Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to amendments to application No. 18/900,792 filed on 03 July 2026. Claims 1, 8 and 16 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim priority for foreign applications CN202410285557.8, filed on 03/12/2024.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's amendment with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 101 as set forth in the office action of 08 April 2026 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore,
the rejection of claims under 35 USC 101 as set forth in the office action of 08 April 2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 08 April 2026 have been considered and NOT persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wei fails to disclose the acquiring step of this applicant due to the distance and target difference being outputs rather than inputs to the model. The examiner respectfully disagrees; Wei recites in paragraphs 27-35 a series of steps which generate these values as output, to be ultimately used as inputs to the model. The aforementioned steps are explicitly outlining a method of acquiring the desired inputs. The outputs of one equation does not limit the found values to solely an output, but rather an output to be then used as an input in a continuous string of acquiring desired information.
Applicant further argues that Wang does not disclose the limitations describes in the obtaining step, nor does Wei teach the limitations in the constructing step due to their inability to teach the acquire and obtaining step. Wang describes in paragraph 19, “The determining unit is used to determine the first target coordinates of the next running trajectory data point that meets the preset conditions in the expected trajectory information based on the center point of the front axle of the tractor.”, and goes on to also describe “The obtaining unit is used to obtain the predicted trajectory of the trailer after the center point of the front axle of the tractor moves from the current coordinates to the first target coordinates, based on the first target coordinates, the cargo parameters, the current information of the center point of the rear axle of the tractor, the current information of the rotation center point of the trailer, and the current information of the center point of the rear axle of the trailer” in paragraph 20. These subsequent descriptions of these units sufficiently obtain position information in relation to the rear axle, a curvature (or angle) and target distance. Therefore, this reference sufficiently anticipates the limitations described in the obtaining step.
Furthermore, the teachings of Wei in combination of Wang anticipate the acquiring and obtaining step to be used in the constructing limitation. Therefore, the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 08 April 2026 have been upheld.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over WEI (CN 115743176 A) in view of WANG (CN 115303291 A).
Regarding claim 1, WEI discloses a path planning method for a trailer vehicle, the trailer vehicle comprising a tractor and a trailer, and the trailer being connected to the tractor through a connector, the method comprising: (see at least [0001, 0006]; " This disclosure relates to the field of artificial intelligence technology, and more particularly to the field of autonomous driving, specifically to a vehicle path planning method, apparatus, electronic device, and vehicle… Obtain description information of the target vehicle with a trailer; ") Wei describes a path planning method for a trailer vehicle, comprising a target vehicle which could be a tractor, and a trailer.
a first distance from the rear axle center of the tractor to a center line of a target road, (see at least [162, 0079]; " the center point of the target vehicle's rear axle is selected as the path point of the planned path….lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line,… the reference line is the lane center line of the road to which the planned path belongs") Wei describes a first distance from the rear axle center to a center line of the target road.
a curvature of the center line of the target road, and (see at least [0013, 0168]; "the curvature of the path point…The reference point is the position point on the reference line closest to the path point. ") Wei describes a curvature of the center line of the target road.
a target difference between a heading angle of the trailer and a heading angle of the tractor; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle") Wei describes a measurement of the difference between the heading angle of the trailer and the heading angle of the tractor.
constructing a first projection distance equation and a second projection distance equation, separately, based on at least three of the first position information corresponding to a first target point of the plurality of first points, the first distance, the curvature, the second position information corresponding to a second target point of the plurality of second points, and the target difference, (see at least [0030]; "The equation relating the derivative of the mounting angle is: an equation constructed using the velocity function, the curvature of the path point, the mounting angle, the first distance, and the second distance; wherein the first distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the trailer to the hinge point, and the second distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the target vehicle to the hinge point;) Wei describes constructing a first and second projection, or prediction, distance equation based on first position information, second information and curvature.
