The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an Amendment filed on 4/7/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendments
Amendments filed on 4/7/2026 are under consideration. Claims 1, 16 and 20 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LISSAJOUX (US 2019/0389565 Al) and in view of Lin (US 2024/0294248 Al)
Regarding Claim 1 LISSAJOUX teaches A system (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “systems for assisting the piloting of an aircraft are provided”) comprising: an onboard aviation mission device comprising memory and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, (Pg. 5 – [0012] – “Advantageously, the use of one or more external computers allows the benefit of enhanced mission management, accompanied by secure exchange means, and of comparison and verification means to be enjoyed, allowing a reliable and easy transition to the avionics navigation computer and the execution of the mission” & See Also Pg. 15 – [0171] – “which processor can be "multicore" or "manycore"; a read-only memory (ROM) that can comprise the programs required to implement the invention” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0073] – “For example, the equipment can be "onboard", i.e. can be found locally on board the aircraft” (equates to comprising: an onboard aviation mission device comprising memory and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory as the first quote shows mission management of the aircraft being executed within and wherein the second quote shows the use of processors and memory within the control equipment and lastly the final quote showing the equipment used to execute the art’s invention can be done by onboard equipment.)) the one or more processors configured to: identify aviation operations program data representative of one or more aviation operations programs; (Pg. 14 – [0156] – “In one embodiment, the method further comprises the step involving determining a flying context similar to the received flying context, the adjustment recommendations include the adjustment recommendations of the similar flying context.” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0076] – “The "flying context" of the aircraft includes various types of data, in particular geo-referenced type data (e.g. position of the aircraft, latitude, longitude, altitude, orientation and speed, etc.),” (equates to the one or more processors configured to: identify aviation operations program data representative of one or more aviation operations programs; as the first quote shows the adjustment of the aircraft being done based on a flying context wherein the second quote shows the plurality of flying context attributes.) ) configure the one or more aviation operations programs in accordance with at least one of a plurality of aviation implementation states, (Pg. 14 – [0156] – “In one embodiment, the method further comprises the step involving determining a flying context similar to the received flying context, the adjustment recommendations include the adjustment recommendations of the similar flying context.” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0083] – “In one embodiment, the determined avionics context is forwarded to one or more computers responsible for adjustment recommendations ( e.g. piloting)” (equates to configure the one or more aviation operations programs in accordance with at least one of a plurality of aviation implementation states as the aviation implementation states or the flying context of this art is used to generate recommendations (piloting the aircraft as seen in the second quote) or aviation operation programs.)) wherein a first aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an armed aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states; (Pg. 9 – [0077] – “The flying context of the aircraft particularly comprises the flight phases ( e.g. climb, descent, cruise, take-off, landing, etc.)” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0083] – “In one embodiment, the determined avionics context is forwarded to one or more computers responsible for adjustment recommendations ( e.g. piloting)” (equates to wherein a first aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an armed aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states; as the first quote shows the implementation state or flying context lead to a landing designation wherein the context is used to generate a recommendation in which the piloting of the aircraft is done based upon and thus the aviation operations program of piloting and thus landing the aircraft is based on the armed aviation implementation state of landing as designated by the context generated. The first quote also shows a plurality of aviation implementation states as climb, landing etc. are mentioned and similarly piloting based on the generated context can then have a broad / plurality of programs to use the context designation. )) provide aviation mission data to an external aviation mission device; (Pg. 8 – [0050] – “One or more non-avionics systems can also communicate 124 with external computer resources that are accessible through the network (for example, "cloud computing" 125)” ) receive, from the external aviation mission device, (Pg. 2 – Fig. 1 & See Also Pg. 8 – [0050] – “One or more non-avionics systems can also communicate 124 with external computer resources that are accessible through the network (for example, "cloud computing" 125)” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0006] – “According to this approach, recommendations are transmitted to the pilot on the basis of measurements that are performed and of the operating rules of the aircraft” (equates to receive, from the external aviation mission device as the onboard computer is in communication with external computing resources as seen by the first quote and the second quote showing the ability to transmit recommendations or aviation programs as previously mapped to the pilot.) ) first program implementation data in response to an aviation mission activation event; (Pg. 11 – [0106] – “In one embodiment, only some types of avionics context trigger a computation of recommendations. In one embodiment, an avionics context must meet one or more predetermined criteria or conditions in order to be able to trigger the computation of recommendations. In other words, requests for recommendations are sent when the context supports a certain number of conditions or parameters or triggers selected from the activation of variables contained in the context” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0006] – “According to this approach, recommendations are transmitted to the pilot on the basis of measurements that are performed and of the operating rules of the aircraft” (equates to first program implementation data in response to an aviation mission activation event as the second quote shows the ability of an external computer to send data to the pilot and the first quote showing the activation of context information being sent based on a triggering of an event.)) and initiate performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the first program implementation data. (Pg. 11 – [0106] – “In one embodiment, only some types of avionics context trigger a computation of recommendations. In one embodiment, an avionics context must meet one or more predetermined criteria or conditions in order to be able to trigger the computation of recommendations. In other words, requests for recommendations are sent when the context supports a certain number of conditions or parameters or triggers selected from the activation of variables contained in the context” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0083] – “In one embodiment, the determined avionics context is forwarded to one or more computers responsible for adjustment recommendations ( e.g. piloting)” (equates to and initiate performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the first program implementation data as the first quote shows the initiation of the aviation context based on a trigger event or a first program implementation data and thus a recommendation is generated in which the performance of the mission is carried out.))
Yet Lissajoux fails to teach wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event.
