DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 thru 5, and 7 thru 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh et al. 9,431,603 B1. Hsieh discloses (see, for example, Fig. 1) a method for fabricating a resistive random access memory (RRAM) 100, comprising: forming an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer 104 on a substrate 101; forming a contact plug 102 in the ILD layer 104; and forming a bottom electrode 106 on the contact plug 102 and a first stop layer 132a around the bottom electrode 106.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, Fig. 1 wherein Hsieh discloses forming the first
stop layer 132a on the ILD layer 104; forming a recess in the first stop layer 132a; forming the bottom electrode 106 in the recess; forming a metal oxide layer 110 on the bottom electrode 106; forming a top electrode 114 on the metal oxide layer 110; patterning the top electrode 114 and the metal oxide layer 110; forming a spacer 132b adjacent to the top electrode 114 and the metal oxide layer 110. In column 3, lines 36-44, Hsieh discloses the metal oxide layer 110 includes various metal oxides. In Fig. 8, and 9, Hsieh discloses the patterning the top electrode 114, and the metal oxide layer 110.
Regarding claims 3-5, and 10-12, see, for example, column 3, lines 14-21, Hsieh discloses the top electrode 114 may include one or more layers (i.e. second stop layer that include a first metal layer and a second metal layer) including metals such as titanium, etc.
Regarding claims 7, and 13, see, for example, Fig. 1 wherein Hsieh discloses the top surfaces of the bottom electrode 106 and the first stop layer 132a being coplanar.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, Fig. 1 wherein Hsieh discloses a resistive random access memory (RRAM) 100, comprising: an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer 104 on a substrate 101; a contact plug 102 in the ILD layer 104; a bottom electrode 106 on the contact plug 102; and a first stop layer 132a around the bottom electrode 106.
Regarding claim 9, see, for example, Fig. 1 wherein Hsieh discloses a metal oxide layer 110 on the bottom electrode 106; a top electrode 114 on the metal oxide layer 110; and a spacer 132b adjacent to the metal oxide layer 110 and a top electrode 114.
Claim(s) 1 thru 4, 6, and 8 thru 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. 2018/0097177 A1. Chang discloses (see, for example, Fig. 18-34) a method for fabricating a resistive random access memory (RRAM), comprising: forming an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer 328 on a substrate 306; forming a contact plug 340 in the ILD layer 328; and forming a bottom electrode 354 on the contact plug 340 and a first stop layer 352
around the bottom electrode 354.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, Fig. 34 wherein Chang discloses forming the first
stop layer 352 on the ILD layer 328; forming a recess 2002 in the first stop layer 352; forming the bottom electrode 354 in the recess 2002; forming a metal oxide layer 362 on the bottom electrode 354; forming a top electrode 356 on the metal oxide layer 362; patterning the top electrode 356 and the metal oxide layer 362; forming a spacer 122 adjacent to the top electrode 356 and the metal oxide layer 362. In paragraph [0017], Chang discloses various metal oxides. In Fig. 21, 22, and 25, and 26, Chang discloses the patterning the top electrode 356, and the metal oxide layer 362.
Regarding claims 3, 4, and 10-11, see, for example, Fig. 34 wherein Chang discloses a second stop layer 362 and in paragraph [0017], Chang discloses the second stop layer includes platinum, etc.
Regarding claim 6, see, for example, Fig. 23 wherein Chang discloses cap layer 2300, and Fig 24 wherein Chang discloses removing part of the cap layer 2300 to form the spacer 122.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, Fig. 34 wherein Chang discloses a resistive random access memory (RRAM), comprising: an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer 328 on a substrate 306; a contact plug 340 in the ILD layer 328; a bottom electrode 354 on the contact plug 340; and a first stop layer 352 around the bottom electrode 354.
Regarding claim 9, see, for example, Fig. 34 wherein Chang discloses a metal oxide layer 362 on the bottom electrode 354; a top electrode 356 on the metal oxide layer 362; and a spacer 122 adjacent to the metal oxide layer 362 and a top electrode 356.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
September 23, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815