DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
2. The amendment filed on 06/30/2026 has been entered into this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub. No. 2022/0364947 A1 by Speck (hereinafter Speck) in view of US Patent Pub. No. 2018/0324328 A1 by Noikas et al. (hereinafter Noikas) and further in view of US Patent Pub. No. 2010/0097407 A1 by Zulch (hereinafter Zulch).
Regarding Claim 1, Speck teaches an electronic apparatus (Fig. 1, Par. [0016]) for aggregating and visualizing (Fig. 1 @ 58, Par. [0026]) an output generated by an optical leak sensor (OLS) (Fig. 1 @ 22, 26 form the optical leak sensor, Par. [0016]) of an information handling system (Fig. 1 @ 10, 28, 36, Par. [0015-0016, 0019, 0021-0023]), the electronic apparatus (Fig. 1, Par. [0026]) comprising (Fig. 1-4):
a sensor interface (Fig. 1 @ 28, 36, Abstract: The leak detection system also includes at least one controller configured to detect hydrocarbons within the region of the water in response to detecting a hydrocarbon wavelength within the returned light, Par. [0014]: the leak detection system may include a controller communicatively coupled to the light detector, in which the controller is configured to receive the detector signal. Par. [0016]: The leak detection system 12 also includes a controller 28 communicatively coupled to the light detector 26. In certain embodiments, the controller 28 is an electronic controller having electrical circuitry configured to receive the detector signal from the light detector 26 thus teaches interface) configured to communicatively couple with the OLS (Fig. 1 @ 22, 26 form the optical leak sensor, Par. [0016]) to obtain the output generated by the OLS (Par. [0016]: The leak detection system 12 also includes a controller 28 communicatively coupled to the light detector 26. In certain embodiments, the controller 28 is an electronic controller having electrical circuitry configured to receive the detector signal from the light detector 26 thus teaches obtain the output), wherein the output is generated in response to the OLS absorbing light (Par. [0050, 0054, 0059, 0062]) reflected from an object (Fig. 1 @ 34, Par. [0026, 0050, 0062]) illuminated by the OLS (Fig. 1 @ 22, 26 form the optical leak sensor, Par. [0016]); and
an image generator (Fig. 1 @ 38, Par. [0023]), wherein the image generator is configured to generate a visual image for display (Fig. 1 @ 58, Par. [0023]) with a graphical user interface (Fig. 1 @ 56, Par. [0023]) but does not explicitly teach a mapping module operatively coupled to the sensor interface, wherein the mapping module maps the output generated by the OLS to color coordinates on a Commission Internationale de l'Éclairage (CIE) color map, wherein the color coordinates correspond to a color of the light absorbed by the OLS; and
wherein the image generator is configured to generate a visual image of the CIE color map with the color coordinates mapped thereto for display.
However, Noikas teaches a mapping module (Fig. 1, 2 @ 104, Par. [0011, 024]) operatively coupled to the sensor interface (Fig. 1, 2 @ 102, Par. [0011, 024]), wherein the mapping module (Fig. 1, 2 @ 104, Par. [0011, 024]) maps (Par. [0013]) the output generated by the OLS (Fig. 1, 2 @ 108, Par. [0012, 0024], [0034]: spectrophotometer, i.e. the OLS) to color coordinates (Abstract: color mapping module to map at least one color of the input data, i.e. the color coordinates) on a color map (Abstract: color space, i.e. the color map. Also see Par. [0013]), wherein the color coordinates correspond to a color (Abstract: color mapping module to map at least one color of the input data) of the light absorbed by the OLS (Par. [0034, 0036]); and
wherein the image generator (Fig. 1 @ 106, Par. [0014]) is configured to generate a visual image of the color map with the color coordinates (Fig. 1, 2 @ 110, Par. [0014]: The preview module 106 generates a representation of a printed output (for example, a printed image or an object) of the print apparatus according to the mapping thus teaches generate a visual image of the color map with the color coordinates) mapped thereto for display (Fig. 2 @ 202, Par. [0014, 0024]. Also see Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Speck by Noikas as taught above such that a mapping module operatively coupled to the sensor interface, wherein the mapping module maps the output generated by the OLS to color coordinates on a color map, wherein the color coordinates correspond to a color of the light absorbed by the OLS; and wherein the image generator is configured to generate a visual image of the color map with the color coordinates mapped thereto for display is accomplished in order to ensure data visualization is consistent, accurate, and intuitively understood across different displays, prints, and users. By assigning specific, standardized colors to numeric data, it removes ambiguity and enables rapid interpretation of complex datasets.
Still lacking limitation such as: mapping to color coordinates on a Commission Internationale de l'Éclairage (CIE) color map.
However, Zulch teaches mapping to color coordinates on a Commission Internationale de l'Éclairage (CIE) color map (Par. [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Speck by as modified by Noikas by Zulch as taught above such that mapping to color coordinates on a Commission Internationale de l'Éclairage (CIE) color map is accomplished in order to specify a desired color as chromaticity coordinates in a color space using any customary standards including without limitation: CIE XYZ (Commission Internationale de l'Eclairage, International Commission on Illumination, CIE 1931 XYZ color space) and necessary proportions of each illuminant type are calculated such that any changes to desired color are accomplished smoothly (Zulch, Par. [0091]).