Lin teaches wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event. (Pg. 3 – Fig. 2 - & See Also Pg. 5 – Fig. 4 - & See Also Pg. 23 – [0049 & 0050] – “The embodiments of the present disclosure provide a landing control method for an aircraft, which controls the aircraft to automatically land in a pre-set landing mode via a landing indication signal. The landing indication signal may be from a mobile terminal, such as a remote controller, a tablet computer, a cell phone, or an aircraft base station. [0050] In some embodiments, in the pre-set landing mode, the aircraft may acquire a current vertical distance between the aircraft and a landing point in real time, and carries out a corresponding action according to the current vertical distance. For example, the corresponding action may be changing the flight speed of the aircraft, e.g. increasing a current descending speed of the aircraft, or decreasing the current descending speed of the aircraft. The corresponding action may also be changing an attitude of the aircraft. For example, the aircraft may be controlled to move forward, backward, towards the left, or towards the right. The corresponding action may also be a landing preparation action, e.g. folding a landing gear, or retracting a sensor carried by the aircraft.” (equates to wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event as the figures and quote show a aviation operation program being equivalent to the landing request, and is ready for future execution as seen by the variety of variables that the aircraft has to meet before the aviation operation program is implemented. The aircraft in the quote is shown to change altitude or unfold landing gear prior to landing and thus the future execution of the aviation operation is attained by the following through of the speed, altitude, etc. requirements before the landing takes place.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lissajoux to include wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event as this allows for aircraft operations to be sent to the vehicle and ensure that the vehicle has a mission objective that can be updated and executed at a future time when vehicle/environmental conditions of the aircraft match what is needed for the mission assigned.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event as this limitation allows for a variety of missions to be assigned to the aircraft and ensure the aircraft can execute the mission safely at a later time.
Regarding Claim 2 LISSAJOUX-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The system of claim 1, wherein a second aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an active aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states. (Pg. 11 – [0107] – “This recommendation can involve completing the name being entered on the basis of the type of aircraft (i.e. compatibility with the airport) and of its geographical position (for example, it will return the identifier corresponding to the closest airport, namely LFBO). In another example, the air traffic control can be in the process of granting a clearance (e.g. altitude clearance) to the aircraft via the ("Climb to reach FL 340") audio;” (equates to wherein a second aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an active aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states as the active aviation state was described to be optimal altitude control and this quote is showing the recommendation granting an altitude clearance for optimal altitude to be traveled at by the aircraft.))
Regarding Claim 3 LISSAJOUX-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The system of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the external aviation mission device, (Pg. 6 – [0034] – “By extension, the avionics systems can include remotely accessible systems, for example, the air traffic control systems that can be in communication (bilateral) via the ground-on-board links” ) second program implementation data; and initiate performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the second program implementation data. (Pg. 11 – [0107] – “This recommendation can involve completing the name being entered on the basis of the type of aircraft (i.e. compatibility with the airport) and of its geographical position (for example, it will return the identifier corresponding to the closest airport, namely LFBO). In another example, the air traffic control can be in the process of granting a clearance (e.g. altitude clearance) to the aircraft via the ("Climb to reach FL 340") audio;” & See Also Pg. 6 – [0034] – “By extension, the avionics systems can include remotely accessible systems, for example, the air traffic control systems that can be in communication (bilateral) via the ground-on-board links” (equates to wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the external aviation mission device, second program implementation data; and initiate performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the second program implementation data as the first quote shows the implementation of the optimal altitude control or second program implementation data and the external mission device being the air traffic control communicating to the onboard computer of the aircraft.) )
Regarding Claim 6 LISSAJOUX-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The system of claim 1, wherein a fourth aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an inactive aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states. (Pg. 11 – [0109] – “For example, based on the data contained in the flight manuals, combined with the weather conditions of the day and with the configuration of the aeroplane, recommendations for the adjustment of the characteristic speeds for take-off (Vl, V2, VR, etc.) could be proposed to the crew.” (equates to wherein a fourth aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an inactive aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states. As the quote shows a recommendation or one or more aviation operations program being configured for take-off scenario which is equivalent to inactive aviation implementation state as seen by this application’s specification [0086]))
Regarding Claim 7 LISSAJOUX-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The system of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit an inactive aviation implementation state indication to the external aviation mission device. (Pg. 11 – [0109] – “For example, based on the data contained in the flight manuals, combined with the weather conditions of the day and with the configuration of the aeroplane, recommendations for the adjustment of the characteristic speeds for take-off (Vl, V2, VR, etc.) could be proposed to the crew.” & See Also Pg. 5 - [0012] – “Advantageously, the use of one or more external computers allows the benefit of enhanced mission management, accompanied by secure exchange means, and of comparison and verification means to be enjoyed, allowing a reliable and easy transition to the avionics navigation computer and the execution of the mission” (equates to transmit an inactive aviation implementation state indication to the external aviation mission device as the first quote shows the implementation take of programs related to take off and thus an inactive aviation implementation state and the last quote showing a simple way of data transaction between the onboard computer and the external computing means.) )
Regarding Claim 8 LISSAJOUX-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The system of claim 1, wherein initiating performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the first program implementation data comprises the one or more processors (Pg. 11 – [0107] – “This recommendation can involve completing the name being entered on the basis of the type of aircraft (i.e. compatibility with the airport) and of its geographical position (for example, it will return the identifier corresponding to the closest airport, namely LFBO). In another example, the air traffic control can be in the process of granting a clearance (e.g. altitude clearance) to the aircraft via the ("Climb to reach FL 340") audio;” (equates to wherein initiating performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the first program implementation data comprises the one or more processors as the quote shows the optimal altitude control being recommended to the aircraft which corresponds to the first program implementation data as shown by specification [0098])) being further configured to: cause actuation of one or more aircraft components associated with an aircraft. (Pg. 10 – [0101] – “The "avionics context" comprises data that includes data transmitted by the sensors of the aeroplane (for example, position, attitude, speed, weather radar data, etc.) and/or data determined by the computers of the avionics (automatic pilot modes and…” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0074] – “in one embodiment, the method comprises a step involving taking into account the "flying context" in order to determine and/or forward adjustment recommendations of one or more items of on-board equipment (dials, buttons, actuators,…” (equates to herein initiating performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the first program implementation data comprises the one or more processors being further configured to: cause actuation of one or more aircraft components associated with an aircraft as the first quote shows the ability for the recommendations to work for an autopilot mode and the last quote shows the recommendation being associated with how to change actuators for specific change in the aircraft.))
