DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on July 09, 2025, January 23, 2026, and July 16, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11-12, 14, 16, 18-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawakami (US 2017/0200943 A1).
Claim 1, Kawakami discloses a method of preparing an article (method of preparing an electrode structure which is an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) comprising:
a) combining nanobubbles (nano bubble water are nanobubbles, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C) with a film-forming agent (nanobubbles are combined with film-forming agents (i.e. active material 201 containing silicon particles, conductive additive 202, and fiber-shaped reinforcing material 204, hereinafter, film-forming agents 201/202/204), [0031] and [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) to form a coating composition (electrode layer 205 is formed by combining nanobubbles with a film-forming agent 201/202/204 from a coating composition 201/202/203/204, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C); and
b) applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to a substrate (current collector 200 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 200, [0003] and [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) to form an article comprising a porous thin film (electrode layer 205 is a porous thin film, hereinafter, porous thin film 205, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) on the substrate 200 (porous thin film 205 is formed on the substrate 200 by applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C).
Claim 2, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 1.
Kawakami discloses wherein the film-forming agent 201/202/204 comprises a metal, a polymer, a ceramic, or a combination thereof (film-forming agent 201/202/204 comprises a polymer and a composite metal oxide, [0031] and [0065], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C).
Claim 8, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 1.
Kawakami discloses wherein the film-forming agent 201/202/204 comprises a semiconducting material (film-forming agent 201/202/204 comprises a semiconducting material (i.e. active material 201 containing silicon particles), hereinafter, semiconducting material 201, [0031] and [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C), and wherein the porous thin film 205 comprises a semiconducting layer (porous thin film 205 comprises a semiconducting layer, hereinafter, semiconductor layer 205, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C).
Claim 9, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 8.
Kawakami discloses wherein applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to a substrate 200 comprises applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to an electrode (applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to a substrate 200 comprises applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to the electrode structure 206 which is an electrode, hereinafter, electrode 206, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C).
Claim 11, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 1.
Kawakami discloses comprising:
combining nanobubbles, the film-forming agent 201/202/204, and a liquid carrier 203 to form the coating composition 201/202/203/204 (combining nanobubbles, the film-forming agent 201/202/204, and a liquid carrier 203 to form the coating composition, hereinafter, coating composition 201/202/203/204, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C); and
wherein applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to the substrate 200 comprises removing the liquid carrier 203 from the coated substrate 200 to form the article comprising the porous thin film 205 (applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to the substrate 200 comprises removing the liquid carrier 203 from the coated substrate 200 to form the article comprising the porous thin film 205, [0065], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C).
Claim 12, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 11.
Kawakami discloses wherein the liquid carrier 203 comprises water (liquid carrier 203 comprises water, [0065], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C).
Claim 14, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 1.
Kawakami discloses wherein the coating composition 201/202/203/204 comprises nanobubbles, catalyst nanoparticles, and the film-forming agent 201/202/204 (coating composition 201/202/203/204 comprises nanobubbles, catalyst nanoparticles (i.e. silicon particles 201 are catalyst nanoparticles, hereinafter, catalyst nanoparticles 201), and the film-forming agent 201/202/204, [0056], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C).
Claim 16, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 14.
Kawakami discloses wherein the catalyst nanoparticles 201 and film-forming agent 201/202/204 are present in an amount ranging from 0.1 - 80 wt.% based on the weight of the coating composition 201/202/203/204 (catalyst nanoparticles 201 are present in an amount ranging from 0.1 - 80 wt.% based on the weight of the coating composition 201/202/203/204 (i.e. 50 to 99 wt.%, [0051]) and film-forming agent 201/202/204 are present in an amount ranging from 0.1 - 80 wt.% based on the weight of the coating composition 201/202/203/204 (i.e. 1 to 80 wt.%, [0066]), Figs. 2 and 3A-3C).
Claim 18, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 1.
Kawakami discloses wherein the coating composition 201/202/203/204 comprises nanobubbles having a mean bubble size no greater than 250 nm (coating composition 201/202/203/204 comprises nanobubbles having a mean bubble size no greater than 250 nm (i.e. average (mean) bubble size is 200 nm when the bubbles range from 100 to 300 nm in diameter, wherein 200 nm < 250 nm), [0065], Figs. 3A-3C).
Claim 19, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 1.
Kawakami discloses wherein the article comprises an electrode (article comprises electrode structure 206 which is an electrode, hereinafter, electrode 206, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C).
Claim 20, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 19.
