DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Amendments and Remarks received 07/06/2026 in which no claims are cancelled, claims 1, 9, and 17 are amended, and claims 21 and 22 are added as new claims.
Response to Arguments
On page 7 of the Remark, Applicant contends the claim objections from the preceding Office Action are overcome in view of the amendment to claim 17. Examiner agrees. Therefore, the claim objections to claims 17–20 are withdrawn.
Examiner agrees to hold the double patenting rejection in abeyance but leaves the double patenting rejection in this Office Action for posterity. Remarks, 7–8.
On pages 8–15 of the Remarks, Applicant contends the prior art is deficient for failing to teach or suggest the feature added by way of amendment drawn to “a non-linear mapping of a turn angle associated with the change from the first heading to the second heading.” Examiner finds the arguments moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. Specifically, the rejection now additionally relies on the teachings of Boyle to teach or suggest the averred feature. Examiner further notes the teachings of Bear, cited under the Conclusion Section of this Office Action and not officially relied upon for the rejection of any claim at present, also substantially teaches the obviousness of this feature. See claim rejections, infra.
Other claims are not argued separately. Remarks, 15.
Double Patenting
Claims 1–20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–17 of U.S. Patent No. 1,2137,285 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims represent substantially overlapping subject matter regarding the anticipation of an upcoming turn of an autonomous vehicle based on distance and/or speed and changing a virtual camera’s orientation with respect to the turn. Certain features of the present claims are mapped to the reference patent in the following sentences. The currently claimed unprotected turns was thoroughly addressed in the appeals of the parent case(s). The currently claimed greater speed corresponding to greater distance in claim 5 is found in the reference patent’s claim 2. The currently claimed height and pitch changes in claim 6 are found in the reference patent’s claim 9. The currently claimed mapping of angles in claim 8 is found in the reference patent’s claim 3. The preceding exemplary findings are sufficient for a prima facie showing, but are not and do not need to be exhaustive, regarding the finding of substantial overlapping subject matter to support the propriety of the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5–10, 13–18, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (JPH1089988 A), Kusayanagi (US 2018/0286095 A1), Abramson (US 2017/0279957 A1), and Boyle (US 2013/0230293 A1).
Examiner incorporates into the rejection of these claims the rationales and findings of both Examiner and PTAB relevant to these claimed features from the appeals of App. Nos. 15/364,914 and 17/207,787 wherein Examiner was affirmed or affirmed-in-part, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, the combination of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, and Boyle teaches or suggests a computer implemented method, comprising: maneuvering, by one or more computing devices, a vehicle operating in an autonomous mode, according to a first heading (Fujimoto does not appear to teach that the navigation system is used in autonomous vehicles; Kusayanagi, ¶ 0116: teaches the technology is applicable to autonomous vehicles; Kusayanagi, ¶ 0025: teaches a navigation device that is used to project a vehicle’s travel route); determining, by the one or more computing devices, (1) a first location where the vehicle is planning to perform a change from the first heading to a second heading (Fujimoto, ¶ 0022: teaches a distance calculated for the vehicle and compared against a threshold distance to determine when the vehicle is close enough to the intersection (turn) that the virtual viewpoint should be changed from a forward-view to an offset (right or left) view) and (2) a distance from the first location that is selected based on a current speed of the vehicle (Fujimoto, ¶ 0022: teaches a distance calculated for the vehicle and compared against a threshold distance to determine when the vehicle is close enough to the intersection (turn) that the virtual viewpoint should be changed from a forward-view to an offset (right or left) view; While Fujimoto teaches a threshold distance used to inform the changing of the virtual viewpoint of the camera and while the skilled artisan knows that distance thresholds in this art benefit from also understanding the speed of the vehicle so that greater distances are utilized for greater speeds of the vehicle (the time (t) is really the crucial factor, which everyone knows is distance/speed), it has been suggested in appeals of related applications in this family that a more definitive teaching of this