Regarding Claim 9 LISSAJOUX-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The system of claim 1, wherein initiating performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the first program implementation data (Pg. 11 – [0107] – “This recommendation can involve completing the name being entered on the basis of the type of aircraft (i.e. compatibility with the airport) and of its geographical position (for example, it will return the identifier corresponding to the closest airport, namely LFBO). In another example, the air traffic control can be in the process of granting a clearance (e.g. altitude clearance) to the aircraft via the ("Climb to reach FL 340") audio;”) comprises the one or more processors being further configured to: modify an aviation mission. (Pg. 12 – [0123] – “Subsequently, recommendations for changing the flight level, adjusting the speed of the aircraft, illuminating illuminated instructions, etc. could be performed before an aircraft enters such a zone” (equates to modify an aviation mission. As the quote shows the adjusting of speed or changing of flight levels and thus a modification in the optimal altitude control is made.) )
Regarding Claim 10 LISSAJOUX- Lin (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: configure at least one of the one or more aviation operations programs in accordance with at least one of a plurality of aviation activation states. (Pg. 9 – [0077] – “The flying context of the aircraft particularly comprises the flight phases ( e.g. climb, descent, cruise, take-off, landing, etc.)” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0083] – “In one embodiment, the determined avionics context is forwarded to one or more computers responsible for adjustment recommendations ( e.g. piloting)” (equates to configure at least one of the one or more aviation operations programs in accordance with at least one of a plurality of aviation activation states. As the first quote shows a variety of operation types and thus plurality of aviation activation states is established, and in which a recommendation is made to execute any of the listed operations. The second quote showing the recommendation used for piloting In which each of the context can be used for a recommendation and thus allowing for a plurality of one or more aviation operations programs. ))
Regarding Claim 11 LISSAJOUX-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The system of claim 10, wherein the plurality of aviation activation states comprises a primary aviation activation state. (Pg. 9 - [0077] – “The flying context of the aircraft particularly comprises the flight phases ( e.g. climb, descent, cruise, take-off, landing, etc.), but also the time periods on the ground (e.g. taxiing, maintenance, etc.).” & See Also Pg. 11 – [0106] – “In one embodiment, only some types of avionics context trigger a computation of recommendations. In one embodiment, an avionics context must meet one or more predetermined criteria or conditions in order to be able to trigger the computation of recommendations. In other words, requests for recommendations are sent when the context supports a certain number of conditions or parameters or triggers selected from the activation of variables contained in the context” (equates to wherein the plurality of aviation activation states comprises a primary aviation activation state as the first quote shows a primary activation state being context related to taxing the aircraft wherein the specification of this art, [0116], describes a primary activation state as a preflight procedure wherein taxiing the aircraft is one of the listed states. The second quote shows the context or the means to a recommendation of the aircraft being triggered and thus the context can be a activation state.) )
Regarding Claim 12 LISSAJOUX-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The system of claim 10, wherein the plurality of aviation activation states comprises a secondary aviation activation state. (Pg. 9 - [0077] – “The flying context of the aircraft particularly comprises the flight phases ( e.g. climb, descent, cruise, take-off, landing, etc.),” & See Also Pg. 11 – [0106] – “In one embodiment, only some types of avionics context trigger a computation of recommendations. In one embodiment, an avionics context must meet one or more predetermined criteria or conditions in order to be able to trigger the computation of recommendations. In other words, requests for recommendations are sent when the context supports a certain number of conditions or parameters or triggers selected from the activation of variables contained in the context” (equates to wherein the plurality of aviation activation states comprises a secondary aviation activation state as the first quote shows the flying context being in relation to the takeoff portion of the aircraft and the context being mapped toa recommendation leading to piloting or control of the aircraft. The specification, [0117], of this application shows the secondary aviation activation state being related to the takeoff portion of the aircraft. The second quote given shows the triggering of control based on flying context and thus the context acts as an activation state. ))
Regarding Claim 13 Lissajoux-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The system of claim 1, further comprising: the external aviation mission device comprising second memory and one or more second processors communicatively coupled to the second memory, the one or more second processors configured to: (Pg. 15 – [0171] – “In one embodiment, the system for implementing the invention comprises a computer-readable storage medium (RAM, ROM, flash memory or another type of memory technology, for example, a disc medium or another non-transitory computer-readable storage medium) coded with a computer program (i.e. several executable instructions), which program, when it is executed on a processor or on a plurality of processors, performs the functions of the previously described embodiments.” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0014] – “Advantageously, the invention can be implemented on tablets that can be used on board or on the ground away from the aeroplane” (equates to further comprising: the external aviation mission device comprising second memory and one or more second processors communicatively coupled to the second memory, the one or more second processors configured as the first quote shows the implementation of memories and processors coupled to memories to execute any embodiment disclosed herein and the second quote showing the invention can be ran on the ground or onboard aircraft.) ) receive the aviation mission data from the onboard aviation mission device; (Pg. 2 – Fig. 1 & See Also Pg. 8 – [0050] – “One or more non-avionics systems can also communicate 124 with external computer resources that are accessible through the network (for example, "cloud computing" 125)” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0099] – “The context associated with a type of recommendation is sent from the avionics of the aircraft (e.g. IRS, FWS, FMS), then transmitted to a non-avionics storage algorithm. This "non-avionics" algorithm can be locally stored in the aircraft on a computer ( dedicated computer, Electronic Flight Bag or EFB, etc.) or on a remote ground based resource (remote servers, cloud, etc.).” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0095] – “These algorithms can be stored in equipment on board the aircraft or on the ground.” (equates to receive the aviation mission data from the onboard aviation mission device; as the first quote shows the link between the onboard computing and the external computing resources. The second quote shows the aviation mission data being represented by a recommendation wherein it is then sent to the algorithm wherein the third quote shows the algorithm being able to be run on external computing means and thus sent from onboard means.)) identify the aviation mission activation event; generate the first program implementation data by applying the aviation mission data to the first aviation operations program; (Pg. 10 – [0098 & 0099& 0101] – “In a first step 200, the avionics context is determined. [0099] The context associated with a type of recommendation is sent from the avionics of the aircraft (e.g. IRS, FWS, FMS), then transmitted to a non-avionics storage algorithm. This "non-avionics" algorithm can be locally stored in the aircraft on a computer ( dedicated computer, Electronic Flight Bag or EFB, etc.) or on a remote ground based resource (remote servers, cloud, etc.)