DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-9, 12, 16, 17 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B-D, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/4/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A drawn to claims 1-4, 10, 11, 13-15, 18 and 19 in the reply filed on 12/4/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 1/8/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2024-0002708 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10, 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0326000 A1 to Yang et al.
As to claim 1, Yang discloses a touch detection module comprising:
a touch sensing unit including touch electrodes and an inspection signal transmission line, the touch electrodes being in a touch sensing area of the touch sensing unit and being connected to touch lines that extend through a touch peripheral area of the touch sensing unit (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0093-0104, where input sensor (220) includes sensing electrodes (SE1, SE2) and inspection lines (IL)); and
a touch driving circuit supplying an inspection signal to the inspection signal transmission line and changing a voltage magnitude or a current amount of touch driving signals supplied to the touch electrodes, the changing being according to a voltage magnitude or a current amount of the inspection signal (Fig. 1B and 3, paragraphs 0078 and 0127, where driving IC (DIC) is the touch driving circuit),
wherein the touch driving circuit supplies the touch driving signals in which the voltage magnitude or the current amount has changed to the touch electrodes and detects touch sensing signals from the touch electrodes to detect coordinates of a touch location (Fig. 1B and 3, paragraph 0127, where the driving IC (DIC) supplies touch scan signals and receives a readout of the sensing signal).
As to claim 2, Yang discloses the touch detection module,
wherein the inspection signal transmission line is disposed in at least one of the touch sensing area and the touch peripheral area (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0093-0104, where inspection lines (IL) are disposed in the touch sensing area (AA) and peripheral area (A2, A4)), and
wherein the inspection signal transmission line is formed on the same process layer with the same metal material as at least one touch electrode among the touch electrodes or at least one touch line among the touch lines (Fig. 4B-5B, paragraph 0118, where inspection line (IL-1) includes the same material as sensing portion (SP1) on insulating layer (221)).
As to claim 3, Yang discloses he touch detection module,
wherein the inspection signal transmission line is disposed in a shape surrounding the touch lines and the touch sensing area along an outermost portion of the touch peripheral area (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0093-0104, where inspection lines (IL) surround signal lines (SL) and touch sensing area (AA) along the peripheral areas (A2, A4)).
As to claim 10, Yang discloses the touch detection module,
wherein the touch driving circuit supplies the inspection signal to a first end of the inspection signal transmission line in real time or for each preset period, detects change of a current amount or voltage magnitude through at least one of the first end and a second end of the inspection signal transmission line, and changes the current amount or voltage magnitude of the touch driving signals to correspond to the change of the current amount or voltage magnitude of the inspection signal (Fig. 1B and 3-7, paragraphs 0078 and 0126-0134, where driving circuit (DIC) supplies signals to inspection lines (IL) and signal lines (SL)).
As to claim 13, Yang discloses limitations similar to claim 1. In addition, Yang discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel including a display area in which a plurality of subpixels are arranged (Fig. 2B, paragraph 0073, where display panel (200) has pixels (PX)); and
a touch detection module on the display panel and configured to sense touch of a user (Fig. 2B, paragraph 0073, where active area (AA) is the touch detection module).
As to claims 14, 15 and 18, Yang discloses limitations similar to claims 2, 3 and 10, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0326000 A1 to Yang et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0141463 A1 to Huang et al.
As to claim 4, Yang discloses the touch detection module,
wherein the touch sensing unit further includes a pad unit in the peripheral area (Fig. 3, paragraph 0101, pad areas (PDA1, PDA2)).
Yang is deficient in disclosing wherein one end of the inspection signal transmission line is electrically connected toa first touch pad disposed on one side of the pad unit, and the other end of the inspection signal transmission line is electrically connected to a second touch pad disposed on the other side of the pad unit.
However, Huang discloses wherein one end of the inspection signal transmission line is electrically connected to a first touch pad disposed on one side of the pad unit, and the other end of the inspection signal transmission line is electrically connected to a second touch pad disposed on the other side of the pad unit (Fig. 1A, paragraphs 0050-0052, where test pads (PAD1-PAD5) connect each end of the test lines).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the touch sensing unit with a pad unit as taught by Yang by including a touch pad connected to each side of an inspection signal transmission line as taught by Huang. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to transmit test signals around the entire touch display (Huang, paragraphs 0050-0054).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record alone, or in combination, fail to teach, disclose, or render obvious, “an inspection signal supply unit supplying the inspection signal of a preset voltage magnitude to the inspection signal transmission line; a current amount detection unit detecting a current amount flowing in the inspection signal transmission line; a comparison circuit unit that compares the current amount detected through the current amount detection unit with a preset reference current amount and that outputs a comparison signal corresponding to a current amount difference; a compensation value extraction unit extracting and outputting a compensation value that is inversely proportional to the current amount difference; and a signal control unit changing the current amount or voltage magnitude of the touch driving signals to correspond to the compensation value outputted from the compensation value extraction unit”, in combination with the other limitations set forth in claim 11.
Claim 19 has similar allowable limitations as claim 11.
Conclusion
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627