relationship would be beneficial to the record; Therefore, while Fujimoto is viewed sufficient given the obvious nature of distance related to speed and time, Abramson unequivocally teaches the skilled artisan had in their possession the solution of utilizing distance and speed to calculate a response of a vehicle system to an upcoming turn; Abramson, ¶ 1132: teaches a vehicle navigation system calculating a distance before a turn to activate a turn signal wherein the distance takes into account “current speed and other conditions.”; Examiner further notes Kusayanagi, ¶ 0058: teaches a virtual viewpoint system takes account of speed); upon determining that a current location of the vehicle is less than or equal to the selected distance from the first location (Fujimoto, ¶ 0022: teaches a distance calculated for the vehicle and compared against a threshold distance to determine when the vehicle is close enough to the intersection (turn) that the virtual viewpoint should be changed from a forward-view to an offset (right or left) view), adjusting, by the one or more computing devices, an orientation of a virtual camera relative to the vehicle from an initial orientation corresponding to the first heading to an updated orientation corresponding to the second heading (Fujimoto does not appear to teach that the navigation system is used in autonomous vehicles; Kusayanagi, ¶ 0116: teaches the technology is applicable to autonomous vehicles; Fujimoto, Abstract and ¶¶ 0022 and 0024–0026: teach changing an angle of a virtual viewpoint camera prior to a vehicle encountering an intersection so that the camera looks down the projected path of the vehicle at an angle commensurate with the turning direction identified by the navigation system wherein the distance from the intersection informs the timing of the adjustment to the virtual angle; Examiner notes Nix, not relied upon for the rejection of this claim also teaches this feature in e.g. ¶¶ 0048–0049; Examiner further incorporates into the rejection of these claims the rationales relevant to these features from the appeals of App. Nos. 15/364,914 and 17/207,787), wherein the updated orientation of the virtual camera is determined using a non-linear mapping of a turn angle associated with the change from the first heading to the second heading (Fujimoto and Kusanyanagi are not relied upon to teach that it would have been obvious to treat the steering angle sensor information in a non-linear fashion; Examiner finds the claimed (described in Applicant’s Fig. 13) non-linear relationship is similar to hysteresis, which is a well-known dampening characteristic that engineers possess as part of their basic set of knowledge; Examiner finds a squashing function or activation function is popularly used in machine learning applications; Examiner finds those skilled in the art know the utility of an activation function to retard a system from overreacting to outlier inputs; Boyle, ¶ 0119: teaches that the angular velocity of a camera angle adjustment can be made proportional to the difference between the target angle and the current camera orientation such that larger differences between current and target heading receives a larger angular velocity movement; Examiner notes Nix, Figs. 4A and 4C illustrate the angles are not 1:1 with the anticipated turn, which is not relied upon for this rejection; Examiner finds that when combined with the other references, Boyle’s teachings would teach or suggest to the skilled artisan using a non-linear mapping between the rate of change of the virtual camera angle based on magnitude of steering angle change; Examiner notes Bear, cited under the Conclusion Section of this Office Action similarly describes a non-linear angular transform applied to a virtual camera); and generating for display, by the one or more computing devices, a video corresponding to the virtual camera's updated orientation, the video being configured for presentation to passengers within the vehicle as the vehicle is operating in the autonomous mode (Fujimoto does not appear to teach that the navigation system is used in autonomous vehicles; Kusayanagi, ¶ 0116: teaches the technology is applicable to autonomous vehicles; Fujimoto, Abstract and ¶¶ 0022 and 0024–0026: teach changing an angle of a virtual viewpoint camera prior to a vehicle encountering an intersection so that the camera looks down the projected path of the vehicle at an angle commensurate with the turning direction identified by the navigation system wherein the distance from the intersection informs the timing of the adjustment to the virtual angle; Examiner notes Nix, not relied upon for the rejection of this claim also teaches this feature in e.g. ¶¶ 0048–0049; Examiner further incorporates into the rejection of these claims the rationales relevant to these features from the appeals of App. Nos. 15/364,914 and 17/207,787).