DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “LIGHT SOURCE CURRENT ADJUSTMENT DEVICE AND METHOD FOR PROJECTION DEVICE,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu (US 20210352251 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a light source current adjustment device (first processing module) of a projection device (10, 20, and 30; Fig. 1-28), coupled to a light source (LD1) of the projection device (10, 20, and 30), wherein the light source current adjustment device (first processing module) comprises a light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1), a current monitoring circuit (ISEN1 to R977, R978, R927, and/or R979) and a control circuit (lm1 to DRV), wherein the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) generates a driving current based on a direct current; the current monitoring circuit (ISEN1 to R977, R978, R927, and/or R979) is coupled between the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) and the light source (LD1) to monitor the driving current and output a monitoring signal ([0125]); and the control circuit (lm1 to DRV) is coupled to the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) and the current monitoring circuit (ISEN1 to R977, R978, R927, and/or R979), receives the monitoring signal from the current monitoring circuit (ISEN1 to R977, R978, R927, and/or R979), and controls the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) to adjust the driving current according to the monitoring signal, the current monitoring circuit (ISEN1 to R977, R978, R927, and/or R979) provides an adjusted driving current from the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) to the light source (LD1; [0145]).
Regarding claim 2, when a current value corresponding to the monitoring signal is less than a preset current value of the light source (LD1) of the projection device (10, 20, and 30) in a projection mode, the control circuit (lm1 to DRV) controls the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) to increase the driving current, and when the current value corresponding to the monitoring signal is greater than the preset current value, the control circuit (lm1 to DRV) controls the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) to reduce the driving current ([0145]).
Regarding claim 3, Wu further teaches the control circuit (lm1 to DRV) adjusts a duty ratio of a pulse width modulation signal provided to the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1), so that the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) adjusts the driving current according to an adjusted duty ratio of the pulse width modulation signal ([0145]).
Regarding claim 5, Wu further teaches the control circuit (lm1 to DRV) controls the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) to adjust the driving current when a difference between a current value corresponding to the monitoring signal and a preset current value corresponding to the projection device (10, 20, and 30) in a projection mode exceeds, inherently, a preset range.
Regarding claim 7, Wu further teaches the current monitoring circuit (ISEN1 to R977, R978, R927, and/or R979) disposed on a current path through which the driving current flows between the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) and the light source (LD1), and the current monitoring circuit (ISEN1 to R977, R978, R927, and/or R979) is an isolation current sensor ([0125]).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches a light source (LD1) current adjustment method for a projection device (10, 20, and 30), comprising: providing a current monitoring circuit (ISEN1 to R977, R978, R927, and/or R979) to monitor a driving current generated by a light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) based on a direct current to output a monitoring signal, wherein the driving current is configured to drive a light source (LD1) of the projection device (10, 20, and 30); and controlling the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) to adjust the driving current according to the monitoring signal, wherein the current monitoring circuit (ISEN1 to R977, R978, R927, and/or R979) provides an adjusted driving current from the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) to the light source (LD1; [0125], [0145]).
Regarding claim 9, Wu further teaches when a current value corresponding to the monitoring signal is less than a preset current value of the light source (LD1) of the projection device (10, 20, and 30) in a projection mode, controlling the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) to increase the driving current; and when the current value corresponding to the monitoring signal is greater than the preset current value, controlling the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) to reduce the driving current ([0145]).
Regarding claim 10, Wu further teaches adjusting a duty ratio of a pulse width modulation signal provided to the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1), so that the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) adjusts the driving current according to an adjusted duty ratio of the pulse width modulation signal ([0145]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu further teaches controlling the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) to adjust the driving current when a difference between a current value corresponding to the monitoring signal and a preset current value corresponding to the projection device (10, 20, and 30) in a projection mode exceeds, inherently, a preset range.
Regarding claim 14, Wu further teaches the current monitoring circuit (ISEN1 to R977, R978, R927, and/or R979) disposed on a current path through which the driving current flows between the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) and the light source (LD1), and the current monitoring circuit (ISEN1 to R977, R978, R927, and/or R979) is an isolation current sensor ([0125]).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Wu does not explicitly teach the control circuit (lm1 to DRV) further stores the adjusted duty ratio of the pulse width modulation signal as a preset duty ratio.
Choosing the appropriate preset duty ratio is a matter of design choice; hence it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have the adjusted duty ratio of the pulse width modulation signal stored as a preset duty ratio.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Lan (US 20060291511 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Wu does not explicitly teach the control circuit (lm1 to DRV) comprises a lookup table, the lookup table comprises a plurality of preset monitoring signal values and a plurality of lookup current values corresponding thereto, the control circuit (lm1 to DRV) finds a lookup current value corresponding to the monitoring signal according to the lookup table and uses the lookup current value as the current value corresponding to the monitoring signal, compares the preset current value corresponding to the projection device (10, 20, and 30) in the projection mode with the lookup current value, and controls the light source driving circuit (DRV1 to LD1) to adjust the driving current according to a comparison result.
Lan teaches reading a lookup table, wherein the lookup table comprises a plurality of preset monitoring signal values and a plurality of lookup current values corresponding thereto; and finding a lookup current value corresponding to the monitoring signal according to the lookup table and using the lookup current value as the current value corresponding to the monitoring signal, comparing the preset current value corresponding to the lighting device (10, 20, and 30) in the lighting mode with the lookup current value, and controlling the light source driving circuit to adjust the driving current according to a comparison result ([0007]-[0008], [0018]-[0019], [0022]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Wu with Lan; because it allows taking account effects of temperature on the driving of the laser/s to improve performance of the laser/s.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20200264501 A1, US 20190239300 A1, US 20190104602 A1, US 20130021580 A1, US 20100201281 A1, US 20090115974 A1, and US 20070164687 A1, disclose light source driving circuit with current monitoring.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882