DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, 25-29, and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bergeron et al. USPG Pub. No.: US 2011/0316556.
Regarding Claim 1, Bergeron teaches a method of correcting common mode error in a composite closed-loop system (Fig. 1-3 show the closed-loop circuitry for the device under test in a calibration process to correct the common mode errors; Fig. 5 shows the method; [0006], "The circuitry may further comprise a controller to receive the error signal and to adjust an amount of current output to the current path in accordance with the error signal. The error signal may correspond to a variation in voltage caused by thermal drift and variations in common mode voltage in the channel.'; [0018], FIGS. 1 to 3 show the same circuitry for calibrating a test channel, but configured differently in each of the figures'; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions), the method comprising:
providing a device under test (DUT) in a semiconductor device testing system (Fig. 1-3 show the circuit 10 connected to the load terminal for the DUT; [0011], "The circuitry may comprise an apparatus configured to alter the test signal based on the electrical parameter. The apparatus may comprise a digital signal processor (DSP) that is configured to generate a digital signal that corresponds to the test signal, where the DSP is configured to alter the digital signal to alter the test signal. The calibration tote may comprise a resistor in series with a Zener diode, and the electrical parameter may comprise a voltage measured at least across the resistor. The calibration tote may be movable among bays in the system. The devices under test may comprise batteries.”; [0012], “Also described herein is a method of calibrating a channel of a device test system during operation of the device test system. The method comprises measuring an electrical parameter across a circuit element in the channel, applying a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel, and obtaining an error signal associated with the channel, the electrical parameter being measured by a first device and the error signal being measured by a second device”; [0025], “FIG. 1 shows a circuit 10 that is part of a channel of a test system, and that may be used to implement the foregoing method. In this example, the test system is for testing lithium-ion batteries; however, circuit 10 may be incorporated into any type of test system.”; the DUT can be introduced to a testing bay);
applying a testing input signal from a test signal source circuitry to the DUT, the testing signal having a common mode error (Fig. 1-3 show the circuit 10 connected to the load terminal for the DUT used to test for common mode errors; Fig. 5, step 71 shows applying a voltage across the circuitry to measure an electrical parameter to determine the common mode errors; [0006], "The circuitry may further comprise a controller to receive the error signal and to adjust an amount of current output to the current path in accordance with the error signal. The error signal may correspond to a variation in voltage caused by thermal drift and variations in common mode voltage in the channel.'; [0025], 'FIG. 1 shows a circuit 10 that is part of a channel of a test system, and that may be used to implement the foregoing method. In this example, the test system is for testing lithium-ion batteries; however, circuit 10 may be incorporated into any type of test system.'; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog- to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations."; [0040], 'Referring to FIG. 5, a process 70 for compensating for errors includes measuring (71) an electrical parameter (e.g., voltage) across a circuit element (e.g., resistor 17) in a channel, and applying (72) a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel. Process 70 also includes obtaining (73) an error signal that corresponds to the electrical parameter, where the electrical parameter is measured by a first device (e.g., differential amplifier 19) and the error signal is obtained by a second device (e.g., differential amplifier 24). In this example, the first and second devices are of a same type. The error signal may be used to adjust (74) the signal (e.g., current) input to the channel);
determining, at a measurement unit connected to the test signal source circuitry, a voltage at an output signal to the DUT (Fig. 1-3; [0027], resistor 17, circuitry 10, discussing that “circuit path 15 may include an amplifier 16 or other circuitry, as shown in FIG. 1. Circuit path 15 also includes a circuit element, in this example, resistor 17. A differential amplifier 19 is electrically connected at each end of resistor 17 to measure a voltage across resistor 17, and to output a voltage. This voltage is fed back to summing junction 20 via feedback path 21”; [0040], “Referring to FIG. 5, a process 70 for compensating for errors includes measuring (71) an electrical parameter (e.g., voltage) across a circuit element (e.g., resistor 17) in a channel, and applying (72) a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel. Process 70 also includes obtaining (73) an error signal that corresponds to the electrical parameter, where the electrical parameter is measured by a first device (e.g., differential amplifier 19) and the error signal is obtained by a second device (e.g., differential amplifier 24). In this example, the first and second devices are of a same type. The error signal may be used to adjust (74) the signal (e.g., current) input to the channel.");
