DETAILED ACTION
Note by the Examiner
2. For clarity, the reference to specific claim numbers are presented in bold. Cited claim limitations are presented in bold the first time they are associated with a particular prior art disclosing the cited limitations, and subsequent reference to the already disclosed claim limitations are presented un-bolded. Certain elements from prior art which are not required by the claims are also presented un-bolded if they are particularly pertinent to understanding how the references are being combined. Item-to-item matching and Examiner explanations for 102 &/or 103 rejections have been provided in parenthesis.
Claim Rejections 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Watakabe et al. (US 2018/0122835 A1), hereinafter as W1, in view of Son et al. (US 2018/0366586 A1), hereinafter as S1
4. Regarding Claim 1, W1 discloses a display device (see in particular Figs. 1-6, 23-25 see [0086] “The combination of the LTPS TFT and the TAOS TFT explained in the first embodiment and in the second embodiment can be applied to an organic EL display device) comprising:
a substrate (element 100, see [0088] “TFT substrate 100”) including a display region (element 10, see [0087] “display area 10”) in which a plurality of pixels (see [0086] “organic EL layers” plural layers for plural pixels) are disposed;
a buffer layer (element 101, see [0044] “undercoat 101 is often formed by a laminated film of silicon oxide (SiO) and silicon nitride (SiN)”) disposed on a whole surface of the substrate (see Fig. 3);
a first thin film transistor (see Fig. 6 left transistor, see [0062] “LTPS TFT”), a second thin film transistor (see Fig. 6 right transistor, see [0062] “TAOS TFT”), wherein the first thin film transistor and the second thin film transistor each include an active layer, a gate electrode, a source electrode and a drain electrode (first transistor active layer element 102, gate electrode element 104, source electrode left element 115, drain electrode right element 115, see [0046, 0062]) (second transistor active layer element 107, gate electrode element 111, source electrode left element 116, drain electrode right element 116, see [0047, 0062]), and the active layer of the first thin film transistor is made of low temperature poly silicon (LTPS) (see [0046] “LTPS 102”) and the active layer of the second thin film transistor is made of an oxide semiconductor (see [0006, 0047] “an oxide semiconductor, which is amorphous and optically transparent, is called TAOS (Transparent Amorphous Oxide Semiconductor)”);
a first gate insulating layer (element 103, see [0046] “gate insulating film 103”) disposed on the active layer of the first thin film transistor (see Fig. 6);
a first dielectric layer (element 106, see [0048] “interlayer insulating film 106”) disposed on the gate electrode of the first thin film transistor (see Fig. 6), wherein the active layer of the second thin film transistor is disposed on the first dielectric layer (see Fig. 6);
a second gate insulating layer (element 110, see [0055] “gate insulating film 110”) disposed on the active layer of the second thin film transistor (see Fig. 6).
W1 does not disclose the substrate is flexible; and a capacitor disposed in each of the plurality of pixels; a connection electrode connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode of the first thin film transistor, wherein the capacitor includes a first storage electrode disposed on the same layer as the gate electrode of the first thin film transistor
S1 discloses (see in particular Fig. 3A) the substrate is flexible (see [0053] “substrate 100 may be a flexible substrate”); and a capacitor (element CST, see [0095] “storage capacitor Cst”); a connection electrode (element 217, see [0099] “connection electrode 217’) connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode of the first thin film transistor (drain element 215 of the first transistor element 210, see [0094] “first TFT 210 includes the first active layer 211 including polycrystalline silicon”), wherein the capacitor includes a first storage electrode (portion of element 213) disposed on the same layer as the gate electrode (remaining portion of element 213) of the first thin film transistor (see Fig. 3A); wherein the connection electrode, anode, organic layer, and cathode are disposed on a planarization layer (element 119, see [0102] “planarization layer 119”), wherein the source electrode and the drain electrode of the second thin film transistor (elements 225S, 225D of element 220, see [0060] “second TFT 220 may include a second active layer 221 including an oxide semiconductor”), and the connection electrode include at least two of same material (see Fig. 4L and [0131] “each of the second electrode 225 including the source electrode 225S and the drain electrode 225D, the connection electrode 217, and the second conductive layer 320 may have a three-layer structure in which Ti, Al and Ti are sequentially stacked on one another”).
The capacitor, connection electrode, planarization layer, and conductive material as taught by S1 is incorporated as a capacitor, connection electrode, planarization layer, and conductive material for each of the display pixels of W1, wherein the combination further discloses the capacitor disposed in each of the plurality of pixels.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of S1 with W1 because the combination provides a storage capacitor without increased additional space (see S1 [0095]) and the connection electrode and material provides mechanical, and electrical connection which may also be utilized in a flexible area (see S1 [0142]).
