Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 09/30/2024, 01/13/2025 and 07/06/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (WO 202112982 A1).
Pertaining to claim 1, Xu discloses An electronic device (1000, see fig. 2) comprising: a first housing (11, see fig. 2); a second housing (12, see fig. 2); a hinge device foldably combining the first housing and the second housing and including (rotating shaft assembly 2, see fig. 2): a hinge module (21 main shaft, see fig. 5B); a first hinge plate corresponding to the first housing and connected to the hinge module; and (first support 22, see fig. 5B) a second hinge plate corresponding to the second housing and connected to the hinge module; and (second support 23, see fig. 5B) a flexible display disposed to be supported by the first housing, the first hinge plate, the second housing, and the second hinge plate, having a folding region folded through the hinge module, a first bending region located at one side of the folding region, and a second bending region located on other side of the folding region, and including: (screen 200, see fig.2) a window layer; (first film layer 71, see fig. 69) a display panel disposed under the window layer; and (flexible display screen 7, see fig. 69) a support plate disposed under the display panel and including a pattern having at least one opening and/or at least one recess formed at a position corresponding to at least the folding region (carrier board 8, see fig. 69), wherein the first bending region and the second bending region include a reverse bending section bent with a curvature greater than a curvature of the folding region and bent in a direction opposite to a bending direction of the folding region when the electronic device is in a folded state (fourth arc segment R14 and the fifth arc segment R15, see fig. 69), wherein the first bending region is configured to refrain from being attached to the first housing and the first hinge plate (first bending portion 2002 is not attached to the first housing 11 or to the first support 22 fig. 68), wherein the second bending region is configured to refrain from being attached to the second housing and the second hinge plate, and (third bending portion 2004 is not attached to the second housing 12 or to the second support 23, see fig. 68) wherein the support plate maintains a specific thickness in a portion corresponding to the first bending region and the second bending region, (carrier board 8, see fig. 69).
Pertaining to claim 4, Xu discloses, wherein at least a part of the first hinge plate (first bending portion 2002) is attached to a rear surface of the support plate between the folding region and the first bending region, and wherein at least a part of the second hinge plate is attached to the rear surface of the support plate between the folding region and the second bending region, (adhesive layers 61, 62, 63 and 64, see fig. 68).
Pertaining to claim 5, Xu discloses, wherein in an unfolded state of the electronic device, the first housing, the first hinge plate, the second housing, and the second hinge plate form a same plane to support the flexible display (see fig. 3A).
Pertaining to claim 6, Xu discloses, further comprising: a first reinforcing plate disposed between the first housing and the support plate; and a second reinforcing plate disposed between the second housing and the support plate, wherein the first bending region and the second bending region are configured to refrain from being attached to the first reinforcing plate and the second reinforcing plate, respectively, (first supporting surface 111, second supporting surface 121, see figs. 65 and 68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (WO 202112982 A1) in view of Kusuda (JP 2004119373 A).
Pertaining to claim 2, Xu discloses all claimed limitation except, wherein the support plate has bending rigidity set to 6x107Gpa um3 or less in at least the portion corresponding to the first bending region and the second bending region.
However, Kusuda teaches wherein the support plate has bending rigidity set to 6x107Gpa um3 or less in at least the portion corresponding to the first bending region and the second bending region. (see paragraph [0025]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein the support plate has bending rigidity set to 6x107Gpa um3 or less in at least the portion corresponding to the first bending region and the second bending region in the device of Xu based on the teachings of Kusuda in order to prevent mechanical failure by ensuring the plate remains highly flexible.
Xu discloses all claimed limitations except wherein the support plate has bending rigidity set to 6x107Gpa um3 or less in at least the portion corresponding to the first bending region and the second bending region
However, it would have been on obvious matter of design choice to arranged wherein the support plate has bending rigidity set to 6x107Gpa um3 or less in at least the portion corresponding to the first bending region and the second bending region,
since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Pertaining to claim 3, Xu discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein in the support plate, a thickness of a portion corresponding to a region surrounding the first bending region and the second bending region is greater than a thickness of a portion corresponding to the first bending region and the second bending region.
