DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action responds to the amendment filed on 01/16/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 2, 10, 11 and 16 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed on 01/16/ 2026, with respect to the rejection of the amended claims 1, 2, 10, 11 and 16 in view of Gagne, Aayoma and Tokuda have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejections remain.
Applicant’s argument is that the independent claims 1,10 and 16, as amended recite feature of “a valve body having a first main side and an opposite second main side; a bonnet body having a first end opposite a second end; wherein the first end is positioned within an opening through the plane defined by the top surface of the first main side of connected with the valve body” which is not disclosed or suggested by the cited Gagne, Aayoma and Tokuda references taken in the combination. The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons below:
The feature of “a valve body having a first main side and an opposite second main side; a bonnet body having a first end opposite a second end; wherein the first end is positioned within an opening through the plane defined by the top surface of the first main side of connected with the valve body” are disclosed in both Aayoma and Tokuda as shown in the below figures:
Figure 1A (from Aayoma)
Figure 1B (from Takuda)
Since the combination of Gagne in view of Aayoma and/or Tokuda is to use the bonnet connection of Aayoma and/or Tokuda as an alternative design for the bonnet assembly to couple the actuator to the valve body, and the valve body of all references (Gagne, Aayoma and Tokuda) have the raise stub as the first main side thereof. Therefore, the combination of these will disclose all the limitations as recited in the amended claims as indicated in the below rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 10-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagne et al. (US 2018/0274689) and in view of Aoyama (US 10,724,644).
With regards to claim 1:
Gagne et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 1 below and [0042]) an assembly (200), comprising:
a valve body (202) having a first main side (the raise tub) and an opposite second main side (206); and
a first actuator (of pneumatic valve 224) and a second actuator (of pneumatic valve 226) each coupled to the valve body (202) by a bonnet assembly (clamp 238); the first and second actuators extending above a plane defined by a top surface of the first main side.
Gagne et al. does not disclose the bonnet assembly comprises:
a bonnet body having a first end opposite a second end, wherein the first end is positioned within an opening through the plane defined by the top surface of the first main side of connected with the valve body;
a nut threadedly connected to the second end of the bonnet body; and
an actuator bonnet, wherein the nut partially surrounds the actuator bonnet, and wherein the actuator bonnet is rotatable about a lengthwise axis extending through a center of a stem of a piston.
Fig. 1
Aoyama discloses (refer to Fig. 2 below and the Figure 1A above in the Arguments) an actuator (4) of pneumatic valve (2) coupled to a valve body (3, 25) by a bonnet assembly (5) comprising:
a bonnet body (22) having a first end (22b) opposite a second end (22a), wherein the first end is positioned within an opening through the plane defined by the top surface of the first main side of connected with the valve body (22);
a nut (20) threadedly connected to the second end (22a) of the bonnet body (22); and
an actuator bonnet (18) , wherein the nut (20) partially surrounds the actuator bonnet (18), and wherein the actuator bonnet (18) is rotatable about a lengthwise axis extending through a center of a stem (15, 21, 24) of a piston (15, 13, 21, 24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Gagne et al. to have the bonnet assembly design as disclosed by Aoyama as an alternative design for the bonnet assembly (238) of Gagne et al. to couple the actuators (224, 226) of the pneumatic valves to the valve body (202) of the assembly (200) since Gagne et al. and Aoyama are assembly of pneumatic valve actuator and valve body.
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses the assembly of claim 1.
With regards to claim 2:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first actuator (224) is oriented perpendicular to a plane defined by the top surface of the valve body, and wherein the second actuator (226) is oriented at a non-zero angle relative to the first actuator (224).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (F)]
Fig. 2
With regards to claim 3:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 2 above) the assembly of claim 1, wherein the bonnet body (22) comprises an internal flange, wherein a bushing (23) is in abutment with the internal flange, and wherein the bushing surrounds the stem (24) of the piston (15, 13, 21, 24).
With regards to claim 4:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 2 above) the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first end (22b) of the bonnet body (22) is threadably connected (via thread 25e, 22b) with the valve body (3, 25).
With regards to claim 7:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 2 above) the assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuator bonnet (18) comprises a first end coupled to a housing (11).
With regards to claim 8:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 2 above) the assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuator bonnet (18) has an exterior flange (F), and wherein the nut (20) is in abutment with the exterior flange (F).
With regards to claim 10:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 1 and 2 above) a pneumatic actuator assembly, comprising:
a valve body (202) comprising a fluid passageway, the valve body having a first main side and an opposite second main side; and
a first actuator (224) and a second actuator (226) each coupled to the valve body by a bonnet assembly (5), the first and second actuators extending above a plane defined by a top surface of the first main side of the valve body, wherein the bonnet assembly comprises:
a bonnet body (22) having a first end opposite a second end, wherein the first end positioned within an opening through the plane defined by the top surface of the first main side of the valve body (3, 25);
a nut (20) threadedly connected to the second end of the bonnet body;
an actuator bonnet (18), wherein the nut partially surrounds the actuator bonnet; and
a bushing (23) within the actuator bonnet and the nut, wherein the bushing surrounds a stem of a piston (15, 13, 21, 24), wherein the stem is biasable relative to the fluid passageway of the valve body, and wherein the actuator bonnet is rotatable about a lengthwise axis extending through a center of the stem of the piston.