Kawakami discloses comprising positioning the electrode 206 between an anode porous transport layer (anode active material layer 402 is an anode porous transport layer, hereinafter, anode porous transport layer 402, [0068], Figs. 2, 3A-3C, and 4) and a cathode gas diffusion layer (cathode active material layer 406 is a cathode gas diffusion layer, hereinafter, cathode gas diffusion layer 406, [0068], Figs. 2, 3A-3C, and 4) to form a membrane electrode assembly (electrode 206/404 is positioned between the anode porous transport layer 402 and cathode gas diffusion layer 406 to form a membrane electrode assembly, hereinafter, membrane electrode assembly 401/402/404/405/406 or membrane electrode assembly 403/404/407, [0068], Figs. 2, 3A-3C, and 4).
Claim 21, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 1.
Kawakami discloses wherein the article comprises a membrane (article comprises membrane electrode assembly 401/402/404/405/406 which is a membrane, [0068], Figs. 2, 3A-3C, and 4).
Claim 23, Kawakami discloses a method of preparing an electrode (method of preparing an electrode structure, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) comprising:
a) combining nanobubbles (nano bubble water are nanobubbles, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C) with catalyst nanoparticles (active material 201 containing silicon particles are catalyst nanoparticles, hereinafter, catalyst nanoparticles 201, [0031] and [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C), a liquid carrier (binder 203 is a liquid carrier, hereinafter, liquid carrier 203, [0065], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C), and a polymer (binder 203 includes a polymer, [0031], Fig. 3A-3C) to form a coating composition (nanobubbles are combined with catalyst nanoparticles 201, a liquid carrier and a polymer 203 to form a coating composition 201/202/203/204, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C);
b) applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to a substrate (current collector 200 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 200, [0003] and [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) to form a coated substrate (porous thin film 205 is formed on the substrate 200 to form a coated substrate, hereinafter, coated substrate 200/206 by applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C); and
c) removing the liquid carrier from the coated substrate to form an electrode comprising a porous thin film on the substrate (applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to the substrate 200 comprises removing the liquid carrier 203 from the coated substrate 200 to form an electrode comprising the porous thin film 205, [0065], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 15, 17, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami in view of Young (US 2017/0141406 A1).
Claim 3, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 2.
Kawakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the polymer comprises an ionomer.
However, Young discloses a method of forming a membrane electrode assembly 2 wherein the polymer comprises an ionomer (Young, film-forming agent further includes a polymer, wherein the polymer comprises an ionomer, [0039], Fig. 1; Kawakami, film-forming agent 201/202/204 comprises a polymer, [0031] and [0065], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C). The combination to utilize an ionomer as a polymer in a film-forming agent would allow for improved proton connectivity to the membrane and improved reactant access to the catalyst (Young, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize an ionomer as a polymer in a film-forming agent to allow for improved proton connectivity to the membrane and improved reactant access to the catalyst (Young, [0039]).
Claim 15, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 14.
Kawakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the catalyst nanoparticles comprise iridium oxide nanoparticles.
However, Young discloses wherein the catalyst nanoparticles comprise iridium oxide nanoparticles (Young, catalyst nanoparticles may include iridium nanoparticles, [0006], Fig. 1; Kawakami, catalyst nanoparticles (i.e. silicon particles), [0056], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C). The combination to utilize iridium nanoparticles as catalyst nanoparticles allows for enhancement of preferred reactions and mitigation of unwanted side reactions (Young, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize iridium nanoparticles as catalyst nanoparticles to allow for enhancement of preferred reactions and mitigation of unwanted side reactions (Young, [0006]).
Claim 17, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 14.
Kawakami discloses wherein the coating composition 201/202/203/204 comprises nanobubbles, catalyst nanoparticles 201, a liquid carrier 203, and the film-forming agent 201/202/204, and wherein the article comprises an electrode.
Kawakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the film-forming agent comprises an ionomer.
However, Young discloses wherein the film-forming agent comprises an ionomer (Young, film-forming agent further includes a polymer, wherein the polymer comprises an ionomer, [0039], Fig. 1; Kawakami, film-forming agent 201/202/204 comprises a polymer, [0031] and [0065], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C). The combination to utilize an ionomer as a polymer in a film-forming agent would allow for improved proton connectivity to the membrane and improved reactant access to the catalyst (Young, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize an ionomer as a polymer in a film-forming agent to allow for improved proton connectivity to the membrane and improved reactant access to the catalyst (Young, [0039]).
Claim 24, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 23.
Kawakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the polymer comprises an ionomer.
However, Young discloses wherein the polymer comprises an ionomer (Young, polymer further comprises an ionomer, [0039], Fig. 1; Kawakami, film-forming agent 201/202/204 comprises a polymer, [0031] and [0065], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C). The combination to utilize an ionomer as a polymer would allow for improved proton connectivity to the membrane and improved reactant access to the catalyst (Young, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize an ionomer as a polymer to allow for improved proton connectivity to the membrane and improved reactant access to the catalyst (Young, [0039]).
Claim 25, Kawakami discloses a nanobubble-containing catalyst ink composition (coating composition 201/202/203/204 is a nanobubble-containing catalyst ink composition, hereinafter, nanobubble-containing catalyst ink composition 201/202/203/204, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C) comprising catalyst nanoparticles and nanobubbles (nanobubble-containing catalyst composition 201/202/203/204 comprising catalyst nanoparticles, a polymer, and nanobubbles, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C).
Kawakami does not explicitly disclose a nanobubble-containing catalyst ink composition comprising an ionomer.
However, Young discloses a nanobubble-containing catalyst ink composition comprising an ionomer (Young, nanobubble-containing catalyst ink composition comprising catalyst nanoparticles, an ionomer, and nanobubbles, [0039] and [0045], Fig. 1; Kawakami, nanobubble-containing catalyst composition 201/202/203/204 comprising catalyst nanoparticles, a polymer, and nanobubbles, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C). The combination to utilize an ionomer as a polymer in a film-forming agent would allow for improved proton connectivity to the membrane and improved reactant access to the catalyst (Young, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize an ionomer as a polymer in a film-forming agent to allow for improved proton connectivity to the membrane and improved reactant access to the catalyst (Young, [0039]).
Claims 4-7, 10, 13, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami in view of Ando (US 2014/0304987 A1).
Claim 4, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 1.
Kawakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the film-forming agent comprises a photoactive material, and wherein the porous thin film comprises a photoactive layer.
However, Ando discloses wherein the film-forming agent comprises a photoactive material, and wherein the porous thin film comprises a photoactive layer (Ando, film-forming agent (i.e. particles 314/414/514 and additives 316/416/516 are dissolved in a solvent 318/418/518 to form a film-forming agent, hereinafter, film-forming agent 514/516/518), [0017], Figs. 3 and 5 comprises a photoactive material (i.e. particles 514 form a semiconductor light absorption layer 106 and are a photoactive material, hereinafter, photoactive material 514), [0017], Fig. 3, and wherein the porous thin film (i.e. porous metal layer 524 is a porous thin film, hereinafter, porous thin film 524), [0026], Figs. 3 and 5; Kawakami, electrode layer 205 is formed by combining nanobubbles with a film-forming agent 201/202/204 from a coating composition 201/202/204, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C), comprises a photoactive layer (Ando, semiconductor light absorption layer 106 is a photoactive layer, hereinafter, photoactive layer 106), [0017], Figs. 3 and 5; Kawakami, electrode layer 205 is formed by combining nanobubbles with a film-forming agent 201/202/204 from a coating composition 201/202/204, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C). The combination to utilize a film-forming agent comprising a photoactive material and/or layer allows for the formation of a photovoltaic semiconductor device through low cost manufacturing methods such as liquid coating and/or chemical bath deposition (Ando, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a film-forming agent comprising a photoactive material and/or layer to allow for the formation of a photovoltaic semiconductor device through low cost manufacturing methods such as liquid coating and/or chemical bath deposition (Ando, [0002]).
Claim 5, Kawakami/Ando discloses the method (Kawakami, method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C; Ando, method, Figs. 3, 5, and 6) of claim 4.
Kawakami/Ando discloses comprising:
applying a semiconductor coating composition to the substrate to form a semiconducting layer on the substrate, the semiconductor coating composition comprising nanobubbles, a semiconducting material, and a liquid carrier (Ando, semiconductor light absorption layer 106 is a photoactive layer, hereinafter, photoactive layer 106), [0017], Figs. 3 and 5; Kawakami, applying a semiconductor coating composition 201/202/203/204 to the substrate 200 to form a semiconducting layer 205 on the substrate 200, the semiconductor coating composition comprising nanobubbles, a semiconducting material 201, and a liquid carrier 203, [0003] and [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C); and
wherein applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to the substrate 200 comprises applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to the semiconducting layer 205 to form the photoactive layer on the semiconducting layer (Ando, semiconductor light absorption layer 106 is a photoactive layer, hereinafter, photoactive layer 106), [0017], Figs. 3 and 5; Kawakami, electrode layer 205 is formed by combining nanobubbles with a film-forming agent 201/202/204 from a coating composition 201/202/204, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C).