communicating the voltage to a feedback subcircuit (controller 12 via feedback paths 21, 22; Fig. 1-3; [0027], “Circuit path 15 may include an amplifier 16 or other circuitry, as shown in FIG. 1. Circuit path 15 also includes a circuit clement, in this example, resistor 17. A differential amplifier 19 is electrically connected at each end of resistor 17 to measure a voltage across resistor 17, and to output a voltage. This voltage is fed back to summing junction 20 via feedback path 21”; [0028], 'Circuit 10 includes a second feedback path 22. This second feedback path also includes a differential amplifier 24, which may be electrically connected at each end of resistor 17, as shown in FIG. 1. In an implementation, differential amplifier 24 has a higher accuracy than differential amplifier 19. Thus, differential amplifier 24 may be more sensitive to thermal (or other) environmental variations, such as thermal drift, and to variations in a common mode voltage of circuit path 15'; [0031], 'In FIG. 2, the voltage measured by differential amplifier 24 should be zero (since terminals 26 and 27 are electrically connected, e.g., shorted). However, variations in temperature (and/or, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage on path 15 can have an effect on differential amplifier 24 such that it does not output the correct voltage (in this case, zero). Rather, in this case, differential amplifier 24 outputs a voltage measured between input terminals 26 and 27. Since there should be no voltage between the input terminals (because they are electrically connected via switch 29), the output voltage represents an error introduced into differential amplifier, e.g., by temperature variations and common mode voltage variations in path 15.”; [0032], “The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations”); and
providing, by the feedback subcircuit, a feedback signal to the testing signal to compensate for the common mode error (Fig. 5, steps 73-74; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog- to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error". The user may direct the test equipment to use to error to adjust the programming of the controller to compensate for the thermal and common mode variations in differential amplifier 19.'; [0038], "Controlling the switches via a controller such as that described above, and in the manner described above with respect to FIGS. 1 to 3, allows the calibration circuit to provide an error signal corresponding errors that occur as a result of thermal (or other environmental) variations and common mode voltage variations in circuit path 59. As described above, the error signal may be used to program the input current to circuit path 59 to compensate for that error signal, and thereby compensate for errors in the operation of differential amplifier 67 that are caused by thermal variation and common mode voltage variation.”; [0040], “Referring to FIG. 5, a process 70 for compensating for errors includes measuring (71) an electrical parameter (e.g., voltage) across a circuit element (e.g., resistor 17) in a channel, and applying (72) a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel. Process 70 also includes obtaining (73) an error signal that corresponds to the electrical parameter, where the electrical parameter is measured by a first device (e.g., differential amplifier 19) and the error signal is obtained by a second device (e.g., differential amplifier 24). In this example, the first and second devices are of a same type. The error signal may be used to adjust (74) the signal (e.g., current) input to the channel.”).
Regarding Claim 2, Bergeron teaches the method of Claim 1, further comprising:
providing, by the feedback subcircuit, the feedback signal to a measurement subcircuit (see feedback subcircuit 12, 21, 22; analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40; fig. 1-3; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog- to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations."),
determining, based on a measurement output of the measurement subcircuit, a correction factor for the testing signal, the correction factor configured to compensate for the common mode error; and
applying the correction factor to the testing signal to compensate for the common mode error (Fig. 1-3; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error". The user may direct the test equipment to use to error to adjust the programming of the controller to compensate for the thermal and common mode variations in differential amplifier 19. However, there is no requirement that error signal be used for correction in this manner. The error signal may simply be an informational aspect of the testing procedure.'; [0033], 'In a case where the error signal is used for correction, the correction produced by the error signal may also constitute a correction for differential amplifier 19. The calibration using this correction may be performed in real-time, e.g., during operation of circuit 10, thereby increasing the accuracy of circuit 10.'; the error signal from the ADC 40 can be used for correction [factor] to compensate for the common mode errors, which applied to the circuit 10).
