DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "wherein the gas inlets are in the insulation layer" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s unclear whether the claim dependent on another claim, in the insulation layer means in an insulation layer, or something else.
Further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seok et al. (US 2020/0402810).
Regarding claim 1, Seok discloses a dielectric barrier discharge device [e.g. fig. 1/2] comprising: a dielectric layer [e.g. 110] having opposed first and second sides; a first electrode [e.g 130] on the first side of the dielectric layer, the first electrode defining a ring [see at least para. 0041, fig. 1/2] that circumscribes a cavity [e.g. 131/ the cavity between the lower surface of 110 and 150], the dielectric layer having a surface [e.g. lower surface] exposed at a first end [e.g. upper end] of the cavity such that the first end is closed-ended; a second electrode [e.g. 120] on the second side of the dielectric layer opposite the cavity; a gas inlet [e.g. 150] fluidly connected with the cavity; and a power supply [e.g. 140] electrically coupled with the first electrode and the second electrode.
Regarding claim 2, Seok discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 1, wherein the power supply, upon activation, generates a plasma from gas flowing into the cavity from the gas inlet and the plasma is expelled from a second, open end of the cavity opposite the first end [see at least para. 0049].
Regarding claim 5, Seok discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 1, wherein the cavity is cylindrical and has a diameter of at least 2 millimeters [e.g. see at least para. 0053, fig. 1/2].
Regarding claim 6, Seok discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 1, wherein the cavity has height and an aspect ratio of diameter to height is greater than one [e.g. see at least para. 0053, fig. 1/2].
Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed above discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 1, wherein the first electrode is in interfacial contact with the first side of the dielectric layer and the first side of the dielectric layer is a planar surface [see at least fig. 1/2 Seok].
Claim(s) 7-12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zong et al. (CN 115515289).
Regarding claim 7, Zong discloses a dielectric barrier discharge device [e.g. abstract, fig. 1-3] comprising: a dielectric layer [e.g. 30] having opposed first and second sides; a first electrode [e.g. 20] on the first side [e.g. upper side] of the dielectric layer, the first electrode defining an array of cavities [see at least fig. 1], the dielectric layer having surfaces exposed at first ends [e.g. lower end] of the cavities such that the first end is closed-ended; a second electrode [e.g. 40] on the second side of the dielectric layer opposite the cavities; gas inlets[see 102s] fluidly connected with the cavities; and a power supply [e.g. 50] electrically coupled with the first electrode and the second electrode.
Regarding claim 8, Zong discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, wherein the power supply, upon activation, generates a plasma [see at least abstract] from gas flowing into the cavities from the gas inlets and the plasma is expelled from second, open ends of the cavities opposite the first ends [see at least fig. 3].
Regarding claim 9, Zong discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, wherein the array has a grid pattern [see at least fig. 1].
Regarding claim 10 (as best understood), Zong discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, wherein the gas inlets are in the insulation layer [e.g. 10].
Regarding claim 11, Zong discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, wherein each of the cavities is cylindrical and has a diameter of at least 2 millimeters [e.g. 2-5mm; see at least para. 0020].
Regarding claim 12, Zong discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, wherein the dielectric barrier discharge device is in a thruster [in the array jet stage, the actuator cavity 105 of the high pressure drive, high temperature gas from inside to outside the convergence type jet hole 102 quickly spraying, forming a high speed jet array 60, for the flow control under supersonic or other occasions. The jet flow in the injection process, the pressure in the actuator cavity 105 will be continuously reduced. when the pressure in the cavity 105 is less than or equal to the atmospheric pressure, the jet is over, the exciter starts cooling, enters the porous suction recovery (para. 0052, Zong); see at least fig. 3].
Regarding claim 17, Zong discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, further comprising an electrostatic grid [see at least 10] provided over the cavities and an insulation layer [e.g. 105] between the electrostatic grid and the first electrode, the electrostatic grid configured to accelerate a plasma expelled from the cavities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (US 2020/0402810) in view of Lu et al. (CN 114845459).
Regarding claim 3, Seok discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 1, except further comprising a magnetic ring on the first electrode and circumscribing the second end of the cavity, the magnetic ring accelerating a plasma expelled from the second end. However, Lu discloses a magnetic ring [e.g. 8] on a first electrode [e.g. 6] and circumscribing the second end of the cavity, the magnetic ring accelerating a plasma expelled from the second end. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Seok in accordance with the teaching of Lu regarding a magnetic ring in order to provide a magnetic field in the gas output pipeline to improve the device [abstract].
