DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In view of the amended claims filed 03/20/2026, the restriction requirement as set forth in the Office action mailed on 10/14/2025 has been withdrawn.
In view of the above noted withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 1-20 are currently being examined.
Specification
An amendment to the specification was received on 03/20/2026 and is acceptable, however, the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0001] “turbine air cooling” should read as -- turbine cooling air
“high-pressure turbine” should read as – high-pressure compressor
[0004] “turbine air cooling” should read as -- turbine cooling air
[0008] “low pressure turbine” in each of multiple instances should read as – high pressure compressor
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 11 and 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: in line 12, the throttling valve” should read as – the at least one throttling valve --, and “a first flow level the cooling air” should read as – a first flow level of the cooling air --.
Claim 9: in line 10, “the plurality of throttling valves are” should read as -- the valve is
Claim 11: in line 3, “an associated first cooling air tube” should read as – the
Claim 14: in line 2, “the first plurality of cooling air tubes” should read as -- the first tube
Claim 15: in lines 5-6, “the high pressure turbine being associated with a high pressure turbine” should be deleted -- --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “a turbine cooling air system providing the flow of the cooling air” which is unclear what is meant by “a turbine cooling air system” since base claim 1 recites in the preamble “A system for providing cooling air within a hybrid electric gas turbine engine” and claim 1 further recites “at least one cooling air tube configured to provide cooling air from a high pressure compressor in the hybrid electric gas turbine engine to a high pressure turbine within the hybrid electric gas turbine engine; at least one throttling valve located on the at least one cooling air tube configured to limit a flow of the cooling air from the high pressure compressor in the hybrid electric gas turbine engine to the high pressure turbine within the hybrid electric gas turbine engine” such that the flow of cooling air is provided from the high pressure compressor in the hybrid electric gas turbine engine to the high pressure turbine in the hybrid electric gas turbine engine. The specification describes and Figure 1 shows a flow of cooling air is from high pressure compressor 116 to high pressure turbine 120 via cooling air tube 128 in hybrid electric gas turbine engine 100 and there is no other system or location described or shown as providing the flow of cooling air.
For current examination purposes, “a turbine cooling air system” is interpreted as the hybrid electric gas turbine engine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Sharma et al. 20230143283.
Regarding independent claim 1, Sharma teaches, with reference to Figs. 1 and 4, a system for providing cooling air within a hybrid gas turbine engine (10; [0054] describes 10 as a hybrid electric gas turbine engine), comprising:
at least one cooling air tube (120 which includes 121,122) configured to provide cooling air from a high pressure compressor (24; cooling air from 24 shown by flow arrow 91 at tap 211 passes into conduit 110, through heat exchanger 141 and into 121 shown by flow arrow 192, through valve 130 and then through 122 shown by flow arrow 194) in the hybrid electric gas turbine engine to a high pressure turbine (28; cooling air shown by flow arrow 194 passes from 122 to 28) within the hybrid gas turbine engine;
at least one throttling valve (130; per [0073] flow control device 130 is configured to selectively adjust, alter, modulate, or otherwise change an amount of the flow of air 91 from the first conduit 110 through the cooling air tube 120, i.e., 130 is a throttling valve; [0075] also refers to 130 as a valve) located on the at least one cooling air tube (130 is located on 120; [0074]) configured to limit a flow of the cooling air from the high pressure compressor in the hybrid electric gas turbine engine to the high pressure turbine within the hybrid electric gas turbine engine (130 is configured to selectively adjust, alter, modulate, or otherwise change, i.e., limit, an amount of the flow of cooling air 91 from the first conduit 110 through the second conduit 120), wherein the at least one throttling valve is electromechanically actuated ([0075] describes 130 is an actuated valve or an automatic valve driven by an electric energy source, i.e., 130 is electromechanically actuated); and