Regarding Claim 3, Bergeron teaches the method of Claim 2, wherein the measurement subcircuit does not have additional circuitry configured to compensate for the common mode error (Fig. 1-3; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error". The user may direct the test equipment to use to error to adjust the programming of the controller to compensate for the thermal and common mode variations in differential amplifier 19. However, there is no requirement that error signal be used for correction in this manner. The error signal may simply be an informational aspect of the testing procedure.'; [0033], 'In a case where the error signal is used for correction, the correction produced by the error signal may also constitute a correction for differential amplifier 19. The calibration using this correction may be performed in real-time, e.g., during operation of circuit 10, thereby increasing the accuracy of circuit 10.'; in the example discussed, the error signal from the ADC 40 can be used for correction [factor] to compensate for the common mode errors, where the controller 12 may apply the correction through a separate differential amplifier 19).
Regarding Claim 5, Bergeron teaches the method of Claim 2, wherein the measurement output includes the common mode error ([0032], 'Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations."), and wherein a single signal source (via controller 12) is used to compensate for the common mode error in the testing signal and the measurement output (Fig. 1-3; [0026], 'For example, controller 12 may include/be, but is not limited to, a microprocessor, a digital signal processor (DSP) and/or programmable logic. Controller 12 may function as a current source in that it controls the amount of current output to the channel. By way of example, a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 14 receives a digital signal from controller 12, which corresponds to an amount of output current'; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error". The user may direct the test equipment to use to error to adjust the programming of the controller to compensate for the thermal and common mode variations in differential amplifier 19. However, there is no requirement that error signal be used for correction in this manner. The error signal may simply be an informational aspect of the testing procedure.'; [0033], 'In a case where the error signal is used for correction, the correction produced by the error signal may also constitute a correction for differential amplifier 19. The calibration using this correction may be performed in real-time, e.g., during operation of circuit 10, thereby increasing the accuracy of circuit 10.'; the controller 12 provides the correction [factor] to compensate for the common mode error in the test signal read by the ADC 40).
Regarding Claim 6, Bergeron teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the measurement unit comprises a resistor (resistor 17; Fig. 1-3; [0027], 'Circuit path 15 may include an amplifier 16 or other circuitry, as shown in FIG. 1. Circuit path 15 also includes a circuit element, in this example, resistor 17. A differential amplifier 19 is electrically connected at each end of resistor 17 to measure a voltage across resistor 17, and to output a voltage'; [0040], "Referring to FIG. 5, a process 70 for compensating for errors includes measuring (71) an electrical parameter (e.g., voltage) across a circuit element (e.g., resistor 17) in a channel, and applying (72) a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel.').
Regarding Claim 7, Bergeron teaches the method of Claim 2, further comprising: communicating the voltage to the measurement subcircuit (40; Fig. 1-3; [0031], 'Rather, in this case, differential amplifier 24 outputs a voltage measured between input terminals 26 and 27. Since there should be no voltage between the input terminals (because they are electrically connected via switch 29), the output voltage represents an error introduced into differential amplifier, e.g., by temperature variations and common mode voltage variations in path 15.'; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal; an output voltage reaches the ADC 40); wherein the measurement output comprises an electrical current measurement based on the feedback signal and a voltage measurement based on the voltage (Fig. 1-3; [0031], 'Rather, in this case, differential amplifier 24 outputs a voltage measured between input terminals 26 and 27. Since there should be no voltage between the input terminals (because they are electrically connected via switch 29), the output voltage represents an error introduced into differential amplifier, e.g., by temperature variations and common mode voltage variations in path 15.'; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog- to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal.'; [0036], "That is, differential amplifier 24 is electrically connected at each end of resistor 17 to measure a voltage across resistor 17, and to output a current that corresponds to that voltage. In this configuration, differential amplifier 24 is used simply to monitor the channel current through resistor 17, and to output a digital signal (e.g., via a GUI) to the user for display. This digital signal may be used to adjust current in the channel or it may simply be informational.'; an output voltage from the feedback signal reaches the ADC 40 that is measured, along with a channel current).
Regarding Claim 8, Bergeron teaches the method of Claim 2, wherein determining the correction factor for the testing signal comprises comparing the measurement output to a lookup table (Fig. 1-3; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error"."; [0033], 'In a case where the error signal is used for correction, the correction produced by the error signal may also constitute a correction for differential amplifier 19. The calibration using this correction may be performed in real-time, e.g., during operation of circuit 10, thereby increasing the accuracy of circuit 10.'; [0034], 'In one example, the value of the error signal should be close to zero. Octant field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) associated with the test channel may store values output by the ADC and adjust the next output ADC code to the controller by an amount that corresponds to the error signal. These values may then be used to generate the current output to circuit path 15'; the FPGA includes the stored values [lookup table], with each value corresponding to the correction [factor] based upon the measured error).
