DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 17, 2025 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a calculation part configured to calculate refractive power of the eye to be examined based on the image of the measurement light detected by the image detector” in claim 1; and
“the measurement light controller is configured to measure the vision of the eye to be examined at a first height by turning on first and second light-emitting elements of the first row and first and second light-emitting elements of the second row, then measure the vision of the eye to be examined at a second height by turning on second and third light-emitting elements of the first row and second and third light-emitting elements of the second row, and then measure the vision of the eye to be examined at a third height by turning on third and fourth light-emitting elements of the first row and third and fourth light-emitting elements of the second row” in claim 7.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3 “wherein light emission of the light-emitting elements is performed in sequence in a manner that a position of the measurement light being irradiated to the eye to be examined is moved away from or closer to a center of the eye to be examined” particularly “moved away from or closer to” raises clarity issues. It is unclear if the light-emitting elements are being moved back and forth along the optical axis or if the light-emitting elements are being sequentially illuminated orthogonally to the optical axis, e.g. spreading out from the center or collapsing into the center (assumed). The examiner suggests and for purposes of examination will use “wherein light emission of the light-emitting elements is performed in sequence in a manner that a position of the measurement light being irradiated to the eye to be examined is further from or closer to the image detector
Regarding claim 1 “a calculation part configured to calculate refractive power of the eye to be examined based on the image of the measurement light detected by the image detector” has been interpreted under 112(f). The written description lacks any description, explanation or example what a “calculation part” could be. The box labeled 30 in figure 1 is a “black box” and sheds no light on the topic. Furthermore, the specification has no disclosure for an algorithm or series of steps “to calculate refractive power of the eye to be examined based on the image of the measurement light detected by the image detector.” Disclosing the algorithm for a specialized function is the quid pro quo for the ability to claim an element in with functional terms, see, e.g., B. Braun Medical, Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 124 F.3d 1419, 1424, 43 USPQ2d 1896, 1900 (Fed. Cir. 1997), see MPEP 2181 and 2182. Since the examiner does not know what structure is calculating (e.g. a computer processor or a person with pen and paper), and cannot determine the process to calculate (e.g. using comparison charts or preforming a wavefront calculation) the metes and bounds of the claims are vague and indefinite, see MPEP 2181II.C & III. For purposes of examination the examiner will assume this is an inherent structure and function for a photorefraction vision screening device.
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite, since they depend on claim 1 and therefore have the same deficiencies.
Regarding claim 7 “the measurement light controller is configured to measure the vision of the eye …” with illumination at three different positions has been interpreted under 112(f). Insofar as it is understood the measurement light controller controls which illuminator is on/off (see paragraph [0014]). It is unclear how a controller that controls an illumination array of light sources is measuring vision. It is unclear if the calculation part and/or the detector is involved. Further, similar to above, there is no disclosure for an algorithm or series of steps to “measure vision.” Given these lacks, the metes and bounds of the claims are vague and indefinite. For purposes of examination the examiner will assume measuring vision is an inherent function for a photorefraction vision screening device and that it is functionally equivalent whether the vision measurement is done by the measurement light controller or some other element(s) in a photorefraction vision screening device. For clarity, measuring vision will be interpreted as inherent, however, measuring under different lighting conditions will not be interpreted as inherent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 & 2) as being anticipated by Hunter et al. US Patent Application Publication 2023/0233078.
Regarding claim 1 Hunter discloses a photorefraction vision screening device (title e.g. figure 3A-C vision screening device 300) comprising: a measurement light irradiator configured to irradiate measurement light to an eye to be examined (e.g. array 308); a measurement light controller configured (e.g. image capture control component 134) to control light-emitting elements of the measurement light irradiator (inter alia paragraph [0067] “individual LEDs of the array 308 may be activated in a sequence (e.g., by the image capture control component 134”); an image detector (e.g. sensor(s) 310) configured to detect an image formed on a retina of the eye to be examined by the measurement light having been irradiated from the light-emitting elements of the measurement light irradiator and having passed through a pupil of the eye to be examined (inter alia paragraph [0075] discusses images from “light reflected back from the retina of the eyes”); and a calculation part configured to calculate refractive power of the eye to be examined based on the image of the measurement light detected by the image detector (inter alia paragraph [0029] “process the image(s) and/or video data to determine change(s) in the refractive error and/or gaze angle(s) of the eye(s)”), wherein two or more measurement light sources are arranged radially (e.g. figure 3B rows 316, 318 & 320) with the image detector (e.g. 310) as a center in the measurement light irradiator (e.g. see figures 3A & 3C), and each of the measurement light sources includes three or more light-emitting elements sequentially arranged in one direction (e.g. see figure 3B), and wherein the measurement light controller is configured to select two or more of the light-emitting elements sequentially arranged in each of the measurement light sources and turn on the selected ones simultaneously, and a number of light-emitting elements that are simultaneously turned on is less than a total number of light-emitting elements (inherent given at least paragraph [0067] “individual LEDs of the array 308 may be activated in a sequence …”).