Regarding claim 4, the combination discussed above discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 3, further comprising an insulation layer between the magnetic ring and the first electrode [e.g. the annular magnet is coaxially placed on the outer side of the dielectric barrier electrode, and keeps a certain distance with the dielectric barrier electrode, para. 0032 Lu].
Regarding claim 13, Seok discloses a dielectric barrier discharge device comprising: a dielectric layer having opposed first and second sides; a first electrode on the first side of the dielectric layer, the first electrode defining a ring that circumscribes a cavity, the dielectric layer having a surface exposed at a first end of the cavity; a second electrode on the second side of the dielectric layer opposite the cavity; a gas inlet fluidly connected with the cavity; a power supply electrically coupled with the first electrode and the second electrode [see rejection of claim 1]; except and a magnetic ring on the first electrode and circumscribing the second end of the cavity, the magnetic ring accelerating a plasma expelled from the second end. However, Lu discloses a magnetic ring [e.g. 8] on a first electrode [e.g. 6] and circumscribing the second end of the cavity, the magnetic ring accelerating a plasma expelled from the second end. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Seok in accordance with the teaching of Lu regarding a magnetic ring in order to provide a magnetic field in the gas output pipeline to improve the device [abstract].
Regarding claim 14, the combination discussed above discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 13, wherein the first end of the cavity is closed-ended [see fig. 1/2 Seok].
Claims 7-12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (US 2020/0402810) in view of Zong et al. (CN 115515289).
Regarding claim 7, Seok discloses a dielectric barrier discharge device comprising: a dielectric layer having opposed first and second sides; a first electrode on the first side of the dielectric layer, the first electrode defining a cavity [see at least figs. 1-2], the dielectric layer having surfaces exposed at first ends [e.g. left end/right end] of the cavities such that the first end is closed-ended; a second electrode on the second side of the dielectric layer opposite the cavities; gas inlets fluidly connected with the cavities; and a power supply electrically coupled with the first electrode and the second electrode. Please see rejection of claim 1.
Seok does not disclose an array of cavities. However, Lu discloses an array of cavities [see at least figs. 1-2]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Seok in accordance with the teaching of Lu regarding an array plasma synthetic jet actuator in order to provide multiple cavities to discharge gas.
Regarding claim 8, the combination discussed above discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, wherein the power supply, upon activation, generates a plasma [see at least abstract] from gas flowing into the cavities from the gas inlets and the plasma is expelled from second, open ends of the cavities opposite the first ends [see at least figs. 1-2 Seok].
Regarding claim 9, the combination discussed above discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, wherein the array has a grid pattern [see at least fig. 1 Zong].
Regarding claim 10 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, wherein the gas inlets are in the insulation layer [e.g. 10 Zong].
Regarding claim 11, the combination discussed above discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, wherein each of the cavities is cylindrical and has a diameter of at least 2 millimeters [see at least para. 0053, fig. 1-2 Seok; 2-5mm; see at least para. 0020 Zong].
Regarding claim 12, the combination discussed above discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, wherein the dielectric barrier discharge device is in a thruster [see para. 0052; at least fig. 3 Zong].
Regarding claim 17, the combination discussed above discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 7, further comprising an electrostatic grid [see at least 10 Zong] provided over the cavities and an insulation layer [e.g. 105] between the electrostatic grid and the first electrode, the electrostatic grid configured to accelerate a plasma expelled from the cavities.
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (US 2020/0402810) in view of Burke et al. (US 2006/0011465).
Regarding claim 16, Seok discloses the dielectric barrier discharge device as recited in claim 1, except wherein the power supply comprises an alternating current source that further includes a direct current bias. However, it’s well-known to provide a power supply comprises an alternating current source that further includes a direct current bias. For example, Burke discloses a power supply comprises an alternating current source that further includes a direct current bias [see at least claims 26-29]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Seok in accordance with the teaching of Burke regarding a DC bias in order to increases the electron diffusion [para. 0020].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relying on new references, Seok et al. (US 2020/0402810) and/or Zong et al. (CN 115515289), which were applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836