the projection distance equations being used to calculate a projection distance from the first target point and/or the second target point to the center line of the target road; and (see at least [125, 238]; " The equation relating the derivative of the heading angle of the reference point is: an equation constructed using the velocity function, the curvature of the reference point, the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point… The determination submodule is used to determine the planning result of the path points on the path to be planned based on the value of the specified state variable. Optionally, the specified state quantity includes: The lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line, the heading angle of the path point, and the curvature of the path point.") Wei described a projection equation being used to calculate a projection distance from the target point to the center line of the target road.
obtaining a target path planning result based on the first projection distance equation, the second projection distance equation, and a vehicle path constraint condition. (see at least [0022, 0030]; "By using the discretized state-space equations and output equations, the specified constraints, and the objective function, a quadratic programming problem is constructed to obtain the path prediction model") Wei describes obtaining a target path planning result, or model, based on the equations and path constrain conditions.
Wei does not explicitly disclose obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor,
However, Wang teaches obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; " The third submodule is used to obtain the second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the tractor, ") Wang describes obtaining a first position information from a first point on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor.
second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; "The second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the trailer based on the second target coordinates,) Wang describes second position information from a second point on the trailer to the rear axle venter of the tractor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate teachings of WANG which teaches obtaining a first position information based on a plurality of points on the tractor to a rear acle in order to gauge where the entirety of the tractor is located for planning purposes.
Regarding claim 3, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses constructing the second projection distance equation according to the following equation when the curvature is greater than 0:,
whereis a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, andis obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines, or constructing the second projection distance equation aCCording to the following equation when the curvature is smaller than 0: (see at lleast [0106]; "Where d<sub>rk</sub> is the value of the lateral distance deviation between path point k and the reference line, θ<sub>rk</sub> is the heading angle of the reference point corresponding to path point k, (x<sub>rk</sub>,y<sub>rk</sub>) are the coordinates of the reference point corresponding to path point k, and (x<sub>k</sub>,y<sub>k</sub>) are the coordinates of path point k.")
wherein a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, and is obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines. (see at lleast [0106]; "Where d<sub>rk</sub> is the value of the lateral distance deviation between path point k and the reference line, θ<sub>rk</sub> is the heading angle of the reference point corresponding to path point k, (x<sub>rk</sub>,y<sub>rk</sub>) are the coordinates of the reference point corresponding to path point k, and (x<sub>k</sub>,y<sub>k</sub>) are the coordinates of path point k.")
Regarding claim 4, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses wherein said obtaining the target path planning result based on the first projection distance equation, the second projection distance equation, and the vehicle path constraint condition comprises: performing linear processing on the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation to obtain a target projection distance equation; and (see at least [0113]; " S201: Determine the linearized model corresponding to the kinematic model of the targetsystem;")
obtaining the target path planning result based on a target projection distance and the vehicle path constraint condition.(see at least [0114] ; "After obtaining the kinematic model of the target system, its corresponding linearization model can be determined, and the path prediction model can be obtained through subsequent steps.")
Regarding claim 5, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses whereandare the target projection distance equations,is the first distance,is a second angle determined based on the heading angle of the tractor and the heading angle of the center line of the target road,is the target difference,,(see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
andare coefficients obtained by Taylor expansion of the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0028]; "The equation relating the derivative of the heading angle of the path point is an equation constructed using the velocity function and the curvature of the path point.")
Regarding claim 6, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses determining a second angle based on the heading angle of the tractor and a heading angle of the center line of the target road; and (see at least [0027]; "The equation relating the derivative of the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line is an equation constructed using the velocity function of the target vehicle, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point.")
constructing the first projection distance equation based on the first distance, the first position information, the second angle, and the curvature. (See at least [0027]; "The equation relating the derivative of the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line is an equation constructed using the velocity function of the target vehicle, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point.")
