DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by AJAMI et al (US 2023/0137826 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 16, AJAMI et al (US 2023/0137826 A1) discloses a station (STA) (fig. 6A to fig. 6B,. see, STA 604 communicatively coupled to an AP 602, section 0086, the STA transmits frame that carries a request to the AP, and the MAC header of the frames includes a frames to be interpreted as P2P request frame for the AP to transmits an MU-RTS TXs trigger frames for allocation a portion of TXOP to the STA for P2P communications, section 0103-0105, 0108) in a wireless network (fig. 1, fig. 7, shows the STA 104 transmits a request to the AP for P2P communications between the STA and the client device, in wireless network 100, section 0052-0058), comprising: a memory (fig. 6B, see, memory 645 coupled to processor 635, antennas 625 coupled to WCD 615, section); and a processor (fig. 6B, processor 635 coupled to memory 645, section 0086) coupled to the memory (fig. 6B, see, memory 645 coupled to processor 635, antennas 625 coupled to WCD 615, section 0086);, the processor configured to cause: transmitting (see, the STA transmits frame that carries a request to the AP, and the MAC header of the frames includes a frames to be interpreted as P2P request frame for the AP to transmits an MU-RTS TXs trigger frames for allocation a portion of TXOP to the STA for P2P communications, section 0103-0105, 010), to an access point (AP) (the STA transmits frame that carries a request to the AP, and the MAC header of the frames includes a frames to be interpreted as P2P request frame for the AP to transmits an MU-RTS TXs trigger frames for allocation a portion of TXOP to the STA for P2P communications, section 0103-0105, 0108-0113), a buffer status report (noted: the request frame sent by the STA to the AP includes control information subfield which may include a BSRS indicating that , section 0104-0106, 0108-0113, 0117-0118-the request carries includes a queue size of the wireless device, requested service interval for the P2P communications) indicating pending peer-to-peer (P2P) traffic (section 0108-0113-the request frame is intended to P2P communications between the stations or between station and client device); receiving (see, the STA receives a trigger frame, from the AP, the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode for the P2P communications between the STA and the client device, section 0108-0111), a first trigger frame (see, the trigger frame that is transmitted by the AP is response to the request frame that includes the BSR/queue size of the STA, section 0108-0111) allocating a first time (see, the trigger frame allocating apportion of the TXOP to the STA for P2P communications, section 0050, 0095-0097-trigger allocation the requested portion to the requested STAs) within a transmission opportunity (TXOP) (noted: the TXOP includes a timing value in term of duration field, section 0108-0111, 0117-0120) obtained by the AP to the STA in response to the buffer status report (see, the trigger frame that is transmitted by the AP is response to the request frame that includes the BSR/queue size of the STA, section 0108-0111); and transmitting, to a peer STA (see, the STA that receives the trigger frame, determines the portion of the TXOP allocates to the STA form P2P communication with client device, section 0108, 0110-0112), one or more frames via a P2P link established between the STA and the peer STA within the first time (see, STA transmits P2P data to the client device using the P2P link that is established based on the duration of the TXOP/requested service interval for the P2P communications, section 0111-0113, 0122).
Regarding claim 2, AJAMI ‘826 discloses the STA of claim 1, wherein, before transmitting the buffer status report to the AP, the processor is further configured to cause: receiving (see, the STAs 710 and second STA 720 receives response frame/trigger frame from the AP, section 0095-0096) from the AP (see, MU-RTS TXS trigger frames that induces TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode for the P2P communications between the STA and the client device, section 0110-0113, 0117-0119), a second trigger frame allocating a second time to the STA (see, response/trigger frame to second STA, the MAC header of the response frame includes the TXOP to be allocated for the P2P communications, the TXOP is related to different service periods section 0095-0097); and transmitting, to the peer STA, one or more frames via the P2P link within the second time (section 0095-0097-the the first STA and second STA exchange P2P data with their respective client devices during portion of TXOP allocated for P2P communications), wherein the buffer status report is transmitted to the AP before the second time ends (section 0095-0097, 0107-0112-it is implied that TXOP has starting and termination point, subsequent P2P request frame that includes BSR/queue size can be transmitted).