However, it would have been on obvious matter of design choice to arranged, wherein in the support plate, a thickness of a portion corresponding to a region surrounding the first bending region and the second bending region is greater than a thickness of a portion corresponding to the first bending region and the second bending region, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (WO 202112982 A1) in view of Shin (US 20220061169 A1).
Pertaining to claim 7, Xu discloses all claimed limitation except, a digitizer disposed under the support plate.
However, Shin teaches a digitizer disposed under the support plate (see fig. 3B).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a digitizer disposed under the support plate in the device of Xu based on the teachings of Shin in order to a support plate eliminates the need for transparent, on-screen sensors, significantly reducing manufacturing costs. It protects the digitizer from direct surface wear, scratches, and impacts, while allowing stylus/touch input through thick, durable materials like wood, glass, or plastic.
Pertaining to claim 8, Xu as modified by Shin further discloses, wherein the digitizer includes: a first digitizer (DTM-1, 3B of Shin) disposed under the support plate and disposed to overlap with the first housing and the first hinge plate; and a second digitizer (DTM-2, see fig. 3 of Shin) disposed to be spaced apart from the first digitizer under the support plate and disposed to overlap with the second housing and the second hinge plate.
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (WO 202112982 A1) and Shin (US 20220061 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Soy (EP 3805897 A1).
Pertaining to claim 9, Xu discloses, further comprising: a rear surface of the first digitizer and/or the second digitizer, wherein the protective member is formed to have a size overlapping with at least a space between the first digitizer and the second digitizer when the flexible display is viewed from above.
But, Xu does not explicitly teach a protective member.
However, Soy teaches a protective member (500, see fig. 11).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a protective member in the device of Xu based on the teachings of Shin in order to enhanced mechanical protection (resisting shock and vibration), environmental sealing (blocking moisture and dust), thermal management (dissipating heat), and electrical safety (preventing shorts and surges).
Pertaining to claim 10, Xu as modified by Shin further discloses, further comprising: a first reinforcing plate (first supporting surface 111 of Xu) disposed between the first digitizer DTM-1 of Shin) and the first housing; and a second reinforcing plate (second supporting surface 121, see figs. 65 and 68 of Shin); disposed between the second digitizer (DTM-1 of Shin) and the second housing (12 of Xu).
Pertaining to claim 11, Xu as modified by Shin further discloses, further comprising: an integrated reinforcing plate (first supporting surface 111 of Xu) disposed under the digitizer to correspond from the first digitizer to the second digitizer (DTM-1 of Shin).
Pertaining to claim 12, Xu as modified by Shin further discloses, wherein the integrated reinforcing plate (first supporting surface 111 of Xu) includes a pattern having at least one opening and/or at least one recess formed in at least a part of a region corresponding to a region from the first bending region to the second bending region, (metal layers 1100 and 1200 having an opening pattern figs.18-20).
Pertaining to claim 13, Xu discloses, further comprising: a protective plate disposed between the first hinge plate and the digitizer, and between the second hinge plate and the digitize, (the connecting member 31 and first connecting member 31, see fig. 57A).
Pertaining to claim 14, Xu discloses, wherein the protective plate is attached to the first hinge plate, the second hinge plate, the first digitizer, and/or the second digitizer, (the first adhesive layer 312 of the connecting member 31 is located above the first supporting member 22 and is fixedly connected to the first supporting member 22, see paragraph [573]).
Pertaining to claim 15, Xu discloses, wherein at least one end of the protective plate is guided by a predetermined length through a guide slit formed in the first hinge plate and/or the second hinge plate, (wherein the protective plate is attached to the first hinge plate and is guided by a predetermined length through a guide slit formed in the second hinge plate, as shown in figs. 14D and 14E).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cavallaro (US 20170272559 A1).
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847