Regarding claim 2 Hunter discloses the photorefraction vision screening device of claim 1, as set forth above. Hunter further discloses wherein the measurement light controller is configured to cause consecutively positioned two or more light-emitting elements among the sequentially arranged light-emitting elements to emit light simultaneously (inter alia paragraph [0067] “LEDs 322 and 324 may also be activated substantially simultaneously”).
Regarding claim 3 Hunter discloses the photorefraction vision screening device of claim 2, as set forth above. Hunter further discloses wherein light emission of the light-emitting elements is performed in sequence in a manner that a position of the measurement light being irradiated to the eye to be examined is further from or closer to the image detector (inter alia paragraph [0067] “LED 322 may be activated first, followed by the LED 324, adjacent to the LED 322, and so on”).
Regarding claim 4 Hunter discloses the photorefraction vision screening device of claim 1, as set forth above. Hunter further discloses wherein the light-emitting elements are arranged radially at equal intervals from the image detector positioned at a center (e.g. see figure 3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter et al. US Patent Application Publication 2023/0233078 in view of Walsh et al. US Patent Application Publication 2019/0110677.
Regarding claim 5 Hunter discloses the photorefraction vision screening device of claim 1, as set forth above. Hunter further discloses wherein each of the measurement light sources includes first-row light-emitting elements arranged sequentially in one direction (e.g. see figure 3B).
Hunter does not disclose a second-row light-emitting elements arranged side by side adjacent to the first-row light-emitting elements.
Walsh teaches a similar photorefraction vision screening device (title e.g. figures 1A & 2) comprising: a light irradiator (e.g. dynamic illuminator 105 or 205) controlled by a controller to illuminate the eye (e.g. controller 115 or 215 inter alia abstract “controller is coupled to the plurality of LEs … and the controller implements logic that when executed by the controller causes the apparatus to perform operations … include illuminating the eye”), a retinal image detector (e.g. retinal camera 110 or 210 inter alia paragraph [0002] “disclosure relates generally to imaging technologies, and in particular, relates to retinal imaging”), where the light sources are arranged radially (e.g. see figure 1C lines 2-9), and each of the measurement light sources includes three or more light-emitting elements sequentially arranged in one direction (e.g. see figure 1C), the light emitting elements are illuminated at different times (inter alia paragraph [0019] “can control the sequential firing of the IR light emitters … and control the firing of the visible light emitters positioned around the image path”), and light sources includes first-row light-emitting elements arranged sequentially in one direction (e.g. figure 1C IR-LED 153); and further teaches a second-row light-emitting elements (e.g. V-LED 151) arranged side by side adjacent to the first-row light-emitting elements (e.g. see figure 1C) for the purpose of determining which visible LEDs to enable/disable to capture visible images that mostly do not contain a reflection (inter alia paragraph [0025]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the photorefraction vision screening device as disclosed by Hunter to have a second-row light-emitting elements arranged side by side adjacent to the first-row light-emitting elements as taught by Walsh for the purpose of determining which visible LEDs to enable/disable to capture visible images that mostly do not contain a reflection.
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Hunter as modified by Walsh discloses the photorefraction vision screening device of claim 5, as set forth above. Hunter further discloses wherein six measurement light sources are arranged radially at equal angular intervals in the measurement light irradiator (e.g. see figure 3B).
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Hunter as modified by Walsh discloses the photorefraction vision screening device of claim 6, as set forth above. Hunter further discloses wherein the measurement light controller is configured to measure the vision of the eye to be examined at a first height by turning on first and second light-emitting elements of the first row and first and second light-emitting elements of the second row, then measure the vision of the eye to be examined at a second height by turning on second and third light-emitting elements of the first row and second and third light-emitting elements of the second row, and then measure the vision of the eye to be examined at a third height by turning on third and fourth light-emitting elements of the first row and third and fourth light-emitting elements of the second row (implicit given sequential illumination is described in inter alia paragraph [0067] as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above and paragraph [0029] “process the image(s) and/or video data to determine change(s) in the refractive error and/or gaze angle(s) of the eye(s)”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mowrey et al. US Patent Application Publication 2012/0212598; in regards to a similar phototrefractor using an array of LEDs to illuminate a retina to determine refractive error (see paragraph [0003] and figures 2A-B).
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 July 1, 2026