Regarding claim 3, AJAMI ‘826 discloses the STA of claim 1, wherein, before transmitting the buffer status report to the AP (section 0102-0103-prior time to, the STA transmits to the AP, a frames for P2P communications between the STA and the client device, section 0101-0103), the processor is further configured to cause: receiving (see, the STAs 710 and second STA 720 receives response frame/trigger frame from the AP, section 0095-0096, from the AP (see, MU-RTS TXS trigger frames that induces TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode for the P2P communications between the STA and the client device, section 0110-0113, 0117-0119), a second trigger frame allocating a second time to the STA (see, response/trigger frame to second STA, the MAC header of the response frame includes the TXOP to be allocated for the P2P communications, the TXOP is related to different service periods section 0095-0097); and transmitting, to the peer STA, one or more frames via the P2P link within the second time (section 0095-0097-the the first STA and second STA exchange P2P data with their respective client devices during portion of TXOP allocated for P2P communications),, wherein the buffer status report is transmitted to the AP after the second time ends (section 0095-0097, 0101-0102-it implied that one of the STAs can transmit additional BSR/queue at the ending period of the TXOP ).
Regarding claim 4, AJAMI ‘826 discloses the STA of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to cause: transmitting, to the AP, a request frame indicating that a direction of pending traffic is direct link (see, P2P request frame that includes one or more parameters for the P2P communications, section 0007, 0012-0013, 0049); and receiving, from the AP, a response frame indicating acceptance in response to the request frame (see, response frame from the AP/the AP determines whether to accept the request, section 0095-0097).
Regarding claim 5, AJAMI ‘826 discloses the STA of claim 4, wherein the buffer status report is associated with a traffic identifier (TID) identified in the request frame (see, traffic identifier in the TXOP requested/the request part of the TXOP, request includes a traffic identifier (TID) of the P2P communications, section 0095-0097, 0135-0136, noted: as mentioned early , the request that is sent by the STA to the AP includes queue size/buffer status, section 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 6, AJAMI ‘826 discloses the STA of claim 1, wherein the buffer status report indicates pending uplink traffic and pending P2P traffic (section queue size of the STA for P2P communications in the request, section 0102-0104, noted: the request with the queue size triggers the Ap to transmit a MU-RTS TXs trigger frame allocation a portion of the TXOP to the STA for P2P communications), and the processor is further configured to cause transmitting, to the AP, one or more frames within the first time (section 0108-0113, 0122-0123-start time for a service period associated with the P2P communications).
Regarding claim 7, AJAMI ‘826 discloses the STA of claim 4, wherein the P2P link is specified in the request frame (see, TID subfield indicating a values that indicating that the frame is P2P request frame, section 0095-0097, 0135-0136).
Regarding claim 8, AJAMI ‘ 826 discloses an access point (AP) (see, the AP obtains a TXOP on the wireless medium, and transmits a trigger frame to the first STA and second STA, the trigger frame allocates the requested portion of the TXOP to one or both the first STA and second STA fort P2P communications with their respective client devices, section 0095-0096, fig. A, AP 602 coupled to STA 604, section 00852-0086) in a wireless network (fig. 1, fig. 7, shows the STA 104 transmits a request to the AP for P2P communications between the STA and the client device, in wireless network 100, section 0052-0058), comprising: a memory (fig. 6A, the AP includes memory 640 coupled to a processor 630, RF antennas 620, section 0085); and a processor (fig. 6A, the AP includes a processor 630 coupled to the memory 640 coupled to , RF antennas 620, section 0085) coupled to the memory (fig. 6A, the AP includes memory 640 coupled to a processor 630, RF antennas 620, section 0085), the processor configured to cause: receiving (fig. 6A, the AP used multiple antennas 620 to receives and transmit communications, section 0085, see, the STA transmits frame that carries a request to the AP, and the MAC header of the frames includes a frames to be interpreted as P2P request frame for the AP to transmits an MU-RTS TXs trigger frames for allocation a portion of TXOP to the STA for P2P communications, section 0103-0105, 010),), from a station (STA) (see, the STA transmits frame that carries a request to the AP, and the MAC header of the frames includes a frames to be interpreted as P2P request frame for the AP to transmits an MU-RTS TXs trigger frames for allocation a portion of TXOP to the STA for P2P communications, section 0103-0105, 010), a buffer status report (noted: the request frame sent by the STA to the AP includes control information subfield which may include a BSRS indicating that , section 0104-0106, 0108-0113, 0117-0118-the request carries includes a queue size of the wireless device, requested service interval for the P2P communications) indicating pending peer-to-peer (P2P) traffic (section 0108-0113-the request frame is intended to P2P communications between the stations or between station and client device); and transmitting (see, the STA receives a trigger frame, from the AP, the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode for the P2P communications between the STA and the client device, section 0108-0111),, to the STA (see, the STA receives a trigger frame, from the AP, the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode for the P2P communications between the STA and the client device, section 0108-0111), a first trigger frame (see, the trigger frame that is transmitted by the AP is response to the request frame that includes the BSR/queue size of the STA, section 0108-0111) allocating a first time (noted: the TXOP includes a timing value in term of duration field, section 0108-0111, 0117-0120) within an obtained transmission opportunity (TXOP) to the STA in response to the buffer status report (see, the trigger frame that is transmitted by the AP is response to the request frame that includes the BSR/queue size of the STA, section 0108-0111);.
