Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 09/30/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “…wherein the power harvesting unit is configured to provide power to measurement circuitry of the sensor unit using power drawn from the measurement tap.” in lines 2-3 of Claim 9. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “measurement tap between the first capacitor and the second capacitor” disclosed earlier in Claim 8 or if it refers to a different “measurement tap”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation in question to “the measurement tap between the first capacitor and the second capacitor”.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “…wherein the power harvesting unit is configured to provide power to measurement circuitry of the sensor unit using power drawn from a measurement tap.” in lines 2-3 of Claim 19. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “measurement tap” disclosed earlier in Claim 11, the “measurement tap between the first capacitor and the second capacitor” disclosed earlier in Claim 18 or if it refers to a different “measurement tap”. Please make the proper correction.
Claim 10 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as it further limits Claim 9.
Claim 20 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as it further limits Claim 19.
Please make the proper corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nulty US 2016/0061862 (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Nulty).
Regarding claim 1, Nulty teaches a system (Fig. 3b; sensor system, 300) configured to measure an electrical property of a power line (Fig. 3b; Abstract; sensor system, 300) comprising a first wire (Fig. 3b; hot wire, 370) and a second wire (Fig. 3b; neutral wire, 372), the system (Fig. 3b; sensor system, 300) comprising:
a sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310) including a first capacitor (Fig. 3b; first capacitor, 362), the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310) configured to be connected to the first wire (Fig. 3b; hot wire, 370); and
a second capacitor (Fig. 3b; second capacitor, 364) configured to be connected to the first capacitor (Fig. 3b; first capacitor, 362) and also to the second wire (Fig. 3b; neutral wire, 372),
wherein the second capacitor is larger than the first capacitor (Fig. 3b; [0065]; “In some embodiments, the second capacitor 364 may be larger than the first capacitor 362.”).
Regarding claim 2, Nulty further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first wire is an underground power line (Fig. 3b; hot wire, 370).
Regarding claim 3, Nulty further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the sensor unit is sized and shaped for attachment to a medium voltage overhead power line (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310).
Regarding claim 4, Nulty further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second capacitor is external to a housing (Fig. 3b; housing, 308) of the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; second capacitor, 364).
Regarding claim 5, Nulty further teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the second capacitor (Fig. 3b; second capacitor, 364) is configured to be connected to the first capacitor (Fig. 3b; first capacitor, 362) via a port of the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310).
Regarding claim 6, Nulty further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first capacitor (Fig. 3b; first capacitor, 362) and the second capacitor (Fig. 3b; second capacitor, 364) are configured to form a capacitive voltage divider (Fig. 3b; [0064]; capacitive voltage divider; “For example, voltage sensor 354b may be connected to a capacitive voltage divider to measure a portion of the voltage on hot wire 370. A capacitive voltage divider may be created in any suitable way to divide the voltage from the hot wire 370.”) between the first wire (Fig. 3b; hot wire, 370) and the second wire (Fig. 3b; neutral wire, 372).
Regarding claim 7, Nulty further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein measurement circuitry (Fig. 3b; measurement circuitry, 354) of the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310) is configured to sense a voltage of the first wire (Fig. 3b; [0063]; measurement circuitry, 354; voltage sensor, 354;b “For example, measurement circuitry 354 may include a voltage sensor 354b configured to sense and measure a voltage from hot wire 370.”) at a measurement tap (Fig. 3b; tap, 366) between the first capacitor (Fig. 3b; first capacitor, 362) and the second capacitor (Fig. 3b; second capacitor, 364).
Regarding claim 8, Nulty further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein measurement circuitry (Fig. 3b; measurement circuitry, 354) of the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310) is configured to sense a current of the first wire (Fig. 3b; [0067]; measurement circuitry, 354; current sensor, 354c; “Measurement circuitry 354 may also contain circuitry to measure current on hot wire 370. For example, current sensor 354c may be implemented using any suitable current sensor to sense a current signal on the wire.”) at a measurement tap (Fig. 3b; tap, 366) between the first capacitor (Fig. 3b; first capacitor, 362) and the second capacitor (Fig. 3b; second capacitor, 364).
