DETAILED ACTION
This responds to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed 04/02/2026. Claims 1-20 are now pending in this Application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1 appears to be directed to an abstract idea without reciting additional limitations that tie it to a practical application or without reciting additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. One can mentally generate graph with nodes for spaces in a building as well as assets that are contained within those spaces. Then one can also mentally associate and classify senor readings and generate relationships between spaces, assets and sensors. The additional limitations are receiving data. These additional limitations are mere data gathering which are insignificant extra solution activities under step 2A prong II and well understood routine and conventional under step 2B (For Berkhiemer See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) Versata.)
Step 2A, Prong One: Mathematical Concepts
Independent claims 1, and 11 are directed to generation units of work within a collaboration environment based on selection of text.
effectuate presentation of a user interface of a collaboration environment, the collaboration environment being configured to facilitate interaction by users with the collaboration environment, the environment state information including records describing work assigned to, created by, and/or managed by the users within the collaboration environment, the user interface providing one or more views of the collaboration environment, wherein an individual view of the collaboration environment displays an individual set of text.
[0050] In some implementations, environment state component 108 may be configured to manage information defining work unit pages corresponding to the individual units of work. Individual work unit pages may provide access to individual units of work. Managing information defining work unit pages may include determining, obtaining, and/or modifying information used to generate work unit pages. Managing information defining individual work unit pages may include providing information to the environment state component 108 to effectuate presentation of the work unit pages, and/or other information. In some implementations, individual work unit pages may include individual sets of interface elements displaying the values of one or more of the work unit parameters of the individual units of work.
obtain input information conveying user input into the user interface, wherein the user input includes selection of a text portion displayed within a first view of the collaboration environment.
[0054] The selection component 112 may obtain input information conveying user input into a user interface. In some implementations, the user input may include selection of text displayed within a body of text in an individual view of the collaboration environment. By way of non-limiting illustration, the selection of text may be indicated by the user by highlighting the text, underlining the text, placing the text in brackets, changing the font of the text, and/or other forms of indicating a selection of text by a user.
[0056] The content information characterizing the content of the text may include one or more of words included in the text, phrases included in the text, context information specifying context of the text, and/or other content. The selection component 112 may use natural language processing techniques and/or other techniques.
responsive to obtaining the input information, obtain content information characterizing content of the text portion;
generate a first record based on the content information by storing first information describing an action item or a project in the first record as part of the environment state information.
[0062] In some implementations, a source record of the text may include a record that includes the body of text from which the text was selected. The source record may include one or more of a user record, a work unit record, a project record, an objective record, and/or other records. In some implementations, a generated unit of work may be included in the source record. In some implementations, a generated unit of work may be specified by a work unit record that is subordinate to the source record. In some implementations, a generated unit of work may be specified by a work unit record that is superior to the source record.
[0063] In some implementations, a superior record to the source record may include a record specified as superior to the source record based on hierarchical information and/or other information. In some implementations, a generated unit of work may be included in the superior record. In some implementations, a generated unit of work may be specified by a work unit record that is subordinate to the superior record. In some implementations, a generated unit of work may be specified by a work unit record that is superior to the superior record.
[0064] The selection component 112 may be configured to identify one or more of the users linked to a body of text. The one or more users linked to the text may include one or more of the creator of the text, the selector of the text, users linked to the source record, users linked to the superior record, and/or other users. The selection component 112 may be configured to obtain the user records for the users linked to a body of text.
Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B
Use of processors to receive, response to the input and generate would constitute use of a generic computer used as tool to implement the abstract idea discussed above.
The step of receiving data associated with a building constitutes an insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gather, see MPEP 2106.05(g)
i. Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989);
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claims 2-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S. C. 101 because as they depend from independent claims 1 and 11. Which is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The additional limitation of claims 2, 12 “effectuate presentation of a user interface element in response to the selection of the text portion”, claims 3, 13 “wherein the content information characterizing the content of the text portion includes a word and/or a phrase”, claim 4, 14 “wherein the first record is generated based on identifying a trigger word”, claim 5, 15 “, wherein the content information further includes context information specifying context of the text portion”, claim 6, 16 “identify the creator of the text portion, obtain a first user record, generate the first record”, claims 7, 16 “wherein generating the first record based on the content information”, claims 8, 18 “wherein generating the first record includes automatically specifying an assignee,”, claims 9, 19 “wherein generating the first record includes automatically specifying the first record is dependent on other records “ constitutes insignificant extra solution activity and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The limitation is merely a generic implement using a computer and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Accordingly claims 1-20 are found to be directed to a patent ineligible abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springborn et al (U.S. Pub No. 2009/0055796 A1), and in view of Truong et al (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0129973 A1).
As per claim 1, Springborn discloses a system configured to generate a work unit record managed by a collaboration environment, the system comprising: one or more physical processors configured by machine-readable instructions to:
effectuate presentation of a user interface of a collaboration environment, the collaboration environment being configured to facilitate interaction by users with the collaboration environment, the environment state information including records describing work assigned to, created by, and/or managed by the users within the collaboration environment, the user interface providing one or more views of the collaboration environment, wherein an individual view of the collaboration environment displays an individual set of text (Par [0023, 0037, 0075, 0082-0083]);
obtain input information conveying user input into the user interface, wherein the user input includes selection of a text portion displayed within a first view of the collaboration environment (Par [0042, 0075-0083]);
responsive to obtaining the input information, obtain content information characterizing content of the text portion (par [0065-0067, 0086]).
