DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04 June 2025 and 23 October 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-2 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ashok et al.; Growth of In2Se3 Thin Films Prepared by the Pneumatic Spray Pyrolysis Method for Thin Film Solar Cells Applications; 2020 17th International Conference on Electrical Engineering, Computing Science and Automatic Control (CCE). Mexico City, Mexico. November 11-13,
2020; (“Ashok”).
With regard to Claims 1, and 7-15, Ashok teaches a method of forming a semiconductor film comprising preparing a precursor solution including indium precursor and a selenium precursor, and performing spray pyrolysis of the precursor solution on a substrate to obtain a thin film thereof, including a polycrystalline γ-In2Se3 layer, and usage thereof in solar cell electronic devices (see Abstract; Experimental Details Sections A-B and FIG. 1 at Pg. 2; Results and Discussions Section B at Pg. 3). Ashok thus teaches the preparation of the claimed precursor materials, and deposition thereof using the claimed process steps thereby obtaining a thin film comprising polycrystalline γ-In2Se3. Properties associated with the deposited film are understood to necessarily derive therefrom.
With regard to Claim 2, Ashok teaches substrate temperatures within the claimed range (see Experimental Details Section B and Results and Discussions Section A at Pg. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 5-6 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashok.
With regard to Claim 5, Ashok teaches a process for depositing a film thickness of 1 µm (see Experimental Details Section B at Pg. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the inventio was filed to have conducted multiple deposition operations in order to achieve a desired film thickness.
With regard to Claims 6 and 16-20, Ashok is directed to usage of films in solar cell applications and that the films are otherwise widely used in a variety of semiconductor devices, including transistors, memory units, and integrated circuits (see Introduction at Pg. 1). It would have thus been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the γ-In2Se3 films of Ashok to produce devices as claimed.
3. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashok as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Ates et al.; Annealing and Light Effect on Optical and Electrical Properties of Evaporated Indium Selenide Thin Films; Physica E 40 (2008) 2709-2713; (“Ates”).
With regard to Claims 3-4, Ashok does not expressly teach annealing under inert gas atmosphere at the claimed temperatures. Ates is directed to annealing effects on optical and electrical properties of indium selenide films, and teaches annealing such films under an inert gas atmosphere at temperatures within the claimed range (see Abstract; Experimental Section at Pg. 2). According to Ates, annealing temperature is result-effective with regard to film resistance values (Id.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have conducted annealing under an inert atmosphere as claimed in the method of Ashok in order to obtain a desired film resistance value. Additionally, Ashok is noted as citing Ates (see Ashok Reference 9 at Pg. 6).
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712