DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Applicant’s Reply filed 1/29/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are pending.
Claims 4-5 and 9-14 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Takemori (US Pub. 2022/0028719) in view of Takasaki (US Pub. 2013/0286533) and Araki (US Pub. 2022/0026151).
Examiner notes Takemori was cited by the Applicant in the IDS filed 9/30/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Takemori teaches a ceramic susceptor (Fig. 3, entirety) comprising: a base substrate (Fig. 3, outermost sidewalls) having a gas flow path ([0021] and Fig. 3, hole part #7) configured to supply cooling gas ([0021]: helium gas); an insulating plate fixed on the base substrate ([0014] and Fig. 3, top insulating/ceramic base #1 and joining material #3; [0020]: #3 can be silicone resin) and having a gas hole ([0021] and Fig. 3, hole #9); and a pore structure ([0014] and Fig. 3, sleeve #10 and porous member #5) configured to allow the gas flow path and the gas hole to communicate with each other between the base substrate and the insulating plate (see Fig. 3 and [0023]), the pore structure including a support ([0023] and Fig. 3, sleeve #10) fixed to a groove of the base substrate (see Fig. 3) and having a communication hole configured to communicate with the gas flow path (see Fig. 3), a porous filter ([0014] and Fig. 3, porous member #5) embedded between the communication hole and the gas hole on the support (see Fig. 3), and a fluid stopper disposed on an outer side surface of the support ([0014] and Fig. 3, annular member #4), wherein a bonding agent ([0033] and Fig. 3, resin member #12; [0037]: may comprise the same silicone resin material as #3) bonding the base substrate and the insulating plate is confined in a space between the base substrate and the support by the fluid stopper (see Fig. 3, bounded by base, #10, and #4), and wherein the porous filter extends beyond a top surface of the support, protrudes toward the insulating plate (Fig. 3, member #5 and additional structure vertically thereabove extends above #3 and #10), and is disposed between a seating groove of the support and a groove of the insulating plate (Fig. 2, #5 and additional structure vertically thereabove occupy a volume in between #10 and #1).
Takemori does not explicitly teach wherein the fluid stopper is made of silicone ([0029]: broadly acknowledges a variety of materials can be used, for example fluorine resin).
However, Takasaki teaches wherein a fluid stopper is made of silicone (Takasaki – [0026] and Fig. 1, o-rings #44).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the fluorine resin fluid stopper of Takemori to comprise the silicone rubber materials according to Takasaki as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Both Takemori and Takasaki teach elastomeric fluid stoppers for CVD apparatuses containing substrate supports, thus a PHOSITA would reasonably consider the two materials to be interchangeable. Additionally, the courts have held that the selection of a known material for its recognized suitability for an intended purpose is supportive of prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.07.
Modified Takemori does not teach wherein the seating groove has a diameter larger than the communication hole, wherein the support includes a first portion disposed at a location corresponding to the seating groove, and a second portion disposed at a location corresponding to the communication hole, and wherein the first portion has a larger outer diameter than the second portion.
However, Araki teaches this limitation (Araki - [0057] and any of Fig. 5; wider top of insert as compared to lower end with corresponding groove).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Takemori apparatus to comprise a flared top portion similar to Araki in order to suppress overvoltage from passing into the plate body which suppresses arcing (Araki – [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Takemori teaches wherein the fluid stopper includes a ring-shaped sealing member disposed in a groove formed along a perimeter of the support (see #4 around #10 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Takemori teaches wherein the ring-shaped sealing member includes a circular cross-sectional shape (see #4 in Fig. 3, circular cross-section).
Regarding claim 7, Takemori teaches wherein the fluid stopper is disposed at a position of 50 to 80% of a total height of the support (see Figs. 1 and 3, #4 appears positioned at approximately 50% of the height of #10).
