DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 09/30/2024.
Claims 1-20 are under examination.
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 12/19/2024 has been entered and considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,520,909 B1 in view of Ackerly (US 2017/0063816 A1). The subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent except limitations regarding “the first application comprises an application for a Hardware Security Module (HSM) of the first server, the third application comprises an application for an HSM of the second server”. However, Ackerly in the field related to Role-based access control teaches this feature. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Ackerly with the motivation for safeguarding and managing encryption keys as taught by Ackerly (Ackerly: par. 0132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadhav et al. (US 20200007555 A1), Ackerly (US 2017/0063816 A1) and Tewari et al. (US 2018/0337915 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jadhav et al. discloses A first server [Fig. 1A, par. 0060, server], comprising: one or more processing circuits configured to execute: a first application permitted to be accessed or modified by a first application-specific role of a first user [abs, “The IAM tool can manage user identity and user access rights for multiple applications in the platform environment. The IAM tool can also employ a unified IAM database, which stores user profiles that each describes user access rights for a user in one or more applications”, par. 0016, “map the user roles, identity, and/or access privileges across different applications”], wherein the first application-specific role is equivalent to a first role-based object identifier (RBOID); and a second application permitted to be accessed or modified by a second application-specific role of a second user [par. 0016, “ the IAM tool can enable the setting of an overall user role for the user, which can then be propagated to a corresponding and/or analogous user role for the user in the various applications in the platform. For example, specifying administrative privileges for the user in the IAM tool can cause the tool to propagate the administrative privileges to the various applications, such that the user is designated as an admin on the various applications… map the user roles, identity, and/or access privileges across different applications”], wherein the second application comprises one of hardware, software, or Operating System (OS) of the first server, the fourth application comprises at least one of hardware, software, or OS of the second server [par. 0024, “Implementations provide for access control of managed services of any platform from a single service that is the IAM tool. In some examples, a particular platform can support connectors to the platform's software application stack, which enables operators using the IAM tool to control user access rights within the various software applications”].
Jadhav et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first application comprises an application for a Hardware Security Module (HSM) of the first server, the third application comprises an application for an HSM of the second server.
However Ackerly teaches the first application comprises an application for a Hardware Security Module (HSM) of the first server [par. 0055, Role-Based Access Control (RBAC), par. 0098, “the customer key service 201 may implement a hardware security module that provides the functionality described above in connection with the customer key service”, par. 0075, execute a second component for verifying that a role associated with the user is a role identified in the information 208. By way of example, the information 208 may specify that cardiologists at a particular hospital may receive a subset of the information 208 (e.g., the cryptographic key) and the user of the second client device 102b may indicate he is a doctor at the particular hospital”], the third application comprises an application for an HSM of the second server [par. 0075, “the functionality provided by the access control management system 202 is distributed across a plurality of machines 106” (second server with HSM application) , par. 0132, “a system for distributing encrypted cryptographic information including a hardware security module (HSM) 220 for safeguarding and managing encryption keys. The HSM 220 may include the key issue mechanism”, par. 0115, “execute a second component for verifying that a role associated with the user is a role identified in the information 208”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Ackerly into the teaching of Jadhav et al. with the motivation for safeguarding and managing encryption keys as taught by Ackerly [Ackerly: par. 0132].
They do not explicitly disclose wherein the second application-specific role is equivalent to a second RBOID different from the first RBOID, wherein the first RBOID is equivalent to a third application-specific role of a third user permitted to access or modify a third application of a second server, and the second RBOID is equivalent to a fourth application-specific role of a fourth user permitted to access or modify a fourth application of the second server.
However, Tewari et al. teaches wherein the second application-specific role is equivalent to a second RBOID different from the first RBOID, wherein the first RBOID is equivalent to a third application-specific role of a third user permitted to access or modify a third application of a second server, and the second RBOID is equivalent to a fourth application-specific role of a fourth user permitted to access or modify a fourth application of the second server [abs, “Systems and methods for role-based access control to computing resources are presented”, par. 0018, “The resources 116 provided on the infrastructure 106 may be any application or other executable system that may communicate with one or more of the client devices 120 to perform one or more operations at the request of the client devices 120”, par. 0030, “a higher-level role identifier 308 (e.g., role identifier 308B) includes all of the resource 116 access granted to roles associated with the lower-level role identifiers 308 (e.g., role identifiers 308C and 308D) of the higher-level role identifier 308 (e.g., role identifier 308B), plus at least one additional access type 404 associated with a resource identifier 402 that may or may not be associated with the lower-level role identifiers 308. In example embodiments, the role hierarchy 600 of FIG. 6 may be represented by way of pointers or other referential data in the role data store 202 of FIG. 5”, second RBOID is second client device (second entity) with role assigned similar to Role 308B, par. 0017, servers].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Tewari et al. into the teaching of Jadhav et al. and Ackerly with the motivation for role-based control of access to computing resources as taught by Tewari et al. [Tewari et al.: par. 0048].
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Ackerly further teaches the first RBOID and the first application-specific role corresponds to one of: hardware, firmware, or software for the HSM of the first server; or at least one cryptographic key of the HSM of the first server [par. 0055, Role-Based Access Control (RBAC), par. 0098, “the customer key service 201 may implement a hardware security module that provides the functionality described above in connection with the customer key service”, par. 0075, execute a second component for verifying that a role associated with the user is a role identified in the information 208. By way of example, the information 208 may specify that cardiologists at a particular hospital may receive a subset of the information 208 (e.g., the cryptographic key) and the user of the second client device 102b may indicate he is a doctor at the particular hospital”],
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Ackerly into the teaching of Jadhav et al. with the motivation for safeguarding and managing encryption keys as taught by Ackerly [Ackerly: par. 0132].