Claim 6, Kawakami/Ando discloses the method (Kawakami, method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C; Ando, method, Figs. 3, 5, and 6) of claim 4.
Kawakami/Ando discloses wherein the substrate comprises a first electrode, and comprising disposing a second electrode onto the photovoltaic layer to form a photovoltaic cell (Ando, substrate 102 comprises a first electrode 108, and comprising disposing a second electrode 110 onto the photovoltaic layer 106 to form a photovoltaic cell 100, [0013], Fig. 1; Kawakami, electrode layer 205 is formed by combining nanobubbles with a film-forming agent 201/202/204 from a coating composition 201/202/204, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C).
Claim 7, Kawakami/Ando discloses the method (Kawakami, method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C; Ando, method, Figs. 3, 5, and 6) of claim 4.
Kawakami/Ando discloses wherein the photoactive material comprises an organic material, an organometallic material, a metal oxide, a perovskite, a quantum dot, a chalcogenide, or a combination of any of these (Ando, photoactive material comprises a chalcogenide (i.e. including sulfur, selenium, and tellurium, [0014]), [0013], Fig. 1; Kawakami, electrode layer 205 is formed by combining nanobubbles with a film-forming agent 201/202/204 from a coating composition 201/202/204, [0065], Figs. 3A-3C).
Claim 10, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 8.
Kawakami does not explicitly disclose wherein applying the coating composition to a substrate comprises applying the coating composition to a photovoltaic layer.
However, Ando discloses wherein applying the coating composition to a substrate comprises applying the coating composition to a photovoltaic layer (Ando, applying the coating composition (i.e. particles 314/414/514 and additives 316/416/516 are dissolved in a solvent 318/418/518 to form a coating composition, hereinafter, coating composition 514/516/518) to a substrate 102 comprises applying the coating composition 514/516/518 to a semiconducting light absorption layer 106 which is a photovoltaic layer, hereinafter, photovoltaic layer 106, [0017], Figs. 3 and 5; Kawakami, applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to a substrate 200 comprises applying the coating composition 201/202/203/204 to the electrode 206, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C). The combination to utilize a coating composition to a photovoltaic layer allows for the use of low cost manufacturing methods such as liquid coating and/or chemical bath deposition (Ando, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a coating composition to a photovoltaic layer to allow for the use of low cost manufacturing methods such as liquid coating and/or chemical bath deposition (Ando, [0002]).
Claim 13, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 11.
Kawakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the liquid carrier comprises an organic solvent.
However, Ando discloses wherein the liquid carrier comprises an organic solvent (Ando, liquid carrier (i.e. liquid medium) comprises an organic solvent, [0015], Fig. 1; Kawakami, liquid carrier 203 comprises water, [0065], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C). The combination to utilize an organic liquid carrier ensures the ability to eliminate the solvent after coating by evaporation and/or decomposition via light/heat (Ando, [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize an organic liquid carrier to ensure the ability to eliminate the solvent after coating by evaporation and/or decomposition via light/heat (Ando, [0015]).
Claim 22, Kawakami discloses the method (method of preparing an article, [0059], Figs. 2 and 3A-3C) of claim 1.
Kawakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the article comprises a photovoltaic cell.
However, Ando discloses wherein the article comprises a photovoltaic cell (Ando, article is a PV device 100 which is a photovoltaic cell semiconductor device, hereinafter, photovoltaic cell 100, [0013], Figs. 1, 3, and 5). The combination to utilize a photovoltaic cell allows for the formation of a photovoltaic semiconductor device through low cost manufacturing methods such as liquid coating and/or chemical bath deposition (Ando, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a photovoltaic cell to allow for the formation of a photovoltaic semiconductor device through low cost manufacturing methods such as liquid coating and/or chemical bath deposition (Ando, [0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 2020/0313089 A1) discloses a method of preparing an electrode (gate electrode 50, [0079], Fig. 8) comprising: a) combining nanobubbles with catalyst nanoparticles, a liquid carrier, and a polymer to form a coating composition; b) applying the coating composition to a substrate 10 to form a coated substrate; and c) removing the liquid carrier from the coated substrate to form an electrode 50 comprising a porous thin film on the substrate 10; wherein the catalyst ink composition comprising catalyst nanoparticles and a polymer.
/CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812