Regarding claim 8, WEI teaches A path planning apparatus for a trailer vehicle, the trailer vehicle comprising a tractor and a trailer, and the trailer being connected to the tractor through a connector, the apparatus comprising: (see at least [0001, 0006]; " This disclosure relates to the field of artificial intelligence technology, and more particularly to the field of autonomous driving, specifically to a vehicle path planning method, apparatus, electronic device, and vehicle… Obtain description information of the target vehicle with a trailer; ") Wei describes a path planning method for a trailer vehicle, comprising a target vehicle which could be a tractor, and a trailer.
a memory having a program instruction stored thereon; and a processor configured to, when executing the program instruction, perform operations of: (see at least [0052]; "The memory stores instructions that can be executed by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to perform any of the vehicle routing methods described above.")
a first distance from the rear axle center of the tractor to a center line of a target road,
(see at least [162, 0079]; " the center point of the target vehicle's rear axle is selected as the path point of the planned path….lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line,… the reference line is the lane center line of the road to which the planned path belongs") Wei describes a first distance from the rear axle center to a center line of the target road.
a curvature of the center line of the target road, and (see at least [0013, 0168]; "the curvature of the path point…The reference point is the position point on the reference line closest to the path point. ") Wei describes a curvature of the center line of the target road.
a target difference between a heading angle of the trailer and a heading angle of the tractor; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle") Wei describes a measurement of the difference between the heading angle of the trailer and the heading angle of the tractor.
constructing a first projection distance equation and a second projection distance equation, separately, based on at least three of the first position information corresponding to a first target point of the plurality of first points, the first distance, the curvature, the second position information corresponding to a second target point of the plurality of second points, and the target difference, the projection distance equations being used to calculate a projection distance from the first target point and/or the second target point to the center line of the target road; and (see at least [0030]; "The equation relating the derivative of the mounting angle is: an equation constructed using the velocity function, the curvature of the path point, the mounting angle, the first distance, and the second distance; wherein the first distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the trailer to the hinge point, and the second distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the target vehicle to the hinge point;) Wei describes constructing a first and second projection, or prediction, distance equation based on first position information, second information and curvature.
obtaining a target path planning result based on the first projection distance equation, the second projection distance equation, and a vehicle path constraint condition. (see at least [0022, 0030]; "By using the discretized state-space equations and output equations, the specified constraints, and the objective function, a quadratic programming problem is constructed to obtain the path prediction model") Wei describes obtaining a target path planning result, or model, based on the equations and path constrain conditions.
Wei does not explicitly disclose obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor,
However, Wang teaches obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; " The third submodule is used to obtain the second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the tractor, ") Wang describes obtaining a first position information from a first point on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor.
second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; "The second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the trailer based on the second target coordinates,) Wang describes second position information from a second point on the trailer to the rear axle venter of the tractor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate teachings of WANG which teaches obtaining a first position information based on a plurality of points on the tractor to a rear acle in order to gauge where the entirety of the tractor is located for planning purposes.
Regarding claim 10, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses constructing the second projection distance equation according to the following equation when the curvature is greater than 0:, whereis a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, andis obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines, or constructing the second projection distance equation aCcording to the following equation when the curvature is smaller than 0: whereis a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, andis obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines. (see at lleast [0106]; " Where d<sub>rk</sub> is the value of the lateral distance deviation between path point k and the reference line, θ<sub>rk</sub> is the heading angle of the reference point corresponding to path point k, (x<sub>rk</sub>,y<sub>rk</sub>) are the coordinates of the reference point corresponding to path point k, and (x<sub>k</sub>,y<sub>k</sub>) are the coordinates of path point k.")
Regarding claim 11, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses performing linear processing on the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation to obtain a target projection distance equation; and (see at least [0113]; " S201: Determine the linearized model corresponding to the kinematic model of the targetsystem;")
obtaining the target path planning result based on a target projection distance and the vehicle path constraint condition.(see at least [0114] ; "After obtaining the kinematic model of the target system, its corresponding linearization model can be determined, and the path prediction model can be obtained through subsequent steps.")
