DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,107,037 in view of Jeng et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,515,827). Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,107,037 does not disclose the first side of the first pattern base is coplanar with a first side of the first terminal. However, Jeng discloses a first side of the first pattern base is coplanar with a first side of a first terminal (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 1 in view of Jeng to configure the first side of the first pattern base to be coplanar with a first side of the first terminal in order to simplify the fabrication process.
18/900,411
U.S. Patent No. 12,107,037
2. A semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate comprising a top side and a bottom side, a dielectric structure, and a conductive structure, wherein the conductive structure comprises a first terminal exposed from the dielectric structure;
an electronic component over the top side of the substrate; and
an encapsulant over the top side of the substrate and covering a lateral side of the electronic component;
wherein the dielectric structure comprises a first pattern base and first pattern wall that extends from a first side of the first pattern base;
wherein the first side of the first pattern base is coplanar with a first side of the first terminal; and
wherein the first pattern base extends laterally from the first pattern wall beyond a footprint of the first pattern wall.
9. A semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate comprising a top side and a bottom side, a dielectric structure, and a conductive structure, wherein the conductive structure comprises a first terminal exposed from the dielectric structure;
an electronic component over the top side of the substrate; and
an encapsulant over the top side of the substrate and covering a lateral side of the electronic component;
wherein the dielectric structure comprises a first pattern base and first pattern wall that extends from a first side of the first pattern base; and
wherein the first side of the first pattern base is coplanar with a first side of the first terminal.
1. A semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate comprising a top side and a bottom side, a dielectric structure, and a conductive structure, wherein the conductive structure comprises a first terminal exposed from the dielectric structure;
an electronic component over the top side of the substrate; and
an encapsulant over the top side of the substrate and covering a lateral side of the electronic component;
wherein the dielectric structure comprises a first pattern base and first pattern wall that extends from the first pattern base and is adjacent to the first terminal, and the first terminal is bounded by the first pattern wall;
wherein the first pattern wall is spaced apart from the first terminal; and
wherein the first pattern base extends laterally from the first pattern wall beyond a footprint of the first pattern wall.
1. A semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate comprising a top side and a bottom side, a dielectric structure, and a conductive structure, wherein the conductive structure comprises a first terminal exposed from the dielectric structure;
an electronic component over the top side of the substrate; and
an encapsulant over the top side of the substrate and covering a lateral side of the electronic component;
wherein the dielectric structure comprises a first pattern base and first pattern wall that extends from the first pattern base and is adjacent to the first terminal, and the first terminal is bounded by the first pattern wall;
wherein the first pattern wall is spaced apart from the first terminal; and
wherein the first pattern base extends laterally from the first pattern wall beyond a footprint of the first pattern wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeng et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,515,827).
Regarding to claim 2, Jeng teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 4, please also see Fig. 1 for numerical labels), comprising:
a substrate comprising a top side and a bottom side (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 120), a dielectric structure (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 121/123/125/127), and a conductive structure (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 122/124/126), wherein the conductive structure comprises a first terminal exposed from the dielectric structure (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 122);
an electronic component over the top side of the substrate (Fig. 4, Fig. 1C, element 140); and
an encapsulant over the top side of the substrate and covering a lateral side of the electronic component (Fig. 4, Fig. 1F, element 210);
wherein the dielectric structure comprises a first pattern base and first pattern wall that extends from a first side of the first pattern base (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations);
wherein the first side of the first pattern base is coplanar with a first side of the first terminal (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations); and
wherein the first pattern base extends laterally from the first pattern wall beyond a footprint of the first pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 3, Jeng teaches the first terminal is bounded by the first pattern wall (Fig. 4).
Regarding to claim 4, Jeng teaches a second pattern wall extending from the first side of the first pattern base, wherein the first terminal is bounded by the first pattern wall and the second pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 5, Jeng teaches a second terminal exposed from the dielectric structure, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are bounded by the first pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 6, Jeng teaches a second terminal exposed from the dielectric structure and a second pattern wall extending from the first side of the first pattern base, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are bounded by the first pattern wall and the second pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 7, Jeng teaches a second terminal exposed from the dielectric structure, wherein the first pattern wall is between the first terminal and the second terminal (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 8, Jeng teaches an exterior lateral side of the first pattern wall is coplanar with an exterior lateral side of the encapsulant (Fig. 4).
Regarding to claim 9, Jeng teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate comprising a top side and a bottom side (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 120), a dielectric structure (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 121/123/125/127), and a conductive structure (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 122/124/126), wherein the conductive structure comprises a first terminal exposed from the dielectric structure (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 122);
an electronic component over the top side of the substrate (Fig. 4, Fig. 1C, element 140); and
an encapsulant over the top side of the substrate and covering a lateral side of the electronic component (Fig. 4, Fig. 1F, element 210);
wherein the dielectric structure comprises a first pattern base and first pattern wall that extends from a first side of the first pattern base (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations); and
wherein the first side of the first pattern base is coplanar with a first side of the first terminal (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 10, Jeng teaches the first terminal is bounded by the first pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 11, Jeng teaches a second pattern wall extending from the first side of the first pattern base, wherein the first terminal is bounded by the first pattern wall and the second pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 12, Jeng teaches a second terminal exposed from the dielectric structure, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are bounded by the first pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 13, Jeng teaches a second terminal exposed from the dielectric structure and a second pattern wall extending from the first side of the first pattern base, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are bounded by the first pattern wall and the second pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 14, Jeng teaches a second terminal exposed from the dielectric structure, wherein the first pattern wall is between the first terminal and the second terminal (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 15, Jeng teaches an exterior lateral side of the first pattern wall is coplanar with an exterior lateral side of the encapsulant (Fig. 4).
Regarding to claim 16, Jeng teaches a method to manufacture a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a substrate comprising a top side and a bottom side (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 120), a dielectric structure (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 121/123/125/127), and a conductive structure (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 122/124/126), wherein the conductive structure comprises a first terminal exposed from the dielectric structure (Fig. 4, Fig. 1A, element 122);
providing an electronic component over the top side of the substrate (Fig. 4, Fig. 1C, element 140); and
providing an encapsulant over the top side of the substrate and covering a lateral side of the electronic component (Fig. 4, Fig. 1F, element 210);
wherein the dielectric structure comprises a first pattern base and first pattern wall that extends from a first side of the first pattern base (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations);
wherein the first side of the first pattern base is coplanar with a first side of the first terminal (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations); and
wherein the first pattern base extends laterally from the first pattern wall beyond a footprint of the first pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 17, Jeng teaches the first terminal is bounded by the first pattern wall (Fig. 4).
Regarding to claim 18, Jeng teaches a second pattern wall extending from the first side of the first pattern base, wherein the first terminal is bounded by the first pattern wall and the second pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 19, Jeng teaches a second terminal exposed from the dielectric structure, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are bounded by the first pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 20, Jeng teaches a second terminal exposed from the dielectric structure and a second pattern wall extending from the first side of the first pattern base, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are bounded by the first pattern wall and the second pattern wall (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Regarding to claim 21, Jeng teaches a second terminal exposed from the dielectric structure, wherein the first pattern wall is between the first terminal and the second terminal (Fig. 4, please also see the attached figure with annotations).
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-11387177-B2, US-20110186997-A1, US-8106495- B2, US-7288841-B2, US-8502370-B2, US-9859201-B2, US-10217702-B2, US-8941230-B2, US-7173828-B2, and US-7485951-B2, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references fail to disclose “the first side of the first pattern base is coplanar with a first side of the first terminal and the first pattern base extends laterally from the first pattern wall beyond a footprint of the first pattern wall.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897