DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
In the response filed on August 10, 2026, the Applicant amended claims 1, 6, and 14. Claims 1-20 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
v Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been maintained accordingly.
Applicant specifically argues that
1) “The Office Action's central Prong Two rationale is that the claims "only recite the outcome of 'receiving...output data representative of a recommended furnished space' and do not include any details about how this function is accomplished." The amendment supplies those details: the output of the machine learned model is now a defined data structure, a location and an orientation for each of a plurality of furniture objects, and the display step is now a rendering of those objects at those locations and orientations. Claims 1, 6 and 14 therefore recite how the recommended furnished space is produced and presented.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s first argument.
The Office Action’s description of the claim limitation requiring use of (e.g., receiving from) an unspecified “machine learned model” as only reciting the outcome of “receiving…output data representative of a recommended furnished space” and not including any details about how this function is accomplished is only associated with the analysis of the “additional” elements of “into a machine learned model…from the machine learned model”. The Examiner does not believe this is central to the overall prong two analysis of the claimed invention. Regardless, further describing the output that is received from the model (e.g., that it comprises, for an individual object of a plurality of furniture objects, a location and an orientation within the space) still provides no details about how the machine learned model operates to generate this particular output data. The machine learned model is simply an unspecified black box model (albeit, a “machine learned” one). Consistent with MPEP 2106.05(f) and the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples and corresponding analysis, such limitations provide nothing more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer. This limitation does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Consistent with MPEP 2106.05(f) and the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples and corresponding analysis, this limitation also merely indicates a field of use or technological environment in which the judicial exception is performed. Although the additional elements limits the identified judicial exceptions to use of a machine learned model, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (machine learned models) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(h) and the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples and corresponding analysis. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Applicant specifically argues that
2) “The abovementioned amendment also disposes of the "mental processes" ground. Computing a location and an orientation for each of a plurality of furniture objects, and rendering those objects at the respective locations and orientations, is not an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion that can be performed "in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components." And it disposes of the extra-solution characterization: the display step is no longer a nominal reporting of a result but a rendering operation defined by the model's output, so it cannot be said to "simply append insignificant extra- solution activity to the judicial exception."
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s second argument.
A human being could calculate/determine a recommended location and orientation for each of a plurality of pieces of furniture in a furnished space based on a current configuration of the space (e.g., dimensions of the space, dimensions of furniture) and criteria associated with furnishing the space (e.g., quantity of furniture, furnishing rules, spacing/clearance requirements, etc.) and characteristics of a proximate space to the space (e.g., furniture style). Applicant fails to explain why a manual approach to performing these functions could not be performed in the human mind or with paper and pen, even if a less desirable alternative. Moreover, this type of activity, aside from any computer-related aspects, includes longstanding conduct that existed well before the advent of computers and the Internet, and could be carried out by a human with pen and paper. For example, humans previously generated manual renderings of furnished spaces based on location and orientation requirements/determinations. See CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375 (Fed. Cir. 2011 – “That purely mental processes can be unpatentable, even when performed by a computer, was precisely the holding of the Supreme Court in Gottschalk v. Benson.”). That the claim requires this data to be received from a machine learned model does not mean the underlying function itself could not be performed in the human mind or with paper and pen. This requirement instead provides nothing more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, and/or merely indicates a field of use or technological environment in which the judicial exception is perform. The same is true for the requirement for the rendering/displaying to be by the player device and/or as part of an online game.
Applicant specifically argues that
3) “Finally, the amended claims reflect the technical improvement the specification describes, as MPEP § 2106.05(a) requires - the claim "itself reflects the disclosed improvement in technology" and includes "the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification." The specification identifies a technical problem and its solution at paragraph [0012]: "the technical solutions can reduce messages across the network and may reduce server load. For example, players may spend an inordinate amount of time browsing through catalogues of candidate spaces and/or candidate furniture... Each interaction with the catalogue or space may cause corresponding messaging to be sent via a network and may cause a server to respond. Thus, by expediting initial setup the techniques may reduce server load and network traffic." A single model output that fully positions and orients a plurality of furniture objects for rendering is the mechanism by which those iterative catalogue interactions, and the network messaging and server responses they generate, are avoided.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s third argument.
Applicant’s argument is essentially that network traffic (e.g., messages sent from a player device to a server associated with the player searching/selecting/arranging/orienting furniture objects in their virtual space) and server load (e.g., server responses to these messages) is reduced because the searching/selecting/arranging/orienting is being automated using a machine learned model. Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive. The claims themselves do not require a player device-network-server configuration. There is simply a player device and processor/medium configuration via an unspecified data connection. As such, it is not clear that use of the machine learned model within the context of the claimed invention has any effect on reducing network traffic or server load. These asserted improvements are not claimed. See Ericsson Inc. v. TCL Commce’n Tech. Holdings Ltd., 955 F.3d 1317, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2020 0 “T]he specification may be ‘helpful in illuminating what a claim is directed to . . . [but] the specification must always yield to the claim language’ when identifying the ‘true focus of a claim.””). Furthermore, even if network traffic were reduced, there is nothing to suggest computational load (e.g., at a server, at a processor) is actually reduced overall. Machine learned models need to be trained, stored, and use resources when utilized. Finally, it has long been held that simply automating a manual process is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer functionality (see MPEP 2106.05(a).I. “Examples that the courts have indicated may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality…iii. Mere automation of manual processes, such as using a generic computer to process an application for financing a purchase, Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1055, 123 USPQ2d 1100, 1108-09 (Fed. Cir. 2017) or speeding up a loan-application process by enabling borrowers to avoid physically going to or calling each lender and filling out a loan application, LendingTree, LLC v. Zillow, Inc., 656 Fed. App'x 991, 996-97 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential)). If one could argue an invention is directed to a technical improvement because fewer human inputs are required (and therefore fewer messages are transmitted) when the process is automated using a machine learned model than the automation of any manual computer process via a machine learned model would result in patent eligibility. This is clearly not the case. See also buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (using a computer to create electronic records, track multiple transactions, and automatically issue instructions is a form of “electronic recordkeeping” and using a computer to obtain data, adjust account balances, and automatically issue instructions does not improve the functioning of the computer itself.
v Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of amended claims 1, 6, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. §103 have been considered, but are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
Examiner notes that, although an alternative prior art reference is not relied on to disclose this feature (based on reliance on a new primary reference as necessitated by amendment), Applicant’s argument against Gausebeck with respect to claim 1 is not persuasive. Applicant argues that Gausebeck fails to disclose “identifying a proximate space to the space” and “identifying a characteristic of the proximate space” because Gausebeck furnishes in a “per-room independent” manner involving a sequential traversal of rooms. However, the paragraphs cited by Applicant ([0077]-[0078], [0080]-[0081]) are relevant only for one technique disclosed by Gausebeck. Gausebeck also discloses “(a)n alternative to a rule-based system for selecting and placing objects” (see [0085]). Gausebeck discloses an embodiment where the furnishing module uses a trained ML model. In this embodiment “space layouts, room types, and objects placed within each space may be represented as a series of tokens and then a large language model (LLM) type network is trained (e.g., by the model training module 116) to emit a token sequence describing a furnishing layout when given a token sequence describing the unfurnished space as input…if furnishing module 112 generates layouts and some of those layouts receive indications of user approval or disapproval or are edited by users, the model training module 116 could train to produce layouts similar to those that receive user approval or to layouts after they have been edited by users”. In other words, a space layout, indications of room types in the space layout, and objects placed within each space can be input to the trained ML model and the trained ML model can output a furnishing layout which is an initial furnishing of the space. As mentioned elsewhere, a space or space layout is a plurality of rooms ([0071]-[0072] “may separate the space into sub-regions (rooms)…a space or part of a space (e.g., one or more rooms within a space). As such, other rooms in the space are identified via the layout (i.e., proximate spaces to the space are identified), as are indications of the types of these rooms (i.e., characteristics of the proximate space) and this information is input into a machine learned model, which then outputs data representative of a recommended furnished space. Gausebeck also elaborates to suggest that a user may desire to modify the generated/recommended furnishings, and that “when modifying furnishings…These replacements or modifications can also be done at the scale of multiple furnishings or all the furnishings in one or more rooms, or the entire space. For example, the user could simply ask for a new variation of furnishing the entire space and keep telling the system to try again (with a different random seed each time) until the result is one they find pleasing. The user could also ask for more specific modifications such as for the furnishings in a room to be rearranged to include more seating, or to keep a similar layout but choose furnishings with a different budget. Also, as mentioned above under the defurnishing step, user guidance could be used to decide which furnishings to remove from the original space, and that could be used with this same modification guidance to modify or replace original furnishings rather than the generated furnishings”. It can be seen that the LLM embodiment does not necessarily go room-by-room independent of other rooms, as information regarding the entire space (which comprises multiple proximate room) can be input to the model at once and the model can output furnishings for one or more rooms (or the whole space) at once.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
v Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are drawn to methods (i.e., a process), claim(s) 1-5 is/are drawn to systems (i.e., a machine/manufacture), and claim(s) 6-13 is/are drawn to one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1-20 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong One:
In prong one of step 2A, the claim(s) is/are analyzed to evaluate whether it/they recite(s) a judicial exception.
Claim 1 (representative of independent claim(s) 6 and 14) recites/describes the following steps;
receiving, from a player…a request to furnish a space;
identifying, in response to the request, a current configuration of the space;
receiving, based at least in part on the request, criteria associated with furnishing the space;
identifying a proximate space to the space;
identifying a characteristic of the proximate space;
inputting the current configuration, the criteria, and the characteristic into a…model
receiving, from the…model, output data representative of a recommended furnished space, wherein the output data comprises, for an individual object of a plurality of furniture objects, a location and an orientation within the space and wherein causing the recommended furnished space to be displayed comprises rendering the plurality of furniture objects at the respective locations and orientations; and
causing, in response to receiving the output data, the recommended furnished space to be displayed
These steps, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, describe or set-forth a process for recommending a layout for a furnished space. In light of Applicant’s specification, the furniture objects may be acquired using currency. Furthermore, object recommendation is a form of advertising. As such, this process amounts to a commercial or legal interactions (specifically, an advertising, marketing or sales activity or behavior; business relations); and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). These limitations therefore fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Additionally and/or alternatively, each of the above-recited steps/functions, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, encompass a human manually (e.g., in their mind, or using paper and pen) performing one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions, but for the recitation of generic computer components. If one or more claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “mental processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Independent claim(s) 6 and 14 recite/describe nearly identical steps (and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
Each of the depending claims likewise recite/describe these steps (by incorporation - and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Any element(s) recited in a dependent claim that are not specifically identified/addressed by the Examiner under step 2A (prong two) or step 2B of this analysis shall be understood to be an additional part of the abstract idea recited by that particular claim. The same reasoning is similarly applicable to the limitations in the remaining dependent claims, and their respective limitations are not reproduced here for the sake of brevity.
Step 2A - Prong Two:
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “addition element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The claim(s) recite the additional elements/limitations of
“a system, comprising; one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause the system to perform operations comprising” (claim 1)
“one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by one or more processors, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause a system to perform operations” (claim 6)
“from a player device interacting with an online game and associated with a player… to be displayed by the player device” (claims 1, 6, and 14)
“into a machine learned model…from the machine learned model” (claims 1, 6, and 14)
“a plurality of machine learned models…from the plurality of machine learned models…into the machine learned model” (claims 3, 9, and 17)
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “a system, comprising; one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause the system to perform operations comprising” (claim 1) or “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by one or more processors, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause a system to perform operations” (claim 6) is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. Applicant’s own disclosure explains that these “additional” elements may be embodied as a general-purpose computer (e.g., the published specification at paragraphs [0078]-[0080] “Computer-executable program instructions may be loaded onto a general purpose computer”). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The recitation of “into a machine learned model…from the machine learned model” (claims 1, 6, and 14) and/or “a plurality of machine learned models…from the plurality of machine learned models…into the machine learned model” (claims 3, 9, and 17) provides nothing more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples and corresponding analysis. MPEP 2106.05(f) provides the following considerations for determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer: (1) whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished; (2) whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process; and (3) the particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception. The machine learned model is used to generally apply the abstract idea without placing any limits on how the machine learned model functions. Rather, these limitations only recite the outcome of “receiving…output data representative of a recommended furnished space” and do not include any details about how this funciton is accomplished. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples and corresponding analysis. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The recited additional element(s) of “from a player device interacting with an online game and associated with a player… to be displayed by the player device” (claims 1, 6, and 14) serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, it/they serve(s) to limit the application of the abstract idea to computing environments, such as distributed computing environments and/or the internet, where information is represented digitally, exchanged between computers over a network, and presented using graphical user interfaces. It also serves to limit it to an online gaming context. This reasoning was demonstrated in Bilski, where it was determined that certain claim elements limiting the basic concept of hedging to commodities and energy markets (merely limiting an abstract idea to one field of use) did not make the concept patentable. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer"). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The recitation of “into a machine learned model…from the machine learned model” (claims 1, 6, and 14) and/or “a plurality of machine learned models…from the plurality of machine learned models…into the machine learned model” (claims 3, 9, and 17) also merely indicates a field of use or technological environment in which the judicial exception is performed. Although the additional elements limits the identified judicial exceptions to use of a machine learned model, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (machine learned models) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(h) and the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples and corresponding analysis. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The recited element(s) of “causing, in response to receiving the output data, the recommended furnished space to be displayed by the player device” (claims 1, 6, and 14), even if considered to be an “additional” element for the purpose of the eligibility analysis, would simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere post-solution activity in conjunction with an abstract idea). The term “extra-solution activity” is understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. The recited additional element(s) do are deemed “extra-solution” because such solution-outputting/transmission steps have long been held to be insignificant pre/post-solution activity. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h) and (g)).
Furthermore, although the claims recite a specific sequence of computer-implemented functions, and although the specification suggests certain functions may be advantageous for various reasons (e.g., business reasons), the Examiner has determined that the ordered combination of claim elements (i.e., the claims as a whole) are not directed to an improvement to computer functionality/capabilities, an improvement to a computer-related technology or technological environment, and do not amount to a technology-based solution to a technology-based problem. For example, Applicant’s published specification suggests that it is advantageous to implement the claimed business process because doing so can help a user identify furnishings they may be interested in (e.g., buying) while reducing the burden of searching through a large number of options (see, for example, Applicant’s published disclosure at paragraphs [0001] & [0010]-[0012]). These are non-technical business advantages/improvements. At most, the ordered combination of claim elements is directed to a non-technical improvement to an abstract idea itself (e.g., an improved process for recommending a furnished space).