Regarding claim 12, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses whereandare the target projection distance equations,is the first distance,is a second angle determined based on the heading angle of the tractor and the heading angle of the center line of the target road,is the target difference,,(see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
andare coefficients obtained by Taylor expansion of the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0028]; "The equation relating the derivative of the heading angle of the path point is an equation constructed using the velocity function and the curvature of the path point.")
Regarding claim 13, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses determining a second angle based on the heading angle of the tractor and a heading angle of the center line of the target road; and (see at least [0027]; "The equation relating the derivative of the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line is an equation constructed using the velocity function of the target vehicle, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point.")
constructing the first projection distance equation based on the first distance, the first position information, the second angle, and the curvature. (See at least [0027]; " The equation relating the derivative of the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line is an equation constructed using the velocity function of the target vehicle, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point.")
Regarding claim 15, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI does not explicitly disclose the trailer being connected to the tractor through a connector.
However, Wang teaches the trailer being connected to the tractor through a connector. (see at least [0004]; "The tractor and trailer are connected by physical structural components, and the trailer is driven by the tractor.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of WANG which teaches connecting the trailer to the tractor to a connector in order to communicate data and travel together.
Regarding claim 16, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program stored thereon, the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements a path planning method for a trailer vehicle, the method comprising: (see at least [claim 13]; "A non-transitory computer readable storage medium stored with computer instructions, wherein the computer instructions are used for causing the computer to perform the vehicle path planning method aCcording to any one of claims 1-10.")
Wei does not explicitly disclose obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor,
However, Wang teaches obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; " The third submodule is used to obtain the second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the tractor, ") Wang describes obtaining a first position information from a first point on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor.
a first distance from the rear axle center of the tractor to a center line of a target road, (see at least [162, 0079]; " the center point of the target vehicle's rear axle is selected as the path point of the planned path….lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line,… the reference line is the lane center line of the road to which the planned path belongs") Wei describes a first distance from the rear axle center to a center line of the target road.
a curvature of the center line of the target road, and (see at least [0013, 0168]; "the curvature of the path point…The reference point is the position point on the reference line closest to the path point. ") Wei describes a curvature of the center line of the target road.
a target difference between a heading angle of the trailer and a heading angle of the tractor; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle") Wei describes a measurement of the difference between the heading angle of the trailer and the heading angle of the tractor.
constructing a first projection distance equation and a second projection distance equation, separately, based on at least three of the first position information corresponding to a first target point of the plurality of first points, the first distance, the curvature, the second position information corresponding to a second target point of the plurality of second points, and the target difference, (see at least [0030]; "The equation relating the derivative of the mounting angle is: an equation constructed using the velocity function, the curvature of the path point, the mounting angle, the first distance, and the second distance; wherein the first distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the trailer to the hinge point, and the second distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the target vehicle to the hinge point;) Wei describes constructing a first and second projection, or prediction, distance equation based on first position information, second information and curvature.
the projection distance equations being used to calculate a projection distance from the first target point and/or the second target point to the center line of the target road; and (see at least [125, 238]; " The equation relating the derivative of the heading angle of the reference point is: an equation constructed using the velocity function, the curvature of the reference point, the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point… The determination submodule is used to determine the planning result of the path points on the path to be planned based on the value of the specified state variable. Optionally, the specified state quantity includes: The lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line, the heading angle of the path point, and the curvature of the path point.") Wei described a projection equation being used to calculate a projection distance from the target point to the center line of the target road.
obtaining a target path planning result based on the first projection distance equation, the second projection distance equation, and a vehicle path constraint condition. (see at least [0022, 0030]; "By using the discretized state-space equations and output equations, the specified constraints, and the objective function, a quadratic programming problem is constructed to obtain the path prediction model") Wei describes obtaining a target path planning result, or model, based on the equations and path constrain conditions.
