The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claimed features must be shown, without entering any new matter: wherein the stressed part passing through the through-hole in claims 12, 17, and 20-21.
SET I:
Claims 12, 17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (5038842) in view of Holman (3061902) or Bacon (1458164) or Harris (4118835).
Regarding claims 12, 17, and 21 Huang teaches an assembly structure, comprising a master package (2+53) forming an accommodating cavity and a sub-package (3 or 4) assembled in the accommodating cavity, wherein the sub-package and the master package are detachably connected through a fixed member (button holes 60) and a movable member at 61, comprises an assembly part detachably connected with the movable member
(11) The button could also be formed in one piece from natural or synthetic rubber or other suitable material. In another convenient form, the head, shank and retaining arm may be formed integrally from a suitable metal.
Similarly, Holman teaches that it is known in the art to provide a fastener comprising movable member wherein the fixed member comprises an assembly part which is detachably connected with the movable member (4), and the assembly part has a through hole structure (8); the movable member (4) can pass through the through hole and move to a state parallel to the fixed member (8), so that shielding is formed and the assembly is completed; and during disassembly, the movable member moves along the through hole to exit the assembly part the movable member comprises a connecting part (3) and a stressed part (4), wherein the stressed part is configured to be passed through the through hole, and wherein the stressed part forms a support surface, and the support surface cooperates with the assembly part to form a supported state, wherein the connecting part and the stressed part of the movable member form a T-shaped structure (3+4), wherein the connecting part is made of an elastic material (note both 1 and 2 are made of rubber), wherein the elastic material has material characteristics that provide for the movable member to rotate in any direction under an external force and then reset to a normal position upon removal of the external force, wherein the movable member is provided with a traction member extending from an end of the stressed part for driving said rotation of the movable member in any direction (note that this is an intended use and does not impart any structure over the material or structure in Holman).
(13) in the embodiment shown in Fig. 2 the spring 7 is of the retractile type having loops or hooks 8 on its ends engaged with parts 9 of the button members 1. Movement of the button members 1 toward each other is limited when the spring 7 is closely contracted;
Similarly, Bacon teaches that it is known in the art to provide a fastener comprising movable member wherein the fixed member comprises an assembly part which is detachably connected with the movable member (1), and the assembly part has a through hole structure (hole 60 in Holman); the movable member (1) can pass through the through hole and move to a state parallel to the fixed member (the hole on the where the button going through), so that shielding is formed and the assembly is completed; and during disassembly, the movable member moves along the through hole to exit the assembly part the movable member comprises a connecting part (7) and a stressed part (1), wherein the stressed part is configured to be passed through the through hole, and wherein the stressed part forms a support surface, and the support surface cooperates with the assembly part to form a supported state, wherein the connecting part and the stressed part of the movable member form a T-shaped structure (in profile), wherein the connecting part is made of an elastic material (spring), wherein the elastic material has material characteristics that provide for the movable member to rotate in any direction under an external force and then reset to a normal position upon removal of the external force, wherein the movable member is provided with a traction member extending from an end of the stressed part for driving said rotation of the movable member in any direction (note that this is an intended use and does not impart any structure over the material or structure in Bacon).
A one-piece elastic fastener includes a pair of spaced elastic
Harris also teaches a fastener made from elastic material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the connection with a elastic connection structure in Huang as taught by Holman or Bacon or Harris to provide an alternative fastening structure and/or allowing some movement between the connected structures.
Regarding the assembly structure for the suitcase, note that “for suitcase” is intended use. Also, the term “suitcase does not impart any structure over the device in Huang.
Regarding claim 20, note the fix member being the slot/hole 60 is integrally arranged on the master package (outer bag)
SET II:
Claims 12, 17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hubbell (20130037185) in view of Hamburger (0310273) or Bochonok (1651437).
Regarding claims 12, 17, and 21 Hubbell teaches an assembly structure, comprising a master package (20) forming an accommodating cavity and a sub-package (10) assembled in the accommodating cavity, wherein the sub-package and the master package are detachably connected through a fixed member (18/22). Hubbell meets all claimed limitations except for the fastener comprise movable member comprises a connecting part and a stressed part, wherein the stressed part is configured to be passed through the through hole, and wherein the stressed part forms a support surface, and the support surface cooperates with the assembly part to form a supported state, wherein the connecting part and the stressed part of the movable member form a T-shaped structure , wherein the connecting part is made of an elastic material, wherein the elastic material has material characteristics that provide for the movable member to rotate in any direction under an external force and then reset to a normal position upon removal of the external force, wherein the movable member is provided with a traction member extending from an end of the stressed part for driving said rotation of the movable member in any direction
(8) In the drawings, A indicates the button; B, its flexible connection with the fastener or stem; C the fastener, and D the fabric to which the button is attached. The stein B may 5 be composed of the outer flexible fabric, cloth, leather, or rubber, as the case may be, and, if requited to give body or stiffness to the same, an inner core, 2, of leather, cork, rubber, or like material.
Hamburger teaches that it is known in the art to provide fastener comprising movable member wherein the fixed member comprises an assembly part which is detachably connected with the movable member, and the assembly part has a through hole structure; the movable member (A) can pass through the through hole and move to a state parallel to the fixed member (the slot or hole), so that shielding is formed and the assembly is completed; and during disassembly, the movable member moves along the through hole to exit the assembly part the movable member comprises a connecting part (1+2) and a stressed part (3+4), wherein the stressed part is configured to be passed through the through hole, and wherein the stressed part forms a support surface, and the support surface cooperates with the assembly part to form a supported state, wherein the connecting part and the stressed part of the movable member form a T-shaped structure (note the T shaped structure in the profile), wherein the connecting part is made of an elastic material (note both 1 and 2 are made of rubber), wherein the elastic material has material characteristics that provide for the movable member to rotate in any direction under an external force and then reset to a normal position upon removal of the external force, wherein the movable member is provided with a traction member extending from an end of the stressed part for driving said rotation of the movable member in any direction (note that this is an intended use and does not impart any structure over the material or structure in Hamburger). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the shank and button made from elastic material in Hubbell as taught by Hamburger to provide some stretching properties and/or alternative fastener.
Bochonok also teaches that it is known in the art to provide a fastener with a shank (the connecting part) made from elastic material: “the general object of the invention being to make the shank of the link of rubber or the like so that it will stretch”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the shank and button made from elastic material in Hubbell as taught by Bochonok to provide some stretching properties and/or alternative fastener.
Regarding claim 20, note the fix member being the slot/hole 60 is integrally arranged on the master package (outer bag)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733