… The "avionics context" comprises data that includes data transmitted by the sensors of the aeroplane (for example, position, attitude, speed, weather radar data,” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0102] – “In one embodiment, the avionics context can be enhanced with non-avionics data (step 210). For example, an "enhanced avionics context" can comprise information representing the congestion of the FIR that are crossed, the messages to the applicable aircrew (NOTAM), flight-related economic data, information relating to the airline (name, type of airline, type of OCC), the crew ( e.g. number of training flight hours, ages, etc.), the passengers (e.g. premium customers, expectations or requirements in terms of satellite connection, military or cargo transport, etc.), the aircraft (e.g. type, maintenance history, etc.), data prepared by the crew ( e.g. frequency plan, etc.), information available in the logbook, etc.” (equates to generate the first program implementation data by applying the aviation mission data to the first aviation operations program as the first quote shows the first implementation data being equivalent to the aviation context of the cited art and the avionics context can be generated by the enhanced avionics context equating to the aviation mission data of the cited art.) ) and provide the first program implementation data to the onboard aviation mission device. (Pg. 2 – Fig. 1 & See Also Pg. 8 – [0050] – “One or more non-avionics systems can also communicate 124 with external computer resources that are accessible through the network (for example, "cloud computing" 125)” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0006] – “According to this approach, recommendations are transmitted to the pilot on the basis of measurements that are performed and of the operating rules of the aircraft” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0098 & 0099& 0101] – “In a first step 200, the avionics context is determined. [0099] The context associated with a type of recommendation is sent from the avionics of the aircraft (e.g. IRS, FWS, FMS), then transmitted to a non-avionics storage algorithm. This "non-avionics" algorithm can be locally stored in the aircraft on a computer ( dedicated computer, Electronic Flight Bag or EFB, etc.) or on a remote ground based resource (remote servers, cloud, etc.)… The "avionics context" comprises data that includes data transmitted by the sensors of the aeroplane (for example, position, attitude, speed, weather radar data,” (equates to and provide the first program implementation data to the onboard aviation mission device as the first quote shows the communication link between the external and onboard computing device and the second quote shows the recommendation sent to the onboard device for the pilot’s usage. And the third quote shows the first program implementation data relating to weather ( see specification 0099 ) ))
Regarding Claim 14 Lissajoux-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The system of claim 3, further comprising: the external aviation mission device comprising second memory and one or more second processors communicatively coupled to the second memory, the one or more second processors configured to: (Pg. 15 – [0171] – “In one embodiment, the system for implementing the invention comprises a computer-readable storage medium (RAM, ROM, flash memory or another type of memory technology, for example, a disc medium or another non-transitory computer-readable storage medium) coded with a computer program (i.e. several executable instructions), which program, when it is executed on a processor or on a plurality of processors, performs the functions of the previously described embodiments.” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0014] – “Advantageously, the invention can be implemented on tablets that can be used on board or on the ground away from the aeroplane” (equates to further comprising: the external aviation mission device comprising second memory and one or more second processors communicatively coupled to the second memory, the one or more second processors configured as the first quote shows the implementation of memories and processors coupled to memories to execute any embodiment disclosed herein and the second quote showing the invention can be ran on the ground or onboard aircraft.) ) receive the aviation mission data from the onboard aviation mission device; (Pg. 2 – Fig. 1 & See Also Pg. 8 – [0050] – “One or more non-avionics systems can also communicate 124 with external computer resources that are accessible through the network (for example, "cloud computing" 125)” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0099] – “The context associated with a type of recommendation is sent from the avionics of the aircraft (e.g. IRS, FWS, FMS), then transmitted to a non-avionics storage algorithm. This "non-avionics" algorithm can be locally stored in the aircraft on a computer ( dedicated computer, Electronic Flight Bag or EFB, etc.) or on a remote ground based resource (remote servers, cloud, etc.).” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0095] – “These algorithms can be stored in equipment on board the aircraft or on the ground.” (equates to receive the aviation mission data from the onboard aviation mission device; as the first quote shows the link between the onboard computing and the external computing resources. The second quote shows the aviation mission data being represented by a recommendation wherein it is then sent to the algorithm wherein the third quote shows the algorithm being able to be run on external computing means and thus sent from onboard means.)) generate the second program implementation data by applying the aviation mission data to the second aviation operations program; (Pg. 10 – [0098 & 0099& 0101] – “In a first step 200, the avionics context is determined. [0099] The context associated with a type of recommendation is sent from the avionics of the aircraft (e.g. IRS, FWS, FMS), then transmitted to a non-avionics storage algorithm. This "non-avionics" algorithm can be locally stored in the aircraft on a computer ( dedicated computer, Electronic Flight Bag or EFB, etc.) or on a remote ground based resource (remote servers, cloud, etc.)… The "avionics context" comprises data that includes data transmitted by the sensors of the aeroplane (for example, position, attitude, speed, weather radar data,” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0102] – “In one embodiment, the avionics context can be enhanced with non-avionics data (step 210). For example, an "enhanced avionics context" can comprise information representing the congestion of the FIR that are crossed, the messages to the applicable aircrew (NOTAM), flight-related economic data, information relating to the airline (name, type of airline, type of OCC), the crew ( e.g. number of training flight hours, ages, etc.), the passengers (e.g. premium customers, expectations or requirements in terms of satellite connection, military or cargo transport, etc.), the aircraft (e.g. type, maintenance history, etc.), data prepared by the crew ( e.g. frequency plan, etc.), information available in the logbook, etc.” (equates to generate the second program implementation data by applying the aviation mission data to the second aviation operations program as the second quote shows the second implementation data being equivalent to the aviation context of the cited art and the avionics context can be generated by the enhanced avionics context equating to the aviation mission data of the cited art.) ) and provide the second program implementation data to the onboard aviation mission device. (Pg. 2 – Fig. 1 & See Also Pg. 8 – [0050] – “One or more non-avionics systems can also communicate 124 with external computer resources that are accessible through the network (for example, "cloud computing" 125)” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0006] – “According to this approach, recommendations are transmitted to the pilot on the basis of measurements that are performed and of the operating rules of the aircraft” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0098 & 0099& 0101] – “In a first step 200, the avionics context is determined. [0099] The context associated with a type of recommendation is sent from the avionics of the aircraft (e.g. IRS, FWS, FMS), then transmitted to a non-avionics storage algorithm. This "non-avionics" algorithm can be locally stored in the aircraft on a computer ( dedicated computer, Electronic Flight Bag or EFB, etc.) or on a remote ground based resource (remote servers, cloud, etc.)… The "avionics context" comprises data that includes data transmitted by the sensors of the aeroplane (for example, position, attitude, speed, weather radar data,” (equates to provide the second program implementation data to the onboard aviation mission device as the first quote shows the communication link between the external and onboard computing device and the second quote shows the recommendation sent to the onboard device for the pilot’s usage. And the third quote shows the second program implementation data relating to weather ( see specification 0103 ) ))
