DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 09/08/2026. Presently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 06/10/2026. Applicant’s representative asserts that the amended claims limitations are not met. However, in light of the amendments to the claims, new rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been presented, as discussed in detail below.
In regards to rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, applicant asserts the following: “Applicant submits that Ozaki, Leclarc, Huang, Shimizu, and Hitten fail to each or disclose a display panel ‘wherein the display panel is operably connected to a first electronic gaming machine (EGM) of three EGMs connected to face outwardly in a triangular arrangement’” (Page 9 of Remarks)
Regarding point (1), the examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to the arguments above, the office relies on newly found prior art of Lawrence J. Knipp (US 20210112645 A1; hereinafter Knipp) to teach the amended limitations. (See 103 rejection below).
Regarding claim 13, since it recites similar features to claim 1, the rejection is maintained as present below.
Applicant’s representative argues that since the prior art does not disclose or suggest the suggested features of claim 1 or 13 and so, dependent claims are patentable. However, in light of the remarks and standing rejection below, the examiner asserts the prior art of record teaches all the elements as claimed and these elements satisfy all structural, functional, operational, and spatial limitations currently in the claims. Therefore, the standing rejections are proper and maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OZAKI et al. (US 20200111289 A1; hereinafter Ozaki) in view of Leclerc et al. (US 20220342144 A1; hereinafter Leclerc) in view of Yoon et al. (US11448813B1; hereinafter Yoon) in view of Lawrence J. Knipp (US 20210112645 A1; hereinafter Knipp).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Ozaki discloses a display panel (displays shown in Fig 1) comprising: a housing including one or more frames (display frame base 442; ¶37) defining at least left and right edges of the display panel (includes right edge portion 442a and left edge portion 442b; ¶37); a front cover glass positioned in front of the housing and defining a front surface of the display panel (touchscreen 405 acting as a cover but not explicitly made of glass; ¶37 – made of glass will be addressed below); a video display positioned within the housing (video display because it's used to display primary game; ¶23) and including a display area visible through a central viewing area of the front cover glass (display area must be visible in order to display a primary game; ¶23); a first accent light assembly positioned inside the display panel housing along an edge thereof (an accent light assembly is defined by having a light diffuser and a light source mounted to an LED PCBA, Ozaki has an LED diffuser 412 under the touchscreen 405 as shown in Fig 4A and LED light strips 420 shown in Fig 4b and LED light strip may be communicating with the I/O PCB in ¶34), located posterior to the front cover glass (LED diffuser 412 located behind the touchscreen 405 as shown in Fig 4A), and comprising a series of LEDs (LED light strips 420; Fig 4b) and a diffuser positioned between the series of LEDs and the front cover glass (LED light diffuser 412 is behind touchscreen 405 and LED light diffuser must be covering the LED light trips in order for the light to be beamed through the LED diffuser; ¶43); and separating the central viewing area of the front cover glass (this is the main display area used to see the display; Fig 1) from a first outer transparent area of the front cover glass (the edges of touchscreen are separated on the right and left borders as shown in Fig 4B), wherein an accent light controller of the first EGM (control board to control the LEDs; ¶42) is operably connected to a communication channel to communicate with the first accent lightly assembly to command the series of LEDs (control board in communication with the LEDs; ¶49). Regarding additional limitations of claim 13, Ozaki discloses a gaming machine (for gaming devices; abstract), comprising: a gaming machine cabinet (Fig 1 shows gaming cabinet); a button panel presented along a ledge at a front side of the gaming machine cabinet (buttons shown in Fig 1); and a display panel mounted along a front side of the gaming machine cabinet above the button panel (above buttons we have information display 40 as shown in Fig 1).
Ozaki does not explicitly disclose a front cover glass positioned in front of the housing; first accent light assembly anterior to the video display; and a first opaque area positioned along a back surface of the front cover glass adjacent to the first accent light assembly, wherein the first opaque area is positioned in front of the series of LEDs and an inner portion of the diffuser, and an outer portion of the diffuser extends from behind the first opaque area into an area viewable through the first outer transparent area for carrying light from the series of LEDs to the first outer transparent area, wherein the display panel is operably connected to a first electronic gaming machine (EGM) of three EGMs connected to face outwardly in a triangular arrangement.
However, Leclerc focuses on an electronic device with a display assembly, which relates to Ozaki because they are both focused on having the proper structure for a display. Leclerc teaches front cover glass positioned in front of the housing (cover glass; ¶34 and Fig 3A); and a first opaque area positioned along a back surface of the front cover glass (opaque ledge 336 behind cover glass 304; Fig 3A) adjacent to the first accent light assembly (adjacent to the light bar 320 and films 316; Fig 3A), wherein the first opaque area is positioned in front of the series of LEDs (opaque ledge 336 in front of light guide 320 or light bar 330; Fig 3A) and an inner portion of the diffuser (opaque ledger also shown in front of films 316; Fig 3A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Leclerc because each layer performs a different optical, electrical, or mechanical function. Each layer provides a benefits to modulate the light coming or going to another source.