Springborn does not explicitly disclose generate a first record based on the content information by storing first information describing an action item or a project in the first record as part of the environment state information.
However, Truong discloses generate a first record based on the content information by storing first information describing an action item or a project in the first record as part of the environment state information (Par [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feature as disclosed in Bender into the teaching of Springborn in order to allow multiple users to access and edit the files (par [0002]).
As per claim 2, Springborn discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to: effectuate presentation of a user interface element in response to the selection of the text portion, wherein the user interface element is configured to be selected to cause the first record to be generated (Par [0065-0067, 0086]).
As per claim 3, Truong discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the content information characterizing the content of the text portion includes a word and/or a phrase (Par [0021]).
As per claim 4, Truong discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the first record is generated based on identifying a trigger word from the word and/or the phrase (Par [0072]).
As per claim 5, Truong discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the content information further includes context information specifying context of the text portion, the context including one or more of a source record of the text portion, a superior record to the source record, a creator of the text portion, or a selector of the text portion, and wherein the first record is further generated based on the context information (Par [0003-0004]).
As per claim 6, Truong discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to: identify the creator of the text portion and the selector of the text portion; obtain a first user record for the creator and a second user record for the selector; and generate the first record based on the first user record and/or the second user record (Par [0030]).
As per claim 7, Springborn discloses the system of claim 5, generating record based on information (Par [0045, 0075-0083]).
Springborn wherein automatically generating a title.
However, Truong discloses wherein automatically generating a title (Par [0057, 0113]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feature as disclosed in Bender into the teaching of Springborn in order to allow multiple users to access and edit the files (par [0002]).
As per claim 8, Truong discloses the system of claim 5, wherein generating the first record includes automatically specifying an assignee, wherein the assignee is the selector or the creator (Par [0078]).
As per claim 9, Truong discloses the system of claim 1, wherein generating the first record includes automatically specifying the first record is dependent on one or more other records (Par [0030]).
As per claim 10, Truong discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more other records includes a second record associated with the first view (Par [0055]).
As per claim 11, Springborn discloses a method to generate a work unit record managed by a collaboration environment, the method comprising:
effectuating presentation of a user interface of a collaboration environment, the collaboration environment being configured to facilitate interaction by users with the collaboration environment, the environment state information including records describing work assigned to, created by, and/or managed by the users within the collaboration environment, the user interface providing one or more views of the collaboration environment, wherein an individual view of the collaboration environment displays an individual set of text (Par [0023, 0037, 0075, 0082-0083]),
obtaining input information conveying user input into the user interface, wherein the user input includes selection of a text portion displayed within a first view of the collaboration environment (par [0042, 0075-0083]);
responsive to obtaining the input information, obtaining content information characterizing content of the text portion (Par [0065-0067]).
Springborn does not explicitly disclose generate a first record based on the content information by storing first information describing an action item or a project in the first record as part of the environment state information.
However, Truong discloses generate a first record based on the content information by storing first information describing an action item or a project in the first record as part of the environment state information (Par [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feature as disclosed in Truong into the teaching of Springborn in order to allow multiple users to access and edit the files (par [0002]).
As per claim 12, Springborn discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: effectuating presentation of a user interface element in response to the selection of the text portion, wherein the user interface element is configured to be selected to cause the first record to be generated (Par [0065-0067, 0086]).
As per claim 13, Truong discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the content information characterizing the content of the text portion includes a word and/or a phrase (Par [0003-0004]).
As per claim 14, Truong discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising identifying a trigger word from the word and/or the phrase (Par [0072]).
As per claim 15, Truong discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the content information further includes context information specifying context of the text portion, the context including one or more of a source record of the text portion, a superior record to the source record, a creator of the text portion, or a selector of the text portion, and wherein the first record is further generated based on the context information (Par [0003-0004]).
As per claim 16, Truong discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: identifying the creator of the text portion and the selector of the text portion; obtaining a first user record for the creator and a second user record for the selector; and generating the first record based on the first user record and/or the second user record (Par [0030]).
As per claim 17, Springborn discloses the system of claim 15, generating record based on information (Par [0045, 0075-0083]).
Springborn wherein automatically generating a title.
However, Truong discloses wherein automatically generating a title (Par [0057, 0113]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feature as disclosed in Bender into the teaching of Springborn in order to allow multiple users to access and edit the files (par [0002]).
As per claim 18, Truong discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the generating the first record includes automatically specifying an assignee, wherein the assignee is the selector or the creator (Par [0072]).
As per claim 19, Truong discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the generating the first record includes automatically specifying the first record is dependent on one or more other records (par [0030]).
As per claim 20, Truong discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the one or more other records includes a second record associated with the first view (Par [0055]).
Conclusion
May 2, 2026
/THU N NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2154