Dependent claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). For example, claim 2 recites “wherein the proximate space is proximate to the space based at least in part on at least one of: determining that the proximate space is within a threshold distance from the space; or determining that the proximate space is on a same level of a structure as the space”. This is an abstract limitation which further sets forth the abstract idea encompassed by claim 2. This limitation is not an “additional element”, and therefore it is not subject to further analysis under Step 2A- Prong Two or Step 2B. The same logic applies to each of the other dependent claims, whose limitations are not being repeated here for the sake of brevity and clarity. With respect to the other dependent claims not specifically listed here - each of the limitations/elements recited in these dependent claims other than those identified as being “additional” elements above (at the beginning of the Prong One analysis), are further part of the abstract idea encompassed by each respective dependent claim (i.e. it should be understood that these limitations are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B:
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an "inventive concept." An "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2355, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966)
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “a system, comprising; one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause the system to perform operations comprising” (claim 1) or “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by one or more processors, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause a system to perform operations” (claim 6) is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more” (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the recitation of “into a machine learned model…from the machine learned model” (claims 1, 6, and 14) and/or “a plurality of machine learned models…from the plurality of machine learned models…into the machine learned model” (claims 3, 9, and 17) is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more” (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the recited additional element(s) of “from a player device interacting with an online game and associated with a player… to be displayed by the player device” (claims 1, 6, and 14) serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more” (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the recitation of “into a machine learned model…from the machine learned model” (claims 1, 6, and 14) and/or “a plurality of machine learned models…from the plurality of machine learned models…into the machine learned model” (claims 3, 9, and 17) also serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more” (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Dependent claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea identified by the Examiner to which each respective claim is directed).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
v Claims 6, 9-11, 13, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2023/0061250 March 2, 2023 - hereinafter "Liu”)
With respect to claims 6 and 14, Liu teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by one or more processors, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause a system to perform operations; and method comprising;
receiving, from a player device interacting with an online game and associated with a player, a request to furnish a space; ([0013] “generate a layout of an interior region of the video game building…A floor plan divides the interior of the building into a plurality of interior spaces (e.g. bedroom, living room, kitchen, entry, hallway etc.)…users may select a floor plan from the top ranked suggestions and continue with the layout generation process. In a second stage, users can specify further constraints such as a budget constraint (e.g. in relation to an in-game currency) and/or a style constraint, and request for suggestions for where and how to place objects (e.g. furniture, appliances, etc.) in the interior spaces of the selected floor plan. In this second stage, a layout generator model comprising one or more graph neural networks generates outputs for at least one interior space of a floor plan. These outputs represent a configuration of one or more objects to be placed in the interior region of the video game building. The described systems and methods provide a tool to…optimize furniture selection that may be constrained by budget and style. Further, the described systems and methods allow players of the video game to customize the interior design of buildings based on their preferences and/or in-game constraints (e.g. style and budget)” – therefore the system/processor receives a request for where and how to place furniture objects in a virtual interior space from a player device interacting with a video game, see also [0027] & [0065])
identifying, in response to the request, a current configuration of the space; ([0014 “enable a flexible approach to generating interiors of buildings…a user may decide to move or otherwise modify an object (e.g. a couch) represented in the outputs generated by the layout generator, and the graph may be updated to specify that the object is in the new configuration. The graph neural network may operate on this updated graph to generate further layouts (e.g. adding additional objects, removing objects and/or modifying the previous configuration of objects) wherein the object is in the configuration specified by the user.” – therefore a current configuration (e.g., one that has been updated to specify the location of a couch placed by the player) is identified to use as input to the graph neural network (machine learned model) when the model is invoked (e.g., a user has requested layout suggestions) for generating output representative of a recommended furnished space, [0039]-[0040] “generating an output representing a layout 205 may comprise performing a graph building process that adds nodes to a graph operated on by the graph neural network, wherein each node represents a particular object type (e.g. chair, sofa, TV, etc.). Multiple objects of the same object type may be added to the graph. The graph may be initialized in a suitable manner, e.g. by selection of a random seed, by choosing an object type that is frequently occurring in the training examples, by user selection etc…at each iteration of the graph building process, a portion of the graph neural network may process a current representation of the graph”, [0055] “initializing an instance of a graph to be operated on by the graph neural network. For each iteration of a plurality of iterations, a node may be added to the graph by the graph neural network. This may comprise processing a current representation of the graph using the graph neural network. Each node of the graph may represent an object to be placed in the interior region of the video game building. Edges between nodes of the graph may be generated by the graph neural network. An edge between two nodes may specify (e.g. as edge features) relational information between the objects corresponding to the nodes. For example, the relational information may specify an adjacency relationship that e.g. indicates the two objects are in the same interior space, a distance between the objects, a constraint for the two objects (e.g. that specifies the two objects should be of a particular style) or any other relational information…”)
receiving, based at least in part on the request, criteria associated with furnishing the space; ([0013] “generate a layout of an interior region of the video game building…A floor plan divides the interior of the building into a plurality of interior spaces (e.g. bedroom, living room, kitchen, entry, hallway etc.)…users may select a floor plan from the top ranked suggestions and continue with the layout generation process. In a second stage, users can specify further constraints such as a budget constraint (e.g. in relation to an in-game currency) and/or a style constraint, and request for suggestions for where and how to place objects (e.g. furniture, appliances, etc.) in the interior spaces of the selected floor plan. In this second stage, a layout generator model comprising one or more graph neural networks generates outputs for at least one interior space of a floor plan. These outputs represent a configuration of one or more objects to be placed in the interior region of the video game building. The described systems and methods provide a tool to…optimize furniture selection that may be constrained by budget and style. Further, the described systems and methods allow players of the video game to customize the interior design of buildings based on their preferences and/or in-game constraints (e.g. style and budget)” – therefore the system/processor receives budget and/or style constraints (i.e., criteria associated with furnishing the space) based at least in part on the request for furnishing recommendations, [0018] “ The user input may comprise a constraint in the selection of a particular interior style (e.g. “European”, “Scandinavian”, “Modern”, “Traditional”, etc.) specifying a style for the interior. The user input may comprise a budget constraint that specifies a maximum amount of an in-game currency that a user wishes to spend on objects that are to be placed in the interior region of the building. For example, different objects (e.g. furniture items) may cost different amounts of the in-game currency, and the user may wish to generate an interior of the building with a total cost that is less than or equal to a certain budget.”)
