through a wireless communication network for a wireless communication device to an external security service, wherein the external security service is external to the wireless communication network; restricting communications over the data bearer to network control and determining that the wireless communication device and an external security service have received the enabling instruction over the data bearer, and in response, removing the communication restriction from the data bearer and exchanging data over the data bearer between the wireless communication device and the external security service. The Office Action concedes that Chen fails to explicitly teach use encryption for user data over data bearer between the wireless communication device and a security service. However, Edge teaches the wireless communication network establishes the encryption by exchanging cryptography data between the wireless communication device and an external security service over the data bearer, and exchange the encrypted data over the data bearer after the encryption is established. Chen teaches a bearer that remains established but is temporarily constrained to a specific class of security traffic by receiving the instructions to disable and enable the mobile data services over the data bearer, as suggested in paragraph [0013].
As per the prior art rejection of claim 1 in page 3, applicant argue “the resulting combination (Chen and Edge) does not teach or reasonable suggest permitting only encryption-establishment traffic on a bearer, receiving an indication that encryption is established, or removing the restriction in response to the indication”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen teaches restricting communications over the data bearer by enabling and disabling the wireless communication while Edge teaches establish the encryption and exchange cryptography data between the UEs and a server. Chen and Edge are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they both teach wireless communication security. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and the wireless communication network disclosed by Chen with adding encryption establishment encrypted data exchange process disclosed by Edge to restrict communication until encrypted communication has been established, the restrictions would be removed once the encrypted channel is established. One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to secure wireless communication to support all coverage scenarios, authenticate UEs, cipher all sidelink positioning messages and potentially other V2X messages, have low latency for authentication and ciphering operations, have high capacity with scalability to potentially support thousands of UEs in a small area, and prevent critical security key data from being obtained by an attacker, as suggested by Edge in paragraph [0042].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US PG-PUB No. 20180132093 A1) in view of Edge (US PG-PUB No. 20240305443 A1).
Regarding claim 1, claim 8 and claim 15, Chen teaches methods and a wireless communication network, the methods comprising: establishing a data bearer through a wireless communication network for a wireless communication device to an external security service, wherein the external security service is external to the wireless communication network; restricting communications over the data bearer to network control and determining that the wireless communication device and an external security service have received the enabling instruction over the data bearer, and in response, removing the communication restriction from the data bearer and exchanging data over the data bearer between the wireless communication device and the external security service (Paragraph [0012]: “When LTE network 120 (wireless communication network) receives a registration request from UE 110 (wireless communication device), LTE network accesses data structure 126 in data processing system 125 (network control system). During this access, LTE network 120 identifies mobile data APN 111 and IMS APN 112 for UE 110. In response to mobile data APN 111, LTE network 120 establishes and maintains mobile data bearer 121 between UE 110 and Internet 140 (establishing a data bearer through a wireless communication network for a wireless communication device; the “Internet 140” is mapped to the external security service which is external to the wireless communication network)”; Paragraph [0014]: “If LTE network 120 receives a user instruction from UE 110 to disable its mobile data service, then network 120 releases mobile data bearer 121 and modifies data structure 126 to disable mobile data APN 111 for UE 110 (restricting communications over the data bearer to network control).”; Paragraph [0015]: “If LTE network 120 receives a user instruction from UE 110 to enable its disabled mobile data service, then network 120 modifies data structure 126 to enable mobile data APN 111 for UE 110 (The LTE network 120 (network control system), determines that the wireless communication device and the external security service are allowed to send secure data over the data bearer). When mobile data APN 111 is enabled for UE 110 in data structure 126, data processing system 126 will yield an enabled version of mobile data APN 111. Mobile data bearer 121 will again be established upon registration by UE 110 (in response of the determination, the network data processing system removes the communication restriction from the data bearer and allow to send secure data over the data bearer between the wireless communication device and the external security service.).”)
Chen teaches the LTE network enable/disable the mobile data service and establishes/terminates the mobile data bearer for the wireless device after receiving an enabling/disabling instruction over the XCAP bearer.
Chen fails to explicitly teach use encryption for user data over data bearer between the wireless communication device and a security service.
