DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 7 to 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Beck et al (acta crystal).
The Beck et al reference teaches a molybdenum pentachloride, note entire reference. The molybdenum pentachloride has several polymorphisms, crystals. The vapor pressure for molybdenum pentachloride is inherently in the range as set forth, as it is known to be withing the 1-1000 pa range as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Beck et al reference and have sufficient amount of crystalline molybdenum pentachloride in order to have the vapor pressure range claimed and a more stable molybdenum pentachloride.
With regards to claim 8, the Beck et al reference teaches triclinic, note abs.
With regards to claim 9, the Beck et al reference teaches monoclinic, note abs.
With regards to claim 10, the Beck et al reference teaches orthorhombic, note abs.
Claim(s) 14 to 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Beck et al (acta crystal) in view of Nakagawa (Wo 2021/067764).
The Beck et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the percussor vessel. However, the Nakagawa reference teaches a apparatus with a vessel to contain a precursor for vapor deposition of metals. This includes molybdenum as a deposited metal and halide starting material, note fig 1 and page 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Beck et al reference by the teachings of the Nakagawa reference to place the crystal molybdenum pentachloride in a vessel for deposition in order to use the crystals as sources for molybdenum.
Claims 11 to 13 and 18 to 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims recite a specific crystalline structure that is not taught in the prior art of record.
Claims 1 to 6 are allowable over the art of record, as there is no teaching of the claimed method of vaporing and cooling to obtain the crystalline form of the molybdenum pentachloride.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714