inputting the current configuration and the criteria into a machine learned model; ([0022]-[0023] “The layout generator 103 comprises one or more trained graph neural networks. A graph neural network operates on graphs comprising nodes and edges between nodes, using a plurality of layers of the graph neural network, to generate predictions of node features and, optionally, edge features. The layout generator 103 generates one or more outputs for each interior space of a floor plan, wherein each output represents a different layout for the interior space. Thus, the layout generator 103 can be used to generate multiple different layouts for each interior space of a particular floor plan. In particular, each output generated for an interior space represents a configuration of one or more objects to be placed in the interior space. The objects include furniture (e.g. wardrobes, couches, tables, etc.), appliances (washing machines, televisions, refrigerators), or any other suitable object to be placed for the building…” & [0026] “In scenarios where the user further provides constraints (e.g. a budget constraint and/or a style constraint), constraint solver 104 may be used to generate a set of objects that satisfy the constraints. For example, the computing system 100 may store or otherwise access a set of game assets of objects, where each game asset is tagged with tags corresponding to the constraints. For example, each game asset may have a cost tag denoting a cost for the object, and/or a style tag denoting a particular style for the object. The constraint solver 104 can filter and select a subset of objects, and provide this subset of objects to the layout generator 103 so that the layout for the interior of the building is generated using a subset of objects satisfy the constraints. The constraint solver may determine a subset of objects in any suitable manner, e.g. by filtering game assets that do not meet the constraints, and/or performing a constraint optimization process, e.g. by use of linear programming methods, branch-and-bound algorithms, etc– therefore the the current configuration (current representation of the graph) and the criteria (e.g., budget/style constraints) are input into a machine learned model, [0062] “An edge between two nodes specifies relational information between two respective interior space of the video game building or relational information between two respective objects to be placed in the interior region. For example, the relational information may specify an adjacency relationship that e.g. indicates that two objects are in the same interior space, a distance between two objects, a distance between two interior spaces, a constraint for two objects (e.g. that specifies the two objects should be of a particular style) or any other relational information for the objects and/or interior spaces.” – style criteria input to model, , [0039]-[0040] “generating an output representing a layout 205 may comprise performing a graph building process that adds nodes to a graph operated on by the graph neural network…at each iteration of the graph building process, a portion of the graph neural network may process a current representation of the graph”)
receiving, from the machine learned model, output data representative of a recommended furnished space, wherein the output data comprises, for an individual object of a plurality of furniture objects, a location and an orientation within the space; and ([0022]-[0025] “The layout generator 103 comprises one or more trained graph neural networks….generates one or more outputs for each interior space of a floor plan, wherein each output represents a different layout for the interior space…each output generated for an interior space represents a configuration of one or more objects to be placed in the interior space. The objects include furniture (e.g. wardrobes, couches, tables, etc.), appliances (washing machines, televisions, refrigerators), or any other suitable object to be placed for the building…The configuration of an object may be specified relative to the interior space, or relative to other objects. For example, a position (and/or size/orientation) of a coffee table may be specified relative to a TV, or be specified relative to a living room in which the coffee table is placed…An output for an interior space may be a representation of a graph produced by a graph neural network of the layout generator 103. For example, the representation of the graph may comprise a matrix of vectors, wherein each vector comprises features for a particular node of the graph, and may further comprise a matrix or tensor specifying edge features. The node features may represent a configuration for a particular object (e.g. position, orientation, size), and the edge features may represent a distance between two objects corresponding to the nodes linked by the edge.”, see also [0027] & [0035] & [0039] & [0048] & [0054])
and wherein causing the recommended furnished space to be displayed comprises rendering the plurality of furniture objects at the respective locations and orientations; and causing, in response to receiving the output data, the recommended furnished space to be displayed by the player device ([0027] “The interior of the building may be rendered, displayed and/or caused to be displayed in a video game based on the outputs produced by layout generator 103. The renderer 105 is configured to receive the outputs produced by layout generator 103 and render the interior of the building in accordance with the object configurations specified in the output of the layout generator 103. For example, the renderer 105 may receive positional information, orientation information and/or size information for each object specified in the outputs of the layout generator 103. The renderer 105 may determine appropriate game assets (e.g. texture data) for the objects specified in the outputs of the layout generator 103 and render the interior of the building using the determined game assets. The renderer 105 may be part of a video game application that is accessed when players play the video game, or may be part of a video game development application for developing building interiors”, see also [0064])
With respect to claims 9 and 17, Liu teaches the media of claim 6 and the method of claim 14,
wherein inputting the current configuration, the criteria, and the characteristic into the machine learned model is based at least in part on: determining, based at least in part on the request, a classification of the space; ([0024] “The layout generator 103 may receive a floor plan generated by floor plan generator 102, and determine that the floor plan specifies one or more types of interior spaces….a floor plan that specifies that the interior region of the building comprises a living room, a kitchen, and an entry. In this example, the layout generator 103 receives the floor plan, and determines that a graph neural network for living rooms should generate a layout for the living room, a graph neural network for kitchens should generate a layout for the kitchen, and that a graph neural network for entries should generate a layout for the entry.”)
identifying a plurality of machine learned models trained to generate furnished layouts; and determining, from the plurality of machine learned models, that the machine learned model is associated with the classification, wherein inputting the current configuration, the criteria, and the characteristic into the machine learned model is based at least in part on the machine learned model being associated with the classification ([0024] “ the layout generator 103 may comprise a different graph neural network for each type of interior space of a set of interior space types. For example, one graph neural network may be used to produce object configurations for living rooms, another may be used to produce object configurations for bathrooms, etc. In this way, the layouts generated by layout generator 103 may be adapted to specific interior spaces specified in a generated floor plan. The layout generator 103 may receive a floor plan generated by floor plan generator 102, and determine that the floor plan specifies one or more types of interior spaces. Subsequently, the layout generator 103 may cause a graph neural network associated with each type of interior space to generate a layout for the interior space corresponding to the interior space type. For example, the floor plan generator 102 may generate a floor plan that specifies that the interior region of the building comprises a living room, a kitchen, and an entry. In this example, the layout generator 103 receives the floor plan, and determines that a graph neural network for living rooms should generate a layout for the living room, a graph neural network for kitchens should generate a layout for the kitchen, and that a graph neural network for entries should generate a layout for the entry.”, see also [0056] & [0035])
With respect to claims 10 and 18, Liu teaches the media of claim 6, and the method of claim 14;
wherein the current configuration includes at least one of: a dimension or a ratio of the space, a location of a door or an aperture in the space, a type of furniture in the space, a size of the furniture in the space, a dimension of the furniture in the space, a ratio of the furniture in the space, a location of the furniture in the space, or an orientation of the furniture in the space ([0014 “enable a flexible approach to generating interiors of buildings…a user may decide to move or otherwise modify an object (e.g. a couch) represented in the outputs generated by the layout generator, and the graph may be updated to specify that the object is in the new configuration. The graph neural network may operate on this updated graph to generate further layouts (e.g. adding additional objects, removing objects and/or modifying the previous configuration of objects) wherein the object is in the configuration specified by the user.” – therefore a current configuration (e.g., one that has been updated by the user) includes at least a type/location/orientation of furniture in the space, [0055] “initializing an instance of a graph to be operated on by the graph neural network. For each iteration of a plurality of iterations, a node may be added to the graph by the graph neural network. This may comprise processing a current representation of the graph using the graph neural network. Each node of the graph may represent an object to be placed in the interior region of the video game building. Edges between nodes of the graph may be generated by the graph neural network. An edge between two nodes may specify (e.g. as edge features) relational information between the objects corresponding to the nodes. For example, the relational information may specify an adjacency relationship that e.g. indicates the two objects are in the same interior space, a distance between the objects, a constraint for the two objects (e.g. that specifies the two objects should be of a particular style) or any other relational information…”)
With respect to claims 11 and 19, Liu teaches the media of claim 6, and the method of claim 14;
wherein the criteria includes at least one of: a furnishing style, a budget associated with furnishing the space, a priority of furniture in the space based on a classification of the space, a quantity of furniture pieces in the space, a requested type of furniture to include in the space, or a furnishing rule associated with the space ([0013] “, users can specify further constraints such as a budget constraint (e.g. in relation to an in-game currency) and/or a style constraint, and request for suggestions for where and how to place objects (e.g. furniture, appliances, etc.) in the interior spaces of the selected floor plan. In this second stage, a layout generator model comprising one or more graph neural networks generates outputs for at least one interior space of a floor plan. These outputs represent a configuration of one or more objects to be placed in the interior region of the video game building. The described systems and methods provide a tool to…optimize furniture selection that may be constrained by budget and style. Further, the described systems and methods allow players of the video game to customize the interior design of buildings based on their preferences and/or in-game constraints (e.g. style and budget)” – therefore the criteria includes at least a furnishing style and/or a budget associated with furnishing the space, [0018] “ The user input may comprise a constraint in the selection of a particular interior style (e.g. “European”, “Scandinavian”, “Modern”, “Traditional”, etc.) specifying a style for the interior. The user input may comprise a budget constraint that specifies a maximum amount of an in-game currency that a user wishes to spend on objects that are to be placed in the interior region of the building. For example, different objects (e.g. furniture items) may cost different amounts of the in-game currency, and the user may wish to generate an interior of the building with a total cost that is less than or equal to a certain budget.”)