at least one electromechanical actuator associated with the at least one throttling valve (130 is an actuated valve driven by electric energy such that an electromechanical actuator is associated with 130) configured to actuate the throttling valve to a first flow level the cooling air when the hybrid electric gas turbine engine is in a first condition and to a second flow level of the cooling air when the hybrid electric gas turbine engine is in a second condition ([0077] describes modulating the amount of the flow of cooling air to the clearance control system 275 at high pressure turbine 28 allows the tip clearance to be desirably regulated across various engine operating conditions and associated changes in temperature at the turbine section 27; as temperatures and rotor speeds change at turbine section 27 across various engine operating conditions, throttling valve 130 modulates the amount of the flow of cooling air provided to clearance control system 275 to maintain or provide a desired tip clearance; with regard to a landing-takeoff cycle (LTO) of the engine 10 and an aircraft, engine operating conditions include startup, idle, takeoff, climb, cruise, approach, or reverse thrust, such that the electromechanical actuator associated with 130 actuates 130 to a first flow level of cooling air when gas turbine engine 10 is in a first condition such as any one of startup, idle, takeoff, climb, cruise, approach, or reverse thrust, and actuates 130 to a second flow level when gas turbine engine 10 is in a different one of the other operating conditions, i.e., a second operating condition)
responsive to control signals from an external source ([0062] describes computing system 1210 is communicatively coupled to, i.e., capable of sending control signals to, turbomachine 14 to adjust, modulate, maintain, change, or articulate any one or more control surfaces to generate the flows of air, one or more embodiments of the flow of heat transfer fluid, and/or a liquid and/or gaseous fuel; and 1210 can include one or more computing devices such as a full authority digital engine controller FADEC, a digital engine controller DEC, or other appropriate computing device configured to operate the engine 10; turbomachine 14 is a core engine of gas turbine engine 10 per components of 14 described in [0056]; [0065] describes 1210 includes communications interface module 1230 which includes associated electronic circuitry that is used to send and receive data, i.e., send signals, such that module 1230 of the computing system 1210 can be used to receive data from one or more control surfaces, sensors, measurement devices, or instrumentation, or calculations or measurements corresponding to one or more portions of the engine 10 provided herein, and may execute one or more steps of the method 1000; computing system 1210 may cause embodiments of the engine such as described with regard to Figs. 1 and 4 to perform operations such as outlined in the flowchart in FIGS. 7A-7B with regard to method 1000; per [0103] method 1000 includes at 1062 varying or modulating, via a flow control device 130 at the second conduit 120 extended from the first conduit 110, the portion of the flow of cooling air extracted to the second conduit 120 from the first conduit 110 downstream of heat exchanger 141, and per [102] clearance control system is utilized to modulate the tip clearance based on engine operating condition; such that 1210 is an external source which communicates with, sends signals, to have the electromechanical actuator associated with 130 to cause 130 to modulate the flow of cooling air to generate the first and second flow levels of cooling air at the respective first and second engine operating conditions).
Regarding claim 6, Sharma further teaches at least one second cooling air tube (110,112 in Fig. 4), wherein the at least one second cooling air tube provides a fixed flow of the cooling air therethrough ([0087] describes conduit 110 and circumferential compressor location 211 may define fixed flowpath areas, and the fixed area flowpath allows for a constant volumetric or mass flow rate of the flow of cooling air 91 from the compressor section 21 through the first conduit 110; per [0088] engine 10 may allow a fixed flow of air 193 to the turbine frame 308, such as for the bearing assembly 200).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Sharma further teaches a sensor ([0065] describes computing system 1210 which is external source can be used to receive data from sensors corresponding to one or more portions of the engine 10 including turbine section 27) configured to detect operating conditions of a turbine cooling air system (see 112(b): interpreted as hybrid electric gas turbine engine 10; sensors detect data corresponding to one or more portions of the hybrid electric gas turbine engine 10 which includes turbine section 27, and [0077] describes modulating the amount of the flow of cooling air to the clearance control system 275 at high pressure turbine 28 allows the tip clearance to be desirably regulated across various engine operating conditions and associated changes in temperature at the turbine section 27; as temperatures and rotor speeds change at turbine section 27 across various engine operating conditions, the throttling valve 130 modulates the amount of the flow of air 94 provided to clearance control system 275 to maintain or provide a desired tip clearance) providing the flow of the cooling air (the flow of cooling air is provided from high pressure compressor 24 of hybrid electric gas turbine engine 10) and providing closed loop control of the at least one throttling valve responsive thereto (closed loop control is interpreted per Merriam-Webster online dictionary definition of closed loop: an automatic control system in which an operation, process, or mechanism is regulated by feedback: desired tip clearance in the high pressure turbine is regulated by sensors in hybrid electric gas turbine engine 10 which provide data to 1210 to control actuation of throttling valve 24 to modulate flow of the cooling air to achieve the desired tip clearance, i.e., closed loop control of the at least one throttling valve responsive thereto).