Wei does not explicitly disclose obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor,
However, Wang teaches obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; " The third submodule is used to obtain the second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the tractor, ") Wang describes obtaining a first position information from a first point on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor.
second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; "The second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the trailer based on the second target coordinates,) Wang describes second position information from a second point on the trailer to the rear axle venter of the tractor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate teachings of WANG which teaches obtaining a first position information based on a plurality of points on the tractor to a rear acle in order to gauge where the entirety of the tractor is located for planning purposes.
Regarding claim 18, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 16 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses constructing the second projection distance equation according to the following equation when the curvature is greater than 0:, whereis a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, andis obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines, or constructing the second projection distance equation aCcording to the following equation when the curvature is smaller than 0: whereis a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, andis obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines. (see at lleast [0106]; " Where d<sub>rk</sub> is the value of the lateral distance deviation between path point k and the reference line, θ<sub>rk</sub> is the heading angle of the reference point corresponding to path point k, (x<sub>rk</sub>,y<sub>rk</sub>) are the coordinates of the reference point corresponding to path point k, and (x<sub>k</sub>,y<sub>k</sub>) are the coordinates of path point k.")
Regarding claim 19, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 16 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses performing linear processing on the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation to obtain a target projection distance equation; and (see at least [0113]; " S201: Determine the linearized model corresponding to the kinematic model of the targetsystem;")
obtaining the target path planning result based on a target projection distance and the vehicle path constraint condition.(see at least [0114] ; "After obtaining the kinematic model of the target system, its corresponding linearization model can be determined, and the path prediction model can be obtained through subsequent steps.")
Regarding claim 20, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 16 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses whereandare the target projection distance equations,is the first distance,is a second angle determined based on the heading angle of the tractor and the heading angle of the center line of the target road,is the target difference,,(see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
andare coefficients obtained by Taylor expansion of the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0028]; "The equation relating the derivative of the heading angle of the path point is an equation constructed using the velocity function and the curvature of the path point.")
2. Claims 2, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over WEI ( CN 115743176 A) in view of WANG (CN 115303291 A) in further view of KONRAD (EP 1081020 A2).
Regarding claim 2, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses determining a third distance between the rear axle center and the target second point and a fourth angle based on the second position information, the fourth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting the second target point with the rear axle center and a heading direction of the trailer; (see at least [0092]; "
For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
determining a second angle based on the heading angle of the tractor and a heading angle of the center line of the target road; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
determining a fifth angle based on the fourth angle, the second angle, and the target difference, the fifth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting a circle center of the center line of the target road with the rear axle center and a line connecting the rear axle center with the second target point; and
(see at least [0092]; "For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
Wei does not explicitly disclose processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation.
However, Konrad teaches processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0022]; "Using the projections x' and y' of the distances x and y, respectively, onto the drawbar D, we obtain: (2) x' = xcos γ 2 (2') y' = ycos"
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of KONRAD which teaches using the law of cosines the construct the second projection distance to utilize effective trigonometry in determining an aCcurate trajectory of the trailer.
Regarding claim 9, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses determining a third distance between the rear axle center and the target second point and a fourth angle based on the second position information, the fourth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting the second target point with the rear axle center and a heading direction of the trailer; (see at least [0092]; "
For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
determining a second angle based on the heading angle of the tractor and a heading angle of the center line of the target road; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
determining a fifth angle based on the fourth angle, the second angle, and the target difference, the fifth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting a circle center of the center line of the target road with the rear axle center and a line connecting the rear axle center with the second target point; and
(see at least [0092]; "For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
Wei does not explicitly disclose processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation.
However, Konrad teaches processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0022]; "Using the projections x' and y' of the distances x and y, respectively, onto the drawbar D, we obtain: (2) x' = xcos γ 2 (2') y' = ycos"
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of KONRAD which teaches using the law of cosines the construct the second projection distance to utilize effective trigonometry in determining an aCcurate trajectory of the trailer.