With respect to claim 13, Liu teaches the media of claim 6;
wherein the output data includes at least one of: a classification of the space, a dimension of the space, a classification of furniture included in the space, a size of the furniture, a dimension of the furniture in the space, a position of the furniture within the space, or an orientation of the furniture within the space ([0022]-[0025] “The layout generator 103 comprises one or more trained graph neural networks….generates one or more outputs for each interior space of a floor plan, wherein each output represents a different layout for the interior space…each output generated for an interior space represents a configuration of one or more objects to be placed in the interior space. The objects include furniture (e.g. wardrobes, couches, tables, etc.), appliances (washing machines, televisions, refrigerators), or any other suitable object to be placed for the building…The configuration of an object may be specified relative to the interior space, or relative to other objects. For example, a position (and/or size/orientation) of a coffee table may be specified relative to a TV, or be specified relative to a living room in which the coffee table is placed…An output for an interior space may be a representation of a graph produced by a graph neural network of the layout generator 103. For example, the representation of the graph may comprise a matrix of vectors, wherein each vector comprises features for a particular node of the graph, and may further comprise a matrix or tensor specifying edge features. The node features may represent a configuration for a particular object (e.g. position, orientation, size), and the edge features may represent a distance between two objects corresponding to the nodes linked by the edge.” - the output data includes at least a size/position/orientation of the furniture within the space) , see also [0027] & [0035] & [0039] & [0048] & [0054])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
v Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2023/0061250 March 2, 2023 - hereinafter "Liu”) in view of Couleaud et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2025/0278766 September 4, 2025 - hereinafter "Couleaud”)
With respect to claim 1, Liu teaches a system, comprising;
one or more processors; and ([0066]-[0069] “one or more processors”)
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause the system to perform operations comprising: ([0066]-[0069] “volatile memory…non-volatile memory…operating instructions”)
receiving, from a player device interacting with an online game and associated with a player, a request to furnish a space; ([0013] “generate a layout of an interior region of the video game building…A floor plan divides the interior of the building into a plurality of interior spaces (e.g. bedroom, living room, kitchen, entry, hallway etc.)…users may select a floor plan from the top ranked suggestions and continue with the layout generation process. In a second stage, users can specify further constraints such as a budget constraint (e.g. in relation to an in-game currency) and/or a style constraint, and request for suggestions for where and how to place objects (e.g. furniture, appliances, etc.) in the interior spaces of the selected floor plan. In this second stage, a layout generator model comprising one or more graph neural networks generates outputs for at least one interior space of a floor plan. These outputs represent a configuration of one or more objects to be placed in the interior region of the video game building. The described systems and methods provide a tool to…optimize furniture selection that may be constrained by budget and style. Further, the described systems and methods allow players of the video game to customize the interior design of buildings based on their preferences and/or in-game constraints (e.g. style and budget)” – therefore the system/processor receives a request for where and how to place furniture objects in a virtual interior space from a player device interacting with a video game, see also [0027] & [0065])
identifying, in response to the request, a current configuration of the space; ([0014 “enable a flexible approach to generating interiors of buildings…a user may decide to move or otherwise modify an object (e.g. a couch) represented in the outputs generated by the layout generator, and the graph may be updated to specify that the object is in the new configuration. The graph neural network may operate on this updated graph to generate further layouts (e.g. adding additional objects, removing objects and/or modifying the previous configuration of objects) wherein the object is in the configuration specified by the user.” – therefore a current configuration (e.g., one that has been updated to specify the location of a couch placed by the player) is identified to use as input to the graph neural network (machine learned model) when the model is invoked (e.g., a user has requested layout suggestions) for generating output representative of a recommended furnished space, [0039]-[0040] “generating an output representing a layout 205 may comprise performing a graph building process that adds nodes to a graph operated on by the graph neural network, wherein each node represents a particular object type (e.g. chair, sofa, TV, etc.). Multiple objects of the same object type may be added to the graph. The graph may be initialized in a suitable manner, e.g. by selection of a random seed, by choosing an object type that is frequently occurring in the training examples, by user selection etc…at each iteration of the graph building process, a portion of the graph neural network may process a current representation of the graph”, [0055] “initializing an instance of a graph to be operated on by the graph neural network. For each iteration of a plurality of iterations, a node may be added to the graph by the graph neural network. This may comprise processing a current representation of the graph using the graph neural network. Each node of the graph may represent an object to be placed in the interior region of the video game building. Edges between nodes of the graph may be generated by the graph neural network. An edge between two nodes may specify (e.g. as edge features) relational information between the objects corresponding to the nodes. For example, the relational information may specify an adjacency relationship that e.g. indicates the two objects are in the same interior space, a distance between the objects, a constraint for the two objects (e.g. that specifies the two objects should be of a particular style) or any other relational information…”)
receiving, based at least in part on the request, criteria associated with furnishing the space; ([0013] “generate a layout of an interior region of the video game building…A floor plan divides the interior of the building into a plurality of interior spaces (e.g. bedroom, living room, kitchen, entry, hallway etc.)…users may select a floor plan from the top ranked suggestions and continue with the layout generation process. In a second stage, users can specify further constraints such as a budget constraint (e.g. in relation to an in-game currency) and/or a style constraint, and request for suggestions for where and how to place objects (e.g. furniture, appliances, etc.) in the interior spaces of the selected floor plan. In this second stage, a layout generator model comprising one or more graph neural networks generates outputs for at least one interior space of a floor plan. These outputs represent a configuration of one or more objects to be placed in the interior region of the video game building. The described systems and methods provide a tool to…optimize furniture selection that may be constrained by budget and style. Further, the described systems and methods allow players of the video game to customize the interior design of buildings based on their preferences and/or in-game constraints (e.g. style and budget)” – therefore the system/processor receives budget and/or style constraints (i.e., criteria associated with furnishing the space) based at least in part on the request for furnishing recommendations, [0018] “ The user input may comprise a constraint in the selection of a particular interior style (e.g. “European”, “Scandinavian”, “Modern”, “Traditional”, etc.) specifying a style for the interior. The user input may comprise a budget constraint that specifies a maximum amount of an in-game currency that a user wishes to spend on objects that are to be placed in the interior region of the building. For example, different objects (e.g. furniture items) may cost different amounts of the in-game currency, and the user may wish to generate an interior of the building with a total cost that is less than or equal to a certain budget.”)