Regarding claim 9, Nulty further teaches the system of claim 8, further including a power harvesting unit (Fig. 3b; power harvesting unit, 354a) disposed in a housing (Fig. 3b; housing, 308) of the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310), wherein the power harvesting unit (Fig. 3b; power harvesting unit, 354a) is configured to provide power (Fig. 3b; power harvesting unit, 354a) to measurement circuitry (Fig. 3b; measurement circuitry, 354) of the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310) using power drawn from the measurement tap (Fig. 3b; tap, 366).
Regarding claim 10, Nulty further teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the power harvesting unit (Fig. 3b; power harvesting unit, 354a) includes an energy storage device (Fig. 3b; power unit; 352; From [0072]: “Power unit 352 may include any suitable energy storage device, for example, a battery or a super-capacitor, and power electronics known in the art to facilitate the charge transfer.”) and wherein capacitive voltage divider (Fig. 3b; [0064]; capacitive voltage divider; “For example, voltage sensor 354b may be connected to a capacitive voltage divider to measure a portion of the voltage on hot wire 370. A capacitive voltage divider may be created in any suitable way to divide the voltage from the hot wire 370.”) is configured to provide a charging current to the power harvesting unit (Fig. 3b; power harvesting unit, 354a).
Regarding claim 11, Nulty teaches a sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310) configured to measure an electrical property of a power line (Fig. 3b; Abstract; sensor system, 300; sensor unit, 310) comprising a first wire (Fig. 3b; hot wire, 370) and a second wire (Fig. 3b; neutral wire, 372), the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310) comprising:
a first capacitor (Fig. 3b; first capacitor, 362) configured to be connected to the first wire (Fig. 3b; hot wire, 370),
measurement circuitry (Fig. 3b; measurement circuitry, 354) connected to the first capacitor (Fig. 3b; hot wire, 370) at a measurement tap (Fig. 3b; tap, 366), and
a power harvesting unit (Fig. 3b; power harvesting unit, 354a) configured to power the measurement circuitry (Fig. 3b; measurement circuitry, 354) using power drawn from the measurement tap (Fig. 3b; tap, 366).
Regarding claim 12, Nulty further teaches the sensor unit of claim 11, wherein the first wire is an underground power line (Fig. 3b; hot wire, 370).
Regarding claim 13, Nulty further teaches the sensor unit of claim 11, wherein the sensor unit is sized and shaped for attachment to a medium voltage overhead power line (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310).
Regarding claim 14, Nulty further teaches the sensor unit of claim 11, wherein the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310) is configured to connect to a second capacitor (Fig. 3b; second capacitor, 364) external to a housing (Fig. 3b; housing, 308) of the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310).
Regarding claim 15, Nulty further teaches the sensor unit of claim 14, further including: a housing (Fig. 3b; housing, 308); and a port (Fig. 3b; [0060]; “Sensor unit 310 may include a plurality of ports in housing 308 for interfacing with components used in making measurements or other functions.”) disposed on a surface of the housing (Fig. 3b; housing, 308) and configured to connect to the second capacitor (Fig. 3b; second capacitor, 364).
Regarding claim 16, Nulty further teaches the sensor unit of claim 11, wherein the first capacitor (Fig. 3b; first capacitor, 362) and a second capacitor (Fig. 3b; second capacitor, 364) are configured to form a capacitive voltage divider (Fig. 3b; [0064]; capacitive voltage divider; “For example, voltage sensor 354b may be connected to a capacitive voltage divider to measure a portion of the voltage on hot wire 370. A capacitive voltage divider may be created in any suitable way to divide the voltage from the hot wire 370.”) between the first wire (Fig. 3b; hot wire, 370) and the second wire (Fig. 3b; neutral wire, 372).
