Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: input unit configured to in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belsarkar et al. (US 2013/0021433, hereinafter Belsarkar).
Re claim 1, Belsarkar discloses, a pan-tilt-zoom (PTZ) camera operating system comprising: a volatile memory (64) configured to store a hemispherical fisheye image generated using individual images within a motion range captured by a PTZ camera (fig 11 1106, pars [0055], [0059], [0070], [0079]); a processor configured to execute a surveillance area setting user interface (UI) for setting a surveillance area using the hemispherical fisheye image stored in the volatile memory (fig 11 1108, pars [0066]-[0068]); a display unit configured to output a surveillance area setting UI executed by the processor to a screen (par [0069], figs 6-10); a user input unit configured to receive input of a user operation for setting the surveillance area (pars [0072]-[0075]); a communication unit (66) configured to communicate with the PTZ camera (fig 4), wherein the surveillance area setting UI outputs the hemispherical fisheye image stored in the nonvolatile memory to the screen, and sets, as the surveillance area, an area selected through the user operation from the hemispherical fisheye image output to the screen (fig 11 1108, pars [0072]-[0075] and [0082], figs 6-10). Belsarkar fails to explicitly disclose nonvolatile memory.
Official Notice is taken to note that utilizing nonvolatile memory is notoriously well known and used in the related art.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine nonvolatile memory with the system of Belsarkar in order to produce a more stable system capable of retaining information regardless of power supply limitations.
Re claim 2, Belsarkar discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the surveillance area setting UI sets the surveillance area using a grid setting method of [utilizing] grids for selection of the surveillance area (figs 6 and 7) through a user operation on the hemispherical fisheye image and setting, as the surveillance area, a fisheye image area including the grids on the hemispherical fisheye image (1108, par [0082], see also par [0076], mapping of coordinates indicates the use of “grids”). Belsarkar fails to explicitly disclose overlaying grids.
Official Notice is taken to note that utilizing overlaid grids is notoriously well known and used in the related art.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine overlaid grids with the system of Belsarkar in order to allow a user to more accurately select a region of interest.
Re claim 3, Belsarkar discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the surveillance area setting UI sets the surveillance area using a polygon setting method of overlaying a polygon for selection of the surveillance area through a user operation on the hemispherical fisheye image and setting, as the surveillance area, a fisheye image area in the polygon selected by moving vertices of the polygon (figs 6 and 7, 1108, par [0082], see also par [0076]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Re claim 4, Belsarkar fails to explicitly disclose, “a coordinate mapping processor configured to generate a PTZ camera driving table by mapping fisheye image coordinates included in the surveillance area set by the surveillance area setting UI to PTZ camera driving coordinates; and a camera driving table storage controller configured to perform a control operation to store the PTZ camera driving table generated by the coordinate mapping processor in the nonvolatile memory” in combination with all limitations of claims 4 and 1.
Contact
/JOEL W FOSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639