inputting the current configuration and the criteria into a machine learned model; ([0022]-[0023] “The layout generator 103 comprises one or more trained graph neural networks. A graph neural network operates on graphs comprising nodes and edges between nodes, using a plurality of layers of the graph neural network, to generate predictions of node features and, optionally, edge features. The layout generator 103 generates one or more outputs for each interior space of a floor plan, wherein each output represents a different layout for the interior space. Thus, the layout generator 103 can be used to generate multiple different layouts for each interior space of a particular floor plan. In particular, each output generated for an interior space represents a configuration of one or more objects to be placed in the interior space. The objects include furniture (e.g. wardrobes, couches, tables, etc.), appliances (washing machines, televisions, refrigerators), or any other suitable object to be placed for the building…” & [0026] “In scenarios where the user further provides constraints (e.g. a budget constraint and/or a style constraint), constraint solver 104 may be used to generate a set of objects that satisfy the constraints. For example, the computing system 100 may store or otherwise access a set of game assets of objects, where each game asset is tagged with tags corresponding to the constraints. For example, each game asset may have a cost tag denoting a cost for the object, and/or a style tag denoting a particular style for the object. The constraint solver 104 can filter and select a subset of objects, and provide this subset of objects to the layout generator 103 so that the layout for the interior of the building is generated using a subset of objects satisfy the constraints. The constraint solver may determine a subset of objects in any suitable manner, e.g. by filtering game assets that do not meet the constraints, and/or performing a constraint optimization process, e.g. by use of linear programming methods, branch-and-bound algorithms, etc– therefore the the current configuration (current representation of the graph) and the criteria (e.g., budget/style constraints) are input into a machine learned model, [0062] “An edge between two nodes specifies relational information between two respective interior space of the video game building or relational information between two respective objects to be placed in the interior region. For example, the relational information may specify an adjacency relationship that e.g. indicates that two objects are in the same interior space, a distance between two objects, a distance between two interior spaces, a constraint for two objects (e.g. that specifies the two objects should be of a particular style) or any other relational information for the objects and/or interior spaces.” – style criteria input to model, , [0039]-[0040] “generating an output representing a layout 205 may comprise performing a graph building process that adds nodes to a graph operated on by the graph neural network…at each iteration of the graph building process, a portion of the graph neural network may process a current representation of the graph”)
receiving, from the machine learned model, output data representative of a recommended furnished space, wherein the output data comprises, for an individual object of a plurality of furniture objects, a location and an orientation within the space; and ([0022]-[0025] “The layout generator 103 comprises one or more trained graph neural networks….generates one or more outputs for each interior space of a floor plan, wherein each output represents a different layout for the interior space…each output generated for an interior space represents a configuration of one or more objects to be placed in the interior space. The objects include furniture (e.g. wardrobes, couches, tables, etc.), appliances (washing machines, televisions, refrigerators), or any other suitable object to be placed for the building…The configuration of an object may be specified relative to the interior space, or relative to other objects. For example, a position (and/or size/orientation) of a coffee table may be specified relative to a TV, or be specified relative to a living room in which the coffee table is placed…An output for an interior space may be a representation of a graph produced by a graph neural network of the layout generator 103. For example, the representation of the graph may comprise a matrix of vectors, wherein each vector comprises features for a particular node of the graph, and may further comprise a matrix or tensor specifying edge features. The node features may represent a configuration for a particular object (e.g. position, orientation, size), and the edge features may represent a distance between two objects corresponding to the nodes linked by the edge.”, see also [0027] & [0035] & [0039] & [0048] & [0054])
and wherein causing the recommended furnished space to be displayed comprises rendering the plurality of furniture objects at the respective locations and orientations; and causing, in response to receiving the output data, the recommended furnished space to be displayed by the player device ([0027] “The interior of the building may be rendered, displayed and/or caused to be displayed in a video game based on the outputs produced by layout generator 103. The renderer 105 is configured to receive the outputs produced by layout generator 103 and render the interior of the building in accordance with the object configurations specified in the output of the layout generator 103. For example, the renderer 105 may receive positional information, orientation information and/or size information for each object specified in the outputs of the layout generator 103. The renderer 105 may determine appropriate game assets (e.g. texture data) for the objects specified in the outputs of the layout generator 103 and render the interior of the building using the determined game assets. The renderer 105 may be part of a video game application that is accessed when players play the video game, or may be part of a video game development application for developing building interiors”, see also [0064])
Liu does not appear to disclose,
identifying a proximate space to the space; identifying a characteristic of the proximate space; and inputting the characteristic into a machine learned model
However, Couleaud discloses
identifying a proximate space to the space; identifying a characteristic of the proximate space; and inputting the characteristic into a machine learned model ([0002] & [0006] environment comprises one or more rooms in a home, [0027]-[0029] floor plan mapping comprising one or more regions (e.g., the plurality of rooms) is created for the environment and the mapping comprises any existing objects such as furniture in the environment and the system analyzes the mapping to determine additional information such as color schemes and furniture style based on this information (i.e., characteristics of a proximate space (i.e., nearby room(s) to a space/room for which the system is going to provide furnishing recommendations, [0040]-[0041] “mapping…each room in a house…content selection system 100, in some embodiments, infers adequate locations for goods and/or services 104 based on a mapping 103…content selection system 100 infers the goods themselves, deciding goods and/or services 104 that are useful in the environment 102. For example, the environment 102 shown in FIG. 4 appears to be a living room, which content selection system 100 may recognize through the object recognition of sofa 402, windows 403, table 404, and rug 405. The content selection system 100 may also identify that the room does not include a television and may suggest such a product to the user. Alternatively, the content selection system 100 may determine that an adjacent room includes a large television and instead suggest artwork for the living room as an additional television is not likely necessary. As discussed above, the content selection system 100 may select the objects, such as goods and/or services 104, from a storage, such as object storage 222. The content selection system 100 may select objects that best fit the available locations. In some embodiments, the content selection system 100 infers a design style, such as modern, farmhouse, or maximalist, and selects an object that best matches the identified style. In some embodiments, the content selection system 100 infers a budget range and selects an object that best matches the identified budget. In one embodiment the content selection system 100 uses mapping 103 and other available data to identify existing objects in the environment 102, stores those objects in a catalog of one or more recognized objects, and selects products based on those existing objects. For example, content selection system 100 might recognize that a user's living room has a television and based on that information will select artwork, instead of a second television, for placement on an empty space on a wall. In one embodiment the content selection system 100 might recognize that a neighboring room in a house has a television and will select artwork, instead of a second nearby television, for environment 102 in that scenario as well.” - content selection system (which may be/comprise an ML model per [0037]) receives the mapping and inferred style preference (i.e., characteristic of proximate space) and/or indications of the furniture items in those proximate spaces and then outputs data representative of a recommended furnished space (e.g., recommended furniture object(s)), see also [0005]-[0006] “the present disclosure may collect and incorporate data from adjacent or nearby environments into the content item selection process…the environment comprises a space beyond a present field of view, such as alternative fields of view of the same space, nearby rooms or spaces, or related spaces. Once the system selects the product or service, it may display a depiction of the product or service to the user as a content item.” & [0018] “In some embodiments, the needs or deficiencies of an environment 102 are based on data on surrounding or related environments 102, such as an adjacent or nearby room” & [0016] “various regions may inform the content selection system 100 of each other, building on knowledge to map a complete dwelling. For example, data on adjacent regions might inform the content collection system 100 about lighting in a room” , see also [0045] & [0047] & [0050] & [0053] for style matching)
Couleaud suggests it is advantageous to identify a proximate space to the space; identifying a characteristic of the proximate space; and inputting the characteristic into a machine learned model, because doing so can help ensure consistency and compatibility between the recommended furnishings of the spaces/rooms) and because doing so can help a user decorate/design multiple rooms at the same time ([0002] & [0006] & [[0027]-[0029] & [0040]-[0041] &[0045] & [0047] & [0050] & [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu to include identifying a proximate space to the space; identifying a characteristic of the proximate space; and inputting the characteristic into a machine learned model, as taught by Couleaud, because doing so can help ensure consistency and compatibility between the recommended furnishings of the spaces/rooms) and because doing so can help a user decorate/design multiple rooms at the same time.