However, Edge teaches the wireless communication network establishes the encryption by exchanging cryptography data between the wireless communication device and an external security service over the data bearer, and exchange the encrypted data over the data bearer after the encryption is established (Paragraph [0044]: “In general, such UEs may be any wireless communication device (e.g., a mobile phone, router, tablet computer, laptop computer, tracking device, Internet of Things (IoT) device, Industrial IoT (IIoT), in vehicle UE, UE in a drone or airplane etc.) used to communicate over a wireless communications network and/or using sidelink signaling. Generally, UEs can communicate with a core network via a RAN, and through the core network the UEs can be connected with external networks such as the Internet and with other UEs (UEs are wireless communication devices which are outside of the core network, they can exchange encrypted data to each other over the data bearer through the core network).”; Paragraph [0113]: “Additionally or alternatively, if server 510 is a non-3GPP server (wireless communication network, a server is also a network element), mutual authentication and ciphering may be employed when type A UE 530 and/or type B UE 520 accesses server 510. (establish the encryption and exchange cryptography data between the UEs over the data bearer through the wireless communication network). Access to and authentication of server 510 can use transport layer security (TLS) with a public/private server key and a certificate. For example, authentication of the type A UE 530 and/or type B UE 520 and optionally of server 510 may use the UE's unique private cipher key K.sub.ue (e.g., using pre-shared key (PSK)) (see Fig. 5 for encryption details).”; Paragraph [0119] further discloses: “In some embodiments, the ciphering process disclosed herein may be performed based on a 128-bit or 256-bit advanced encryption standard (AES) algorithm.”).
Edge further teaches a method comprising: authenticating a wireless communication device; in response to the authentication, authorizing the wireless communication device to use a data bearer in a wireless communication network, an external DNS tunnel from the data bearer to an external DNS server, and an external user tunnel from the data bearer to an external user data system; in response to the authorization, establishing the data bearer in the wireless communication network and establishing the external DNS tunnel from the data bearer to the external DNS server; exchanging encrypted DNS information between the wireless communication device and an external DNS server over the data bearer and the external DNS tunnel; and receiving a network address for the external data system from the wireless communication device, and in response, establishing the user tunnel from the data bearer to the external user data system; and exchanging encrypted user data between the wireless communication device and the external user data system over the data bearer and the external user tunnel (As disclosed in FIG. 1 and Paragraph [0077]: “A User Plane Function (UPF) 118 (in the core network 140) may support voice and data bearers (support data bearers in the core network) for UE 105 and may enable UE 105 voice and data access to other networks such as the Internet.”; Paragraph [0054]: “The core network 140 (wireless communication network which has a data bearer) may communicate with the external client 130 (e.g., a computer system) (external user data system), e.g., to allow the external client 130 to request and/or receive location information regarding the UEs 105 (receiving a network address for the external data system from the wireless communication device, and in response, establishing the user tunnel from the data bearer to the external user data system; and exchanging encrypted user data between the wireless communication device and the external user data system over the data bearer and the external user tunnel) (e.g., via the GMLC 125 or SUPL SLP 119).”; Paragraph [0090]: “As illustrated in FIG. 1, a server 150 (may be an external DNS server) connects to UPF 118 (e.g., through the Internet). As will be disclosed in detail below, server 150 may have the capability to determine and provide security information for UEs 105 to perform secure sidelink communication (authorizing the wireless communication device to use a data bearer in a wireless communication network, an external DNS tunnel from the data bearer to an external DNS server and exchanging encrypted DNS information between the wireless communication device and an external DNS server over the data bearer and the external DNS tunnel). In some embodiments, server 150 may be configured to provide common security data and coordinate the secure sidelink communication among UEs 105.”).
Chen and Edge are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they both teach wireless communication security. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and the wireless communication network disclosed by Chen with adding encryption establishment encrypted data exchange process disclosed by Edge.
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to secure wireless communication, as suggested by Edge in paragraph [0002].
Regarding claim 2, claim 11 and claim 16, Chen and Edge, hereinafter CE, teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, claim 8 and claim 15, as outlined above.