Regarding Claim 2, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches the mapping module is further configured to cluster the color coordinates into two or more distinct sets based on a predetermined criterion (Noikas, Fig. 1, 2 @ 110,112, Par. [0014]: the same color described in the color data of the input data may be represented differently (for example, with a different colorimetry) in the first image 110 than in the second image 112 (as illustrated with different shading representations in FIG. 1), 0015, 0017, 0020, [0024]: an illuminated and a low light environment, i.e. the predetermined criterion. Also see Par. [0027]), and wherein the image generator is further configured to generate the visual image showing each of the two or more distinct sets enclosed within a visual boundary (Noikas, Fig. 1, 2 @ 110,112, Par. [0014, 0024]).
Regarding Claim 3, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches the mapping module is further configured to generate an identifying tag for each of the two or more distinct sets, and wherein the image generator is further configured to generate the visual image showing the identifying tag of each distinct set (Noikas, Fig. 1, 2 @ 110,112, Par. [0014]: the same color described in the color data of the input data may be represented differently (for example, with a different colorimetry) in the first image 110 than in the second image 112 (as illustrated with different shading representations in FIG. 1), 0015, 0017, 0020, [0024]: an illuminated and a low light environment, i.e. the identifying tag).
Regarding Claim 4, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches the output is based on sampling electrical signals generated by the OLS in response to the light absorbed (Speck, Par. [0016]), and wherein the predetermined criterion is a quality of the sampled electrical signals (Noikas, Fig. 1, 2 @ 110,112, Par. [0014]: the same color described in the color data of the input data may be represented differently (for example, with a different colorimetry) in the first image 110 than in the second image 112 (as illustrated with different shading representations in FIG. 1), 0015, 0017, 0020, [0024]: an illuminated and a low light environment, i.e. the quality, therefore, teaches the predetermined criterion is a quality of the sampled electrical signals allowing for faithful reconstruction and reliable analysis. Poorly sampled signals lead to data loss, distortion, and errors, which can cause faulty measurements or catastrophic failures in applications).
Regarding Claim 5, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches the mapping module is further configured to cluster color coordinates corresponding to a color of light indicating a coolant leak (Examiner interprets coolant as an intended use), and wherein the image generator is further configured to generate the visual image (Speck, Fig. 1 @ 58, Par. [0023]) showing the color coordinates corresponding to the color of light (Noikas, Fig. 1, 2 @ 110,112, Par. [0014, 0024]) indicating a coolant (Examiner interprets coolant as an intended use) leak within a bounding box (Speck, Fig. 1 @ 34, Par. [0016, 0018]).
Regarding Claim 6, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches the mapping module is further configured to categorize the color coordinates corresponding to the color of light indicating the coolant (Examiner interprets coolant as an intended use) leak into different categories according to a predetermined criterion (Noikas, Fig. 1, 2 @ 110,112, Par. [0014]: the same color described in the color data of the input data may be represented differently (for example, with a different colorimetry) in the first image 110 than in the second image 112 (as illustrated with different shading representations in FIG. 1), 0015, 0017, 0020, [0024]: an illuminated and a low light environment, i.e. the predetermined criterion), and wherein the image generator is further configured to generate the visual image such that color coordinates in each category are visually distinguishable from other color coordinates (Noikas, Fig. 1, 2 @ 110,112, Par. [0014, 0024]).
Regarding Claim 7, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches the output is based on sampling signals generated by the OLS in response to the light absorbed (Speck, Par. [0016]), and wherein the predetermined criterion is a quality of the sampled electrical signals (Noikas, Fig. 1, 2 @ 110,112, Par. [0014]: the same color described in the color data of the input data may be represented differently (for example, with a different colorimetry) in the first image 110 than in the second image 112 (as illustrated with different shading representations in FIG. 1), 0015, 0017, 0020, [0024]: an illuminated and a low light environment, i.e. the quality, therefore, teaches the predetermined criterion is a quality of the sampled electrical signals allowing for faithful reconstruction and reliable analysis. Poorly sampled signals lead to data loss, distortion, and errors, which can cause faulty measurements or catastrophic failures in applications).
Regarding Claim 8, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches the mapping module (See Claim 6 rejection above) but does not explicitly teach is configured to discard or visually distinguish color coordinates derived from signals whose quality is less than a predetermined threshold.
However, it is considered obvious to try all known solutions when there is a recognized need in the art (to discard or visually distinguish color coordinates derived from signals whose quality is less than a predetermined threshold), there had been a finite number of identified, predictable solutions to the recognized need (discard, accept), and when one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143, E. Furthermore, such an arrangement would imply to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discard or visually distinguish color coordinates derived from signals whose quality is less than a predetermined threshold in order to ensure data integrity and system performance. Low-quality signals are generally ignored or dropped because they typically contain more noise than actionable information, leading to inaccurate results.