With respect to claims 7 and 15, Liu teaches the media of claim 6 and the method of claim 14. Liu does not appear to disclose,
wherein the recommended furnished space is further based at least in part on: identifying a proximate space to the space; and identifying a characteristic of the proximate space, wherein receiving the recommended furnished space is further based at least in part on inputting the characteristic into the machine learned model
However, Couleaud discloses
wherein the recommended furnished space is further based at least in part on: identifying a proximate space to the space; and identifying a characteristic of the proximate space, wherein receiving the recommended furnished space is further based at least in part on inputting the characteristic into the machine learned model ([0002] & [0006] environment comprises one or more rooms in a home, [0027]-[0029] floor plan mapping comprising one or more regions (e.g., the plurality of rooms) is created for the environment and the mapping comprises any existing objects such as furniture in the environment and the system analyzes the mapping to determine additional information such as color schemes and furniture style based on this information (i.e., characteristics of a proximate space (i.e., nearby room(s) to a space/room for which the system is going to provide furnishing recommendations, [0040]-[0041] “mapping…each room in a house…content selection system 100, in some embodiments, infers adequate locations for goods and/or services 104 based on a mapping 103…content selection system 100 infers the goods themselves, deciding goods and/or services 104 that are useful in the environment 102. For example, the environment 102 shown in FIG. 4 appears to be a living room, which content selection system 100 may recognize through the object recognition of sofa 402, windows 403, table 404, and rug 405. The content selection system 100 may also identify that the room does not include a television and may suggest such a product to the user. Alternatively, the content selection system 100 may determine that an adjacent room includes a large television and instead suggest artwork for the living room as an additional television is not likely necessary. As discussed above, the content selection system 100 may select the objects, such as goods and/or services 104, from a storage, such as object storage 222. The content selection system 100 may select objects that best fit the available locations. In some embodiments, the content selection system 100 infers a design style, such as modern, farmhouse, or maximalist, and selects an object that best matches the identified style. In some embodiments, the content selection system 100 infers a budget range and selects an object that best matches the identified budget. In one embodiment the content selection system 100 uses mapping 103 and other available data to identify existing objects in the environment 102, stores those objects in a catalog of one or more recognized objects, and selects products based on those existing objects. For example, content selection system 100 might recognize that a user's living room has a television and based on that information will select artwork, instead of a second television, for placement on an empty space on a wall. In one embodiment the content selection system 100 might recognize that a neighboring room in a house has a television and will select artwork, instead of a second nearby television, for environment 102 in that scenario as well.” - content selection system (which may be/comprise an ML model per [0037]) receives the mapping and inferred style preference (i.e., characteristic of proximate space) and/or indications of the furniture items in those proximate spaces and then outputs data representative of a recommended furnished space (e.g., recommended furniture object(s)), see also [0005]-[0006] “the present disclosure may collect and incorporate data from adjacent or nearby environments into the content item selection process…the environment comprises a space beyond a present field of view, such as alternative fields of view of the same space, nearby rooms or spaces, or related spaces. Once the system selects the product or service, it may display a depiction of the product or service to the user as a content item.” & [0018] “In some embodiments, the needs or deficiencies of an environment 102 are based on data on surrounding or related environments 102, such as an adjacent or nearby room” & [0016] “various regions may inform the content selection system 100 of each other, building on knowledge to map a complete dwelling. For example, data on adjacent regions might inform the content collection system 100 about lighting in a room” , see also [0045] & [0047] & [0050] & [0053] for style matching)
Couleaud suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the recommended furnished space is further based at least in part on: identifying a proximate space to the space; and identifying a characteristic of the proximate space, wherein receiving the recommended furnished space is further based at least in part on inputting the characteristic into the machine learned model, because doing so can help ensure consistency and compatibility between the recommended furnishings of the spaces/rooms) and because doing so can help a user decorate/design multiple rooms at the same time ([0002] & [0006] & [[0027]-[0029] & [0040]-[0041] &[0045] & [0047] & [0050] & [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media and method of Liu to include wherein the recommended furnished space is further based at least in part on: identifying a proximate space to the space; and identifying a characteristic of the proximate space, wherein receiving the recommended furnished space is further based at least in part on inputting the characteristic into the machine learned model, as taught by Couleaud, because doing so can help ensure consistency and compatibility between the recommended furnishings of the spaces/rooms) and because doing so can help a user decorate/design multiple rooms at the same time.
With respect to claims 2, 8, and 16, Liu teaches the system of claim 1, the media of claim 7, and the method of claim 15. Liu does not appear to disclose,
wherein the proximate space is proximate to the space based at least in part on at least one of: determining that the proximate space is within a threshold distance from the space; or determining that the proximate space is on a same level of a structure as the space
However, Couleaud discloses
wherein the proximate space is proximate to the space based at least in part on at least one of: determining that the proximate space is within a threshold distance from the space; or determining that the proximate space is on a same level of a structure as the space ([0005]-[0006] adjacent and/or nearby rooms in a home (i.e., based on distance), [0040]-[0041] “the content selection system 100 may determine that an adjacent room includes a large television and instead suggest artwork for the living room as an additional television is not likely necessary…In one embodiment the content selection system 100 might recognize that a neighboring room in a house has a television and will select artwork, instead of a second nearby television, for environment 102 in that scenario as well.”, see also [0018] “In some embodiments, the needs or deficiencies of an environment 102 are based on data on surrounding or related environments 102, such as an adjacent or nearby room” & [0016] “various regions may inform the content selection system 100 of each other, building on knowledge to map a complete dwelling. For example, data on adjacent regions might inform the content collection system 100 about lighting in a room”)
Couleaud suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the proximate space is proximate to the space based at least in part on at least one of: determining that the proximate space is within a threshold distance from the space; or determining that the proximate space is on a same level of a structure as the space, because doing so can help ensure consistency and compatibility between the recommended furnishings of the spaces/rooms) and because doing so can help a user decorate/design multiple rooms at the same time ([0002] & [0006] & [[0027]-[0029] & [0040]-[0041] &[0045] & [0047] & [0050] & [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, media and method of Liu to include the proximate space is proximate to the space based at least in part on at least one of: determining that the proximate space is within a threshold distance from the space; or Couleaud that the proximate space is on a same level of a structure as the space, as taught by Gausebeck, because doing so can help ensure consistency and compatibility between the recommended furnishings of the spaces/rooms) and because doing so can help a user decorate/design multiple rooms at the same time.
With respect to claim 3, Liu teaches the system of claim 1
wherein inputting the current configuration, the criteria, and the characteristic into the machine learned model is based at least in part on: determining, based at least in part on the request, a classification of the space; ([0024] “The layout generator 103 may receive a floor plan generated by floor plan generator 102, and determine that the floor plan specifies one or more types of interior spaces….a floor plan that specifies that the interior region of the building comprises a living room, a kitchen, and an entry. In this example, the layout generator 103 receives the floor plan, and determines that a graph neural network for living rooms should generate a layout for the living room, a graph neural network for kitchens should generate a layout for the kitchen, and that a graph neural network for entries should generate a layout for the entry.”)