Regarding Claim 9, Bergeron teaches the method of Claim 2, wherein applying the correction factor to the testing signal comprises utilizing a calibration coefficient to adjust a signal source of the testing signal (Fig. 1-3; [0026], For example, controller 12 may include/be, but is not limited to, a microprocessor, a digital signal processor (DSP) and/or programmable logic. Controller 12 may function as a current source in that it controls the amount of current output to the channel. By way of example, a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 14 receives a digital signal from controller 12, which corresponds to an amount of output current'; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error"."; [0033], 'In a case where the error signal is used for correction, the correction produced by the error signal may also constitute a correction for differential amplifier 19. The calibration using this correction may be performed in real-time, e.g., during operation of circuit 10, thereby increasing the accuracy of circuit 10.'; [0034], 'In one example, the value of the error signal should be close to zero. Octant field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) associated with the test channel may store values output by the ADC and adjust the next output ADC code to the controller by an amount that corresponds to the error signal. These values may then be used to generate the current output to circuit path 15'; [0038], 'Referring to FIG. 4, feedback path 21 of FIG. 1 corresponds to feedback path 54 of FIG. 4, and feedback path 22 of FIG. 1 corresponds to feedback path 55 of FIG. 4 In this example, the calibration circuit (the implementation of circuit 10) includes a switch 57 between circuit path 59 and the input terminal 60 of differential amplifier 61. Input terminal 62 of differential amplifier 61 is electrically connected to circuit path 59 without an intervening switch. The calibration circuit also includes a switch 64 between input terminals 60 and 62 of differential amplifier 61. Controlling the switches via a controller such as that described above, and in the manner described above with respect to FIGS. 1 to 3, allows the calibration circuit to provide an error signal corresponding errors that occur as a result of thermal (or other environmental) variations and common mode voltage variations in circuit path 59'; the FPGA includes the stored values [lookup table], with each value corresponding to the correction [factor] based upon the measured error; a calibration circuit can be used to provide the error SO that the controller 12 can adjust the testing signal).
Regarding Claim 10, Bergeron teaches the method of Claim 8, wherein the lookup table comprises associated electrical current and voltage measurements with common mode error values (Fig. 1-3; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error"."; [0033], 'In a case where the error signal is used for correction, the correction produced by the error signal may also constitute a correction for differential amplifier 19. The calibration using this correction may be performed in real-time, e.g., during operation of circuit 10, thereby increasing the accuracy of circuit 10.'; [0034], 'In one example, the value of the error signal should be close to zero. Octant field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) associated with the test channel may store values output by the ADC and adjust the next output ADC code to the controller by an amount that corresponds to the error signal. These values may then be used to generate the current output to circuit path 15'; [0036], "That is, differential amplifier 24 is electrically connected at each end of resistor 17 to measure a voltage across resistor 17, and to output a current that corresponds to that voltage. In this configuration, differential amplifier 24 is used simply to monitor the channel current through resistor 17, and to output a digital signal (e.g., via a GUI) to the user for display. This digital signal may be used to adjust current in the channel or it may simply be informational.'; [0040], 'Referring to FIG. 5, a process 70 for compensating for errors includes measuring (71) an electrical parameter (e.g., voltage) across a circuit element (e.g., resistor 17) in a channel, and applying (72) a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel.'; the FPGA includes the stored values [lookup table], with each value corresponding to the correction [factor] based upon the measured error; current and voltage values may be associated with each of the measured error values).
Regarding Claim 11, Bergeron teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the feedback subcircuit shifts the common mode error (Fig. 1-3; [0027], 'Circuit path 15 may include an amplifier 16 or other circuitry, as shown in FIG. 1. Circuit path 15 also includes a circuit element, in this example, resistor 17. A differential amplifier 19 is electrically connected at each end of resistor 17 to measure a voltage across resistor 17, and to output a voltage. This voltage is fed back to summing junction 20 via feedback path 21'; [0028], 'Circuit 10 includes a second feedback path 22. This second feedback path also includes a differential amplifier 24, which may be electrically connected at each end of resistor 17, as shown in FIG. 1. In an implementation, differential amplifier 24 has a higher accuracy than differential amplifier 19. Thus, differential amplifier 24 may be more sensitive to thermal (or other) environmental variations, such as thermal drift, and to variations in a common mode voltage of circuit path 15. However, this need not be the case, i.e., both differential amplifiers 19 and 24 may have similar, or substantially the same, responses to thermal and common mode variations. For example, both differential amplifiers may be the same or substantially similar type or be designed to have similar responses.'; the feedback paths 21, 22 shift the common mode error based upon variations in the circuit along the path such as fluctuations in voltage).
