DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 9/26/2024.
Claim 1 has been examined and is rejected.
Priority
This application claims foreign priority to application FI20236064 filed 9/27/2023.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong et al. (US 2013/0039203 A1) in view of Palenius et al. (US 2020/0084733 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Fong teaches:
An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive or transmit at least one reference signal, wherein the at least one reference signal is transmitted according to a reference signal configuration; (receiving an indication of a resource element (RE) configuration allocated for transmission of channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) [Fong: 0047]);
and wherein the reference signal configuration indicates a power-maintaining for at least one inner resource block of a plurality of resource blocks assigned in the frequency-domain to the at least one reference signal; (a first resource block (RB) group used to serve cell center UEs may have the power boosting level set to 0 dB (i.e. a normal power level is maintained) [Fong: 0109]);
and a power-boosting for at least two edge resource blocks of the plurality of resource blocks; (second and third resource block (RB) groups (e.g., groups 302 and 306) which are used to serve cell edge UEs may be configured with power boosting levels greater than 0 dB [Fong: 0109]).
However, Fong does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
wherein the reference signal configuration indicates a power-muting for at least one inner resource block of a plurality of resource blocks assigned in the frequency-domain to the at least one reference signal.
In a similar field of endeavor involving non-uniform distribution of transmit power for resource blocks, Palenius discloses:
wherein the signal configuration indicates a power-muting for at least one inner resource block of a plurality of resource blocks assigned in the frequency-domain to the at least one signal; (central PRBs are deboosted (i.e. muted) as specified for frequency bandwidths [Palenius: 0129; 0108-10]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fong in view of Palenius in order to indicate a power-muting for at least one inner resource block in the system of Fong.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Fong with Palenius as doing so would redistribute power across the frequency domain from one RB to another which may improve CSI-RS detection while adhering to transmitter power constraints by not increasing total transmit power.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Li et al. (US 2015/0003343 A1) which teaches a base station implements a RE guard pattern for the low power channel by muting or reducing the power of boundary high power resource elements that are adjacent to the low power RB [0076].
Bala et al. (US 2019/0150132 A1) which teaches using different sets of power settings for demodulation of all REs located at the band-edge and inner RBs, wherein power boosting is applied for the reference signals on reference resource elements (REs) located on the band-edge [0124; 0070].
Kuchi et al. (US 2023/0292254 A1) which teaches allowing power boosting in inner PRB allocations that may be based on the frame structure and indicated by the BS to the UE [0037].
Popp et al. (US 2023/0199744 A1) which teaches resource block allocation regions that facilitate transmission power boost for different spectral shaping filters at different channel bandwidths, with focus on three distinct regions of resource block allocation: inner, outer region, and edge [0017; 0025].
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446