identifying a plurality of machine learned models trained to generate furnished layouts; and determining, from the plurality of machine learned models, that the machine learned model is associated with the classification, wherein inputting the current configuration, the criteria, and the characteristic into the machine learned model is based at least in part on the machine learned model being associated with the classification ([0024] “ the layout generator 103 may comprise a different graph neural network for each type of interior space of a set of interior space types. For example, one graph neural network may be used to produce object configurations for living rooms, another may be used to produce object configurations for bathrooms, etc. In this way, the layouts generated by layout generator 103 may be adapted to specific interior spaces specified in a generated floor plan. The layout generator 103 may receive a floor plan generated by floor plan generator 102, and determine that the floor plan specifies one or more types of interior spaces. Subsequently, the layout generator 103 may cause a graph neural network associated with each type of interior space to generate a layout for the interior space corresponding to the interior space type. For example, the floor plan generator 102 may generate a floor plan that specifies that the interior region of the building comprises a living room, a kitchen, and an entry. In this example, the layout generator 103 receives the floor plan, and determines that a graph neural network for living rooms should generate a layout for the living room, a graph neural network for kitchens should generate a layout for the kitchen, and that a graph neural network for entries should generate a layout for the entry.”, see also [0056] & [0035])
With respect to claim 4, Liu teaches the system of claim 1;
wherein the current configuration includes at least one of: a dimension or a ratio of the space, a location of a door or an aperture in the space, a type of furniture in the space, a size of the furniture in the space, a dimension of the furniture in the space, a ratio of the furniture in the space, a location of the furniture in the space, or an orientation of the furniture in the space ([0014 “enable a flexible approach to generating interiors of buildings…a user may decide to move or otherwise modify an object (e.g. a couch) represented in the outputs generated by the layout generator, and the graph may be updated to specify that the object is in the new configuration. The graph neural network may operate on this updated graph to generate further layouts (e.g. adding additional objects, removing objects and/or modifying the previous configuration of objects) wherein the object is in the configuration specified by the user.” – therefore a current configuration (e.g., one that has been updated by the user) includes at least a type/location/orientation of furniture in the space, [0055] “initializing an instance of a graph to be operated on by the graph neural network. For each iteration of a plurality of iterations, a node may be added to the graph by the graph neural network. This may comprise processing a current representation of the graph using the graph neural network. Each node of the graph may represent an object to be placed in the interior region of the video game building. Edges between nodes of the graph may be generated by the graph neural network. An edge between two nodes may specify (e.g. as edge features) relational information between the objects corresponding to the nodes. For example, the relational information may specify an adjacency relationship that e.g. indicates the two objects are in the same interior space, a distance between the objects, a constraint for the two objects (e.g. that specifies the two objects should be of a particular style) or any other relational information…”)
With respect to claims 5, Liu teaches the system of claim 1, the media of claim 6, and the method of claim 14;
wherein the criteria includes at least one of: a furnishing style, a budget associated with furnishing the space, a priority of furniture in the space based on a classification of the space, a quantity of furniture pieces in the space, a requested type of furniture to include in the space, or a furnishing rule associated with the space ([0013] “, users can specify further constraints such as a budget constraint (e.g. in relation to an in-game currency) and/or a style constraint, and request for suggestions for where and how to place objects (e.g. furniture, appliances, etc.) in the interior spaces of the selected floor plan. In this second stage, a layout generator model comprising one or more graph neural networks generates outputs for at least one interior space of a floor plan. These outputs represent a configuration of one or more objects to be placed in the interior region of the video game building. The described systems and methods provide a tool to…optimize furniture selection that may be constrained by budget and style. Further, the described systems and methods allow players of the video game to customize the interior design of buildings based on their preferences and/or in-game constraints (e.g. style and budget)” – therefore the criteria includes at least a furnishing style and/or a budget associated with furnishing the space, [0018] “ The user input may comprise a constraint in the selection of a particular interior style (e.g. “European”, “Scandinavian”, “Modern”, “Traditional”, etc.) specifying a style for the interior. The user input may comprise a budget constraint that specifies a maximum amount of an in-game currency that a user wishes to spend on objects that are to be placed in the interior region of the building. For example, different objects (e.g. furniture items) may cost different amounts of the in-game currency, and the user may wish to generate an interior of the building with a total cost that is less than or equal to a certain budget.”)
v Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2023/0061250 March 2, 2023 - hereinafter "Liu”) in view of Fekete et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2014/0132633 May 15, 2014 - hereinafter "Fekete”)
With respect to claim 12 and 20, Liu teaches the media of claim 6 and the method of claim 14;
further comprising: receiving a second request to modify the recommended furnished space; ([0014] “a user may decide to move or otherwise modify an object (e.g. a couch) represented in the outputs generated by the layout generator, and the graph may be updated to specify that the object is in the new configuration. The graph neural network may operate on this updated graph to generate further layouts (e.g. adding additional objects, removing objects and/or modifying the previous configuration of objects) wherein the object is in the configuration specified by the user.” – user may iteratively modify an output recommended furnished space
receiving a rule associated with the recommended furnished space ([0013] budget/style)
Liu does not appear to disclose,
determining that the second request satisfies the rule; and causing, based at least in part on the second request satisfying the rule, a modification to the recommended furnished space
However, Fekete discloses
determining that the second request satisfies the rule; and causing, based at least in part on the second request satisfying the rule, a modification to the recommended furnished space ([0059]-[0065] “library portions assigned to the user (for example if the registered user's area is sponsored by one or more brands, then options may be restricted to the one or more brands)…user may now move the design objects around in the virtual physical environment, based on the applicable parametric space attributes…to the extent that the parametric space attributes permit manipulation of the design objects, such as their rotation, dragging to a new location and so on, the platform is configured so that the registered user may manipulate design objects within the virtual physical environment in a flexible manner that is designed in aggregate to enable registered users to explore a variety of different design choices…design objects cannot occupy the same space, couches can be placed in defined positions that meet room design criteria and so on…a set of parametric space attributes is defined that maps to apt design choices associated with the relevant design items; the design objects are rendered for every position that is possible in a coordinate system defined for the virtual physical environment, based on the parametric space attributes; when the registered user for example indicates his/her intent to move the design objects in a way that involves a change form one parametric space attribute to another, then a design object is removed and replaced with a second design object that corresponds to the change…it may be defined that in a particular room a couch of a certain size may be placed in a certain sub-area of the room; and the couch may be rotated at certain angles relative to the back wall (e.g. parallel to the back wall, 45 degree angle to the back wall etc.). Design objects are rendered to reflect the possible locations and rotational positions of the couch, such that when the user attempts to move the couch and rotate it to an angled position, the input from the user is captured, interpreted by the platform, and the corresponding rendering is accessed an integrated to the room. This approach resolves numerous technical challenges and permits manipulation of high-definition 3D images in a way that is consistent with the user's intent yet permits delivery in an Internet browser linked to computer device having average hardware/software/middleware resources.”, see also [0034] & [0068] “"chair class" may be associated with particular rules that define where chairs may be positioned (on a default basis and also based on user intent) and how they may be moved (for example rotated). These design choices permit the object library to be kept at a manageable size yet enables the platform to give effect to substantially all user selections that work from a design perspective”)
Fekete suggests it is advantageous to include determining that the second request satisfies the rule; and causing, based at least in part on the second request satisfying the rule, a modification to the recommended furnished space, because doing so can ensure the user’s request to modify the recommended furnished space adheres to various furnishing rules which can increase the efficiency of the user modifications, utility of the modified layout, and can reduce the number of possible manipulations ([0034] & [0059]-[0065] & [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media and method of Liu to include determining that the second request satisfies the rule; and causing, based at least in part on the second request satisfying the rule, a modification to the recommended furnished space, as taught by Fekete, because doing so can ensure the user’s request to modify the recommended furnished space adheres to various furnishing rules which can increase the efficiency of the user modifications, utility of the modified layout, and can reduce the number of possible manipulations
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Totty et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2020/0302681, September 24, 2020 - hereinafter "Totty”) teaches using ML to assist in designing a virtual space
Gausebeck et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2024/0420437, December 19, 2024 - hereinafter " Gausebeck”) discloses using ML to assist in designing a virtual space
Hutten et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2020/0380788, December 3, 2020) teaches using ML to assist in designing a virtual space
Borst et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,353,767, January 15, 2013) teaches assisting a gamer to design a virtual space in a game
Sensui et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2020/0269135, August 27, 2020) teaches assisting a gamer to design a virtual space in a game
Sadalgi (U.S. PG Pub No. 2024/0193886 June 13, 2024 - hereinafter "Sadalgi”) discloses wherein inputting the current configuration, the criteria, and the characteristic into the machine learned model is based at least in part on: determining, based at least in part on the request, a classification of the space; identifying a plurality of machine learned models trained to generate furnished layouts; and determining, from the plurality of machine learned models, that the machine learned model is associated with the classification, wherein inputting the current configuration, the criteria, and the characteristic into the machine learned model is based at least in part on the machine learned model being associated with the classification
Conclusion
No claim is allowed
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES M DETWEILER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621