Regarding claim 9, AJAMI ‘ 826 discloses the AP of claim 8, wherein, before receiving the buffer status report from the STA, the processor is further configured to cause: transmitting, to the STA (see, MU-RTS TXS trigger frames that induces TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode for the P2P communications between the STA and the client device, section 0110-0113, 0117-0119),, a second trigger frame allocating a second time to the STA (, response/trigger frame to second STA, the MAC header of the response frame includes the TXOP to be allocated for the P2P communications, the TXOP is related to different service periods section 0095-0097); and facilitating transmission of one or more frames from the STA to a peer STA via a P2P link established between the STA and the peer STA within the second time (section 0095-0097-the the first STA and second STA exchange P2P data with their respective client devices during portion of TXOP allocated for P2P communications),, wherein the buffer status report is received from the STA before the second time ends (section 0095-0097, 0108-0112-it is implied that can dynamically transmit P2P frame with buffer status report/queue size based on duration of the TXOP meaning if there is additional time remaining, additional BSR can be transmitted).
Regarding claim 10, AJAMI ‘ 826 discloses the AP of claim 8, wherein, before receiving the buffer status report from the STA, the processor is further configured to cause: transmitting, to the STA (see, MU-RTS TXS trigger frames that induces TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode for the P2P communications between the STA and the client device, section 0110-0113, 0117-0119), a second trigger frame allocating a second time to the STA (see, response/trigger frame to second STA, the MAC header of the response frame includes the TXOP to be allocated for the P2P communications, the TXOP is related to different service periods section 0095-0097); and facilitating transmission of one or more frames from the STA to a peer STA via a P2P link established between the STA and the peer STA within the second time (section 0095-0097-the the first STA and second STA exchange P2P data with their respective client devices during portion of TXOP allocated for P2P communications), wherein the buffer status report is received from the STA after the second time ends (section 0095-0097, 0101-0102- section 0095-0097, 0108-0112-it is implied that can dynamically transmit P2P frame with buffer status report/queue size based on duration of the TXOP meaning additional BSR can be transmitted after the duration of the TXOP).
Regarding claim 11, AJAMI ‘ 826 discloses the AP of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to cause: receiving, from the STA, a request frame indicating that a direction of pending traffic is a direct link (see, P2P request frame that includes one or more parameters for the P2P communications, section 0007, 0012-0013, 0049);; and transmitting, to the AP, a response frame indicating acceptance in response to the request frame (section 0095-0097-discloses P2P requests and the AP determines whether to accept or decline the request).
Regarding claim 12, AJAMI ‘ 826 discloses the AP of claim 11, wherein the buffer status report is associated with a traffic identifier (TID) identified in the request frame (see, traffic identifier in the TXOP requested/the request part of the TXOP, request includes a traffic identifier (TID) of the P2P communications, section 0095-0097, 0135-0136, noted: as mentioned early , the request that is sent by the STA to the AP includes queue size/buffer status, section 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 13, AJAMI ‘ 826 discloses the AP of claim 8, wherein the buffer status report indicates pending traffic and pending P2P traffic (section queue size of the STA for P2P communications in the request, section 0102-0104, noted: the request with the queue size triggers the Ap to transmit a MU-RTS TXs trigger frame allocation a portion of the TXOP to the STA for P2P communications), and the processor is further configured to cause receiving, from the STA, one or more frames within the first time (section 0108-0113, 0122-0123-start time for a service period associated with the P2P communications).
Regarding claim 14, AJAMI ‘ 826 discloses the AP of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to cause: facilitating transmission of one or more frames from the STA to a peer STA via a P2P link established between the STA and the peer STA within the second time, wherein the P2P link is specified in the request frame (section 0095-0097-discloses the first STA and second STA exchange P2P data with their respective client devise during portion of the TXOP allocated for P2P communications by the AP).
