DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11-20 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 1-10. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim 1 requires a foil transferring apparatus, while claim 11 requires a transferring apparatus capable of working upon film, which are the same, without any other differences.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 11-12, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITABASHI et al. (WO 2021/060129; citations to US 2022/0289520).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, ITABASHI teaches a foil transfer apparatus comprising a housing with an opening having a receiver that can receive a cartridge having a supply reel, a winding reel, and a memory storage storing information indicating a type of the foil film, a transferring part, and a controller (paras. 226, 230, and 337. ITABASHI does not teach that the controller is capable of changing an amount of heat applied per unit area to the film by the transferring part based on film type information obtained from a cartridge memory. ITABASHI teaches executing the layer transfer step most suitable to the film used based on information from the cartridge memory (para. 344) such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to control increasing or decreasing the heat applied to the film in order to raise the bonding temperature to that most suitable to the bonding temperature of the film being used.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, ITABASHI teaches an electric contact in the housing that can contact an electric contact on the memory and the controller is in the housing, capable of receiving information from the memory (para. 342).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, ITABASHI teaches the memory from which the controller operates comprises usage history information (para. 336) from which the controller can determine information.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, ITABASHI teaches the memory comprises usage information to provide to the controller (para. 336), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the information to stop the transfer process when the tape expires.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, ITABASHI teaches the transferring part comprises a heater, heating roller, and pressure roller (paras. 703-704).
Claim(s) 3-5, 10, 13-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITABASHI as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of ICHIKAWA et al. (JP 2020-065603; citations to US 2023/0026662).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, ITABASHI does not teach the controller is configured to change the amount of heat applied per unit area of film by setting a target temperature. ICHIKAWA teaches another film heat transferring apparatus comprising a controller that is set to change an amount of heat applied to the film by setting a target temperature (paras. 81-83), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the control of ITABASHI to control an amount of heat applied based upon a setting a target temperature because such was a common manner of controlling heat in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 14-15, ITABASHI does not explicitly teach the memory of the cartridge being worked upon stores color or manufacturer information from which the controller sets the target temperature, but discloses the memory stores specification information (para. 336), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that a material specification would include color and information related to a manufacturer in order to provide a complete description of the film being used.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, ITABASHI teaches a foil transfer apparatus comprising a housing with an opening having a receiver that can receive a cartridge having a supply reel, a winding reel, and a memory storage storing information indicating a type of the foil film, a transferring part, and a controller (paras. 226, 230, and 337. ITABASHI does not teach that the controller is capable of changing an amount of heat applied per unit area to the film by the transferring part based on film type information obtained from a cartridge memory. ITABASHI teaches executing the layer transfer step most suitable to the film used based on information from the cartridge memory (para. 344) such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to control increasing or decreasing the heat applied to the film in order to raise the bonding temperature to that most suitable to the bonding temperature of the film being used. ICHIKAWA teaches another film heat transferring apparatus comprising a controller that is set to change an amount of heat applied to the film by setting a target temperature (paras. 81-83), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the control of ITABASHI to control an amount of heat applied based upon a setting a target temperature because such was a common manner of controlling heat in the art at the time of the invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest the heating roller includes a central region and end region where the heater includes a first heater in the central region that can heat the central region more strongly than the end region and a second heater in the end region that can heat the end region more strongly than the central region that can be controlled based on information indicating the width and position of the film obtained from the memory.
Conclusion
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745