Edge further teaches the method further comprising: to establish the encryption, transferring translation data (encrypted domain name) over the data bearer between the wireless communication device and an external translation system (external DNS server); and wherein the translation data transferred from the wireless communication device to the external translation system indicates a name for the external security service, the external translation system translates the name into a network address for the external security service, and the translation data (encrypted network address) transferred from the external translation system (external DNS server) to the wireless communication device indicates the network address for the external security service, wherein the external translation system is external to the wireless communication network (Paragraph [0077]: “A User Plane Function (UPF) 118 may support voice and data bearers for UE 105 and may enable UE 105 voice and data access to other networks such as the Internet (transferring translation data over the data bearer between the wireless communication device and an external translation system). UPF 118 functions may include: IP routing and forwarding (indicates network address for the external security service)”; Paragraph [0090]: “As illustrated in FIG. 1, a server 150 connects to UPF 118 (e.g., through the Internet) (The server 150 can be an external translation system, such as DNS server, wherein the external translation system is external to the wireless communication network). As will be disclosed in detail below, server 150 may have the capability to determine and provide security information for UEs 105 (the external translation system translates the name into a network address for the external security service) to perform secure sidelink communication. In some embodiments, server 150 may be configured to provide common security data and coordinate the secure sidelink communication among UEs 105 (the translation data transferred from the external translation system to the wireless communication device indicates the network address for the external security service).”; Paragraph [0051]: “The gNBs 110a, 110b and the ng-eNB 114 are communicatively coupled to each other, are each configured to wirelessly communicate bi-directionally with the UEs 105 (wireless communication device), and are each communicatively coupled to, and configured to bi-directionally communicate with the AMF 115 and the UPF 118 (the core network).”).
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to secure wireless communication, as suggested by Edge in paragraph [0002].
Regarding claim 3, claim 12 and claim 17, CE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, claim 8 and claim 15, as outlined above.
Edge further teaches the method further comprising: to establish the encryption, exchanging translation data over the data bearer between the wireless communication device and an external translation system, wherein the translation data from the external translation system to the wireless communication device indicates a digital certificate for the external translation system and a network address for the external security service; and to establish the encryption, validating the digital certificate, and in response to the validation, using the network address to establish the encryption over the data bearer with the external security service (Paragraph [0113]: “Additionally or alternatively, if server 510 is a non-3GPP server, mutual authentication and ciphering may be employed when type A UE 530 and/or type B UE 520 accesses server 510 (to establish the encryption, exchanging translation data over the data bearer between the wireless communication device and an external translation system). Access to and authentication of server 510 can use transport layer security (TLS) with a public/private server key and a certificate (the translation data from the external translation system to the wireless communication device indicates a digital certificate for the external translation system). For example, authentication of the type A UE 530 and/or type B UE 520 and optionally of server 510 may use the UE's unique private cipher key K.sub.ue (e.g., using pre-shared key (PSK)) (to establish the encryption, validating the digital certificate, and in response to the validation, using the network address to establish the encryption over the data bearer with the external security service).”; Paragraphs [0077] and [0090] as outlined above disclose “a server 150 connects to UPF 118. UPF functions as IP routing and forwarding (indicates network address for the external security service).”).
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to secure wireless communication, as suggested by Edge in paragraph [0002].
Regarding claim 5, claim 10 and claim 19, CE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, claim 8 and claim 15, as outlined above.
Edge further teaches the method establishing the data bearer through the wireless communication network comprises establishing the data bearer for a user application in the wireless communication device; restricting communications over the data bearer to the network control and the encryption establishment comprises restricting the communications for the user application; and exchanging the encrypted data over the data bearer comprises exchanging the encrypted data for the user application (Paragraph [0107]: “FIG. 5 is a block diagram illustrating an implementation of secure sidelink communication 500 for V2X or other applications (may be a user application), according to an embodiment. As shown in FIG. 5, secure sidelink communication 500 may be performed by a server 510 (e.g. a server 150), a type B UE 520 (e.g. a UE 105B), and a type A UE 530 (e.g. a UE 105A) (establishing the data bearer for a user application in the wireless communication device, and exchanging the encrypted data for the user application). In some embodiments, secure sidelink communication 500 may be configured for performing secure sidelink positioning between type B UE 520 and type A UE 530 (e.g., ciphering sidelink positioning messages for performing the sidelink positioning).”).
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to secure wireless communication, as suggested by Edge in paragraph [0002].