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Fujimoto, with those of Kusayanagi, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice virtual camera functionality utilizing a vehicle’s systems and navigational capabilities would be led to their relevant teachings and because combining Fujimoto’s virtual camera viewpoint changes using vehicle turning information from vehicle navigation information, with Kusayanagi’s virtual viewpoint camera changes using vehicle turning information and navigation information for autonomous driving vehicles represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Fujimoto and Kusayanagi used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Fujimoto and Kusayanagi, with those of Abramson, because all three references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to develop vehicle safety (e.g. driver-assistance) and navigation systems would be led to their relevant teachings and because combining Fujimoto’s distance threshold for an upcoming turn with Abramson’s distance and speed considerations for an upcoming turn (intersection) represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, and Abramson used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, and Abramson, with those of Boyle, because all four references are drawn to the same field of endeavor or drawn to solving the same or similar problem such that one wishing to develop vehicle safety (e.g. driver-assistance) and navigation systems utilizing camera view information would be led to their relevant teachings and because combining Boyle’s non-linear rate of angular change based on a difference between current and target angles with Fujimoto’s and Kusayanagi’s virtual camera viewpoint changes using vehicle turning information would teach or suggest to the skilled artisan using a non-linear mapping between the rate of change of the virtual camera angle and the magnitude of steering angle and represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, and Boyle used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, and Boyle teaches or suggests the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first location is an intersection at which the vehicle has planned to make a turn (Both Fujimoto and Abramson are drawn to an intersection; Fujimoto, ¶ 0022: teaches a distance calculated for the vehicle and compared against a threshold distance to determine when the vehicle is close enough to the intersection (turn) that the virtual viewpoint should be changed from a forward-view to an offset (right or left) view; Abramson, ¶ 1132: teaches a vehicle navigation system calculating a distance before a turn to activate a turn signal wherein the distance takes into account “current speed and other conditions.”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, and Boyle teaches or suggests the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein when the vehicle is traveling at a first rate of speed, the selected distance is greater than when the vehicle is traveling at a second rate of speed slower than the first rate of speed (Kusayanagi, ¶ 0058: teaches a virtual viewpoint system takes account of speed; Distance as a function of speed is a basic concept in vehicle safety systems; Think of braking distance, reaction distance, etc.; Abramson, ¶ 1132: teaches a vehicle navigation system calculating a distance before a turn to activate a turn signal wherein the distance takes into account “current speed and other conditions.”; Examiner further notes that the relationship between distance and vehicle speed is taught in driver’s manuals for state driving exams across the country and is well-within the common knowledge of the skilled artisan).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, and Boyle teaches or suggests the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein a height and a pitch of the virtual camera are adjusted to present either more or less of the vehicle's surroundings during a driving operation in the autonomous mode (Kusayanagi, Figs. 2A–2C: illustrate changing a height and pitch of a virtual camera; Examiner notes other relevant cited art under the Conclusion Section of this Office Action).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, and Boyle teaches or suggests the computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising rotating the virtual camera by a camera rotation angle corresponding to the change from the first heading to the second heading (Kusayanagi, Figs. 3 and 6–8: illustrate that the angle of the virtual viewpoint depends on the angle of the turn).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, and Boyle teaches or suggests the computer implemented method of claim 7, further comprising mapping one or more angles associated with the change from the first heading to the second heading to the camera rotation angle (Kusayanagi, Figs. 3 and 6–8: illustrate that the angle of the virtual viewpoint depends on (is mapped to) the angle of the turn).
