DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by You (US 2023/0303091).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, You discloses a service server, associated method and storage medium (simulation-based optimization framework comprising a plurality of servers; You at Fig. 1, 0007, 0034) comprising:
One or more (sic) processor (processing devices in the service server contain a processor, e.g. processor 120; You at Fig. 1, 0059).
A memory configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processor (memory coupled to one or more processors to run the algorithm to prolong battery life and productivity; You at abstract, 0003), cause the one or more processor to:
Receive, from a platform managing server configured to manage a simulation platform, vehicle data comprising driving data related to a driving of a vehicle and battery data related to a state of a battery of the vehicle (EV vehicle sensor data from onboard systems, including battery and driving data, transmitted to processing platform and disseminated; You at 0033, 0034, 0048, 0222), wherein the simulation platform is configured to provide a simulation related to a driving environment of a vehicle (EV simulator configured to simulate a driving environment of a vehicle based on received data; You at 0136-0143).
Generate energy management data based on the vehicle data using an energy management software, wherein the energy management software is associated with the simulation platform (processing platform contains energy management modeling; You at 0007, 0075, 0076).
Provide, to the platform management server, the energy management data (optimized energy management data produced; You at 0075-0077).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18 You discloses wherein the energy management comprises at least one of diagnostic obtained by diagnosing the state of the battery of the vehicle, diagnostic data obtained by diagnosing the state of the battery (battery lifespan and diagnostic; You at 0075, 0076, 0219), lifespan data obtained by analyzing the lifespan of the battery (lifespan data; You at 0075, 0076), first and second control data for controlling driving operations of the vehicle or an electrical module of the vehicle (EV component control and EV control; You at abstract, 0083, 0216).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, You discloses wherein the energy management software is configured to analyze the lifespan of the battery using driving mode information, wherein the vehicle data comprises the driving mode information (operating mode used as a constraint in simulation; You at 0131).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 11, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You, as applied above, and further in view of Simonis (US 2022/0097561).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, while You discloses using any number of sensed vehicle parameters to predict the lifespan of the battery, You is silent as to acquiring regenerative braking information of the vehicle using the regenerative braking information, wherein the regenerative braking information is based on the vehicle data; and acquire the lifespan data by analyzing the lifespan of the battery using the regenerative braking information.
Simonis, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor, teaches a central server configured to obtain the vehicle regenerative data, and based on analysis of the regenerative data, calculate a battery lifespan (Simonis at 0055, 0057, 0076).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the claimed invention to augment the remote simulation platform of You with the analysis of Simonis. Doing so would provide a more accurate assessment of remaining battery life.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the combination teaches wherein the energy management software is configured to analyze the lifespan of the battery such that the lifespan of the battery decreases as a count number of regenerative braking increases, wherein the regenerative braking information comprises the count number of regenerative braking (regenerative braking frequency; Simonis at 0055-0056).
Claim Objections
4. Claims 4, 7, 8, 12, 15, 16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M DAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663 05 January 2025