DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. Pursuant to the amendment filed June 24, 2026, claims 1-20 are pending. The applicant has amended claims 1, 12, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotab (US 2011/0227703 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kotab discloses:
a device management system ([0013]) comprising:
at least one gaming device ([0114]; FIG. 4) comprising at least one sub-component ([0071], [0078]) and a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader configured to detect at least one RFID identifier of at least one RFID tag disposed on the at least one sub-component ([0013], [0114]; FIG 1: 104); and
a host system comprising a real-time locating system, at least one processor in communication with the at least one gaming device, with the real-time locating system, and with at least one memory device ([0014], [0048], [00789]),
Kotab does not explicitly disclose that the real-time locating system is configured to detect a current location of the at least one gaming device within an environment in real-time, but Kotab does disclose determining a real-time location of the sub-component by the association of the sub-component with the location of the gaming device ([0108], [0113], [0116], [0131]), and Kotab does disclose that the location of the gaming device is known in the computing system ([0084], [0106], [0108], [0113]), all of which suggests that the system of Kotab comprises that the real-time locating system is configured to detect a current location of the at least one gaming device within an environment in real-time for the benefit of determining a real-time location of the sub-component by the association of the sub-component with the location of the gaming device;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the system of Kotab in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the system to determine the location of the sub-component by the association of the sub-component with the location of the gaming device;
the at least one processor configured to:
receive device data from the at least one gaming device, the device data identifying the detected at least one RFID identifier ([0074]);
perform a lookup to identify the at least one sub-component based on the detected at least one RFID identifier ([0078], [0091]);
Kotab does not explicitly disclose detecting a current and real-time location of the at least one gaming device using the real-time locating system, but Kotab does disclose determining a real-time location of the sub-component by the association of the sub-component with the location of the gaming device ([0108], [0113], [0116], [0131]), and Kotab does disclose that the location of the gaming device is known in the computing system ([0084], [0106], [0108], [0113]), all of which suggests that the system of Kotab comprises detecting a current and real-time location of the at least one gaming device using the real-time locating system for the benefit of determining a real-time location of the sub-component by the association of the sub-component with the location of the gaming device;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the system of Kotab in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the system to determine the location of the sub-component by the association of the sub-component with the location of the gaming device;
determine a location of the at least one sub-component based on the determined location of the at least one gaming device ([0078], [0084], [0108]); and
generate a map including the real-time location of the at least one gaming device and the location of the at least one sub-component ([0081]).
Regarding claim 12, Kotab discloses:
a host system for a device management system ([0013], [0048], [0139]; FIG. 1: 106; FIG. 10), the host system comprising a real-time locating system ([0014], [0081], [0085]), at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, the real-time locating system, and at least one gaming device ([0048]), the at least one gaming device including at least one sub-component and a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader configured to detect at least one RFID identifier of at least one RFID tag disposed on the at least one sub-component ([0013], [0074]; FIG. 1: 104),
Kotab does not explicitly disclose that the real-time locating system is configured to detect a current location of the at least one gaming device within an environment in real-time, but Kotab does disclose determining a real-time location of the sub-component by the association of the sub-component with the location of the gaming device ([0108], [0113], [0116], [0131]), and Kotab does disclose that the location of the gaming device is known in the computing system ([0084], [0106], [0108], [0113]), all of which suggests that the system of Kotab comprises that the real-time locating system is configured to detect a current location of the at least one gaming device within an environment in real-time for the benefit of determining a real-time location of the sub-component by the association of the sub-component with the location of the gaming device;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the system of Kotab in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the system to determine the location of the sub-component by the association of the sub-component with the location of the gaming device;
the at least one processor configured to:
the remainder of claim 12 is rejected as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Kotab discloses a method ([0048]); otherwise, claim 20 is rejected as claim 12.