Yoon focuses on a display console for an electronic device, which relates to Ozaki because they are both focused on having the proper structure for a display. Yoon teaches the first accent light assembly anterior to the video display (here the combination of the light guide 130 in combination with the diffuser 124a reaches to an anterior position of the display along with the glass as shown in Fig 4); and an outer portion of the diffuser extends from behind the first opaque area into an area viewable through the first outer transparent area (the opaque coating extends between the display screen and the diffuser; col 1 lines 38-47) for carrying light from the series of LEDs to the first outer transparent area (intended use as explained below). This limitation is intended use and thus since Yoon teaches the diffuser extends from behind the first opaque area into an area viewable through the first outer transparent area, it would result in the same result as applicant is claiming here.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Yoon for the benefit of properly transporting the light before the user sees it, basically the system can control the illumination with the diffuser guiding the light towards the outer transparent area.
Knipp focuses on a way to control accent lights for gaming machines, which relates to Ozaki because they both use accent light for their gaming machines. Knipp teaches wherein the display panel is operably connected to a first electronic gaming machine (EGM) of three EGMs connected to face outwardly in a triangular arrangement (triangular arrangement between three EGMs; ¶27-28 and Fig 4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Knipp for the benefit using floor space more effectively and improving player privacy. By having machines in a triangular arrangement, a triangular cluster can use open casino floor space more efficiently than conventional linear arrangements. Furthermore, by sitting player in a triangular arrangement it will provide more privacy to players because the different angles won’t allow for players sitting next to them to look at their screen.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Ozaki does not disclose wherein the first outer transparent area of the front cover glass extends from the first opaque area to the edge of the front cover glass.
However, Leclerc teaches wherein the first outer transparent area of the front cover glass extends from the first opaque area to the edge of the front cover glass (an edge of the cover glass represents the first outer transparent area and extends from the area of the opaque ledger to the edge of the cover glass; Fig 3A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Leclerc because each layer performs a different optical, electrical, or mechanical function. In this case the cover glass is protecting all the parts inside of the display.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Ozaki does not disclose wherein the first accent light assembly, the first opaque area, and the first outer transparent area are located along the left edge of the display panel, and further comprising a second accent light assembly, a second opaque area, and a second outer transparent area located along the right edge of the display panel and constructed similarly to the first accent light assembly, the first opaque area, and the first outer transparent area.
However, Leclerc teaches wherein the first accent light assembly, the first opaque area, and the first outer transparent area are located along the left edge of the display panel (covering edges as shown Fig 3A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Leclerc because each layer performs a different optical, electrical, or mechanical function. Each layer provides a benefits to modulate the light coming or going to another source.
In regards to “further comprising a second accent light assembly, a second opaque area, and a second outer transparent area located along the right edge of the display panel and constructed similarly to the first accent light assembly, the first opaque area, and the first outer transparent area”, this is a duplication of parts.
Since a second accent light assembly, a second opaque area, and a second outer transparent area have the exact same structure as the first accent light assembly, the first opaque area, and the first outer transparent area in claim 1 or 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki with a second accent light assembly, a second opaque area, and a second outer transparent area since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04, VI, B Duplication of Parts. In this case there is no new and unexpected result.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Ozaki does not disclose further comprising a third accent light assembly, a third opaque area, and a third outer transparent area located along a top edge of the display panel and constructed similarly to the first accent light assembly, the first opaque area, and the first outer transparent area. However, this is a duplication of parts.
Since a third accent light assembly, a third opaque area, and a third outer transparent area have the exact same structure as the first accent light assembly, the first opaque area, and the first outer transparent area in claim 1 or 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki with a third accent light assembly, a third opaque area, and a third outer transparent area since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04, VI, B Duplication of Parts. In this case there is no new and unexpected result.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Ozaki discloses wherein the first accent light assembly is mounted along a frame element which is attached to one or more of the frames of the housing (elements that are included in the first accent light assembly, such as the LED diffuser 412 under the touchscreen 405 as shown in Fig 4A and LED light strips 420 shown in Fig 4b are mounted along a frame 415 in Fig. 4A and 4B) and extends inward (frame base 442 extending inward as shown in Fig 4A) to a location behind the first opaque area to hold the first accent light assembly (the frame is behind and holding all elements inside the display as shown in Fig 4A).
