Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US20230403376A1 in view of Li US20220011625Al
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an aftermarket dimmable sunroof (100, [0010], [0071]; fig. 15), designed to be installed onto the sunroof of a vehicle, characterized in that it
includes, in order from top to bottom, a heat insulating solar film (60), a first adhesive layer (10), a liquid crystal dimming layer (30), a second adhesive layer ( 10), and a substrate (11), which are laminated in a sandwich type arrangement (fig. 15); said aftermarket dimmable sunroof (100, [0010], [0071]) is fixedly installed on the inner side of the original sunroof glass (11) of the vehicle by an adhesive or mechanical fixation structure ([0071]); said liquid crystal dimming layer (30) comprises at least one layer of liquid crystal dimming film ([0053]; [0054]) used for regulating the transmittance of the aftermarket dimmable sunroof ([0053]; [0054]); said substrate
(11) is made of transparent material ([0053]), and said substrate is used for maintaining the mechanical integrity of the aftermarket dimmable sunroof (fig. 15; [0071]) and providing attachment points to be attached to inner side of the original sunroof ([0010], [0071]).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose said liquid crystal material within the liquid crystal dimming film comprises liquid crystal molecules, chiral dopants, and dye molecules; when electricity is supplied to the liquid crystal dimming layer, it is transparent with a transmittance range of 5%-70%; when the power supply to the liquid crystal dimming layer is cut off, it is in a dark state, with a transmittance range of 0.1%-15%.
Li teaches said liquid crystal material within the liquid crystal dimming film (214) comprises liquid crystal molecules ([0059]), chiral dopants ([0085]-[0086]), and dye molecules ([0061]); when electricity is supplied to the liquid crystal dimming layer (214), it is transparent with a transmittance range of 5%-70% ([0080]); when the power supply to the liquid crystal dimming layer (214) is cut off, it is in a dark state, with a transmittance range of 0.1%-15%
([0081]) for the purpose of allowing fast adjustment of the light transmittance to provide improved visibility to a user ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dimmable sunroof of Wang to include the dimmable film of Li for the purpose of allowing fast adjustment of the light transmittance to provide improved visibility to a user ([0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang and Li teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to
claim 1, Wang further teaches characterized in that the heat insulating solar film (60) is a
reflective heat insulating solar film capable of reflecting infrared and ultraviolet radiation ([0074)).
Regarding claim 3, Wang and Li teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim 1, Li further teaches characterized in that the liquid crystal material within the liquid crystal dimming layer is a PDLC material (0059)), capable of switching between transparency and opaqueness ([0080]), when electricity is supplied to the liquid crystal dimming layer ([0080]), it is in a transparent state with a transmittance range of 5%-80% ([0080]); when the power supply to the liquid crystal dimming layer is cut off ([0081]). it is in a dark state, with a transmittance range of 0.5%-20% ([0081]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang and Li teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim I, Li further taches characterized in that the material of said substrate is one of PC, PET, PMMA, PVC, PP, TAC ((0036)).
Regarding claim 5, Wang and Li teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim 1, Wang further teaches characterized in that said first adhesive layer and said second adhesive layer are made of one of OCA, PVB, EVA, TPU ([0052)).
Regarding claim 7, Wang and Li teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim 1, Li further teaches characterized in that said liquid crystal dimming film (fig. 3a) comprises a first substrate layer (302), a first conductive layer (304), a liquid crystal layer (200), a second conductive layer (306), and a second substrate layer (308) stacked in a sequential order (fig. 3a); said aftermarket dimmable sunroof further comprises a drive module ([0044)), said drive module ([0044]) being electrically connected to said first conductive layer (304) and said second conductive layer (306), respectively, for applying a drive voltage ([0044]; [0 I 00]) to said first conductive layer (304) and said second conductive layer (306).
Regarding claim 8, Wang and Li teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim 7, Li further teaches characterized in that said drive module ([0044)) comprises a power supply ([0075]-[0079]), a control chip and a switch ([0075]-[0079]), and said control chip ([0044]) is electrically connected to said first conductive layer (304), said second conductive layer (306), said power supply and said switch , respectively ([0075]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang and Li teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim 8, characterized in that said power source comprises a transparent solar film (40; [0071]), said transparent solar film (40) being attached to the side of said insulating solar film (fig. 11) facing outward relative to the cockpit of the vehicle (0071]); or said power source comprises a rechargeable battery; or said power source comprises an automotive battery.
Claims 6, 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li US20230403376A1 in view of Wang US20220011625Al in further view of Niyama US20160252769Al
Regarding claim 6, Wang and Li teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim 1, however do not explicitly disclose characterized in that the thickness of said first
adhesive layer and said second adhesive layer ranges from 0.05 mm to 2 mm, and the thickness of said substrate ranges from 2 mm to 5 mm.
Niiyama teaches that the thickness of said first adhesive layer (4) and said second adhesive layer (5) ranges from 0.05 mm to 2 mm ([0043]; [0078]), and the thickness of said substrate (2) ranges from 2 mm to 5 mm ([0038]) for the purpose of easily bonding a display device to a transparent support such as a glass plate and which can fix the display device ([0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sunroof of Wang to include the thicknesses of the adhesive layers and substrate as taught by Niiyama for the purpose of easily bonding a display device to a transparent support such as a glass plate and which can fix the display device ([0023]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches an aftermarket dimmable sunroof (100, [0010],
[0071], fig. 15), characterized in that it includes, from top to bottom, a reflective heat-insulating solar film (60), a first adhesive layer (10), a liquid crystal dimming layer (30), a second adhesive layer (10), and a substrate (11), which are laminated in a sandwich type arrangement (fig. 15); said aftermarket dimmable sunroof (100, [0010], [0071)) is fixedly installed on the inner side of the original sunroof glass (11) of the vehicle by an adhesive or mechanical fixation structure ([0071)); said liquid crystal dimming layer (30) comprises at least one layer of liquid crystal
dimming film ([0053]; [0054]) for regulating the transmittance of the aftermarket dimmable sunroof ([0053], [0054]).