Regarding Claim 12, Bergeron teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein a value of the voltage determined at the output signal to the DUT is indicative of the common mode error (Fig. 1-3; [0027], 'Circuit path 15 may include an amplifier 16 or other circuitry, as shown in FIG. 1. Circuit path 15 also includes a circuit element, in this example, resistor 17. A differential amplifier 19 is electrically connected at each end of resistor 17 to measure a voltage across resistor 17, and to output a voltage. This voltage is fed back to summing junction 20 via feedback path 21'; [0040], 'Referring to FIG. 5, a process 70 for compensating for errors includes measuring (71) an electrical parameter (e.g., voltage) across a circuit element (e.g., resistor 17) in a channel, and applying (72) a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel. Process 70 also includes obtaining (73) an error signal that corresponds to the electrical parameter, where the electrical parameter is measured by a first device (e.g., differential amplifier 19) and the error signal is obtained by a second device (e.g., differential amplifier 24). In this example, the first and second devices are of a same type. The error signal may be used to adjust (74) the signal (e.g., current) input to the channel.'; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations.'; the voltage across the resistor 17 at the load terminal for the DUT is indicative of the common mode error once passing through the differential amplifier 24 to the ADC 40).
Regarding Claim 25, Bergeron teaches a non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors (Fig. 1-3 show the closed-loop circuitry for the device under test in a calibration process to correct the common mode errors; Fig. 5 shows the method; [0006], "The circuitry may further comprise a controller to receive the error signal and to adjust an amount of current output to the current path in accordance with the error signal. The error signal may correspond to a variation in voltage caused by thermal drift and variations in common mode voltage in the channel.'; [0018], FIGS. 1 to 3 show the same circuitry for calibrating a test channel, but configured differently in each of the figures'; [0026], For example, controller 12 may include/be, but is not limited to, a microprocessor, a digital signal processor (DSP) and/or programmable logic. Controller 12 may function as a current source in that it controls the amount of current output to the channel. By way of example, a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 14 receives a digital signal from controller 12, which corresponds to an amount of output current.'; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal; [0058], 'Processors suitable for the execution of a computer program include, by way of example, both general and special purpose microprocessors, and any one or more processors of any kind of digital computer. Generally, a processor will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory or a random access memory or both. Components of a computer include a processor for executing instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data.'), cause the one or more processors to:
detect a device under test (DUT) in a semiconductor device testing system (Fig. 1-3 show the circuit 10 connected to the load terminal for the DUT; [0011], "The circuitry may comprise an apparatus configured to alter the test signal based on the electrical parameter. The apparatus may comprise a digital signal processor (DSP) that is configured to generate a digital signal that corresponds to the test signal, where the DSP is configured to alter the digital signal to alter the test signal. The calibration tote may comprise a resistor in series with a Zener diode, and the electrical parameter may comprise a voltage measured at least across the resistor. The calibration tote may be movable among bays in the system. The devices under test may comprise batteries.'; [0012], 'Also described herein is a method of calibrating a channel of a device test system during operation of the device test system. The method comprises measuring an electrical parameter across a circuit element in the channel, applying a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel, and obtaining an error signal associated with the channel, the electrical parameter being measured by a first device and the error signal being measured by a second device'; [0025], 'FIG. 1 shows a circuit 10 that is part of a channel of a test system, and that may be used to implement the foregoing method. In this example, the test system is for testing lithium-ion batteries; however, circuit 10 may be incorporated into any type of test system.'; the DUT can be introduced to a testing bay);
apply a testing input signal from a test signal source circuitry to the DUT, the testing signal having a common mode error (Fig. 1-3 show the circuit 10 connected to the load terminal for the DUT used to test for common mode errors; Fig. 5, step 71 shows applying a voltage across the circuitry to measure an electrical parameter to determine the common mode errors; [0006], "The circuitry may further comprise a controller to receive the error signal and to adjust an amount of current output to the current path in accordance with the error signal. The error signal may correspond to a variation in voltage caused by thermal drift and variations in common mode voltage in the channel.'; [0025], 'FIG. 1 shows a circuit 10 that is part of a channel of a test system, and that may be used to implement the foregoing method. In this example, the test system is for testing lithium-ion batteries; however, circuit 10 may be incorporated into any type of test system.'; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations."; [0040], 'Referring to FIG. 5, a process 70 for compensating for errors includes measuring (71) an electrical parameter (e.g., voltage) across a circuit element (e.g., resistor 17) in a channel, and applying (72) a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel. Process 70 also includes obtaining (73) an error signal that corresponds to the electrical parameter, where the electrical parameter is measured by a first device (e.g., differential amplifier 19) and the error signal is obtained by a second device (e.g., differential amplifier 24). In this example, the first and second devices are of a same type. The error signal may be used to adjust (74) the signal (e.g., current) input to the channel.');