Regarding claim 6, Ozaki discloses wherein the series of LEDs is mounted along one or more elongated printed circuit boards (LEDs lights 422 in communication with a control board or printed circuit board 670; ¶49 and Fig 7).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Ozaki discloses wherein the diffuser of the first accent light assembly extends horizontally with respect to the front cover glass from an area (LED diffuser 412 extending horizontally from 412a to 412b as shown in Fig 4b), extends behind the entire width of the first outer transparent area (extending the entire width as shown in Fig 4b), and has an outer edge in line with the outer edge of the front cover glass (shown in Fig 4b) such that light from the diffuser is visible through the front cover glass and along the outer edge of the diffuser (intended use). This limitation is intended use and thus since Ozaki discloses the diffuser extends the entire width behind of the first outer transparent area and has an outer edge in line with the outer edge of the front cover glass, it would result in the same result as applicant is claiming here.
Leclerc teaches the diffuser of the first accent light behind the first opaque area (diffuser in films 316 shown behind a portion of opaque bracket 336 as shown in Fig 3A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Leclerc for the benefit of showing the user a continuous glow instead of individual light points. This happens because the diffuser behind the opaque area spreads the light before it exits into the visible transparent region.
Regarding claim 12, Ozaki as modified by Leclerc does not explicitly disclose wherein the first opaque area has a width no greater than 15mm along the back surface of the front cover glass, and the first outer transparent area has a width no greater than 5mm along the back surface of the front cover glass.
Ozaki as modified by Leclerc discloses the invention essentially as claimed as discussed above and further discloses the invention as a gaming machine utilized in casinos (¶22 of Ozaki). However, Ozaki as modified by Leclerc does not explicitly disclose “the first opaque area has a width no greater than 15mm along the back surface of the front cover glass, and the first outer transparent area has a width no greater than 5mm along the back surface of the front cover glass”. The specification of the present invention states “In this embodiment, opaque area 120 is 15mm wide, and outer transparent area 130 is 5mm wide, and, as such, the present design enables dimensions no greater than these. Such widths are typically not achievable for a 55-inch monitor using the prior art designs. The total width of such a 55-inch monitor is reduced by 0.35 inches per side if the depicted structure of FIG. 2 is used along both sides of display panel 100. Such a width reduction is especially important for casino slot machine gaming panels because some jurisdictions include width limits of 28 inches for gaming machines. While a 55-inch portrait display is discussed here, the invention may be applied in display panels of other sizes and orientations.” (¶40 of the present invention). As seen in ¶22 and Fig 1 of Ozaki, this is a display for a casino slot machine, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Ozaki by making the width of the first opaque area no greater than 15mm and the width of the first outer transparent area no greater than 5mm as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki in view of Leclerc in view of Yoon in view of Knipp as applied to claims 1, 5, 13, and 17 above, and further in view of HUANG et al. (US 20230115498 A1; hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Ozaki discloses an adhesive located along an edge interior to the first accent light assembly (tape material to attach light strips to the frame 415). Ozaki does not disclose the front cover glass is affixed to the frame element with an adhesive and adhesive located behind an inner portion of the first opaque area.
However, Huang focuses on a touch display device that glues together elements of the display to hold them together, which relates to Ozaki because an adhesive is also used in Ozaki to hold elements of the display together. Huang teaches the front cover glass is affixed to the frame element with an adhesive (frame glue to bond elements together into a box, such as the display panel and touch panel ; ¶34) and adhesive located behind an inner portion of the first opaque area (frame glue 31 behind a light shielding layer 40 in Fig 1, which belongs to the opaque non-display area as mentioned in ¶34 and ¶38).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Huang because adhesives help maintain controlled optical contact between the multiple layers in a display. Such structure provides the benefit of more uniform glow with proper spacing between layers.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki in view of Leclerc in view of Yoon in view of Knipp as applied to claims 1, 5, 13, and 17 above, and further in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20040246698 A1; hereinafter Shimizu).
Regarding claim 8, Ozaki discloses the display panel of claim 5 wherein the video display is a liquid crystal display (LCD) including an LCD layer (¶23). However, Ozaki does not explicitly disclose the liquid crystal display layer positioned posterior to the first accent light assembly, a light guide panel positioned posterior to the LCD layer with a diffuser film between the light guide panel and the LCD layer, and an LED light source positioned at left and right edges of the light guide panel.
However, Leclerc teaches a light guide panel positioned posterior to the LCD layer (light guide 320 located posterior to liquid crystal layer 315; Fig 3A) with a diffuser film between the light guide panel and the LCD layer (diffuser film 316 between light guide 320 and liquid crystal layer 315; Fig 3A), and an LED light source positioned at left and right edges of the light guide panel (light bar 230 is positioned at left and right edges of the light guide 220 as shown in Fig 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Leclerc for the benefit of having uniformity with the light. By propagating the light properly across both edges, it creates a perfectly balanced glow across the entire panel.