Regarding Claim 9, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches the OLS is one of a plurality of optical leak sensors (Speck, Fig. 2, 3, Par. [0049[), wherein the mapping module is configured to map the output generated by each of the plurality of optical leak sensors to color coordinates (Same technique used in Claim 1 above can be used in case of plurality of optical leak sensors), and wherein the image generator is configured to generate the visual image of the predetermined color map such that color coordinates mapped from outputs of each of the plurality optical leak sensors are visually distinguishable from color coordinates mapped from output of other of the plurality of optical leak sensors (Same technique used in Claims 1, 2 above can be used in case of plurality of optical leak sensors).
Regarding Claim 10, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches a method of visualizing with a graphical user interface (GUI) output generated by an optical leak sensor (OLS) of an information handling system (See Claim 1 rejection above. Note: an apparatus claim can be used to implement a method claim), the method comprising:
receiving, via the GUI, a user command to a sensor interface (Speck, Par. [0023]), the user command initiating retrieval of the output generated by the OLS via the sensor interface, wherein the output is generated by the OLS in response to the OLS absorbing light reflected from an object illuminated by the OLS (See Claim 1 rejection above);
mapping, by a processor (Speck, Par. [0016], Noiks, Par. [0028]), the output generated by the OLS to color coordinates on a Commission Internationale de l'Éclairage (CIE) color map, wherein the color coordinates correspond to color of the light absorbed by the OLS (See Claim 1 rejection above); and
automatically displaying the GUI on a monitor (Speck, Fig. 1 @ 38, 58, Par. [0023], Noikas, FIG. 2 @ 106, 200, Par. [0024], processor is displaying the GUI, thus teaches automatically), wherein the GUI includes a visual image of the CIE color map that shows the color coordinates mapped thereto (See Claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 11, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches clustering the color coordinates into two or more distinct sets based on a predetermined criterion (See Claim 2 rejection above); and
generating the visual image showing each of the two or more distinct sets enclosed within a visual boundary (See Claim 2 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 12, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches generating an identifying tag for each of the two or more distinct sets (See Claim 3 rejection above); and
generating the visual image with the identifying tag of each distinct set adjacent to the visual boundary of the distinct set (See Claim 3 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 13, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches the output is based on sampling electrical signals generated by the OLS in response to the light absorbed, and wherein the predetermined criterion is a quality of the electrical signals sampled (See Claim 4 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 14, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches clustering color coordinates corresponding to light indicating a likely coolant leak into a set (See Claim 5 rejection above); and
generating the visual image showing the set within a bounding box (See Claim 5 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 15, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches categorizing the color coordinates corresponding to light indicating a coolant leak based on a predetermined criterion (See Claim 6 rejection above); and
generating the visual image such that color coordinates in each category are visually distinguishable from other color coordinates (See Claim 6 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 16, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches the output is based on sampling signals generated by the OLS in response to the light absorbed, and wherein the predetermined criterion is a quality of the sampled electrical signals (See Claim 7 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 17, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches discarding or visually distinguishing color coordinates derived from signals whose quality is less than a predetermined threshold (See Claim 8 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 18, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches wherein the OLS is one of a plurality of optical leak sensors (See Claim 9 rejection above), and further comprising:
mapping the output generated by each of the plurality of optical leak sensors to color coordinates (See Claim 9 rejection above); and
generating the visual image of the predetermined color map such that color coordinates mapped from outputs of each of the plurality optical leak sensors are visually distinguishable from color coordinates mapped from output of other of the plurality of optical leak sensors (See Claim 9 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 19, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches an information handling system (See Claim 1 rejection above), comprising:
a monitor (Speck, Fig. 1 @ 58, See Claim 1 rejection above);
one or more processors (Speck, Fig. 1 @ 38, 52, See Claim 1 rejection above) operatively coupled with the monitor (Speck, Fig. 1 @ 58, See Claim 1 rejection above); and
a memory (Speck, Fig. 1 @ 54, See Claim 1 rejection above) operatively coupled to the one or more processors (Speck, Fig. 1 @ 38, 52, See Claim 1 rejection above), wherein the memory stores program instructions executable by the one or more processors (Speck, Par. [0021]) to:
receive an output generated by an optical leak sensor (OLS), wherein the output is generated by the OLS in response to the OLS absorbing light reflected from an object illuminated by the OLS (See Claim 1 rejection above);
map the output generated by the OLS to color coordinates on a Commission Internationale de l'Éclairage (CIE) color map, wherein the color coordinates correspond to color of the light absorbed by the OLS (See Claim 1 rejection above); and
display a graphical user interface (GUI) on the monitor, wherein the GUI includes a visual image of the CIE color map that shows the color coordinates (See Claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 20, Speck as modified by Noikas as modified by Zulch teaches the output is received, mapped, and displayed with the GUI (See Claim 1 rejection above) in real time (Abstract: to determine at least one position of the hydrocarbons within the region of the water based on a time difference between a first time at which the emitted light is output from the light source and a second time at which the returned light at the hydrocarbon wavelength is received at the light detector thus teaches in real time).
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/30/2026 with respect to claims 1, 10 and 19 have been considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMIL AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877