Regarding claim 8, Sharma further teaches the control signals are configured to limit the flow of the cooling air during cruise and low power modes of operation of the hybrid electric gas turbine engine (as discussed above in claim 1, computing system 1210 which is external source may cause embodiments of the engine such as described with regard to Figs. 1 and 4 to perform operations such as outlined in the flowchart in FIGS. 7A-7B with regard to method 1000; per [0103] method 1000 includes at 1062 varying or modulating, via a throttling valve 130 at the first cooling air tube 120 extended from the first conduit 110, the portion of the flow of cooling air extracted to the first cooling air tube 120 from the first conduit 110 downstream of heat exchanger 141, and per [102] clearance control system is utilized to modulate the tip clearance based on engine operating condition, and [0077] describes modulating, i.e., limiting, the amount of the flow of cooling air 194 to the clearance control system 275 allows the tip clearance to be desirably regulated across various engine operating conditions and associated changes in temperature at the turbine section 27, and that operating conditions include cruise and startup and idle which are low power modes).
Regarding independent claim 15, Sharma teaches, with reference to Figs. 1 and 4, a method for providing cooling air within a hybrid electric gas turbine engine (10; [0054] describes 10 as a hybrid electric gas turbine engine), comprising:
providing cooling air from a high pressure compressor (24; cooling air from 24 shown by flow arrow 91 at tap 211 passes into conduit 110, through heat exchanger 141 and into 121 shown by flow arrow 192, through valve 130 and then through 122 shown by flow arrow 194) in the hybrid electric gas turbine engine to a high pressure turbine (28; cooling air shown by flow arrow 194 passes from 122 to 28) within the hybrid gas turbine engine through at least one cooling air tube (120 which includes 121,122), the high pressure turbine being associated with a high pressure turbine;
limiting a flow of the cooling air from the high pressure compressor in the hybrid electric gas turbine engine to the high pressure turbine within the hybrid electric gas turbine engine (per [0073] flow control device 130 is configured to selectively adjust, alter, modulate, or otherwise change an amount of the flow of cooling air 91 from the first conduit 110 through the cooling air tube 120) to a first flow level when the hybrid electric gas turbine engine is in a first condition and to a second flow level when the hybrid electric gas turbine engine is in a second condition ([0077] describes modulating the amount of the flow of cooling air to the clearance control system 275 at high pressure turbine 28 allows the tip clearance to be desirably regulated across various engine operating conditions and associated changes in temperature at the turbine section 27; as temperatures and rotor speeds change at turbine section 27 across various engine operating conditions, throttling valve 130 modulates the amount of the flow of cooling air provided to clearance control system 275 to maintain or provide a desired tip clearance; with regard to a landing-takeoff cycle (LTO) of the engine 10 and an aircraft, engine operating conditions include startup, idle, takeoff, climb, cruise, approach, or reverse thrust, such that the electromechanical actuator associated with 130 actuates 130 to a first flow level of cooling air when gas turbine engine 10 is in a first condition such as any one of startup, idle, takeoff, climb, cruise, approach, or reverse thrust, and actuates 130 to a second flow level when gas turbine engine 10 is in a different one of the other operating conditions, i.e., a second operating condition) using at least one electromechanically actuated throttling valve (130; per [0073] flow control device 130 is configured to selectively adjust, alter, modulate, or otherwise change an amount of the flow of air 91 from the first conduit 110 through the cooling air tube 120, i.e., 130 is a throttling valve; [0075] also refers to 130 as a valve) associated with the at least one cooling air tube (130 is located on and associated with cooling air tube 120); and
actuating the at least one throttling valve using at least one electromechanical actuator (per ([0075] 130 is an actuated valve driven by electric energy such that 130 is actuated by an electromechanical actuator)
responsive to control signals from an external source ([0062] describes computing system 1210 is communicatively coupled to, i.e., capable of sending control signals to, turbomachine 14 to adjust, modulate, maintain, change, or articulate any one or more control surfaces to generate the flows of air, one or more embodiments of the flow of heat transfer fluid, and/or a liquid and/or gaseous fuel; and 1210 can include one or more computing devices such as a full authority digital engine controller FADEC, a digital engine controller DEC, or other appropriate computing device configured to operate the engine 10; turbomachine 14 is a core engine of gas turbine engine 10 per components of 14 described in [0056]; [0065] describes 1210 includes communications interface module 1230 which includes associated