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Ackerly further teaches the first RBOID and the third application-specific role corresponds to one of: hardware, firmware, or software for the HSM of the second server; or at least one cryptographic key of the HSM of the second server [par. 0075, “the functionality provided by the access control management system 202 is distributed across a plurality of machines 106” (second server with HSM application) , par. 0132, “a system for distributing encrypted cryptographic information including a hardware security module (HSM) 220 for safeguarding and managing encryption keys. The HSM 220 may include the key issue mechanism”, par. 0115, “execute a second component for verifying that a role associated with the user is a role identified in the information 208”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Ackerly into the teaching of Jadhav et al. with the motivation for safeguarding and managing encryption keys as taught by Ackerly [Ackerly: par. 0132].
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Ackerly further teaches the second RBOID and the second application-specific role corresponds to the hardware or the OS of the first server; and the second RBOID and the fourth application-specific role corresponds to the hardware or the OS of the second server [par. 0055, Role-Based Access Control (RBAC), par. 0098, “the customer key service 201 may implement a hardware security module that provides the functionality described above in connection with the customer key service”, par. 0075, execute a second component for verifying that a role associated with the user is a role identified in the information 208. By way of example, the information 208 may specify that cardiologists at a particular hospital may receive a subset of the information 208 (e.g., the cryptographic key) and the user of the second client device 102b may indicate he is a doctor at the particular hospital”],
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Ackerly into the teaching of Jadhav et al. with the motivation for safeguarding and managing encryption keys as taught by Ackerly [Ackerly: par. 0132].
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Jadhav et al. further disclose the first application-specific role, the second application-specific role, the third application-specific role, and the fourth application-specific role are different; and the first user, the second user, the third user, and the fourth user are different [par. 0021, “the IAM tool employs a unified IAM database.. that stores a user profile for one or more users. The user profile can specify the access rights for the user in one or more of the various applications on the platform... The IAM database can provide for the centralized management of users and/or user groups across multiple applications. In some implementations, an organizational unit (OU) can be specified in the database for each application. The OU can include any appropriate number of users groups, which each define a particular set of access rights for the particular application. If a user is a member of a user group, that can indicate that the user has the corresponding access rights to the corresponding application as specified by the user group” (different user may have different user role for different application)].
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Jadhav et al. further disclose the first RBOID instead of the first application-specific role grants access and permission to the first application; the second RBOID instead of the second application-specific role grants access and permission to the second application; the first RBOID instead of the third application-specific role grants access and permission to the third application; and the second RBOID instead of the fourth application-specific role grants access and permission to the fourth application [par. 0021, “the IAM tool employs a unified IAM database.. that stores a user profile for one or more users. The user profile can specify the access rights for the user in one or more of the various applications on the platform... The IAM database can provide for the centralized management of users and/or user groups across multiple applications. In some implementations, an organizational unit (OU) can be specified in the database for each application. The OU can include any appropriate number of users groups, which each define a particular set of access rights for the particular application. If a user is a member of a user group, that can indicate that the user has the corresponding access rights to the corresponding application as specified by the user group”, par. 0026, “provide a mapping between user roles for different applications, where each user role corresponds to a set of access rights on an application. For example, a role of admin on Application A may be mapped to a role of superuser on Application B, indicating that the roles correspond to the same, or similar, sets of access rights on Application A and Application B”].
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Jadhav et al. further disclose a same user identifier is associated with the first RBOID and the second RBOID [par. 0041, “a user profile 114 can include a user ID 202, such as a unique ID for a particular user 120... The user profile 114 for a user 120 can also include user group information 206 that describes one or more user groups 208 in which the user 120 has been designated as a member. As described above, each user group 208 can be associated with a particular application 104 and a particular set of access rights on that application 104”].
Regarding claim 8, it recites limitations like claim 1. The reason for the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 9, it recites limitations like claim 2. The reason for the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 10, it recites limitations like claim 3. The reason for the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 11, it recites limitations like claim 4. The reason for the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 12, it recites limitations like claim 5. The reason for the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 13, it recites limitations like claim 6. The reason for the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 14, it recites limitations like claim 7. The reason for the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 15, it recites limitations like claim 1. The reason for the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 16, it recites limitations like claim 2. The reason for the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 17, it recites limitations like claim 3. The reason for the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 18, it recites limitations like claim 4. The reason for the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 19, it recites limitations like claim 5. The reason for the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 20, it recites limitations like claim 6. The reason for the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 8291490 B1 Tenant life cycle management for a software as a service platform
US 6574736 B1 Composable roles
US 20020095571 A1 Computer security system
US 20120131646 A1 ROLE-BASED ACCESS CONTROL LIMITED BY APPLICATION AND HOSTNAME
US 20040083367 A1 Role-based authorization management framework
US 20090025063 A1 Role-based access control for redacted content
US 20090282240 A1 Secure Decentralized Storage System
US 7702693 B1 Role-based access control enforced by filesystem of an operating system
US 20210224409 A1 CONTAINER-CENTRIC ACCESS CONTROL ON DATABASE OBJECTS
US 20100011438 A1 Role-Based Privilege Management
US 20160098572 A1 Providing Integrated Role-based Access Control
US 20070230706 A1 Method And Apparatus For Facilitating Role-based Cryptographic key Management For A Database
US 20100095118 A1 CRYPTOGRAPHIC KEY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM FACILITATING SECURE ACCESS OF DATA PORTIONS TO CORRESPONDING GROUPS OF USERS
/JASON CHIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431