Regarding Claim 15 Lissajoux-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: generate one or more of an aviation operations program interface component, an aviation operations program implementation interface component, or an aviation operations program activation interface component. (Pg. 11 – [0113] – “In one embodiment, the method comprises a notification step for indicating the existence of an adjustment recommendation, the content of which can be displayed on one or more screens.” (equates to wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: generate one or more of an aviation operations program interface component, an aviation operations program implementation interface component, or an aviation operations program activation interface component as the quote shows the displaying of a recommendation which has been mapped to be equal to the aviation operation program. ) )
Regarding Claim 16 LISSSAJOUX teaches A method comprising: (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “Methods and systems for assisting the piloting of an aircraft are provided.” ) identifying aviation operations program data representative of one or more aviation operations programs; (Pg. 14 – [0156] – “In one embodiment, the method further comprises the step involving determining a flying context similar to the received flying context, the adjustment recommendations include the adjustment recommendations of the similar flying context.” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0076] – “The "flying context" of the aircraft includes various types of data, in particular geo-referenced type data (e.g. position of the aircraft, latitude, longitude, altitude, orientation and speed, etc.),” (equates to identifying aviation operations program data representative of one or more aviation operations programs as the first quote shows the adjustment of the aircraft being done based on a flying context wherein the second quote shows the plurality of flying context attributes.) ) configuring the one or more aviation operations programs in accordance with at least one of a plurality of aviation implementation states, (Pg. 14 – [0156] – “In one embodiment, the method further comprises the step involving determining a flying context similar to the received flying context, the adjustment recommendations include the adjustment recommendations of the similar flying context.” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0083] – “In one embodiment, the determined avionics context is forwarded to one or more computers responsible for adjustment recommendations ( e.g. piloting)” (equates to configure the one or more aviation operations programs in accordance with at least one of a plurality of aviation implementation states as the aviation implementation states or the flying context of this art is used to generate recommendations (piloting the aircraft as seen in the second quote) or aviation operation programs.)) wherein a first aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an armed aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states; (Pg. 9 – [0077] – “The flying context of the aircraft particularly comprises the flight phases ( e.g. climb, descent, cruise, take-off, landing, etc.)” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0083] – “In one embodiment, the determined avionics context is forwarded to one or more computers responsible for adjustment recommendations ( e.g. piloting)” (equates to wherein a first aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an armed aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states; as the first quote shows the implementation state or flying context lead to a landing designation wherein the context is used to generate a recommendation in which the piloting of the aircraft is done based upon and thus the aviation operations program of piloting and thus landing the aircraft is based on the armed aviation implementation state of landing as designated by the context generated. The first quote also shows a plurality of aviation implementation states as climb, landing etc. are mentioned and similarly piloting based on the generated context can then have a broad / plurality of programs to use the context designation. )) providing aviation mission data to an external aviation mission device; (Pg. 8 – [0050] – “One or more non-avionics systems can also communicate 124 with external computer resources that are accessible through the network (for example, "cloud computing" 125)” ) receive, from the external aviation mission device, (Pg. 2 – Fig. 1 & See Also Pg. 5 – [0006] – “According to this approach, recommendations are transmitted to the pilot on the basis of measurements that are performed and of the operating rules of the aircraft” (equates to receive, from the external aviation mission device as the onboard computer is in communication with external computing resources as seen by the first quote and the second quote showing the ability to transmit recommendations or aviation programs as previously mapped to the pilot.) ) receiving, from the external aviation mission device, (Pg. 2 – Fig. 1 & See Also Pg. 5 – [0006] – “According to this approach, recommendations are transmitted to the pilot on the basis of measurements that are performed and of the operating rules of the aircraft” (equates to receive, from the external aviation mission device as the onboard computer is in communication with external computing resources as seen by the first quote and the second quote showing the ability to transmit recommendations or aviation programs as previously mapped to the pilot.) ) first program implementation data in response to an aviation mission activation event; (Pg. 11 – [0106] – “In one embodiment, only some types of avionics context trigger a computation of recommendations. In one embodiment, an avionics context must meet one or more predetermined criteria or conditions in order to be able to trigger the computation of recommendations. In other words, requests for recommendations are sent when the context supports a certain number of conditions or parameters or triggers selected from the activation of variables contained in the context” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0006] – “According to this approach, recommendations are transmitted to the pilot on the basis of measurements that are performed and of the operating rules of the aircraft” (equates to first program implementation data in response to an aviation mission activation event as the second quote shows the ability of an external computer to send data to the pilot and the first quote showing the activation of context information being sent based on a triggering of an event.)) and initiating performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the first program implementation data. (Pg. 11 – [0106] – “In one embodiment, only some types of avionics context trigger a computation of recommendations. In one embodiment, an avionics context must meet one or more predetermined criteria or conditions in order to be able to trigger the computation of recommendations. In other words, requests for recommendations are sent when the context supports a certain number of conditions or parameters or triggers selected from the activation of variables contained in the context” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0083] – “In one embodiment, the determined avionics context is forwarded to one or more computers responsible for adjustment recommendations ( e.g. piloting)” (equates to and initiate performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the first program implementation data as the first quote shows the initiation of the aviation context based on a trigger event or a first program implementation data and thus a recommendation is generated in which the performance of the mission is carried out.))