Regarding claim 17, Nulty further teaches the sensor unit of claim 11, wherein measurement circuitry (Fig. 3b; measurement circuitry, 354) of the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310) is configured to sense a voltage of the first wire (Fig. 3b; [0063]; measurement circuitry, 354; voltage sensor, 354;b “For example, measurement circuitry 354 may include a voltage sensor 354b configured to sense and measure a voltage from hot wire 370.”) at a measurement tap (Fig. 3b; tap, 366) between the first capacitor (Fig. 3b; first capacitor, 362) and a second capacitor (Fig. 3b; second capacitor, 364).
Regarding claim 18, Nulty further teaches the sensor unit of claim 11, wherein measurement circuitry (Fig. 3b; measurement circuitry, 354) of the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310) is configured to sense a current of the first wire (Fig. 3b; [0067]; measurement circuitry, 354; current sensor, 354c; “Measurement circuitry 354 may also contain circuitry to measure current on hot wire 370. For example, current sensor 354c may be implemented using any suitable current sensor to sense a current signal on the wire.”) at a measurement tap (Fig. 3b; tap, 366) between the first capacitor (Fig. 3b; first capacitor, 362) and a second capacitor (Fig. 3b; second capacitor, 364).
Regarding claim 19, Nulty further teaches the sensor unit of claim 18, further including a power harvesting unit (Fig. 3b; power harvesting unit, 354a) disposed in a housing (Fig. 3b; housing, 308) of the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310), wherein the power harvesting unit (Fig. 3b; power harvesting unit, 354a) is configured to provide power (Fig. 3b; power harvesting unit, 354a) to measurement circuitry (Fig. 3b; measurement circuitry, 354) of the sensor unit (Fig. 3b; sensor unit, 310) using power drawn from a measurement tap (Fig. 3b; tap, 366).
Regarding claim 20, Nulty further teaches the sensor unit of claim 19, wherein the power harvesting unit (Fig. 3b; power harvesting unit, 354a) includes an energy storage device (Fig. 3b; power unit; 352; From [0072]: “Power unit 352 may include any suitable energy storage device, for example, a battery or a super-capacitor, and power electronics known in the art to facilitate the charge transfer.”) and wherein capacitive voltage divider (Fig. 3b; [0064]; capacitive voltage divider; “For example, voltage sensor 354b may be connected to a capacitive voltage divider to measure a portion of the voltage on hot wire 370. A capacitive voltage divider may be created in any suitable way to divide the voltage from the hot wire 370.”) is configured to provide a charging current to the power harvesting unit (Fig. 3b; power harvesting unit, 354a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Laglenne et al. US 2020/0006930 - A system for monitoring current and voltage from a power source or load at the tap wire connected to an overhead distribution power line, the distribution power line being spaced apart from the ground is provided. The system includes a current clamp sensor coupled to the tap wire and spaced apart from the distribution power line. A sensor is insulated body coupled to the current clamp, the sensor body being configured to simultaneously measure voltage on the overhead distribution power line and current of the tap wire prior to the distribution power line.
Rostron et al. US 2018/0210023 - A capacitor status monitor that attaches across the bushings on the exterior of a capacitor container (commonly referred to as a “can”). The capacitor status monitor, which draws operating power from the power line, detects the internal impedance of the capacitor can to detect internal failures down to the level of a single capacitor pack. The monitor may include a radio transmitter and/or a visual status indicator, such as an electronic flag, indicating the detection of an internal capacitor failure. The monitor may also include a power supply current transformer providing power to the monitor from the power line.
Kirchner US 2012/0061964 - A control system for a power plant is provided, configured to influence actual HV characteristics of an HV power line at a point-of-interconnection to a grid. The control system includes an MV-compliant measurement system configured for connection with an MV power line of the power plant, and an evaluation unit. The evaluation unit is connected to the MV-compliant measurement system and is configured to determine calculated HV characteristics of the HV power line based on measurement values received from the MV-compliant measurement system at the MV power line and based on a model of a transformer. The transformer transforms from medium voltage on the MV power line to high voltage on the HV power line.
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858