determine, at a measurement unit connected to the test signal source circuitry, a voltage at an output signal to the DUT (Fig. 1-3; [0027], 'Circuit path 15 may include an amplifier 16 or other circuitry, as shown in FIG. 1. Circuit path 15 also includes a circuit element, in this example, resistor 17. A differential amplifier 19 is electrically connected at each end of resistor 17 to measure a voltage across resistor 17, and to output a voltage. This voltage is fed back to summing junction 20 via feedback path 21'; [0040], 'Referring to FIG. 5, a process 70 for compensating for errors includes measuring (71) an electrical parameter (e.g., voltage) across a circuit element (e.g., resistor 17) in a channel, and applying (72) a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel. Process 70 also includes obtaining (73) an error signal that corresponds to the electrical parameter, where the electrical parameter is measured by a first device (e.g., differential amplifier 19) and the error signal is obtained by a second device (e.g., differential amplifier 24). In this example, the first and second devices are of a same type. The error signal may be used to adjust (74) the signal (e.g., current) input to the channel.');
communicate the voltage to a feedback subcircuit (controller 12 via feedback paths 21, 22; Fig. 1-3; [0027], 'Circuit path 15 may include an amplifier 16 or other circuitry, as shown in FIG. 1. Circuit path 15 also includes a circuit element, in this example, resistor 17. A differential amplifier 19 is electrically connected at each end of resistor 17 to measure a voltage across resistor 17, and to output a voltage. This voltage is fed back to summing junction 20 via feedback path 21'; [0028], 'Circuit 10 includes a second feedback path 22. This second feedback path also includes a differential amplifier 24, which may be electrically connected at each end of resistor 17, as shown in FIG. 1. In an implementation, differential amplifier 24 has a higher accuracy than differential amplifier 19. Thus, differential amplifier 24 may be more sensitive to thermal (or other) environmental variations, such as thermal drift, and to variations in a common mode voltage of circuit path 15'; [0031], 'In FIG. 2, the voltage measured by differential amplifier 24 should be zero (since terminals 26 and 27 are electrically connected, e.g., shorted). However, variations in temperature (and/or, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage on path 15 can have an effect on differential amplifier 24 such that it does not output the correct voltage (in this case, zero). Rather, in this case, differential amplifier 24 outputs a voltage measured between input terminals 26 and 27. Since there should be no voltage between the input terminals (because they are electrically connected via switch 29), the output voltage represents an error introduced into differential amplifier, e.g., by temperature variations and common mode voltage variations in path 15.'; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations'); and
provide, by the feedback subcircuit (12), a feedback signal to the testing signal to compensate for the common mode error (Fig. 5, steps 73-74; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog- to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error". The user may direct the test equipment to use to error to adjust the programming of the controller to compensate for the thermal and common mode variations in differential amplifier 19.'; [0038], Controlling the switches via a controller such as that described above, and in the manner described above with respect to FIGS. 1 to 3, allows the calibration circuit to provide an error signal corresponding errors that occur as a result of thermal (or other environmental) variations and common mode voltage variations in circuit path 59. As described above, the error signal may be used to program the input current to circuit path 59 to compensate for that error signal, and thereby compensate for errors in the operation of differential amplifier 67 that are caused by thermal variation and common mode voltage variation.'; [0040], 'Referring to FIG. 5, a process 70 for compensating for errors includes measuring (71) an electrical parameter (e.g., voltage) across a circuit element (e.g., resistor 17) in a channel, and applying (72) a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel. Process 70 also includes obtaining (73) an error signal that corresponds to the electrical parameter, where the electrical parameter is measured by a first device (e.g., differential amplifier 19) and the error signal is obtained by a second device (e.g., differential amplifier 24). In this example, the first and second devices are of a same type. The error signal may be used to adjust (74) the signal (e.g., current) input to the channel.').
