DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “powdery” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “powdery” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination, the term “powdery” will be interpreted as meaning a powdered composition.
The term “bag-shaped” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “bag-shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination, the term “bag-shaped” will be interpreted to mean a container made of flexible material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parry et al. (US 2007/0154600 A1) in view of Duck (KR 102044122 B1).
Citation with respect to Duck (KR 102044122 B1) correlate to translation performed by Espace.net and provided with office action.
With respect to Claim 1, Parry et al. teaches a method of filling a flexible container comprising filling a container with an inert gas, introducing the food into the container, and sealing the container. [0006-9] Parry et al. teaches the inert gas can be nitrogen, [0030] and the resulting product reads on a container-packed composition wherein the container-packed composition is sealed in a container in which internal air is replaced with nitrogen. Parry et al. is silent to the composition containing green vegetables.
Duck teaches a method of processing young barley leaf into a fine powder, [0013] comprising a step of packaging the barley leaf powder. [0014] Duck teaches the barley leaf powder is beneficial for dieting and disease prevention. [0013] Barley leaf powder reads on a green vegetable.
Parry et al. and Duck exist within the same field of endeavor in that they teach methods and composition of packaging foodstuff. Where Parry et al. teaches a method of filling a flexible container utilizes nitrogen gas to replace the air in the package, Duck teaches a green vegetable that can be powdered and packaged.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Parry et al. in view of Duck to produce a container-packed composition containing a green vegetable, wherein the container-packed composition is sealed in a container in which the internal air is replaced with nitrogen, thereby rendering claim 1 obvious.
With respect to Claims 2 and 4, Parry et al. in view of Duck teaches the invention recited in claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Duck teaches the use of powdered, young barley leaves. [0013] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Parry et al. in view of Duck to use a powdered composition and young barley leaves in the invention recited in claim 1, thereby rendering claim 2 and 4 obvious.
With respect to Claim 3, Parry et al. in view of Duck teaches the invention recited in claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Parry et al. teaches a flexible container, [0006] which reads on a “bag-shaped” container. Therefore, claim 3 is rendered obvious.
With respect to Claim 5, Parry et al. in view of Duck teaches the invention recited in claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Parry et al. teaches a method of filling a flexible container comprising filling a container with an inert gas, introducing the food into the container, and sealing the container. [0006-9] Parry et al. teaches the inert gas can be nitrogen, [0030] but is silent to the foodstuff being green vegetables.
Duck teaches a method of processing young barley leaf into a fine powder, [0013] comprising a step of packaging the barley leaf powder. [0014] Duck teaches the barley leaf powder is beneficial for dieting and disease prevention. [0013] Barley leaf powder reads on a green vegetable.
Parry et al. and Duck exist within the same field of endeavor in that they teach methods and composition of packaging foodstuff. Where Parry et al. teaches a method of filling a flexible container utilizes nitrogen gas to replace the air in the package, Duck teaches a green vegetable that can be powdered and packaged.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Parry et al. in view of Duck to devise a method of producing a container-packed composition containing a green vegetable, wherein the container-packed composition is sealed in a container in which the internal air is replaced with nitrogen, thereby rendering claim 5 obvious.
Conclusion
/J.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791