DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)/(a2) as being anticipated by Sivaramakrishnana et al. (US 11,182,264).
Regarding claim 1, Sivaramakrishnana et al. discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising: executing an application by a Central Processing Unit (CPU) of a computing system, wherein the application includes a first set of operations and a second set of operations [Col. 63: 1-26]; executing, under control of the CPU, the first set of operations by a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) of the computing system [FIG. 25; Col. 40: 27-36; Col. 63:1-26]; and executing, under control of the CPU, the second set of operations by a Smart Network Interface Controller (SNIC) of the computing system [Col. 63: 34-41].
Regarding claim 5, Sivaramakrishnana et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, comprising: providing first output data generated through execution of the first set of operations from the GPU to the SNIC, wherein the second set of operations use the first output data as input; generating second output data by the SNIC [FIG. 25; Col. 40: 27-36; Col. 63:1-26]; and providing the second output data from the SNIC to a client device [Col. 63:34-61].
Regarding claim 11, the rationale in the rejection of claim 1 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claim 15, the rationale in the rejection of claim 5 is herein incorporated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-4, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivaramakrishnana et al. (US 11,182,264) and Lee et al. (US20240281300).
Regarding claim 2, Sivaramakrishnana et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of operations comprise colocated operations and the second set of operations comprise non-colocated operations.
Lee et al., however, discloses wherein the first set of operations comprise colocated operations and the second set of operations comprise non-colocated operations [FIGs. 4, 5C, 6; ¶0002].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the first set of operations comprise colocated operations and the second set of operations comprise non-colocated operations in order to achieve high compute performance (¶0002).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first set of operations comprise graphics rendering pipeline operations and the second set of operations comprise neural post-processing operations [¶0049].
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the neural post-processing operations comprise execution of at least a portion of a neural network [¶0107].
Regarding claim 6, Sivaramakrishnana et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, comprising: offloading, by the SNIC, one or more second operations of the second set of operations to a client device [Col. 63: 34-41].
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the offloading by the SNIC of the one or more second operations is initiated in response to detecting a match between client offloading criteria and offloading metrics [¶0037].
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, comprising: offloading, by the SNIC, one or more second operations of the second set of operations to at least one other SNIC [¶0037].
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the offloading by the SNIC of the one or more second operations is initiated in response to detecting a match between SNIC offloading criteria and offloading metrics [¶0037].
Regarding claim 10, Sivaramakrishnana et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, comprising: generating, by the SNIC or the at least one other SNIC, aggregated output data by aggregating output data generated by the SNIC with output data generated by the at least one other SNIC [FIG. 3A, Col. 11: 25-57]; and providing the aggregated output data to a client device [FIG. 3A-3B, Col. 10: 1-29].
Regarding claim 12, the rationale in the rejection of claim 2 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claim 13, the rationale in the rejection of claim 3 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claim 14, the rationale in the rejection of claim 4 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claim 16, the rationale in the rejection of claim 6 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claim 17, the rationale in the rejection of claim 7 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claim 18, the rationale in the rejection of claim 8 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claim 19, the rationale in the rejection of claim 9 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claim 20, the rationale in the rejection of claim 10 is herein incorporated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fan et al. (US12,423,074) discloses neural network, combining sets of operations, colocation of operations.
/MARDOCHEE CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133