Wang does not explicitly disclose a polycarbonate (PC) substrate, GH guest-host dye
liquid crystal material, and when electricity is supplied to the liquid crystal dimming layer, it is transparent with a transmittance range of 5%-70%; when the power supply to the liquid crystal dimming layer is cut off, it is in a dark state, with a transmittance range of 0.1%-15%.
Li teaches a polycarbonate {PC) substrate {[0036]), GH guest-host dye liquid crystal material ([0028]), and when electricity is supplied to the liquid crystal dimming layer {214), it is transparent with a transmittance range of 5%-70% ([0080]); when the power supply to the liquid crystal dimming layer (214) is cut off, it is in a dark state, with a transmittance range of 0.1%-15% ([0081]) for the purpose of allowing fast adjustments of the light transmittance to provide improved visibility to a user ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the sunroof of Wang to include the dimmable film of Li for the purpose of allowing fast adjustments of the light transmittance to provide improved visibility to a user ([0004]).
Wang and Li also do not explicitly disclose a substrate with a thickness of 2 mm. Niiyama teaches the thickness of said substrate (2) ranges from 2 mm to 5 mm ([0038])
for the purpose of easily bonding a display device to a transparent support such as a glass plate and which can fix the display device ([0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sunroof of Wang to include the thicknesses of the
substrate as taught by Niiyama for the purpose of easily bonding a display device to a transparent support such as a glass plate and which can fix the display device ((0023]).
Regarding claim 12, Wang, Li, and Niiyama teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim 11, Li further teaches characterized in that the liquid crystal dimming film (fig. 3a) includes a first substrate layer (302), a first conductive layer (304), a liquid crystal layer (200), a second conductive layer (306), and a second substrate layer (308) stacked in a sequential order (fig. 3a); said liquid crystal material within the liquid crystal layer (200) is a GH guest-host dye liquid crystal ([0028]) that dissolves dichroic dyes to form a host-guest relationship ([0082]), achieving light absorption or transmission through an external electric field to change the transmittance ([0082]) of the liquid crystal dimming layer (200).
Regarding claim 15, Wang, Li, and Niiyama teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim 11, Wang teaches the first adhesive layer (10) and the second adhesive layer(10) are made of polyvinyl butyral (PVB) material ([0052]) and Niiyama further teaches characterized in that the first adhesive layer (4) and the second adhesive layer (5) each with a thickness of 2 mm ([0043]; [0078]).
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US20230403376A1 in view of Li US20220011625Al in further view of Kim US20250193619Al
Regarding claim 10, Wang and Li teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim 7, however does not explicitly disclose characterized in that said drive module further comprises a voice control module and a wireless control module.
Kim teaches a vehicle control system (100; fig. 7) characterized in that said drive module (631; [0204]); further comprises a voice control module (211; [0088]) and a wireless control module (430; [0168]) for the purpose of controlling the sunroof ([0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the dimmable sunroof of Wang to include the control unit of Kim for the purpose of controlling the sunroof ([0204]).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li US20230403376A1 in view of Wang US20220011625Al in further view of Niyama US20160252769Al in further view of Kim US20250193619Al
Regarding claim 13, Wang, Li, and Niiyama teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim 11 or 12, Li further teaches characterized in that it further includes a drive module ([0044]), however do not explicitly disclose the module directly mounted on the vehicle's center console, connected to the vehicle's infotainment system for controlling the transmittance of the aftermarket dimmable sunroof through the infotainment system; said drive module is connected to the vehicle's infotainment power source and regulates the output voltage and current of the battery through a control chip, featuring overcharge and deep discharge protection functions.
Kim teaches the module directly mounted (631, [0204]) on the vehicle's center console, connected to the vehicle's infotainment system (100; fig. 7) for controlling the transmittance of the aftermarket dimmable sunroof through the infotainment system ([0204]); said drive module (631) is connected to the vehicle's infotainment power source and regulates the output voltage and current of the battery through a control chip ([0204]), featuring overcharge and deep discharge protection functions for the purpose of controlling the sunroof [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dimmable sunroof of Wang to include the control unit of Kim for the purpose of controlling the sunroof ([0204]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang, Li, and Niiyama teach the aftermarket dimmable sunroof according to claim 11, however do not explicitly disclose characterized in that it further includes a voice control module and a wireless control module; said voice control module controls the on/off function of the dimming feature through voice commands; said wireless control module achieves remote control of the dimming function via mobile apps, Bluetooth, etc.; additionally, a remote control can be set up to manage the dimming function.
Kim teaches a voice control module (211; [0088]) and a wireless control module (430; [0204]); said voice control module (211) controls the on/off function of the dimming feature through voice commands (211; [0088]; [0204]); said wireless control module (430) achieves remote control of the dimming function ([0204]) via mobile apps, Bluetooth, etc.; additionally, a remote control can be set up to manage the dimming function for the purpose of controlling the sunroof ([0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dimmable sunroof of Wang to include the control unit of Kim for the purpose of controlling the sunroof [0204]).
Conclusion
/AGNES DOBROWOLSKI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/JENNIFER D. CARRUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871