electronic circuitry that is used to send and receive data, i.e., send signals, such that module 1230 of the computing system 1210 can be used to receive data from one or more control surfaces, sensors, measurement devices, or instrumentation, or calculations or measurements corresponding to one or more portions of the engine 10 provided herein, and may execute one or more steps of the method 1000; computing system 1210 may cause embodiments of the engine such as described with regard to Figs. 1 and 4 to perform operations such as outlined in the flowchart in FIGS. 7A-7B with regard to method 1000; per [0103] method 1000 includes at 1062 varying or modulating, via a flow control device 130 at the second conduit 120 extended from the first conduit 110, the portion of the flow of cooling air extracted to the second conduit 120 from the first conduit 110 downstream of heat exchanger 141, and per [102] clearance control system is utilized to modulate the tip clearance based on engine operating condition; such that 1210 is an external source which communicates with, sends signals, to have the electromechanical actuator associated with 130 to cause 130 to modulate the flow of cooling air through cooling air tube 120 to generate the first and second flow levels of cooling air at the respective first and second engine operating conditions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. 20230143283 in view of DeBlois et al. 20230014208.
Regarding claim 2, Sharma teaches all that is claimed above and teaches a control signal from full authority digital engine control (FADEC) control (as discussed above in claim 1, the external source 1210 includes FADEC control and sends control signals regarding controlling operation of throttling valve 130 to the first flow level and the second flow level of cooling air) but does not explicitly teach the external source comprises a motor controller for generating the control signals to control operation of the at least one throttling valve to the first flow level and the second flow level of the cooling air responsive to the control signal from full authority digital engine control (FADEC) control.
DeBlois teaches in Fig. 2, a motor controller 26 with converter 28 for generating control signals to control operation (per [0003] 26 controls operation of electromechanical actuator 30, which per [0009] the electromechanical actuator is a motor and therefore 26 is a motor controller, via communication with, generating control signals to, electromechanical actuator 30 as shown by connection arrow between 26,28 and 30) of at least one throttling valve (variable bleed valve 22 which is a valve which varies, i.e., throttles, bleed at different positions of the variable bleed valve; position of 22 is set by 30 per [0003] such that 26 controls operation of 22 via 30) to generate a flow level of bleed air (varying position of 22 varies a flow level of bleed air). An Electronic Engine Controller EEC 24 communicates with, sends signals to, motor controller 26 as seen in Fig. 2 by connection arrow from 24 to 26.
"The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. . . [W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR at 1395-66 (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sharma to include a motor controller with a converter for generating the control signals to control operation of the at least one throttling valve to the first flow level and the second flow level of the cooling air responsive to the control signal from FADEC control as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case combining a motor controller with a converter for generating control signals to control operation of an electromechanical actuator which adjusts position of a throttling valve responsive to a control signal from an EEC taught by DeBlois with the system of providing cooling air in the hybrid gas turbine engine which has the external source including full authority digital engine controller FADEC, a digital engine controller DEC, or other appropriate computing device configured to operate the hybrid gas turbine engine of Sharma to predictably control operation of the at least one throttling valve via the motor controller controlling the electromechanical actuator to provide the first flow level and the second flow level of cooling air.
Regarding claim 3, Sharma in view of DeBlois teaches all that is claimed above and teaches the at least one electromechanical actuator is each separately controllable via the control signals from the motor controller (as seen in Fig. 2 of DeBlois, an electromechanical actuator 30 is separately controllable via control signals from a respective motor controller 26).
Regarding claim 4, Sharma in view of DeBlois teaches all that is claimed above and teaches the control signals from the motor controller controls the at least one throttling valve to a plurality of positions each providing a different flow level of the cooling air through the at least one cooling air tube (control signals from the motor controller control electromechanical actuator which controls modulating throttling valve 130 to different positions and different positions of throttling valve 130 generate respective different flow levels of the cooling air through cooling air tube 120).