Regarding Claim 26, Bergeron teaches the non-transitory computer storage media of Claim 25, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors ([0026], [0058]) to: provide, by the feedback subcircuit (12, 21, 22), the feedback signal to a measurement subcircuit (at analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40; Fig. 1-3; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog- to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations."),
determine, based on a measurement output of the measurement subcircuit (40), a correction factor for the testing signal, the correction factor configured to compensate for the common mode error; and apply the correction factor to the testing signal to compensate for the common mode error (Fig. 1-3; [0032], 'The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error". The user may direct the test equipment to use to error to adjust the programming of the controller to compensate for the thermal and common mode variations in differential amplifier 19. However, there is no requirement that error signal be used for correction in this manner. The error signal may simply be an informational aspect of the testing procedure.'; [0033], 'In a case where the error signal is used for correction, the correction produced by the error signal may also constitute a correction for differential amplifier 19. The calibration using this correction may be performed in real-time, e.g., during operation of circuit 10, thereby increasing the accuracy of circuit 10.'; the error signal from the ADC 40 can be used for correction [factor] to compensate for the common mode errors, which applied to the circuit 10).
Regarding Claim 27, Bergeron teaches the non-transitory computer storage media of Claim 25, wherein the measurement output (via 40) includes the common mode error ([0032], 'Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations.'), and
wherein no additional circuitry is used to compensate for the common mode error in the measurement output (Fig. 1-3; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error". The user may direct the test equipment to use to error to adjust the programming of the controller to compensate for the thermal and common mode variations in differential amplifier 19. However, there is no requirement that error signal be used for correction in this manner. The error signal may simply be an informational aspect of the testing procedure.'; [0033], 'In a case where the error signal is used for correction, the correction produced by the error signal may also constitute a correction for differential amplifier 19. The calibration using this correction may be performed in real- time, e.g., during operation of circuit 10, thereby increasing the accuracy of circuit 10.'; in the example discussed, the error signal from the ADC 40 can be used for correction [factor] to compensate for the common mode errors, where the controller 12 may apply the correction through a separate differential amplifier 19).
Regarding Claim 28, Bergeron teaches the non-transitory computer storage media of Claim 26, wherein the measurement subcircuit (40) does not have additional circuitry configured to compensate for the common mode error (Fig. 1-3; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error". The user may direct the test equipment to use to error to adjust the programming of the controller to compensate for the thermal and common mode variations in differential amplifier 19. However, there is no requirement that error signal be used for correction in this manner. The error signal may simply be an informational aspect of the testing procedure."; [0033], 'In a case where the error signal is used for correction, the correction produced by the error signal may also constitute a correction for differential amplifier 19. The calibration using this correction may be performed in real-time, e.g., during operation of circuit 10, thereby increasing the accuracy of circuit 10.'; in the example discussed, the error signal from the ADC 40 can be used for correction [factor] to compensate for the common mode errors, where the controller 12 may apply the correction through a separate differential amplifier 19).
Regarding Claim 29, Bergeron teaches the non-transitory computer storage media of Claim 25, wherein a value of the voltage determined at the output signal to the DUT is indicative of the common mode error (Fig. 1-3; [0027], 'Circuit path 15 may include an amplifier 16 or other circuitry, as shown in FIG. 1. Circuit path 15 also includes a circuit element, in this example, resistor 17. A differential amplifier 19 is electrically connected at cach end of resistor 17 to measure a voltage across resistor 17, and to output a voltage. This voltage is fed back to summing junction 20 via feedback path 21'; [0040], 'Referring to FIG. 5, a process 70 for compensating for errors includes measuring (71) an electrical parameter (e.g., voltage) across a circuit element (e.g., resistor 17) in a channel, and applying (72) a value corresponding to the electrical parameter to a signal input to the channel. Process 70 also includes obtaining (73) an error signal that corresponds to the electrical parameter, where the electrical parameter is measured by a first device (e.g., differential amplifier 19) and the error signal is obtained by a second device (e.g., differential amplifier 24). In this example, the first and second devices are of a same type. The error signal may be used to adjust (74) the signal (e.g., current) input to the channel.'; [0032], The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations."; the voltage across the resistor 17 at the load terminal for the DUT is indicative of the common mode error once passing through the differential amplifier 24 to the ADC 40).