Regarding claim 17, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 16 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses determining a third distance between the rear axle center and the target second point and a fourth angle based on the second position information, the fourth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting the second target point with the rear axle center and a heading direction of the trailer; (see at least [0092]; "
For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
determining a second angle based on the heading angle of the tractor and a heading angle of the center line of the target road; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
determining a fifth angle based on the fourth angle, the second angle, and the target difference, the fifth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting a circle center of the center line of the target road with the rear axle center and a line connecting the rear axle center with the second target point; and
(see at least [0092]; "For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
Wei does not explicitly disclose processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation.
However, Konrad teaches processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0022]; "Using the projections x' and y' of the distances x and y, respectively, onto the drawbar D, we obtain: (2) x' = xcos γ 2 (2') y' = ycos"
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of KONRAD which teaches using the law of cosines the construct the second projection distance to utilize effective trigonometry in determining an aCcurate trajectory of the trailer.
3. Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over WEI ( CN 115743176 A) in view of WANG (CN 115303291 AEP 1081020 A2) in further view of LI (CN 115861972 A).
Regarding claim 7, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI does not explicitly disclose extracting the plurality of first points from an edge contour of the tractor aCcording to a size of the tractor based on a target step size, and said obtaining the plurality of second points on the trailer comprises: extracting the plurality of second points from the edge contour of the trailer aCcording to a size of the trailer based on a target step size
However, Li teaches extracting the plurality of first points from an edge contour of the tractor aCcording to a size of the tractor based on a target step size, and said obtaining the plurality of second points on the trailer comprises: extracting the plurality of second points from the edge contour of the trailer aCcording to a size of the trailer based on a target step size. (see at least [00420]; "Obstacle point cloud information acquired by radar is used to extract the motion trajectory, contour features, and position and pose information of each obstacle.
By using the kinematic model of the trailer, the trailer vehicle in the obstacle is extracted, and the outer contour of the trailer for collision detection is obtained based on the extracted trailer vehicle features. Then, the collision contour of the vehicle is generated for each trajectory point of the vehicle. Finally, the intersection verification between the trailer contour and the contour of each trajectory point of the vehicle is performed to determine whether the vehicle and the trailer collide and the position of the vehicle at the time of collision.
It can effectively identify trailer vehicles among obstacles detected by autonomous vehicles; and by processing the outer contours of trailers and tractors to obtain the collision outline of trailers, it improves the collision detection effect in the blind spot of large trailer vehicles.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of LI which teaches extracting points of the tractor and trailer based on their outer contour aCcording to a size on order to aCcurately calculate and predict where it would be traveling along a road.
Regarding claim 14, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI does not explicitly disclose extracting the plurality of first points from an edge contour of the tractor according to a size of the tractor based on a target step size, and said obtaining the plurality of second points on the trailer comprises: extracting the plurality of second points from the edge contour of the trailer according to a size of the trailer based on a target step size
However, Li teaches extracting the plurality of first points from an edge contour of the tractor according to a size of the tractor based on a target step size, and said obtaining the plurality of second points on the trailer comprises: extracting the plurality of second points from the edge contour of the trailer according to a size of the trailer based on a target step size. (see at least [00420]; "Obstacle point cloud information acquired by radar is used to extract the motion trajectory, contour features, and position and pose information of each obstacle.
By using the kinematic model of the trailer, the trailer vehicle in the obstacle is extracted, and the outer contour of the trailer for collision detection is obtained based on the extracted trailer vehicle features. Then, the collision contour of the vehicle is generated for each trajectory point of the vehicle. Finally, the intersection verification between the trailer contour and the contour of each trajectory point of the vehicle is performed to determine whether the vehicle and the trailer collide and the position of the vehicle at the time of collision.
It can effectively identify trailer vehicles among obstacles detected by autonomous vehicles; and by processing the outer contours of trailers and tractors to obtain the collision outline of trailers, it improves the collision detection effect in the blind spot of large trailer vehicles.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of LI which teaches extracting points of the tractor and trailer based on their outer contour according to a size on order to accurately calculate and predict where it would be traveling along a road.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664