Regarding claim 8, (Examiner’s note: this claim is interpreted according to the instant Spec such that the bonding agent comprise silicones – see pgs. 12-14 as filed). In accordance, Takemori teaches wherein the bonding agent comprises silicone ([0033] and Fig. 3, resin member #12; [0037]: may comprise the same silicone resin material as #3).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takemori (US Pub. 2022/0028719), Takasaki (US Pub. 2013/0286533), and Araki (US Pub. 2022/0026151), as applied to claims 1-3 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Noorbakhsh (US Pub. 2021/0134554).
The limitations of claims 1-3 and 7-8 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 6, Takemori teaches a gap between the base substrate and the support within the groove of the base substrate ([0028] and Fig. 3, gap between #10 and #2).
Modified Takemori does not explicitly teach wherein the gap is 0.1 to 0.8 mm.
However, Noorbakhsh teaches wherein a substrate support gap is 0.1 to 0.8mm (Noorbakhsh – [0041] and Figs. 3-4, gaps #312/#326 set to 0.25-0.75 mm).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to set the gap of Takemori to between the claimed range since Noorbakhsh teaches such a dimension reduces/prevents arcing within the substrate support (Noorbakhsh – [0041]). The courts have also held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, prima facie obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments concerning the §103 rejections have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
First, Applicant alleges that the combination of references fail to teach or suggest the “porous-filter protrusion and groove-to-groove insertion” (Remarks, pg. 7). For clarity, the Examiner notes that these features are not claimed in this way. Claim 1 recites, inter alia, “wherein the porous filter extends beyond a top surface of the support, protrudes toward the insulating plate, and is disposed between a seating groove of the support and a groove of the insulating plate”. The Examiner respectfully submits that the prior art reasonably teaches the features of the claim, contrary to Applicant’s assertion.
The Examiner looks to Takemori to teach this limitation, stating on pg. 4 of the previous Office action:
The Applicant notably omits the additional structure above member #5 in the rebuttal to the Examiner’s rejection. This additional structure is crucial to the rejection. As Applicant has not addressed this member, these arguments are moot because they do not fully and accurately address the rejection.
Second, Applicant alleges that “the protrusion of the sleeve or porous member from Takemori’s figures would require an unsupported assumption, and thus does not provide a teaching, motivation, or suggestion for the claimed porous-filter configuration” (Remarks, pg. 8).
This argument is confusing because it is unclear how the features identified in Takemori would “require an unsupported assumption”- the Applicant has not explained this point in any detail.
The Examiner posits that the “unsupported assumption” mentioned by Applicant may be referencing the Examiner’s argument in the Final Rejection dated 5/1/2025 (pg. 7):
The Examiner notes that, critically, the Applicant did not rebut this particular argument in their previous reply (dated 7/29/2025) to said Final Action, nor have they rebutted it in the most recent reply (dated 1/29/2026). If the Examiner’s argument to the “additional structure” is the “unsupported assumption” mentioned by the Applicant, the Applicant is encouraged to provide a clear and concise rebuttal of this position.
Absent any particular rebuttal, the Examiner has no choice but to maintain the rejection- the Applicant merely asserts that the position is an “unsupported assumption” without any explanation.
Additionally, the “teaching, motivation, or suggestion” Applicant alleges as lacking is an incorrect application of obviousness rationales. The features identified above by the Examiner are fully taught and detailed by a single reference- Takemori-. As such, there is no obviousness rejection made over the features as taught solely by Takemori. Since this is the case, the arguments are moot because they do not fully and accurately address the rejection.
Third, Applicant alleges that “the fluid-stopper/bonding-agent confinement achieves a different problem-solution pairing than the cited art” (Remarks, pg. 8). This argument is not persuasive because there is no requirement in law or procedure that requires the prior art to disclose the same “problem-solution pairing” as the claimed/disclosed invention.
On the contrary, the courts have held that the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
For at least these reasons, the §103 rejections are maintained in their entirety as previously presented in the Office Action dated 10/31/2025.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kurt Sweely/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718