DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,678,104 (the ‘104 Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-15 of the ‘104 Patent recites all of the elements of Claim 1-12 with the exception of the “intermediary cup”. However, Claim 1 of the ‘104 Patent recites a “second inner cup”, which is structurally equivalent to the claimed “intermediary cup”, which is arranged between the outer cup and the first inner cup, and is configured as an acoustic barrier.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,133,044 (the ‘044 Patent) in view of Lin, U.S. Patent No. 11,451,894, filed on January 14, 2020 (Lin).
As to Claims 1-12, claims 1-12 of the ‘044 Patent recites all the claimed features except for the intermediary cup being configured as an acoustic barrier between outside noise and the inner cavity. However, configuring such an element in a headset earcup was well known. Lin teaches an earcup [100] for a headset, similar to Claim 1, comprising an intermediary cup [112] arranged between the outer cup [111] and the first inner cup [141]; wherein the intermediary cup [112] is configured as an acoustic barrier between outside noise and the inner cavity (the structure provides acoustic resistance; col. 5, lines 16-20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, to configure the intermediate cup as an acoustic barrier by providing acoustic resistance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin, U.S. Patent No. 11,451,894, filed on January 14, 2020 (Lin).
As to Claim 1, Lin discloses an earcup [100] for a headset, the earcup comprising: a front opening [121] adapted to be adjacent to the ear of a user of the headset (col. 3, lines 10-14); a baffle [120] disposed within the earcup [100] to define a front cavity [SR] and a rear cavity [AS1, AS2]; an outer cup [111] arranged to accommodate the rear cavity [AS1, AS2]; an inner cup [141] arranged within the rear cavity [AS1, AS2] surrounding the front opening [121] and defining an inner cavity within the rear cavity [AS1, AS2]; an intermediary cup [112] arranged between the outer cup [111] and the first inner cup [141]; wherein the intermediary cup [112] is configured as an acoustic barrier between outside noise and the inner cavity (the structure provides acoustic resistance; col. 5, lines 16-20; furthermore, a cup structure covering a transducer would inherently block noise, as opposed to an earcup without such a structure).
As to Claim 2, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 1. Lin further discloses that the intermediary cup [112] is adapted to acoustically sealing off outside noise and to increase the transmission loss of the earcup [100] (the structure provides acoustic resistance; col. 5, lines 16-20; furthermore, a cup structure covering a transducer would inherently block noise and increase transmission loss, as opposed to an earcup without such a structure).
As to Claim 3, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 1. Lin further discloses that the front cavity [SR] is defined by the baffle [120], earpad [150] and the anatomy of the ear of the user (the earpad [150] forms a seal with the user’s ear to form cavity [SR]; col. 4, lines 34-37).
As to Claim 4, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 1. Lin further discloses that the intermediary cup [112] is adapted to increase the transmission loss of the earcup [100] (the structure provides acoustic resistance; col. 5, lines 16-20; furthermore, a cup structure covering a transducer would inherently block noise and increase transmission loss, as opposed to an earcup without such a structure).
As to Claim 5, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 1. Lin further discloses a transducer [130] (the transducer [130] is a speaker; col. 3, line 17) fixated to the baffle [120] (see Fig. 2).
As to Claim 6, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 1. Lin further discloses that an earpad [150] fixated to the baffle [120] (see Fig. 2).
As to Claim 7, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 1. Lin further discloses that the intermediary cup [112] is provided with at least one opening [DH] for tuning the sound (air produced by the transducer [130] is discharged from opening [DH] to meet tuning needs; col. 4, lines 4-9; see Fig. 2).
As to Claim 8, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 1. Lin further discloses that the inner cup [141] is provided with at least one opening [142] (see Fig. 2) for tuning the sound (the openings [142] comprise a tuning portion [140]; col 3, lines 57-61; the tuning portion [140] is for adjusting acoustic resistance, so that characteristics of the sound curve, audio frequency, and sound quality can meet design requirements; col. 3, lines 49-53).
