Claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informality: The claim ends in a semicolon rather than a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informality: The claim is missing a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger et al., US Patent Application Publication 2017/0083314 (hereinafter Burger) in view of Takahashi et al., US Patent 5,724,548 (hereinafter Takahashi), further in view of Hooker et al., US Patent Application Publication 2011/0040955 (hereinafter Hooker).
Regarding claim 1, Burger teaches:
A processor architecture implementing a vector-dataflow execution model comprising: a scalar processor core (see e.g. fig. 1, para. [0073], one of the cores executing scalar operations); a vector processor core (see e.g. fig. 1, para. [0073], [0088], another core executing vector/SIMD operations); issue logic (see e.g. para. [0065-7]); an instruction window buffer (see e.g. para. [0051]); and a forwarding buffer (see e.g. para. [0083]).
Burger fails to explicitly teach the vector processor core with a single execution unit, and an xdata buffer, wherein the xdata buffer stores additional information from a scalar register file needed by instructions executed by the vector processor core.
Takahashi teaches a vector processor core with one execution unit (see e.g. fig. 8, one vector unit), and a buffer that stores additional information from a scalar register file needed by instructions executed by a vector processor core (see e.g. col. 7 lines 14-40).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Burger and Takahashi to include the vector processor core with a single execution unit, and an xdata buffer, wherein the xdata buffer stores additional information from a scalar register file needed by instructions executed by the vector processor core. This would have provided an advantage such as discussed by Takahashi “to improve the efficiency of the system in which a processor is connected to the cache memory to gain access to particular data such as vector data by reducing the penalty at the time of a cache miss in effecting non-sequential data access and, hence, by realizing a high-speed operation” (see col. 2 lines 62-67).
Burger in view of Takahashi fails to explicitly teach a register renaming table.
Hooker teaches a register renaming table (see e.g. para. [0027-8], [0035-6], register alias table).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Burger, Takahashi, and Hooker to include a register renaming table. This would have provided advantages such as discussed by Hooker to more quickly and efficiently forward data between instructions (see e.g. para. [0089-90]).
Regarding claim 2, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 1 wherein the issue logic identifies, prepares and issues for execution a window of dependent instructions over a vector of inputs (see e.g. Burger para. [0030-1], [0047]), implements forwarding by renaming register operands of the instructions to refer to a free location in the forwarding buffer instead of to a vector register file and records the renaming in the register renaming table (see e.g. Hooker para. [0035-40]).
Regarding claim 3, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 2 wherein the instruction window buffer stores the window of instructions issued by the issue logic and determines the next operation to be executed by the vector processor (see e.g. Burger para. [0030-1], [0047], [0051]);
Regarding claim 4, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 3 wherein the forwarding buffer stores intermediate values forwarded by the execution unit and forwards the intermediate values to dependent instructions in the instruction window buffer (see e.g. Burger para. [0083], Hooker para. [0035-40]).
Regarding claim 5, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 1 further comprising: instruction buffer control logic; wherein the instruction buffer control logic determines an order of execution for the instructions in the instruction buffer and executes an operation represented by each instruction in the instruction buffer (see e.g. Hooker para. [0035-40]).
Regarding claim 6, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 5 wherein: the xdata buffer contains information from a scalar register file necessary for performing vector loads and stores; and the instruction buffer control logic contains indices into the xdata buffer as needed when information from the scalar register file is needed to fetch or store operands (see e.g. Takahashi col. 7 lines 14-40).
Regarding claim 7, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 1 wherein execution of the instructions proceeds across each element of a vector for a single vector instruction before executing the next vector instruction in the instruction buffer (see e.g. Burger para. [0031], [0073], [0088]).
Regarding claim 8, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 2 further comprising: a renaming table; wherein the instruction buffer control logic fetches or stores renamed operands from the forwarding buffer; and wherein the renaming table stores operands that have been renamed (see e.g. Hooker para. [0027-8], [0035-40]).
Regarding claim 9, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 8 wherein the renaming table is a fixed size, directly-indexable table having one entry for each renamed operand (see e.g. Hooker para. [0027-8], [0035-40]).
Regarding claim 10, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 2 further comprising: wherein the additional information stored in the xdata buffer includes information from a scalar register file necessary for performing vector loads and stores (see e.g. Takahashi col. 7 lines 14-40)
Regarding claim 11, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 10 herein the instruction buffer control logic contains indices into the xdata buffer as needed when information from the scalar register file is needed to fetch or store operands (see e.g. Takahashi col. 7 lines 14-40).
Regarding claim 12, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 4 wherein the forwarding buffer is a directly-indexed buffer storing intermediate values of operands for forwarding to dependent instructions (see e.g. Hooker para. [0035-40]).
Regarding claim 13, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 1 wherein the issue logic identifies instructions within the window of continuous vector instructions that have a dataflow dependency therebetween by comparing names of input and output operands for each vector instruction to determine if output operands of any instruction match input operands of any other vector instruction (see e.g. Hooker para. [0044-6]).
Regarding claim 14, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 1 wherein the architecture is used in low-power embedded systems (see e.g. Burger para. [0003], [0106]).
Claim 18 is rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claim 1.
Claims 15-17, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker, further in view of Chan et al., US Patent Application Publication 2022/0066783 (hereinafter Chan).
Regarding claim 15, Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 1.
Burger in view of Takahashi and Hooker fails to explicitly teach wherein the architecture uses a custom compiler having a modified ISA to supporting code scheduling and vector register kill annotations.
Chan teaches using a compiler having a modified ISA to support code scheduling and vector/scalar register kill annotations (see e.g. para. [0005], [0007], [0031-2]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Burger, Takahashi, Hooker, and Chan such that the architecture uses a custom compiler having a modified ISA to supporting code scheduling and vector register kill annotations. This would have provided an advantage such as discussed by Chan to produce code “that is better structured to take advantage of the SIMT execution model than it would be in the absence of IR modification process” (see para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 16, Burger in view of Takahashi, Hooker, and Chan teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 15 wherein the kill annotations denote the last use of a vector register (see e.g. Chan para. [0005], [0007], [0031-2]).
Regarding claim 17, Burger in view of Takahashi, Hooker, and Chan teaches or suggests:
The architecture of claim 16 wherein the kill annotation comprises a kill bit for each register indicating that the register is dead at that instruction (see e.g. Chan para. [0005], [0007], [0031-2]).
Claims 19-21 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claim 1, 15-17.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,164,926. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are similar to and substantially generic to the claims in the ‘926 patent. Therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus (see MPEP 804(II)(B)(1)).
Conclusion
/JOHN M LINDLOF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183