Yet Lissajoux fails to teach wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event.
Lin teaches wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event. (Pg. 3 – Fig. 2 - & See Also Pg. 5 – Fig. 4 - & See Also Pg. 23 – [0049 & 0050] – “The embodiments of the present disclosure provide a landing control method for an aircraft, which controls the aircraft to automatically land in a pre-set landing mode via a landing indication signal. The landing indication signal may be from a mobile terminal, such as a remote controller, a tablet computer, a cell phone, or an aircraft base station. [0050] In some embodiments, in the pre-set landing mode, the aircraft may acquire a current vertical distance between the aircraft and a landing point in real time, and carries out a corresponding action according to the current vertical distance. For example, the corresponding action may be changing the flight speed of the aircraft, e.g. increasing a current descending speed of the aircraft, or decreasing the current descending speed of the aircraft. The corresponding action may also be changing an attitude of the aircraft. For example, the aircraft may be controlled to move forward, backward, towards the left, or towards the right. The corresponding action may also be a landing preparation action, e.g. folding a landing gear, or retracting a sensor carried by the aircraft.” (equates to wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event as the figures and quote show a aviation operation program being equivalent to the landing request, and is ready for future execution as seen by the variety of variables that the aircraft has to meet before the aviation operation program is implemented. The aircraft in the quote is shown to change altitude or unfold landing gear prior to landing and thus the future execution of the aviation operation is attained by the following through of the speed, altitude, etc. requirements before the landing takes place.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lissajoux to include wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event as this allows for aircraft operations to be sent to the vehicle and ensure that the vehicle has a mission objective that can be updated and executed at a future time when vehicle/environmental conditions of the aircraft match what is needed for the mission assigned.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event as this limitation allows for a variety of missions to be assigned to the aircraft and ensure the aircraft can execute the mission safely at a later time.
Regarding Claim 17 LISSAJOUX-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The method of claim 16, wherein a second aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an active aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states. (Pg. 11 – [0107] – “This recommendation can involve completing the name being entered on the basis of the type of aircraft (i.e. compatibility with the airport) and of its geographical position (for example, it will return the identifier corresponding to the closest airport, namely LFBO). In another example, the air traffic control can be in the process of granting a clearance (e.g. altitude clearance) to the aircraft via the ("Climb to reach FL 340") audio;” (equates to wherein a second aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an active aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states as the active aviation state was described to be optimal altitude control and this quote is showing the recommendation granting an altitude clearance for optimal altitude to be traveled at by the aircraft.))
Regarding Claim 19 LISSAJOUX-Lin teaches (Lissajoux teaches the following limitations:) The method of claim 16, wherein a fourth aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an inactive aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states. (Pg. 11 – [0109] – “For example, based on the data contained in the flight manuals, combined with the weather conditions of the day and with the configuration of the aeroplane, recommendations for the adjustment of the characteristic speeds for take-off (Vl, V2, VR, etc.) could be proposed to the crew.” (equates to wherein a fourth aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an inactive aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states. As the quote shows a recommendation or one or more aviation operations program being configured for take-off scenario which is equivalent to inactive aviation implementation state as seen by this application’s specification [0086]))
Regarding Claim 20 LISSAJOUX teaches A computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer program code stored thereon that, in execution with at least one processor, configures the computer program product for: (Pg. 15 – [0171] – “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… which program, when it is executed on a processor or on a plurality of processors, performs the functions of the previously described embodiments” ) identifying aviation operations program data representative of one or more aviation operations programs; (Pg. 14 – [0156] – “In one embodiment, the method further comprises the step involving determining a flying context similar to the received flying context, the adjustment recommendations include the adjustment recommendations of the similar flying context.” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0076] – “The "flying context" of the aircraft includes various types of data, in particular geo-referenced type data (e.g. position of the aircraft, latitude, longitude, altitude, orientation and speed, etc.),” (equates to identifying aviation operations program data representative of one or more aviation operations programs as the first quote shows the adjustment of the aircraft being done based on a flying context wherein the second quote shows the plurality of flying context attributes.) ) configuring the one or more aviation operations programs in accordance with at least one of a plurality of aviation implementation states, (Pg. 14 – [0156] – “In one embodiment, the method further comprises the step involving determining a flying context similar to the received flying context, the adjustment recommendations include the adjustment recommendations of the similar flying context.” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0083] – “In one embodiment, the determined avionics context is forwarded to one or more computers responsible for adjustment recommendations ( e.g. piloting)” (equates to configure the one or more aviation operations programs in accordance with at least one of a plurality of aviation implementation states as the aviation implementation states or the flying context of this art is used to generate recommendations (piloting the aircraft as seen in the second quote) or aviation operation programs.)) wherein a first aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an armed aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states; (Pg. 9 – [0077] – “The flying context of the aircraft particularly comprises the flight phases ( e.g. climb, descent, cruise, take-off, landing, etc.)” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0083] – “In one embodiment, the determined avionics context is forwarded to one or more computers responsible for adjustment recommendations ( e.g. piloting)” (equates to wherein a first aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with an armed aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states; as the first quote shows the implementation state or flying context lead to a landing designation wherein the context is used to generate a recommendation in which the piloting of the aircraft is done based upon and thus the aviation operations program of piloting and thus landing the aircraft is based on the armed aviation implementation state of landing as designated by the context generated. The first quote also shows a plurality of aviation implementation states as climb, landing etc. are mentioned and similarly piloting based on the generated context can then have a broad / plurality of programs to use the context designation. )) providing aviation mission data to an external aviation mission device; (Pg. 8 – [0050] – “One or more non-avionics systems can also communicate 124 with external computer resources that are accessible through the network (for example, "cloud computing" 125)” ) receive, from the external aviation mission device, (Pg. 2 – Fig. 1 & See Also Pg. 5 – [0006] – “According to this approach, recommendations are transmitted to the pilot on the basis of measurements that are performed and of the operating rules of the aircraft” (equates to receive, from the external aviation mission device as the onboard computer is in communication with external computing resources as seen by the first quote and the second quote showing the ability to transmit recommendations or aviation programs as previously mapped to the pilot.) ) receiving, from the external aviation mission