Shimizu focuses on a display device with a lighting device at the same time, which relates to Ozaki because they are both displays with lighting. Shimizu teaches a liquid crystal display layer positioned posterior to the first accent light assembly (light source 4 and light guide 5 in front of liquid crystal display 3; Fig 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Shimizu for the benefit of having of creating a 3D “shadowbox” effect. When the accent lighting assembly sits anterior to the LCD display, it physically frames the digital screen, which tricks the eye into perceiving immense 3D depth without requiring a specialized 3D screen.
Claims 9-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki in view of Leclerc in view of Yoon in view of Knipp in view of Shimizu as applied to claims 1, 5, 8, 13, and 17 above, and further in view of Hiten et al. (US 20190206183 A1; hereinafter Hiten).
Regarding claim 9, Ozaki does not disclose wherein the LCD includes a plastic frame between edges of the LCD layer and edges of the diffuser film, the plastic frame including an extension with a corner that abuts a corner of the frame element.
However, Leclerc teaches wherein the LCD includes a plastic frame between edges of the LCD layer and edges of the diffuser film (enclosure 344 acting as a frame between liquid crystal layer 315 and films 316; See Fig 3A), the plastic frame including an extension with a corner that abuts a corner of the frame element (the corner of enclosure 344 abuts the corner of the housing 328; See Fig 3A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Leclerc because when designing a display with multiple layers, it is important to have multiple frames or frame elements to enclose or protect individual pieces.
In regards to the frame being made of plastic, Hiten teaches that multiple frames of a display are made of plastic (¶48)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Hiten because multiple pieces used for gaming casino displays are packed with high voltage. By having the frames made of plastic, it prevents electrostatic discharge.
Regarding claim 10, Ozaki does not disclose wherein the one or more frames comprise: an inner frame carrying the light guide panel and the LED light source; and an outer frame positioned to sandwich portions of the plastic frame and the frame element between the outer frame and the inner frame.
However, Leclerc teaches wherein the one or more frames comprise: an inner frame carrying the light guide panel and LED light source (enclosure carrying the light guide 320 and light bar with LEDs 330; See Fig 3A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Leclerc because when designing a display with multiple layers, it is important to have multiple frames or frame elements to enclose or protect individual pieces.
In regards to an outer frame positioned to sandwich portions of the plastic frame and the frame element between the outer frame and the inner frame, this is a duplication of parts.
Since an outer frame has the exact same structure and shape (L shape) as the frame element or inner metal frame in Fig 2 and claims 5 and 10 and they all serve to enclose or sandwich different elements inside the display, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki with an outer frame since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04, VI, B Duplication of Parts. In this case there is no new and unexpected result.
Regarding claim 19, Ozaki discloses the display panel of claim 5 wherein the video display is a liquid crystal display (LCD) including an LCD layer (¶23). However, Ozaki does not explicitly disclose the liquid crystal display layer positioned posterior to the first accent light assembly, a light guide panel positioned posterior to the LCD layer with a diffuser film between the light guide panel and the LCD layer, and an LED light source positioned at left and right edges of the light guide panel, and wherein the LCD includes a plastic frame between edges of the LCD layer and edges of the diffuser film, the plastic frame including an extension with a corner that abuts a corner of the frame element.
However, Leclerc teaches a light guide panel positioned posterior to the LCD layer (light guide 320 located posterior to liquid crystal layer 315; Fig 3A) with a diffuser film between the light guide panel and the LCD layer (diffuser film 316 between light guide 320 and liquid crystal layer 315; Fig 3A), and an LED light source positioned at left and right edges of the light guide panel (light bar 230 is positioned at left and right edges of the light guide 220 as shown in Fig 2), and wherein the LCD includes a plastic frame between edges of the LCD layer and edges of the diffuser film (enclosure 344 acting as a frame between liquid crystal layer 315 and films 316; See Fig 3A), the plastic frame including an extension with a corner that abuts a corner of the frame element (the corner of enclosure 344 abuts the corner of the housing 328; See Fig 3A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Leclerc for the benefit of having uniformity with the light. By propagating the light properly across both edges, it creates a perfectly balanced glow across the entire panel.
Shimizu focuses on a display device with a lighting device at the same time, which relates to Ozaki because they are both displays with lighting. Shimizu teaches a liquid crystal display layer positioned posterior to the first accent light assembly (light source 4 and light guide 5 in front of liquid crystal display 3; Fig 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Shimizu for the benefit of having of creating a 3D “shadowbox” effect. When the accent lighting assembly sits anterior to the LCD display, it physically frames the digital screen, which tricks the eye into perceiving immense 3D depth without requiring a specialized 3D screen.
In regards to the frame being made of plastic, Hiten teaches that multiple frames of a display are made of plastic (¶48)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ozaki to implement the teachings of Hiten because multiple pieces used for gaming casino displays are packed with high voltage. By having the frames made of plastic, it prevents electrostatic discharge.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE ANGELES/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/Jay Trent Liddle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715