5. Claims 2, 3, 5, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotab in view of Oberberger et al. (US 2010/0311505 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kotab does not disclose that the real-time locating system comprises a mesh network in communication with the at least one gaming device, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the real-time location of the at least one gaming device based on information retrieved via the mesh network.
Oberberger, in the same field of device management systems, teaches methods and apparatus for providing services on networked gaming devices ([0001]), comprising a mesh network in communication with the at least one gaming device, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the real-time location of the at least one gaming device based on information retrieved via the mesh network ([0019], [0049], [0050]) for the benefit of ensuring that the network will continue to operate even when one of the gaming machines goes offline ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Oberberger with the system of Kotab because that would have enabled the system to ensure that the network will continue to operate even when one of the gaming machines goes offline.
Regarding claim 3, the above combination comprises a mesh network (see the rejection of claim 2.) Kotab discloses that the mesh network is configured to transmit the device data including the at least one RFID identifier from the at least one gaming device to the at least one processor. ([0048], [0070], [0074])
Regarding claim 5, the above combination discloses a mesh network (see the rejection of claim 2.). Kotab discloses that the at least one processor is configured to determine the real-time location of the at least one gaming device using the mesh network based on at least one of triangulation, trilateration, or received signal strength indicator (RSSI) ([0082]).
Claim 13 is rejected as claim 2.
Claim 14 is rejected as claim 3.
Claim 16 is rejected as claim 5.
6. Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotab and Oberberger further in view of Sharma et al. (US 2024/0013615 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the above combination comprises a mesh network (see the rejection of claim 2). The above combination does not disclose that the mesh network includes at least one of a Bluetooth low energy (BLE) network or an ultra wide band (UWB) network.
Sharma, in the same field of device management systems, teaches systems and methods for tracking the location of casino assets ([0002]), wherein a wireless network is implemented using Bluetooth networks or Ultra-Wide Band networks for the benefit of employing well known, widely available network topologies that are relatively easy and inexpensive to install.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Sharma with the system of the above combination because that would have enabled the system to employ well known, widely available network topologies that are relatively easy and inexpensive to install.
Claim 15 is rejected as claim 4.
7. Claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotab in view of Nguyen (US 2021/0005047 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kotab does not disclose that the real-time locating system comprises at least one camera in communication with the host system, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive image data from the at least one camera; and determine the real-time location of the at least one gaming device based on the image data.
Nguyen, in the same field of device management systems, teaches a system, method, and apparatus capable of acquiring, transmitting, and presenting location based real-time casino data ([0011]), comprising at least one camera in communication with the host system, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive image data from the at least one camera; and determine the real-time location of the at least one gaming device based on the image data ([0086], [0102]) for the benefit of tracking location and movement within the gaming establishment environment based on known location data of barcode reader, or nearby fixed objects ([0086], [0102])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Nguyen with the system of Kotab because that would have enabled the system to track location and movement within a gaming establishment environment based on known location data of barcode reader, or nearby fixed objects.
Regarding claim 7, Kotab discloses at least one visual tag disposed on the at least one gaming device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine the real-time location of the at least one gaming device based on a detected relative position of the at least one visual tag with respect to the at least one camera. ([0082])
Claim 17, is rejected as claim 6.
Claim 18 is rejected as claim 7.
8. Claims 8, 9, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotab in view of Block et al. (US 2011/0183732 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kotab discloses that the at least one processor is further configured to cause display of the generated map. ([0081])
Kotab does not explicitly disclose causing a user device to display the generated map.
Block, in the same field of device management systems, teaches casino monitoring systems, and more particularly to devices and processes that generate casino floor maps ([0003]), wherein the system comprises presenting data of the casino floor as a video casino floor map on a display of a mobile device carried by a casino administrator and/or patron ([0055]), wherein the map comprises wagering game machines and any other thing, item, device, etc. within the range of the monitoring devices ([0054], [0056]) for the benefit of attracting frequent play ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Block with the system of Kotab because that would have enabled the system to attract frequent play.