Claim 9 lists the same elements as claim 1, but in apparatus form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 10 lists the same elements as claim 2, but in apparatus form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 13 lists the same elements as claim 5, but in apparatus form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 5 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 14 lists the same elements as claim 6, but in apparatus form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 6 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 15 lists the same elements as claim 7, but in apparatus form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 7 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 16 lists the same elements as claim 8, but in apparatus form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 8 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 17 lists the same elements as claim 1, but in CRM form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 18 lists the same elements as claim 2, but in CRM form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, and Boyle teaches or suggests the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the non-linear mapping provides a first rate of change over a first range of turn angles and a second, different rate of change over a second range of turn angles (Fujimoto and Kusanyanagi are not relied upon to teach that it would have been obvious to treat the steering angle sensor information in a non-linear fashion; Examiner finds the claimed (described in Applicant’s Fig. 13) non-linear relationship is similar to hysteresis, which is a well-known dampening characteristic that engineers possess as part of their basic set of knowledge; Examiner finds a squashing function or activation function is popularly used in machine learning applications; Examiner finds those skilled in the art know the utility of an activation function to retard a system from overreacting to outlier inputs; Boyle, ¶ 0119: teaches that the angular velocity of a camera angle adjustment can be made proportional to the difference between the target angle and the current camera orientation such that larger differences between current and target heading receives a larger angular velocity movement; Examiner notes Nix, Figs. 4A and 4C illustrate the angles are not 1:1 with the anticipated turn, which is not relied upon for this rejection; Examiner finds that when combined with the other references, Boyle’s teachings would teach or suggest to the skilled artisan using a non-linear mapping between the rate of change of the virtual camera angle based on magnitude of steering angle change; Examiner notes Bear, cited under the Conclusion Section of this Office Action similarly describes a non-linear angular transform applied to a virtual camera).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, and Boyle teaches or suggests the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the non-linear mapping has a variable slope over a range of turn angles (Fujimoto and Kusanyanagi are not relied upon to teach that it would have been obvious to treat the steering angle sensor information in a non-linear fashion; Examiner finds the claimed (described in Applicant’s Fig. 13) non-linear relationship is similar to hysteresis, which is a well-known dampening characteristic that engineers possess as part of their basic set of knowledge; Examiner finds a squashing function or activation function is popularly used in machine learning applications; Examiner finds those skilled in the art know the utility of an activation function to retard a system from overreacting to outlier inputs; Boyle, ¶ 0119: teaches that the angular velocity of a camera angle adjustment can be made proportional to the difference between the target angle and the current camera orientation such that larger differences between current and target heading receives a larger angular velocity movement; Examiner notes Nix, Figs. 4A and 4C illustrate the angles are not 1:1 with the anticipated turn, which is not relied upon for this rejection; Examiner finds that when combined with the other references, Boyle’s teachings would teach or suggest to the skilled artisan using a non-linear mapping between the rate of change of the virtual camera angle based on magnitude of steering angle change; Examiner notes Bear, cited under the Conclusion Section of this Office Action similarly describes a non-linear angular transform applied to a virtual camera).
Claims 3, 4, 11, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, Boyle, and Nix (US 2019/0164430 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, Boyle, and Nix teaches or suggests the computer implemented method of claim 2, wherein the turn is an unprotected turn (Examiner finds this is an intended use recitation, but nevertheless the prior art teaches the feature; Nix, Figs. 4A and 4C: teach blind intersections handled by the virtual camera system wherein the turn may not require other vehicles to stop, such as the scenarios depicted in Nix, Figs. 4A and 4C).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, and Boyle, with those of Nix, because all five references are drawn to the same field of endeavor or drawn to the same or similar problem such that one wishing to practice vehicle safety systems involving virtual camera angles would be led to their relevant teachings, because at least Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, and Nix are all drawn to virtual camera viewpoints used in vehicle navigation and are reasonably pertinent to the problem due to their overlapping essential functions, and because combining Fujimoto’s virtual camera viewpoint changes using vehicle turning information from vehicle navigation information, with Kusayanagi’s virtual viewpoint camera changes using vehicle turning information and navigation information for autonomous driving vehicles, and further with Nix’s virtual viewpoint based on a projected turn not being turned all the way represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, Boyle, and Nix used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fujimoto, Kusayanagi, Abramson, Boyle, and Nix teaches or suggests the computer implemented method of claim 3, wherein the unprotected turn is either where the vehicle is turning onto a road where traffic is detected to be moving, or where the road the vehicle is turning onto does not require other vehicles to stop at the intersection (Examiner finds this is an intended use recitation, but nevertheless the prior art teaches the feature; Nix, Figs. 4A and 4C: teach blind intersections handled by the virtual camera system wherein the turn may not require other vehicles to stop, such as the scenarios depicted in Nix, Figs. 4A and 4C).
