DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations “a management section configured to manage”, “a determination section configured to determine”, “ an acquisition section configured to acquire”, “a management data storage section configured to store” and “an access section configured to access” (claims 1 and 8) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a management section configured to manage”, “a determination section configured to determine”, “ an acquisition section configured to acquire”, “a management data storage section configured to store” and “an access section configured to access” (invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claim function. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently to perform the functions because the applicant’s specification does not describe a particular structure and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which structure perform the claim functions. Applicant’s specification paragraphs 0098-0104 discloses the access authorization system 23 functionally includes a service request determination section 23a, a user authentication information management section 23b, an access authorization section 23c, a vehicle information acquisition section 23d, and a vehicle information providing section 23e; however the specification does not explicitly disclose the specific corresponding structure for performing the entire claimed function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Any claim not specifically addressed above is being rejected as incorporating the deficiencies of a claim upon which it depends.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claim functions of “a management section configured to manage”, “a determination section configured to determine”, “ an acquisition section configured to acquire”, “a management data storage section configured to store” and “an access section configured to access”. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient details that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor has position of claimed invention.
Any claim not specifically addressed above is being rejected as incorporating the deficiencies of a claim upon which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (US Patent No. 11,696,126) in view of HOFFEN (US Pub No. 2020/0380148).
Regarding independent claim 1, Chun teaches an access authorization system that authorizes access to privacy information based on an authentication result of a user of a vehicle, authentication of the user being performed based on the authentication result obtained by a different authentication method, the access authorization system comprising: a management section configured to manage, for each seat of the vehicle, management data indicating which user has been authenticated by which authentication method (Chun, Figure 3, column 8, lines 24-32, column 9, lines 20-47, column 10, lines 3-13, column 11, lines 6-48 and claim 11; authentication method for each user).
Chun discloses a personalization service that includes personal privacy information (Chun, column 10, lines 37-38) but does not explicitly teach a determination section configured to determine, for access to the privacy information of the user, which user associated with each of the seats is required to make agreement based on the management data.
HOFFEN teaches a determination section configured to determine, for access to the privacy information of the user, which user associated with each of the seats is required to make agreement based on the management data (HOFFEN, page 3, paragraphs 0030-0032 and page 2, paragraphs 0026-0027; which automotive data requires user consent).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chun with the teachings of HOFFEN to require user consent to provide the advantage of effectively managing data (HOFFEN, page 1, paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 2, Chun in view of HOFFEN teaches the system wherein each of the seats on which each user is seated is estimated based on the authentication result by each of authentication methods and an authentication level set based on accuracy of authentication of each of the authentication methods (Chun, column 8, lines 5-32 and column 9, lines 20-35; security intensity level).
Regarding claim 3, Chun in view of HOFFEN teaches the system wherein for each of the seats, the user with a highest authentication level is associated with the seat (Chun, column 8, lines 5-17).
Regarding claim 4, Chun in view of HOFFEN teaches the system wherein for each piece of the privacy information, it is managed that the user seated on which of the seats is required to make agreement (Chun, column 11, lines 56-60 and column 9, lines 20-35; security intensity level).
Regarding claim 5, Chun in view of HOFFEN teaches each and every claim limitations of claim 1, however, HOFFEN teaches the system wherein in a case where different users have been associated with a same seat, agreement is obtained from all the users having been associated with the seat (HOFFEN, page 3, paragraphs 0030-0032 & 0034 and page 2, paragraphs 0026-0027; aggregated user consent).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chun with the teachings of HOFFEN to require user consent to provide the advantage of effectively managing data (HOFFEN, page 1, paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 6, Chun in view of HOFFEN teaches the system wherein the management data in which a result of the authentication is stored is updated in a case where a predetermined data update condition is satisfied (Chun, column 12, line 49- column 13, line 11; second authentication method).
Regarding claim 7, Chun in view of HOFFEN teaches the system wherein data used to determine the user whose agreement is needed is deleted in a case where a predetermined data deletion condition is satisfied (Chun, column 13, lines 40-45).