Regarding claim 6 and claim 20, CE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 and claim 15, as outlined above.
Edge further teaches the method establishing the data bearer through the wireless communication network comprises establishing the data bearer for a distributed Application (dAPP) in the wireless communication device and in the external security service; restricting the communications over the data bearer to the network control and the encryption establishment comprises restricting the communications between the dAPP in the wireless communication device and the dAPP in the external security service; and exchanging the encrypted data over the data bearer comprises exchanging the encrypted data between the dAPP in the wireless communication device and the dAPP in the external security service (Paragraph [0107]: “FIG. 5 is a block diagram illustrating an implementation of secure sidelink communication 500 for V2X or other applications (As disclosed in Fig. 5, V2X or other applications are dAPP, which are in both UE1 (wireless communication device) and UE2 (external security service)), according to an embodiment. As shown in FIG. 5, secure sidelink communication 500 may be performed by a server 510 (e.g. a server 150), a type B UE 520 (e.g. a UE 105B), and a type A UE 530 (e.g. a UE 105A) (establishing the data bearer for a distributed Application (dAPP) in the wireless communication device and in the external security service, and exchanging the encrypted data between the dAPP in the wireless communication device and the dAPP in the external security service). In some embodiments, secure sidelink communication 500 may be configured for performing secure sidelink positioning between type B UE 520 and type A UE 530 (e.g., ciphering sidelink positioning messages for performing the sidelink positioning).”).
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to secure wireless communication, as suggested by Edge in paragraph [0002].
Regarding claim 7, CE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Chen further teaches the method further comprising: establishing an external data tunnel from the data bearer in the wireless communication network to the external security service; and wherein exchanging the encrypted data over the data bearer between the wireless communication device and the external security service comprises exchanging the encrypted data over the external data tunnel (Paragraph [0024]: “If LTE network 320 receives a user instruction from UE 310 over XCAP bearer 323 and server system 350 to enable its disabled mobile data service, then network 320 modifies data structure 326 to enable mobile data APN 311 for UE 310. When mobile data APN 311 is enabled for UE 310 in data structure 326, data processing system 326 will yield an enabled version of mobile data APN 311. Mobile data bearer 321 will again be established upon registration by UE 310 and may be directly initiated by network 320 responsive to the enabling user instruction (establishing an external data tunnel from the data bearer in the wireless communication network to the external security service). IMS server system 330 and other systems may exchange data messages with UE 310 over IMS bearer 322 (exchanging the encrypted data over the external data tunnel).”).
Regarding claim 13, CE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 8, as outlined above.
Edge further teaches wherein: exchanging the encrypted DNS information between the wireless communication device and the external DNS server over the data bearer comprises wirelessly exchanging the encrypted DNS information over a Wireless Fidelity (WIFI) link; and exchanging the encrypted user data between the wireless communication device and the external user data system over the data bearer comprises wirelessly exchanging the encrypted user data over the WIFI link (Paragraph [0044]: “Generally, UEs (wireless communication device) can communicate with a core network via a RAN, and through the core network the UEs can be connected with external networks such as the Internet and with other UEs (external DNS server and external user data system). Of course, other mechanisms of connecting to the core network and/or the Internet are also possible for the UEs, such as over wired access networks, WIFI networks (wirelessly exchanging the encrypted DNS information and user data over a WIFI link) (e.g., based on IEEE 802.11, etc.) and so on.”; Paragraph [0055]: “The UEs 105 or other devices may be configured to communicate in various networks and/or for various purposes and/or using various technologies (e.g., 5G, Wi-Fi communication, multiple frequencies of Wi-Fi communication (wirelessly exchanging the encrypted DNS information and user data over a WIFI link), satellite positioning, one or more types of communications”).
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to secure wireless communication, as suggested by Edge in paragraph [0002].
Regarding claim 14, CE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 8, as outlined above.