device, (Pg. 2 – Fig. 1 & See Also Pg. 5 – [0006] – “According to this approach, recommendations are transmitted to the pilot on the basis of measurements that are performed and of the operating rules of the aircraft” (equates to receive, from the external aviation mission device as the onboard computer is in communication with external computing resources as seen by the first quote and the second quote showing the ability to transmit recommendations or aviation programs as previously mapped to the pilot.) ) first program implementation data in response to an aviation mission activation event; (Pg. 11 – [0106] – “In one embodiment, only some types of avionics context trigger a computation of recommendations. In one embodiment, an avionics context must meet one or more predetermined criteria or conditions in order to be able to trigger the computation of recommendations. In other words, requests for recommendations are sent when the context supports a certain number of conditions or parameters or triggers selected from the activation of variables contained in the context” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0006] – “According to this approach, recommendations are transmitted to the pilot on the basis of measurements that are performed and of the operating rules of the aircraft” (equates to first program implementation data in response to an aviation mission activation event as the second quote shows the ability of an external computer to send data to the pilot and the first quote showing the activation of context information being sent based on a triggering of an event.)) and initiating performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the first program implementation data. (Pg. 11 – [0106] – “In one embodiment, only some types of avionics context trigger a computation of recommendations. In one embodiment, an avionics context must meet one or more predetermined criteria or conditions in order to be able to trigger the computation of recommendations. In other words, requests for recommendations are sent when the context supports a certain number of conditions or parameters or triggers selected from the activation of variables contained in the context” & See Also Pg. 9 – [0083] – “In one embodiment, the determined avionics context is forwarded to one or more computers responsible for adjustment recommendations ( e.g. piloting)” (equates to and initiate performance of one or more aviation mission actions based on the first program implementation data as the first quote shows the initiation of the aviation context based on a trigger event or a first program implementation data and thus a recommendation is generated in which the performance of the mission is carried out.))
Yet Lissajoux fails to teach wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event.
Lin teaches wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event. (Pg. 3 – Fig. 2 - & See Also Pg. 5 – Fig. 4 - & See Also Pg. 23 – [0049 & 0050] – “The embodiments of the present disclosure provide a landing control method for an aircraft, which controls the aircraft to automatically land in a pre-set landing mode via a landing indication signal. The landing indication signal may be from a mobile terminal, such as a remote controller, a tablet computer, a cell phone, or an aircraft base station. [0050] In some embodiments, in the pre-set landing mode, the aircraft may acquire a current vertical distance between the aircraft and a landing point in real time, and carries out a corresponding action according to the current vertical distance. For example, the corresponding action may be changing the flight speed of the aircraft, e.g. increasing a current descending speed of the aircraft, or decreasing the current descending speed of the aircraft. The corresponding action may also be changing an attitude of the aircraft. For example, the aircraft may be controlled to move forward, backward, towards the left, or towards the right. The corresponding action may also be a landing preparation action, e.g. folding a landing gear, or retracting a sensor carried by the aircraft.” (equates to wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event as the figures and quote show a aviation operation program being equivalent to the landing request, and is ready for future execution as seen by the variety of variables that the aircraft has to meet before the aviation operation program is implemented. The aircraft in the quote is shown to change altitude or unfold landing gear prior to landing and thus the future execution of the aviation operation is attained by the following through of the speed, altitude, etc. requirements before the landing takes place.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lissajoux to include wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event as this allows for aircraft operations to be sent to the vehicle and ensure that the vehicle has a mission objective that can be updated and executed at a future time when vehicle/environmental conditions of the aircraft match what is needed for the mission assigned.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event as this limitation allows for a variety of missions to be assigned to the aircraft and ensure the aircraft can execute the mission safely at a later time.
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lissajoux-Lin as mapped above and in view of Ku et al. (KR 10-1680699 B1)
Regarding Claim 4 Lissajoux-Lin teaches The system of claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet Lissajoux-Lin fails to teach wherein a third aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with a cancelled aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states.
Ku teaches wherein a third aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with a cancelled aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states. (Pg. 8 – “the operation mode selection unit 35 cancels the ground operation mode and allows the self-operation mode based on the mission scenario to be performed” (equates to wherein a third aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with a cancelled aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states as the quote shows a plurality of aviation states existing within the cited art and an operation selection unit used to cancel one of the aviation states.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lissajoux to include wherein a third aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with a cancelled aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states as this allows for a cancellation of any of the previous or future states of the aircraft to be a readily selectable operation within the system ensuring a failsafe is embedded within the system.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein a third aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with a cancelled aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states as this allows for a selected state of the aircraft to not be ran allowing for another state within the plurality of states to be readily available for use.
Regarding Claim 5 Lissajoux-Lin-Ku teaches The system of claim 4, as previous mapped above.
Yet Lissajoux-Lin fails to teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a cancelled aviation implementation state indication to the external aviation mission device.
Ku teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a cancelled aviation implementation state indication to the external aviation mission device. (Pg. 8 – “the operation mode selection unit 35 cancels the ground operation mode and allows the self-operation mode based on the mission scenario to be performed” & See Also Pg. 7 – “That is, the air mission interlock device 30 receives the uplink signal from the ground center GC via the data link DL to control the air mission device 10, and transmits the mission results to the ground center GC” (equates to wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a cancelled aviation implementation state indication to the external aviation mission device. As the first quote shows the operation mode selection unit cancelling the aviation state and the second quote showing the ability to transmit the mission results via a data link to a ground center away from the aircraft.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lissajoux to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a cancelled aviation implementation state indication to the external aviation mission device as this allows for a cancelled mission operation to take place and a remote control center being updated with the information allowing for better understanding of the aircraft’s aviation state.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a cancelled aviation implementation state indication to the external aviation mission device as this allows for a single aircraft intention to be understood by a remote control center ensuring the state of the aircraft and therefor the intention are known by more than the crew on board.