Regarding independent claim 8, Chun teaches an electronic control device having a function of relaying data transmitted from a plurality of other electronic control devices mounted on a vehicle (Chun, column 5, line 54-column 6, line 28), the electronic control device comprising: an acquisition section configured to acquire an authentication result of a user of the vehicle by a different authentication method (Chun, Figure 3, column 8, lines 24-32, column 9, lines 20-47, column 10, lines 3-13, column 11, lines 6-48 and claim 11; authentication of user based on determined authentication method); a management data storage section configured to store, for each seat of the vehicle, management data indicating which user has been authenticated by which authentication method (Chun, Figure 3, column 8, lines 24-32, column 9, lines 20-47, column 10, lines 3-13, column 11, lines 6-48 and claim 11; authentication method for each user).
Chun discloses a personalization service that includes personal privacy information (Chun, column 10, lines 37-38) but does not explicitly teach a determination section configured to determine, for access to privacy information of the user, which user associated with each seat is required to make agreement based on the management data stored in the management data storage section; and an access section configured to access privacy information of the user stored in the electronic control device or privacy information of the user stored in the other electronic control devices.
HOFFEN teaches a determination section configured to determine, for access to privacy information of the user, which user associated with each seat is required to make agreement based on the management data stored in the management data storage section (HOFFEN, page 3, paragraphs 0030-0032 and page 2, paragraphs 0026-0027; which automotive data requires user consent); and an access section configured to access privacy information of the user stored in the electronic control device or privacy information of the user stored in the other electronic control device (HOFFEN, page 3, paragraphs 0030-0032 and page 2, paragraph 0026; provide access to automotive data based on consent).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chun with the teachings of HOFFEN to require user consent to provide the advantage of effectively managing data (HOFFEN, page 1, paragraph 0011).
Regarding independent claim 9, Chun teaches an access authorization method that authorizes access to privacy information based on an authentication result of a user of a vehicle, the access authorization method comprising: authentication of the user being performed based on the authentication result obtained by a different authentication method (Chun, Figure 3, column 8, lines 24-32, column 9, lines 20-47, column 10, lines 3-13, column 11, lines 6-48 and claim 11; authentication of user based on determined authentication method); managing, for each seat of the vehicle, management data indicating which user has been authenticated by which authentication method (Chun, Figure 3, column 8, lines 24-32, column 9, lines 20-47, column 10, lines 3-13, column 11, lines 6-48 and claim 11; authentication method for each user).
Chun discloses a personalization service that includes personal privacy information (Chun, column 10, lines 37-38) but does not explicitly teach determining, for access to privacy information of the user, which user associated with each seat is required to make agreement based on the management data.
HOFFEN teaches determining, for access to privacy information of the user, which user associated with each seat is required to make agreement based on the management data (HOFFEN, page 3, paragraphs 0030-0032 and page 2, paragraphs 0026-0027; which automotive data requires user consent).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chun with the teachings of HOFFEN to require user consent to provide the advantage of effectively managing data (HOFFEN, page 1, paragraph 0011).
Regarding independent claim 10, Chun teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program executed by an access authorization system that authorizes access to privacy information based on an authentication result of a user of a vehicle, the program comprising: authentication of the user being performed based on the authentication result obtained by a different authentication method (Chun, Figure 3, column 8, lines 24-32, column 9, lines 20-47, column 10, lines 3-13, column 11, lines 6-48 and claim 11; authentication of user based on determined authentication method); managing, for each seat of the vehicle, management data indicating which user has been authenticated by which authentication method (Chun, Figure 3, column 8, lines 24-32, column 9, lines 20-47, column 10, lines 3-13, column 11, lines 6-48 and claim 11; authentication method for each user).
Chun discloses a personalization service that includes personal privacy information (Chun, column 10, lines 37-38) but does not explicitly teach determining, for access to privacy information of the user, which user associated with each seat is required to make agreement based on the management data.
HOFFEN teaches determining, for access to privacy information of the user, which user associated with each seat is required to make agreement based on the management data (HOFFEN, page 3, paragraphs 0030-0032 and page 2, paragraphs 0026-0027; which automotive data requires user consent).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chun with the teachings of HOFFEN to require user consent to provide the advantage of effectively managing data (HOFFEN, page 1, paragraph 0011).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Scully (US Pub No. 2009/0105910).
Conclusion
/SHAQUEAL D WADE-WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407