Regarding claim 9, the above combination does not explicitly disclose that the at least one processor is further configured to cause a user device to display a list of detected components including the at least one gaming device and the at least one sub-component.
Block, in the same field of device management systems, teaches casino monitoring systems, and more particularly to devices and processes that generate casino floor maps ([0003]), wherein the system comprises presenting data of the casino floor as a video casino floor map on a display of a mobile device carried by a casino administrator and/or patron ([0055]), wherein the map comprises wagering game machines and any other thing, item, device, etc. within the range of the monitoring devices ([0054], [0056]) for the benefit of attracting frequent play ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Block with the system of Kotab because that would have enabled the system to attract frequent play.
Claim 19 is rejected as claim 8.
9. Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotab in view of Sharma et al. (US 2024/0013615 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the above combination does not disclose that the at least one processor is further configured to determine a location of at least one user device.
Sharma, in the same field of device management systems, teaches systems and methods for tracking the location of casino assets ([0002]), wherein the system determines the location of a user device within a gaming venue ([0213]) for the benefit of providing a customized modification of the gaming environment ([0213]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Sharma with the system of the above combination because that would have enabled the system to provide a customized modification of the gaming environment.
Regarding claim 11, the above combination does not disclose that the at least one processor is further configured to control a display of at least one of the at least one gaming device or the at least one user device based on a relative position of the at least one gaming device to the at least one user device.
Sharma, in the same field of device management systems, teaches systems and methods for tracking the location of casino assets ([0002]), wherein the system is further configured to control a display of at least one of the at least one gaming device or the at least one user device based on a relative position of the at least one gaming device to the at least one user device ([0215]) for the benefit of tailoring operation of a casino asset (e.g., an EGM) for a patron that is known to be in proximity of the casino asset, or changing operation of a user device (e.g., an app) associated with the casino based on the location of the patron ([0215]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Sharma with the system of the above combination because that would have enabled the system to tailor operation of a casino asset (e.g., an EGM) for a patron that is known to be in proximity of the casino asset, or to change operation of a user device (e.g., an app) associated with the casino based on the location of the patron ([0215]).
Response to Arguments
10. The applicant's arguments, filed June 24, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The applicant traverses the rejection of claims 1-20.
Against the rejection of Claims 1, 12, and 20, the applicant argues that Kotab does not describe or suggest a device management system as recited in Claim 1. More specifically, Kotab does not describe or suggest “a host system comprising a real-time locating system, at least one processor in communication with the at least one gaming device, with the real-time locating system, and with at least one memory device, the real-time locating system configured to detect a current location of the at least one gaming device within an environment in real-time, the at least one processor configured to ... detect a current and real-time location of the at least one gaming device using the real-time locating system.” While Kotab describes “wirelessly (e.g., RF) readable gaming chips,” Kotab, Abstract, Kotab is silent with respect to a real-time locating system detecting a current and real-time location of a gaming machine in an environment (e.g., with respect to a coordinate system of a casino). Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Claim 1 is patentable over Kotab.
Regarding this argument, Clam 1 recites, in relevant part, “the real-time locating system configured to detect a current location of the at least one gaming device within an environment in real-time.” (Claims 12 and 20 recite similar limitations.) Although the applicant argues that “Kotab is silent with respect to a real-time locating system detecting a current and real-time location of a gaming machine in an environment,” the foregoing quotation of the claim language shows that Claim 1 recites a “gaming device,” not a “gaming machine.” (Emphasis added.) As shown below, Kotab reads on this limitation. Although Kotab also would read on a similar limitation that recited a “gaming machine” instead of a “gaming device,” that issue need not be addressed at this time.