Edge further teaches wherein: exchanging the encrypted DNS information between the wireless communication device and the external DNS server over the data bearer comprises wirelessly exchanging the encrypted DNS information over a satellite link; and exchanging the encrypted user data between the wireless communication device and the external user data system over the data bearer comprises wirelessly exchanging the encrypted user data over the satellite link (Paragraph [0044]: “Generally, UEs (wireless communication device) can communicate with a core network via a RAN, and through the core network the UEs can be connected with external networks such as the Internet and with other UEs (external DNS server and external user data system). Of course, other mechanisms of connecting to the core network and/or the Internet are also possible for the UEs, such as over wired access networks, WIFI networks (e.g., based on IEEE 802.11, etc.) and so on.”; Paragraph [0055]: “The UEs 105 or other devices may be configured to communicate in various networks and/or for various purposes and/or using various technologies (e.g., 5G, Wi-Fi communication, multiple frequencies of Wi-Fi communication, satellite positioning (wirelessly exchanging the encrypted DNS information and user data over a satellite link), one or more types of communications”).
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to secure wireless communication, as suggested by Edge in paragraph [0002].
Claims 4, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US PG-PUB No. 20180132093 A1) in view of Edge (US PG-PUB No. 20240305443 A1) in further view of Watfa et al (US PG-PUB No. 20190223093 A1).
Regarding claim 4, claim 9 and claim 18, CE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, claim 8 and claim 15, as outlined above.
CE fails to explicitly teach wireless network slice.
However, Watfa teaches the method further comprising: receiving slice information from the wireless communication device; and wherein establishing the data bearer through the wireless communication network comprises establishing the data bearer through a wireless network slice based on the slice information; restricting the communications over the data bearer comprises restricting the communications over the data bearer through the wireless network slice; exchanging the cryptography data over the data bearer comprises exchanging the cryptography data over the data bearer through the wireless network slice; determining that the wireless communication device and the external security service have established the encryption over the data bearer comprises determining that the wireless communication device and the external security service have established the encryption over the data bearer through the wireless network slice; and removing the communication restriction from the data bearer and exchanging the encrypted data (may be the encrypted DNS information and the encrypted user data) over the data bearer comprises removing the communication restriction from the data bearer through the wireless network slice and exchanging the encrypted data (may be the encrypted DNS information and the encrypted user data) over the data bearer through the wireless network slice (Paragraph [0063]: “The CN 115 (wireless communication network) shown in FIG. 1D may include at least one AMF 182a, 182b, at least one UPF 184a,184b, at least one Session Management Function (SMF) 183a, 183b, and possibly a Data Network (DN) 185a, 185b.”; Paragraph [0064]: “The AMF 182a, 182b may be connected to one or more of the gNBs 180a, 180b, 180c in the RAN 113 via an N2 interface and may serve as a control node. For example, the AMF 182a, 182b may be responsible for authenticating users of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, support for network slicing (e.g., handling of different PDU sessions with different requirements) (determining that the wireless communication device and the external security service have established the encryption over the data bearer through the wireless network slice), selecting a particular SMF 183a, 183b, management of the registration area, termination of NAS signaling, mobility management, and the like. Network slicing may be used by the AMF 182a, 182b in order to customize CN support for WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c based on the types of services being utilized WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c. The AMF 162 may provide a control plane function for switching between the RAN 113 and other RANs (not shown) that employ other radio technologies, such as LTE, LTE-A, LTE-A Pro, and/or non-3GPP access technologies such as WIFI.”).
CE and Watfa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they both teach wireless communication security. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and the wireless communication network disclosed by CE with adding wireless network slice disclosed by Watfa.
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to customize the wireless communication network support for the wireless communication device based on the types of services, as suggested by Watfa in paragraph [0063].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Badic et al (US 20200229206 A1) discloses METHODS AND DEVICES FOR WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS
Shribman et al (US 20260025343 A1) discloses System And Method For Improving Internet Communication By Using Intermediate Nodes
Koriyama et al (US 20160330616 A1) discloses WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM, COMMUNICATION TERMINAL, SECURITY MANAGEMENT SERVER, DEVICE MANAGEMENT SERVER, AND WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD THEREIN
Koshimizu (US 20160057622 A1) discloses COMMUNICATION SYSTEM, RELAY APPARATUS, AND COMMUNICATION METHOD
Zhang (US 20160007193 A1) discloses System And Method For Wireless Network Access Protection And Security Architecture
Chastain et al (US 20150071437 A1) discloses SYSTEM AND METHODS FOR UICC-BASED SECURE COMMUNICATION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2499
/PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499