Regarding claim 16, Sharma teaches all that is claimed above and teaches a control signal from full authority digital engine control (FADEC) control (as discussed above in claim 15, the external source 1210 includes FADEC control and sends control signals regarding controlling operation of throttling valve 130 to the first flow level and the second flow level of cooling air) but does not explicitly teach generating the control signals to control operation of the at least one throttling valve to limit the flow of the cooling air using a motor controller responsive to the control signal from full authority digital engine control (FADEC) control.
DeBlois teaches in Fig. 2, a motor controller 26 with converter 28 for generating control signals to control operation (per [0003] 26 controls operation of electromechanical actuator 30, which per [0009] the electromechanical actuator is a motor and therefore 26 is a motor controller, via communication with, generating control signals to, electromechanical actuator 30 as shown by connection arrow between 26,28 and 30) of at least one throttling valve (variable bleed valve 22 which is a valve which varies, i.e., throttles, bleed at different positions of the variable bleed valve; position of 22 is set by 30 per [0003] such that 26 controls operation of 22 via 30) to generate a flow level of bleed air (varying position of 22 varies a flow level of bleed air). An Electronic Engine Controller EEC 24 communicates with, sends signals to, motor controller 26 as seen in Fig. 2 by connection arrow from 24 to 26.
"The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. . . [W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR at 1395-66 (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sharma to include a motor controller with a converter for generating the control signals to control operation of the at least one throttling valve to limit the first flow level and the second flow level of the cooling air using a motor controller responsive to the control signal from FADEC control as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case combining a motor controller with a converter for generating control signals to control operation of an electromechanical actuator which adjusts position of a throttling valve responsive to a control signal from an EEC taught by DeBlois with the system of providing cooling air in the hybrid gas turbine engine which has the external source including full authority digital engine controller FADEC, a digital engine controller DEC, or other appropriate computing device configured to operate the hybrid gas turbine engine of Sharma to predictably control operation of the at least one throttling valve via the motor controller generating signals and controlling the electromechanical actuator to limit the flow of the cooling air.
Regarding claim 17, Sharma in view of DeBlois teaches all that is claimed above and teaches the step of actuating further comprises separately controlling each of the at least one electromechanical actuator via the control signals from the motor controller (as seen in Fig. 2 of DeBlois, an electromechanical actuator 30 is separately controlled via control signals from a respective motor controller 26).
Regarding claim 18, Sharma in view of DeBlois teaches all that is claimed above and teaches the step of limiting further comprises controlling the at least one throttling valve to a plurality of positions each having a different flow level of the cooling air through the at least one cooling air tube (control signals from the motor controller control electromechanical actuator which controls modulating throttling valve 130 to different positions and different positions of throttling valve 130 generate respective different flow levels of the cooling air through cooling air tube 120).
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. 20230143283 in view of Auker et al. 20180058243.
Regarding claim 5, Sharma teaches all that is claimed above but is silent regarding a hybrid electric generator configured to provide electricity to the electromechanical actuator.
Auker teaches a gas turbine engine (2 Fig. 1; [0013] describes 2 may be for an aircraft) with a drive shaft (6 Fig. 1; [0014]-[0015]) which drives a tower shaft (8 Fig. 1) which per [0017] delivers mechanical power to an electric generator (4 Fig. 1) which generates electrical power to be used by an electrical load of the gas turbine engine), and the electrical load 12 may be coupled to a power bus and communication between electric generator 4 and electrical load 12 may include one or more power converters per [0019]. In light of instant specification [0021], electric generator 4 is a hybrid electric generator as electric generator 4 provides electrical power to electrical loads of a gas turbine engine via a power distribution bus.
"The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. . . [W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR at 1395-66 (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid gas turbine engine of Sharma to have a drive shaft drive a tower shaft which delivers mechanical power to a hybrid electric generator configured to provide electricity to the electromechanical actuator as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case combining a hybrid electric generator providing electrical power via a power distribution bus to electrical loads of a gas turbine engine as taught by Auker with the hybrid electric gas turbine engine of Sharma to predictably provide electricity to the electromechanical actuator which is an electrical load of the hybrid electric gas turbine engine of Sharma.