Claim 11 lists the same elements as claim 3, but in apparatus form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 3 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 12 lists the same elements as claim 4, but in apparatus form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 4 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 19 lists the same elements as claim 3, but in CRM form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 3 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 20 lists the same elements as claim 4, but in CRM form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 4 applies to the instant claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abramson (US 2017/0279957 A1) teaches a vehicle navigation system calculating a distance before a turn to activate a turn signal wherein the distance takes into account “current speed and other conditions.” (¶ 1132).
Zelman (US 2017/0190334 A1) teaches prediction algorithm cues for determining host vehicle intent can include “distance to the intersection, turn signal activity, velocity of the host vehicle,” etc. (¶ 0031).
Yamada (US 2014/0292805 A1) teaches a virtual viewpoint changing to a diagonal-front view according to an indication from the turn signal indicator wherein the angle of the view is determined based on the “predicted traveling direction” of the vehicle (e.g. ¶ 0122). Yamada, ¶ 0123: teaches that when changing the virtual viewpoint based on a projected turn, it may be wise to angle the viewpoint diagonally (halfway) rather than angle the camera all the way to the left or right.
Kojima, et al., “NaviView: Visual Assistance by Virtual Mirrors at Blind Intersection,” October 2005.
Moore (US 2015/0345976 A1) teaches virtual camera turns ahead of actual turns (e.g. ¶¶ 0038–0030).
Vulcano (US 2014/0365126 A1) teaches a virtual camera following turn-by-turn navigation input (e.g. ¶ 0093) and taking into account threshold distances from intersections (¶ 0317).
Taylor (US 2014/0192181 A1) teaches generating a virtual view (¶ 0089) and taking account of the projected next step in a navigation such as a threshold distance from an intersection (e.g. ¶ 0108).
Tertoolen (US 10,527,445 B2) teaches a three-dimensional perspective virtual camera view positioned at an elevation and pitch angle behind a current position of the vehicle that is updated to follow along as the vehicle travels along a planned route and adapting the generated view, in response to detecting that the determined current lane in which the device is travelling differs from a lane or lanes associated with a maneuver to be made at an upcoming decision point (Abstract) and generates a fast-forward display along the route that is faster than the current speed of the vehicle (col. 6, ll. 31–38).
Hiramatsu (US 2020/0026284 A1) teaches an autonomous vehicle being approved to move through an intersection (Abstract), detecting a congestion condition at the intersection (e.g. ¶ 0020), autonomous driving control along a followed travel route including at an intersection and during a temporary stop (e.g. ¶ 0027), and teaches detecting a distance to an upcoming intersection or a time-distance in view of vehicle speed (¶¶ 0033 and 0045).
Bear (US 2017/0032570 A1) teaches virtual camera angle velocities can be non-linearly defined (¶ 0068).
Gupta (US 9,357,208 B2) teaches steering angle sensor data binned into nonlinear increments to match the nature of the data supplied by the steering angle sensor and the driving habits/real world scenarios of the use of the steering wheel (Fig. 11 and col. 7, ln 50–col. 8, ln. 7).
Chundrlik (US 2013/0231825 A1) teaches determining a rate of change of a steering angle and comparing it to a threshold rate of change for analyzing camera images (¶ 0084).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J HESS/Examiner, Art Unit 2481