Regarding Claim 18 Lissajoux-Lin teaches The method of claim 16, as previously mapped above.
Yet Lissajoux-Lin fails to teach wherein a third aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with a cancelled aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states.
Ku Teaches wherein a third aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with a cancelled aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states. (Pg. 8 – “the operation mode selection unit 35 cancels the ground operation mode and allows the self-operation mode based on the mission scenario to be performed” (equates to wherein a third aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with a cancelled aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states as the quote shows a plurality of aviation states existing within the cited art and an operation selection unit used to cancel one of the aviation states.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lissajoux to include wherein a third aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with a cancelled aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states as this allows for a cancellation of any of the previous or future states of the aircraft to be a readily selectable operation within the system ensuring a failsafe is embedded within the system.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein a third aviation operations program of the one or more aviation operations programs is configured in accordance with a cancelled aviation implementation state of the plurality of aviation implementation states as this allows for a selected state of the aircraft to not be ran allowing for another state within the plurality of states to be readily available for use.
Response to Arguments
Response to 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection of claims 1-3, 6-17, and 19-20 applicant’s amendments to the claim changes the scope. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues on Pages 1-3 , “Rejection of Claims 1-3, 6-17, and 19-20 Claims 1-3, 6-17, and 19-20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as allegedly being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0389565 Al (hereinafter "LISSAJOUX").
The Applicant submits that LISSAJOUX does not anticipate, either inherently or expressly, describe the feature of "wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event;" as recited in independent claim 1. (Emphasis added.)
The Applicant respectfully traverses in part and amends in part. The Applicant has amended the claims for clarification. The Applicant therefore respectfully requests reconsideration of the rejection of claims 1-3, 6-17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIS SAJOUX.
LISSAJOUX appears to generally describe a pilot-assistance system for an aircraft in which avionics-type data associated with a flying context is forwarded to a non-avionics computer so that the adjustment recommendations for on-board equipment may be determined and displayed. (See LISSAJOUX at Abstract and Paragraph [0008]). Further, LISSAJOUX generally describes that the flying context includes various aircraft-related data and flight phases, including climb, descent, cruise, take-off, and landing. (See LISSAJOUX at Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]). Furthermore, LISSAJOUX generally describes that only some avionics contexts trigger computation of recommendations, and that requests for recommendations are sent when the context satisfies selected conditions, parameters, or triggers. (See LISSAJOUX at Paragraph [0106]).
However, the cited portions of LISSAJOUX do not describe the armed aviation implementation state limitation as amended, including that the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event.
LISSAJOUX further generally describes flying context data, including flight phases such as climb, descent, cruise, take-off, and landing, and generally describes forwarding the determined avionics context to one or more computers responsible for adjustment recommendations. (See LISSAJOUX at Paragraphs [0076]-[0077] and Paragraph [0083]). LISSAJOUX also generally describes that only some avionics contexts trigger computation of recommendations and that requests for recommendations are sent when the context supports selected conditions, parameters, or triggers. (See LISSA JOUXat Paragraph [0106]). LIS SAJOUX indicates that a recommendation is generally non-binding and may or may not be followed by actions. (See LISSAJOUX at Paragraphs [0019] and [0024]). LISSAJOUX also generally describes that adjustment recommendations are sent to the avionics to be optionally submitted to the crew, which may confirm, reject, or defer a decision, and that an adjustment recommendation displayed on or in the avionics may be confirmed by crew action before becoming an adjustment of the avionics equipment. (See LISSAJOUX at Paragraphs [0097] and [0137]).
In contrast, amended claim 1 recites that the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event. Specifically, the armed aviation implementation state refers to a condition in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution, but not actively needed at the current moment during an aviation mission. The program is essentially "armed," meaning it is prepared in advance so it can be executed automatically or promptly when a specific mission activation event occurs. Thus, the cited portions of LISSAJOUX do not describe the armed aviation implementation state limitation as amended. (emphasis added)
Therefore, LISSAJOUX does not anticipate, either inherently or expressly, describe the amended feature of "wherein the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event;" as recited in independent claim 1.
The Applicant submits that independent claims 16 and 20, as well as dependent claims 2, 3, 6-15, 17, and 19, are also not anticipated by the reference cited in the Office Action at least for the reasons stated above with regard to amended independent claim 1 and amended independent claim 16.” - Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-17, and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claims 4, 5, and 18 applicant’s amendments to the claim changes the scope. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
b. Applicant agues on page 3, - “claims 4, 5, and 18 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over LISSAJOUX in view of Ku et al. (KR 10-1680699 B1).
The Applicant submits that the rejection of claims 4, 5, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be withdrawn at least because the base rejection of independent claims 1 and 16 over LISSAJOUX is not well founded for the reasons stated above. Ku (KR 10-1680699 B1) is relied upon only for the cancelled aviation implementation state limitations and does not cure the deficiency in LISSAJOUX discussed above with respect to amended claims 1 and 16, including that the armed aviation implementation state comprises a configuration in which an aviation operations program is configured and ready for future execution upon occurrence of an aviation mission activation event.
Accordingly, the Applicant submits that dependent claims 4, 5, and 18 are not taught, suggested, or rendered obvious over combination of LISSAJOUX in view of Ku. Therefore, the Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection of claims 4, 5, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be withdrawn.” – As to Point B See Point A.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20200073412 - In one embodiment, a method is performed by a computer system in an aircraft. The method includes receiving an advance indication of a take-off or landing event to be executed by the aircraft in proximity to a landing area such that the landing area includes an arrangement of a plurality of emitters of electromagnetic radiation. The method further includes, responsive to the receiving, detecting, via a sensor in communication with the computer system, emission states of at least some of the plurality of emitters. In addition, the method includes transforming the detected emission states into an instruction set for the take-off or landing event. The method also includes initiating monitoring of the aircraft relative to the instruction set as the aircraft executes the take-off or landing event in proximity to the landing area.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
6/4/26