DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/10/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN10167489A).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches (see Fig. 1-4) a heat exchanger comprising: a hollow fairing (see walls of boiler Fig. 1 including wall 15.1); a heat exchanger core (heater 7/evaporator 8) disposed in the hollow fairing and comprising a plurality of fluid conduits (pipes 15.5); at least one external manifold (header 15.6) disposed external to the hollow fairing and fluidly coupled to the plurality of fluid conduits; and at least one compliant support structure (expanding structure 15) connected to the at least one external manifold, the at least one compliant support structure comprising: a first support leg (sealing plate 15.4) extending from the at least one external manifold; a second support leg (protective plate 15.2) extending from the hollow fairing toward the first support leg, the second support leg separated from the first support leg by a first gap; and a compliant member (ripple expansion joint 15.3) connected to one or both of the first support leg and the second support leg.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wang further discloses the compliant member (15.3) bridges the first gap and connects the first support leg to the second support leg.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Wang further discloses the compliant member is a sleeve (15.3) that receives an end of the first support leg and an end of the second support leg (see ends thereof).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Wang further discloses
the first gap (gap bridged with 15.3) has a length extending from a free end of the first support leg to a free end of the second support leg greater than a combined linear thermal growth length of the first support leg and the second support leg.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Wang further discloses the at least one external manifold is an inlet manifold and wherein the at least one external manifold further includes an outlet manifold and wherein the at least one compliant support structure is a first compliant structure and further comprises a second compliant support structure connected to the outlet manifold (see Fig. 1, in which expanding joint structure 15 is applied to both the inlet and outlet headers of 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN10167489A) in view of Hahn (US5716158A).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Wang does not teach the compliant member is formed of a polymer.
Hahn teaches wherein the compliant member is a polymer (abstract – nylon, polyester, neoprene).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include the polymeric compliant material of Hahn, in order to increase service life (see abstract).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN10167489A) in view of Feng (CN203642779U).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Wang does not teach wherein the first and second support legs are formed of a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion and the compliant member is formed of a second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion, the second coefficient of thermal expansion greater than the first coefficient of thermal expansion.
Feng teaches the first and second support legs are formed of a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion and the compliant member is formed of a second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion, the second coefficient of thermal expansion greater than the first coefficient of thermal expansion (see ¶[0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include the coefficients of thermal expansion as taught by Feng, as it has been held obvious to try (see MPEP 2143). In the instant case, as taught by Feng, such a material properties appears suitable for the purpose of providing an expansion joint for a heat exchanger.
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN10167489A).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Wang further teaches . the compliant member is a spring-like member (15.3) with the first and second support legs, however, is silent to wherein it is integrally formed, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to provide such an integral forming thereof, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. (B).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Wang does not teach the at least one compliant support structure further comprises: a third support leg extending from the at least one external manifold; a fourth support leg extending from the hollow fairing or an external structure of the heat exchanger toward the third support leg, the fourth support leg separated from the third support leg by a second gap; and a compliant member connected to one or both of the third support leg and the fourth support leg, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to duplicate the first and second leg as detailed above, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763