The Final Rejection explains that Kotab does not explicitly disclose that the real-time locating system is configured to detect a current location of the at least one gaming device within an environment in real-time, but Kotab does disclose determining a real-time location of the sub-component by the association of the sub-component with the location of the gaming device ([0108], [0113], [0116], [0131]), and Kotab does disclose that the location of the gaming device is known in the computing system ([0084], [0106], [0108], [0113]), all of which suggests that the system of Kotab comprises that the real-time locating system is configured to detect a current location of the at least one gaming device within an environment in real-time for the benefit of determining a real-time location of the sub-component by the association of the sub-component with the location of the gaming device. The applicant’s argument does not provide any explanation why the foregoing disclosures of Kotab do not suggest that Kotab comprises that the real-time locating system is configured to detect a current location of the at least one gaming device within an environment in real-time.
Against the rejection of Claims 2, 3, 5, 13, 14, and 16, the applicant argues that Claims 2, 3,5, 13, 14, and16 depend respectively from one of Claim 1 or Claim 12, which are submitted to be patentable over Kotab for at least the reasons described above. The deficiencies of Kotab in describing or rendering obvious the recitations of Claims 1 and 12 are not identified in the Office Action as being described by Oberberger. Accordingly, when the recitations of Claims 2, 3, 5, 13, 14, and 16 are considered in combination with the respective recitations of Claim 1 or Claim 12, Applicant submits that the Section 103 rejection of Claims 2, 3, 5, 13, 14, and 16 has likewise been overcome.
Regarding this argument, the response to the argument against the rejection of Claims 1 and 12 is also responsive to this argument.
Against the rejection of Claims 4 and 15, the applicant argues that Claims 4 and 15 depend respectively from one of Claim 1 or Claim 12, which are submitted to be patentable over Kotab for at least the reasons described above. The deficiencies of Kotab in describing or rendering obvious the recitations of Claims 1 and 12 are not identified in the Office Action as being described by Oberberger or Sharma. Accordingly, when the recitations of Claims 4 and 14 are considered in combination with the respective recitations of Claim 1 or Claim 12, Applicant submits that the Section 103 rejection of Claims 4 and 15 has likewise been overcome.
Regarding this argument, the response to the argument against the rejection of Claims 1 and 12 is also responsive to this argument.
Against the rejection of Claims 6, 7, 17, and 18, the applicant argues that Claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 depend respectively from one of Claim 1 or Claim 12, which are submitted to be patentable over Kotab for at least the reasons described above. The deficiencies of Kotab in describing or rendering obvious the recitations of Claims 1 and 12 are not identified in the Office Action as being described by Nguyen. Accordingly, when the recitations of Claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 are considered in combination with the respective recitations of Claim 1 or Claim 12, Applicant submits that the Section 103 rejection of Claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 has likewise been overcome.
Regarding this argument, the response to the argument against the rejection of Claims 1 and 12 is also responsive to this argument.
Against the rejection of Claims 8, 9, and 19, the applicant argues that Claims 8, 9, and 19 depend respectively from one of Claim 1 or Claim 12, which are submitted to be patentable over Kotab for at least the reasons described above. The deficiencies of Kotab in describing or rendering obvious the recitations of Claims 1 and 12 are not identified in the Office Action as being described by Block. Accordingly, when the recitations of Claims 8, 9, and 19 are considered in combination with the respective recitations of Claim 1 or Claim 12, Applicant submits that the Section 103 rejection of Claims 8, 9, and 19 has likewise been overcome.
Regarding this argument, the response to the argument against the rejection of Claims 1 and 12 is also responsive to this argument.
Against the rejection of Claims 10 and 11, the applicant argues that Claims 10 and 11 depend from Claim 1, which is submitted to be patentable over Kotab for at least the reasons described above. The deficiencies of Kotab in describing or rendering obvious the recitations of Claim 1 are not identified in the Office Action as being described by Sharma. Accordingly, when the recitations of Claims 10 and 11 are considered in combination with the recitations of Claim 1, Applicant submits that the Section 103 rejection of Claims 10 and 11 has likewise been overcome.
Regarding this argument, the response to the argument against the rejection of Claims 1 and 12 is also responsive to this argument.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN F MORTELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689