5. Regarding Claim 2, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a planarization layer (see S1 element 119, see [0102] “planarization layer 119”) disposed on the connection electrode (see Fig. 3A); and
an anode (see W1 Fig. 25 element 211 and [0090] “lower electrode 211, which works as an anode”), an organic layer (W1 element 212, see [0090] “organic EL layer 212”), and a cathode (W1 element 213, see [0090] “upper electrode 213, which works as a cathode”) disposed on the planarization layer (see S1 Fig. 3A the planarization layer is below the anode, organic layer, cathode elements 410, 420, 430 incorporated in the same manner in W1).
6. Regarding Claim 3, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 2, wherein (see S1) the source electrode and the drain electrode of the second thin film transistor (elements 225S, 225D of element 220, see [0060] “second TFT 220 may include a second active layer 221 including an oxide semiconductor”), and the connection electrode include at least two of same material (see Fig. 4L and [0131] “each of the second electrode 225 including the source electrode 225S and the drain electrode 225D, the connection electrode 217, and the second conductive layer 320 may have a three-layer structure in which Ti, Al and Ti are sequentially stacked on one another”).
7. Regarding Claim 4, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 3, the source electrode and the drain electrode of the second thin film transistor (see S1 elements 225S, 225D of element 220, see [0060] “second TFT 220 may include a second active layer 221 including an oxide semiconductor”), and the connection electrode are formed using a same process (It should be known that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The limitations “formed using a same process” does not produce a structural result which distinguishes from the structure disclosed by the prior art.) and same material (see Fig. 4L and [0131] “each of the second electrode 225 including the source electrode 225S and the drain electrode 225D, the connection electrode 217, and the second conductive layer 320 may have a three-layer structure in which Ti, Al and Ti are sequentially stacked on one another”).
8. Regarding Claim 5, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the source electrode and the drain electrode of the second thin film transistor, and the connection electrode have a three-layer structure of titanium (Ti), aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti) (see S1 Fig. 4L and [0131] “each of the second electrode 225 including the source electrode 225S and the drain electrode 225D, the connection electrode 217, and the second conductive layer 320 may have a three-layer structure in which Ti, Al and Ti are sequentially stacked on one another”).
9. Regarding Claim 6, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the source electrode and the drain electrode of the first thin film transistor have a three-layer structure of titanium (Ti), aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti) (see S1 Fig. 4L and [0131] “each of the second electrode 225 including the source electrode 225S and the drain electrode 225D, the connection electrode 217, and the second conductive layer 320 may have a three-layer structure in which Ti, Al and Ti are sequentially stacked on one another”).
10. Regarding Claim 7, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the capacitor further includes a second storage electrode (see S1 element CE2) disposed on the first dielectric layer and overlaps with the first storage electrode (see S1 Fig. 3A first dielectric element 113 on the gate electrode portion of element 213).
11. Regarding Claim 8, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 2, further comprising:
an encapsulating portion (see W1 Fig. 25 element 214, see [0090] “protective film 214”) disposed on the cathode.
12. Regarding Claim 9, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the flexible substrate is made of a plastic material having flexibility (see S1 [0053] “The substrate 100 that is flexible may include at least one of various materials, for example, … polyimide (“PI”)” The substrate is a same material as the plastic material of the Applicant’s invention).
13. Regarding Claim 10, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 7, wherein the second storage electrode is disposed on and contacts a same layer as the active layer of the second thin film transistor (see S1 Fig. 3A on a lower surface and contacts a same layer element 114 as the active layer element 221 of the second thin film transistor element 221).
14. Regarding Claim 11, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 7, wherein the second storage electrode is disposed on a same layer as the active layer of the second thin film transistor (see S1 Fig. 3A both on the layer of element 113).
15. Regarding Claim 12, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 2, further comprising: a display element including the anode, the organic layer, and the cathode (see W1 Fig. 25), wherein the first thin film transistor is configured to drive the display element (see W1 [0007] “the TFT of LTPS has high carrier mobility, thus a driving circuit can be formed by the TFT of LTPS”).
16. Regarding Claim 13, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the buffer layer is made of mono-layer of silicon nitride (SiNx) or silicon oxide (SiOx) (see W1 element 101, see [0044] “undercoat 101 is often formed by a laminated film of silicon oxide (SiO) and silicon nitride (SiN)”), or multi-layer of silicon nitride (SiNx) and silicon oxide (SiOx).
17. Regarding Claim 14, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 2, further comprising:
a second dielectric layer disposed between the gate electrode of the second thin film transistor, and the planarization layer (see W1 Fig. 6 element 112, see [0056] “interlayer insulating film 112”).
18. Regarding Claim 15, W1, S1 disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein in each of the first thin film transistor and the second thin film transistor, the gate electrode is disposed above the active layer (see W1 Fig. 6).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2818