Regarding claim 15, AJAMI ‘ 826 discloses the AP of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to cause: facilitating transmission of one or more frames from the STA to a peer STA via a P2P link established between the STA and the peer STA (section 0095-0097-discloses the first STA and second STA exchange P2P data with their respective client devise during portion of the TXOP allocated for P2P communications by the AP) between a minimum service interval (section 0148-0149-minimum service interval field and maximum service interval field) and a maximum service interval (section 0148-0149-minimum service interval field and maximum service interval field) specified the request frame (see, timing requirements with respect to P2P communications, section 0048-0049), wherein the P2P link is specified in the request frame (see, the P2P request frame includes requested start time/requested service interval, section 0007, 0049-0050), 0102-0106).
Regarding claim 16, AJAMI ‘ 826 discloses a method performed by a station (STA) (fig. 6A to fig. 6B,. see, STA 604 communicatively coupled to an AP 602, section 0086, the STA transmits frame that carries a request to the AP, and the MAC header of the frames includes a frames to be interpreted as P2P request frame for the AP to transmits an MU-RTS TXs trigger frames for allocation a portion of TXOP to the STA for P2P communications, section 0103-0105, 0108) in a wireless network (fig. 1, fig. 7, shows the STA 104 transmits a request to the AP for P2P communications between the STA and the client device, in wireless network 100, section 0052-0058), comprising: transmitting (see, the STA transmits frame that carries a request to the AP, and the MAC header of the frames includes a frames to be interpreted as P2P request frame for the AP to transmits an MU-RTS TXs trigger frames for allocation a portion of TXOP to the STA for P2P communications, section 0103-0105, 010), to an access point (AP) (the STA transmits frame that carries a request to the AP, and the MAC header of the frames includes a frames to be interpreted as P2P request frame for the AP to transmits an MU-RTS TXs trigger frames for allocation a portion of TXOP to the STA for P2P communications, section 0103-0105, 0108-0113), a buffer status report (noted: the request frame sent by the STA to the AP includes control information subfield which may include a BSRS indicating that , section 0104-0106, 0108-0113, 0117-0118-the request carries includes a queue size of the wireless device, requested service interval for the P2P communications) indicating pending peer-to-peer (P2P) traffic (section 0108-0113-the request frame is intended to P2P communications between the stations or between station and client device); receiving (see, the STA receives a trigger frame, from the AP, the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode for the P2P communications between the STA and the client device, section 0108-0111), a first trigger frame (see, the trigger frame that is transmitted by the AP is response to the request frame that includes the BSR/queue size of the STA, section 0108-0111) allocating a first time within a transmission opportunity (TXOP) (noted: the TXOP includes a timing value in term of duration field, section 0108-0111, 0117-0120) obtained by the AP to the STA in response to the buffer status report (see, the trigger frame that is transmitted by the AP is response to the request frame that includes the BSR/queue size of the STA, section 0108-0111); and transmitting, to a peer STA (see, the STA that receives the trigger frame, determines the portion of the TXOP allocates to the STA form P2P communication with client device, section 0108, 0110-0112), one or more frames via a P2P link established between the STA and the peer STA within the first time (see, STA transmits P2P data to the client device using the P2P link that is established based on the duration of the TXOP/requested service interval for the P2P communications, section 0111-0113, 0122).
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 as discussed above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 as discussed above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 as discussed above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 20, AJAMI ‘826 discloses the method of claim 19, wherein: the buffer status report is associated with a traffic identifier (TID) identified in the request frame (see, traffic identifier in the TXOP requested/the request part of the TXOP, request includes a traffic identifier (TID) of the P2P communications, section 0095-0097, noted: the request for the TXOP includes control information subfield that may include a BSRS section 0102-0106, 0135-0136); the buffer status report indicates pending uplink traffic and pending P2P traffic (section queue size of the STA for P2P communications in the request, section 0102-0104, noted: the request with the queue size triggers the Ap to transmit a MU-RTS TXs trigger frame allocation a portion of the TXOP to the STA for P2P communications), and the method further comprising transmitting, to the AP, one or more frames within the first time (section 0108-0113, 0122-0123-start time for a service period associated with the P2P communications).
Conclusion
5, The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cariou et al (US 2019/0306685 A1) discloses triggered direct request for peer to peer communications, where the triggered direct request may include parameters such as triggered identifier (TID), buffer status report (BSR), triggered direct TXOP (section 0016-0121).
Cariou further discloses action response frames by the AP based on the aforementioned parameters mentioned above (section 00016-0121).
VIGER et al (US 2021/0176763 A1) discloses trigger-based multi-user transmissions, resource allocations (RUs), direct link transmissions (peer-to-peer) between the stations (section 0052-0214).
Loehr et al (US 2019/0246418 A1) discloses direct link communication in relation to D2D buffer status report (section 0239-0276).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473