Regarding Claim 31, Bergeron teaches the non-transitory computer storage media of Claim 26, wherein to determine the correction factor for the testing signal, the instructions cause the one or more processors to compare the measurement output to a lookup table (Fig. 1-3; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error"."; [0033], 'In a case where the error signal is used for correction, the correction produced by the error signal may also constitute a correction for differential amplifier 19. The calibration using this correction may be performed in real-time, e.g., during operation of circuit 10, thereby increasing the accuracy of circuit 10.'; [0034], 'In one example, the value of the error signal should be close to zero. Octant ficld-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) associated with the test channel may store values output by the ADC and adjust the next output ADC code to the controller by an amount that corresponds to the error signal. These values may then be used to generate the current output to circuit path 15'; the FPGA includes the stored values [lookup table], with each value corresponding to the correction [factor] based upon the measured error).
Regarding Claim 32, Bergeron teaches the non-transitory computer storage media of Claim 26, wherein to apply the correction factor to the testing signal, the instructions cause the one or more processors to utilize a calibration coefficient to adjust a signal source of the testing signal (Fig. 1-3; [0026], For example, controller 12 may include/be, but is not limited to, a microprocessor, a digital signal processor (DSP) and/or programmable logic. Controller 12 may function as a current source in that it controls the amount of current output to the channel. By way of example, a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 14 receives a digital signal from controller 12, which corresponds to an amount of output current'; [0032], "The error signal (which corresponds to the voltage output) passes out of differential amplifier 24, along feedback path 22. Feedback path 22 is electrically connected between controller 12 and differential amplifier 24. Feedback path 22 includes an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter 40, which converts the analog voltage output of differential amplifier 24 to a digital signal. This digital signal corresponds to an error introduced by temperature variations (and, possibly, other environmental conditions) and common mode voltage variations. The error signal may be used by the controller to adjust the input current to the circuit to compensate for the error signal. More specifically, the error may be provided to a user (e.g., via controller 12 and a graphical user interface (GUI)), thereby enabling the user to identify/determine an amount of "error"."; [0033], 'In a case where the error signal is used for correction, the correction produced by the error signal may also constitute a correction for differential amplifier 19. The calibration using this correction may be performed in real-time, e.g., during operation of circuit 10, thereby increasing the accuracy of circuit 10.'; [0034], 'In one example, the value of the error signal should be close to zero. Octant field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) associated with the test channel may store values output by the ADC and adjust the next output ADC code to the controller by an amount that corresponds to the error signal. These values may then be used to generate the current output to circuit path 15'; [0038], 'Referring to FIG. 4, feedback path 21 of FIG. 1 corresponds to feedback path 54 of FIG. 4, and feedback path 22 of FIG. 1 corresponds to feedback path 55 of FIG. 4 In this example, the calibration circuit (the implementation of circuit 10) includes a switch 57 between circuit path 59 and the input terminal 60 of differential amplifier 61. Input terminal 62 of differential amplifier 61 is electrically connected to circuit path 59 without an intervening switch. The calibration circuit also includes a switch 64 between input terminals 60 and 62 of differential amplifier 61. Controlling the switches via a controller such as that described above, and in the manner described above with respect to FIGS. 1 to 3, allows the calibration circuit to provide an error signal corresponding errors that occur as a result of thermal (or other environmental) variations and common mode voltage variations in circuit path 59'; the FPGA includes the stored values [lookup table], with each value corresponding to the correction [factor] based upon the measured error; a calibration circuit can be used to provide the error SO that the controller 12 can adjust the testing signal).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
RE Claims 4 and 30, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest “a ratio of the output signal to the DUT to the testing input signal is expressed as a negative feedback control system transfer function represented by G(s)/(1+G(s)H(s)),” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A HARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2852