Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant contends that the cited prior art fails to teach "deriving, during a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, a first motion candidate for the video unit based on a first position of a first block of the video and a second position of a second block, wherein the first position and the second position satisfy a position condition." However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen discloses that non-adjacent neighboring blocks may be scanned from left area and above area of the current coding block (Chen: paragraph [0208]). The scanning distance may be defined as the number of coding blocks from the scanning position to the left side or top side of the current coding blocks (Chen: paragraph [0208]). As shown in FIG. 8, on either the left or above of the current coding block, multiple lines of non-adjacent neighboring blocks may be scanned (Chen: paragraph [0209]). The distance shown in FIG. 8 represents the number of coding blocks from each candidate position to the left side or top side of the current block (Chen: paragraph [0209]). For example, the area with “distance 2 (D2)” on the left side of the current block indicates that the candidate neighboring blocks located in this area are 2 blocks away from the current block (Chen: paragraph [0209]). Similar indications may be applied to other scanning areas with different distances (Chen: paragraph [0209]). Thus, Chen establishes that the position of candidates are indicated by units of blocks, wherein each block corresponds to an established block size. Paragraph [0211] of Chen describes the conditions for establishing the block size position increment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12, 15-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20250047897 A1).
Re claim 1, Chen discloses a method of video processing, comprising:
deriving, during a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, a first motion candidate for the video unit based on a first position of a first block of the video and a second position of a second block (Chen: Fig. 10, paragraphs [0208]-[0209] and [0211]), and
wherein the first position and the second position satisfy a position condition (Chen: paragraphs [0208]-[0209 and [0211]); and
performing the conversion based on the first motion candidate (Chen: paragraph [0005], motion vector candidate derivation for motion prediction mode in a video encoding or decoding process).
Re claim 2, Chen discloses that the first motion candidate is one of: a non-adjacent affine inheritance candidate or a non-adjacent affine constructed candidate (Chen: paragraphs [0235]-[0237] and [0280]-[0282]).
Re claim 3, Chen discloses that the first position is represented as (x0, y0) and the second position is represented as (x1, y1), and the position condition comprises at least one of:
y1=y0 and x1-x0=2k (Chen: paragraph [0289], samples in the same row have the same y value; paragraph [0211], the value of the block size may be predefined as a constant value, such as 4×4, 8×8 or 16×16, which are powers of 2), or
x1=x0 and y1-y0=2k (Chen: paragraph [0289], samples in the same column have the same x value; paragraph [0211], the value of the block size may be predefined as a constant value, such as 4×4, 8×8 or 16×16, which are powers of 2), and
wherein k is an integer number which is not smaller than 0, x0 is not larger than x1, and y0 is not larger than y1 (Chen: paragraph [0208], scanning distance may be defined as the number of coding blocks from the scanning position to the left side or top side of the current coding blocks).
Re claim 4, Chen discloses that the first position is represented as (x0, y0) and the second position is represented as (x1, y1), and the position condition comprises at least one of:
y1=y0 and x1-x0=W⋆2k (Chen: paragraph [0289], samples in the same row have the same y value; paragraph [0211], the value of the block size may be predefined as a constant value, such as 4×4, 8×8 or 16×16, which are powers of 2), or
x1=x0 and y1-y0=H⋆2k (Chen: paragraph [0289], samples in the same column have the same x value; paragraph [0211], the value of the block size may be predefined as a constant value, such as 4×4, 8×8 or 16×16, which are powers of 2), and
wherein k is an integer number which is not smaller than 0, M represents a width of a current block for the video unit, H represents a height of the current block, x0 is not larger than x1, and y0 is not larger than y1 (Chen: paragraph [0208], Chen: paragraph [0208], scanning distance may be defined as the number of coding blocks from the scanning position to the left side or top side of the current coding blocks).
Re claim 5, Chen discloses deriving the first motion candidate for the video unit based on a third position of a third block of the video (Chen: paragraph [0139]).