As to Claim 10, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 1. Lin further discloses a headset comprising the earcup [100] (two earcups connected by a headband are provided; col. 3, lines 9-14).
As to Claim 11, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 10. Lin further discloses a second earcup (two earcups connected by a headband are provided; col. 3, lines 9-14).
As to Claim 13, Lin discloses an earcup [100] for a headset, the earcup comprising: a front opening [121] adapted to be adjacent to the ear of a user of the headset (col. 3, lines 10-14); a baffle [120] disposed within the earcup [100] to define a front cavity [SR] and a rear cavity [AS1, AS2]; at least three cups [111, 112, 141], the at least three cups [111, 112, 141] separating the rear cavity [AS1, AS2] into three intermediary cavities (see Fig. 2).
As to Claim 14, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 13. Lin further discloses a headset comprising the earcup [100] (two earcups connected by a headband are provided; col. 3, lines 9-14).
As to Claim 15, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 14. Lin further discloses a second earcup (two earcups connected by a headband are provided; col. 3, lines 9-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, U.S. Patent No. 11,451,894, filed on January 14, 2020 (Lin), in view of Sung et al., U.S. Patent No. 8,447,058, patented on May 21, 2013 (Sung).
As to Claim 9, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 1. Lin further discloses that the baffle [120] is provided with at least one opening [122] (see Fig. 1A). Lin does not explicitly disclose that the opening is for tuning the sound. The opening [122] in the earcup of Lin is a pressure relief hole for balancing the internal pressure of front cavity [S1] (Lin: col. 4, lines 29-37). However, the incorporation of a tuning capability into a pressure relief hole was well known in the design of earcups. Sung teaches an earcup (Fig. 3) comprising a baffle [21] disposed within the earcup to define a front cavity [40] and a rear cavity [50], wherein the baffle is provided with at least one opening [60] for tuning the sound (the opening [60] serves the dual purpose of adjusting the resonance frequency and providing pressure relief; Sung: col. 3, lines 25-54). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, to incorporate the functionality of tuning the sound, into the baffle of Lin, for the added benefit of further acoustic customization.
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, U.S. Patent No. 11,451,894, filed on January 14, 2020 (Lin), in view of Fletcher et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,064,283 patented on July 13, 2021 (Fletcher).
As to Claim 12, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 16. Lin does not explicitly disclose that the second earcup comprises a boom arm comprising an input transducer, wherein the boom arm is configured to translate between a first position and a second position, wherein the first position is nearer to the user's mouth than the second position. However, incorporating a boom arm into a headset was well known. Fletcher teaches a headset comprising first [140a] and second earcups [120a], the second earcup [120a] comprising a boom arm [135a] (see Fig. 1A) comprising an input transducer [137a], wherein the boom arm [135a] is configured to translate between a first position (Fig. 2B) and a second position (Fig 2A), wherein the first position (Fig. 2B) is nearer to the user's mouth than the second position (Fig. 2A) (col. 4, lines 3-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to incorporate a boom arm into the headset of Lin, for the benefit and additional feature of a microphone with communication capabilities (Fletcher: col. 1, lines 24-27).
As to Claim 16, Lin remains as applied above to Claim 14. Lin does not explicitly disclose that the second earcup comprises a boom arm comprising an input transducer, wherein the boom arm is configured to translate between a first position and a second position, wherein the first position is nearer to the user's mouth than the second position. However, incorporating a boom arm into a headset was well known. Fletcher teaches a headset comprising first [140a] and second earcups [120a], the second earcup [120a] comprising a boom arm [135a] (see Fig. 1A) comprising an input transducer [137a], wherein the boom arm [135a] is configured to translate between a first position (Fig. 2B) and a second position (Fig 2A), wherein the first position (Fig. 2B) is nearer to the user's mouth than the second position (Fig. 2A) (col. 4, lines 3-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to incorporate a boom arm into the headset of Lin, for the benefit and additional feature of a microphone with communication capabilities (Fletcher: col. 1, lines 24-27).
Conclusion
/RYAN ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694