With regards to claim 11:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses the pneumatic actuator assembly of claim 10, wherein the first actuator (224) is oriented perpendicular to a plane defined by the top surface of the valve body (202), and wherein the second actuator (226) is oriented at a non-zero angle relative to the first actuator (224).
With regards to claim 12:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 2 above) the pneumatic actuator assembly of claim 10, wherein the bonnet body (22) comprises an internal flange, and wherein the bushing (23) is in abutment with the internal flange.
With regards to claim 13:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 2 above) the pneumatic actuator assembly of claim 10, wherein the first end of the bonnet body (22) is threadably connected with the valve body (25) or integrally formed with the valve body.
With regards to claim 15:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 2 above) the pneumatic actuator assembly of claim 10, wherein the actuator bonnet (18) comprises a first end coupled to a housing (11), wherein the actuator bonnet has an exterior flange (F), and wherein the nut (20) is in abutment with the exterior flange.
With regards to claim 16:
In making and/or using the modified assembly of Gagne et al., one would necessarily perform the method of operating a pneumatic actuator assembly, the method comprising:
coupling a first actuator to a valve body using a first bonnet assembly and coupling a second actuator to the valve body using a second bonnet assembly, wherein the valve body has a first main side and an opposite second main side, wherein the first and second actuators extend above a plane defined by a top surface of the first main side, wherein the first bonnet assembly comprises:
a bonnet body having a first end opposite a second end, wherein the first end is positioned within an opening through the plane defined by the top surface of the first main side of the valve body;
a nut threadedly connected to the second end of the bonnet body;
an actuator bonnet, wherein the nut partially surrounds the actuator bonnet; and
a bushing within the actuator bonnet and the nut, wherein the bushing surrounds a stem of a piston; and
rotating the actuator bonnet about a lengthwise axis extending through a center of the piston stem to orient an air connection port of a housing of the first actuator, wherein the actuator bonnet and the housing rotates relative to the nut and to the bonnet body.
With regards to claim 17:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising threadably connecting the first end of the bonnet body (22) to the valve body (25).
With regards to claim 18:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
orienting the first actuator perpendicular to a plane defined by a top surface of the valve body; and
orienting the second actuator at a non-zero angle relative to the first actuator.
With regards to claim 19:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising coupling a first end of the actuator bonnet (18) to the housing (11).
With regards to claim 20:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising positioning the nut (20) in abutment with an exterior flange (F) of the actuator bonnet (18).
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagne et al. (US 2018/0274689) and in view of Tokuda et al. (US 2013/0181148).
With regards to claim 1:
Gagne et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 1 above and [0042]) an assembly (200), comprising:
a valve body (202); and
a first actuator (of pneumatic valve 224) and a second actuator (of pneumatic valve 226) each coupled to the valve body (202) by a bonnet assembly (clamp 238).
Gagne et al. does not disclose the bonnet assembly comprises:
a bonnet body having a first end opposite a second end, wherein the first end is positioned within an opening through the plane defined by the top surface of the first main side of connected with the valve body;
a nut threadedly connected to the second end of the bonnet body; and
an actuator bonnet, wherein the nut partially surrounds the actuator bonnet, and wherein the actuator bonnet is rotatable about a lengthwise axis extending through a center of a stem of a piston.
Tokuda et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 3 below) an actuator (4) of pneumatic valve (7) coupled to a valve body (2) by a bonnet assembly comprising:
a bonnet body (B) having a first end opposite a second end, wherein the first end is positioned within an opening through the plane defined by the top surface of the first main side of connected with the valve body the valve body (2);
a nut (N) threadedly connected to the second end of the bonnet body (B); and
an actuator bonnet (3) , wherein the nut (N) partially surrounds the actuator bonnet (3), and wherein the actuator bonnet (3) is rotatable about a lengthwise axis extending through a center of a stem (8) of a piston (8, 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Gagne et al. to have the bonnet assembly design as disclosed by Tokuda et al. as an alternative design for the bonnet assembly (238) of Gagne et al. to couple the actuators (224, 226) of the pneumatic valves to the valve body (202) of the assembly (200) since Gagne et al. and Tokuda et al. are assembly of pneumatic valve actuator and valve body.
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses the assembly of claim 1.
Fig. 3
With regards to claim 5:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first end of the bonnet body (B) is integrally formed with the valve body (2).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagne et al. (US 2018/0274689) and Aoyama, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tokuda et al. (US 2013/0181148).
With regards to claim 9:
Gagne et al., as modified, discloses the assembly of claim 1 (see rejected claim 1 above).
Gagne et al., as modified, does not disclose the bonnet assembly further comprising a second bushing within the actuator bonnet, wherein second bushing surrounds the stem of the piston.
Tokuda et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 3 above) an actuator (4) of pneumatic valve (7) coupled to a valve body (2) by a bonnet assembly comprising:
a bonnet body (B) having a first end opposite a second end, wherein the first end is connected with the valve body (2);
a nut (N) threadedly connected to the second end of the bonnet body (B); and
an actuator bonnet (3) , wherein the nut (N) partially surrounds the actuator bonnet (3), and wherein the actuator bonnet (3) is rotatable about a lengthwise axis extending through a center of a stem (8) of a piston (8, 10); and
a bushing (BS) within the actuator bonnet (3), wherein second bushing surrounds the stem (8) of the piston.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified assembly of Gagne et al. to have a second bushing within the actuator bonnet surrounding the stem of the piston as taught by Tokuda et al. as an alternative design to provide bearing and sealing between the stem and the actuator bonnet and the housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINH Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753