Re claim 6, Chen discloses that the first position is represented as (x0, y0), the second position is represented as (x1, y1) and the third position is represented as (x2, y2), and the position condition comprises at least one of:
y1=y0 and x1-x0=2k (Chen: paragraph [0289], samples in the same row have the same y value; paragraph [0211], the value of the block size may be predefined as a constant value, such as 4×4, 8×8 or 16×16, which are powers of 2), or
x2=x0 and y2-y0=2m (Chen: paragraph [0289], samples in the same column have the same x value; paragraph [0211], the value of the block size may be predefined as a constant value, such as 4×4, 8×8 or 16×16, which are powers of 2), and
wherein k is an integer number which is not smaller than 0, m is an integer number which is not smaller than 0, x0 is not larger than x1 or x2, and y0 is not larger than y1 or y2 (Chen: paragraph [0208], scanning distance may be defined as the number of coding blocks from the scanning position to the left side or top side of the current coding blocks).
Re claim 7, Chen discloses that the first position is represented as (x0, y0), the second position is represented as (x1, y1) and the third position is represented as (x2, y2), and the position condition comprises at least one of:
y1=y0 and x1-x0=W⋆2k (Chen: paragraph [0289], samples in the same row have the same y value; paragraph [0211], the value of the block size may be predefined as a constant value, such as 4×4, 8×8 or 16×16, which are powers of 2), or
x2=x0 and y2-y0=H⋆2m (Chen: paragraph [0289], samples in the same column have the same x value; paragraph [0211], the value of the block size may be predefined as a constant value, such as 4×4, 8×8 or 16×16, which are powers of 2), and
wherein k is an integer number which is not smaller than 0, m is an integer number which is not smaller than 0, M represents a width of a current block for the video unit, H represents a height of the current block, x0 is not larger than x1 or x2, and y0 is not larger than y1 or y2 (Chen: paragraph [0208], Chen: paragraph [0208], scanning distance may be defined as the number of coding blocks from the scanning position to the left side or top side of the current coding blocks).
Re claim 8, Chen discloses
wherein the first position is one of: a top-left or a center position of the first block of the video (Chen: paragraph [0139]), or
wherein the second position is one of: a top-left or a center position of the second block of the video.
Re claim 9, Chen discloses
wherein the first block is a current block for the video unit and the second block is a left-bottom block of the current block (Chen: paragraph [0139]), and
wherein the first position is a top-left position of the current block and is represented as (x,y), and the second position is a left-bottom position of the left-bottom block and is represented as (xLB, yLB) (Chen: paragraph [0139]).
Re claim 12, Chen discloses
wherein the first block is a current block for the video unit and the second block is a top-right block of the current block (Chen: paragraph [0139]), and
wherein the first position is a top-left position of the current block and is represented as (x,y), and the second position is a top-right position of the left-bottom block and is represented as (xRT, yRT) (Chen: paragraph [0139]).
Re claim 15, Chen discloses that the second block is a left-bottom block or a top-right block, and wherein the second block is shifted to an adjacent block (Chen: Fig. 10).
Re claim 16, Chen discloses that a left-top block used to derive a motion candidate is located by at least one of: a left-bottom block or a top-right block (Chen: Fig. 5, paragraph [0139])).
Re claim 17, Chen discloses that the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream (Chen: paragraph [0005], motion vector candidate derivation for motion prediction mode in a video encoding or decoding process).
Claim 18 recites the corresponding apparatus for implementing the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 18. Additionally, Chen discloses a processor and memory storing instructions configured to carry out the method (Chen: paragraphs [0010]-[0013]). Accordingly, claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim 19 recites the corresponding computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to implement the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 19. Additionally, Chen discloses a processor and memory storing instructions configured to carry out the method (Chen: paragraphs [0010]-[0013]). Accordingly, claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim 21 recites the corresponding method for storing a bitstream generated by the process of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 21. Additionally, Chen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream (Chen: paragraph [0014]). Accordingly, claim 21 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/CHRISTOPHER G FINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482