Regarding claim 19, Sharma teaches all that is claimed above but is silent regarding providing electricity to the electromechanical actuator using a hybrid electric generator.
Auker teaches a gas turbine engine (2 Fig. 1; [0013] describes 2 may be for an aircraft) with a drive shaft (6 Fig. 1; [0014]-[0015]) which drives a tower shaft (8 Fig. 1) which per [0017] delivers mechanical power to an electric generator (4 Fig. 1) which generates electrical power to be used by an electrical load of the gas turbine engine), and the electrical load 12 may be coupled to a power bus and communication between electric generator 4 and electrical load 12 may include one or more power converters per [0019]. In light of instant specification [0021], electric generator 4 is a hybrid electric generator as electric generator 4 provides electrical power to electrical loads of a gas turbine engine via a power distribution bus.
"The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. . . [W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR at 1395-66 (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid gas turbine engine of Sharma to have a drive shaft drive a tower shaft which delivers mechanical power to a hybrid electric generator and include in the method of Sharma providing electricity to the electromechanical actuator using the hybrid electric generator as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case combining a hybrid electric generator providing electrical power via a power distribution bus to electrical loads of a gas turbine engine as taught by Auker with the hybrid electric gas turbine engine of Sharma to predictably provide electricity to the electromechanical actuator which is an electrical load of the hybrid electric gas turbine engine of Sharma.
Claim(s) 9-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. 20230143283 in view of Fintescu et al. 20100119356 and DeBlois et al. 20230014208.
Regarding independent claim 9, Sharma teaches, with reference to Figs. 1 and 4, a system for providing cooling air within a hybrid gas turbine engine (10; [0054] describes 10 as a hybrid electric gas turbine engine), comprising:
a first cooling air tube (120 which includes 121,122) configured to provide a variable flow of cooling air (120 is configured with flow control device 130 located on 120 to modulate a flow, i.e., provide a variable flow, of cooling air) from a high pressure compressor (24; cooling air from 24 shown by flow arrow 91 at tap 211 passes into conduit 110, through heat exchanger 141 and into 121 shown by flow arrow 192, through valve 130 and then through 122 shown by flow arrow 194) in the hybrid electric gas turbine engine to a high pressure turbine (28; cooling air shown by flow arrow 194 passes from 122 to 28) within the hybrid gas turbine engine;
a throttling valve (130; per [0073] flow control device 130 is configured to selectively adjust, alter, modulate, or otherwise change an amount of the flow of air 91 from the first conduit 110 through first cooling air tube 120, i.e., 130 is a throttling valve; [0075] also refers to 130 as a valve) located on the first cooling air tube (130 is located on 120) and configured to control the variable flow of the cooling air from the high pressure compressor turbine to the high pressure turbine (130 is configured to selectively adjust, alter, modulate, or otherwise change, i.e., control, an amount of the flow of cooling air 91 from the first conduit 110 through the second conduit 120), wherein the plurality of throttling valves are electromechanically actuated ([0075] describes 130 is an actuated valve or an automatic valve driven by an electric energy source, i.e., 130 is electromechanically actuated);
an electromechanical actuator associated with the throttling valve (130 is an actuated valve driven by electric energy such that an electromechanical actuator is associated with 130)
configured to actuate the throttling valve to a first flow level when the hybrid electric gas turbine engine is in a first condition and to a second flow level when the hybrid electric gas turbine engine is in a second condition ([0077] describes modulating the amount of the flow of cooling air to the clearance control system 275 at high pressure turbine 28 allows the tip clearance to be desirably regulated across various engine operating conditions and associated changes in temperature at the turbine section 27; as temperatures and rotor speeds change at turbine section 27 across various engine operating conditions, throttling valve 130 modulates the amount of the flow of cooling air provided to clearance control system 275 to maintain or provide a desired tip clearance; with regard to a landing-takeoff cycle (LTO) of the engine 10 and an aircraft, engine operating conditions include startup, idle, takeoff, climb, cruise, approach, or reverse thrust, such that the electromechanical actuator associated with 130 actuates 130 to a first flow level of cooling air when gas turbine engine 10 is in a first condition such as any one of startup, idle, takeoff, climb, cruise, approach, or reverse thrust, and actuates 130 to a second flow level when gas turbine engine 10 is in a different one of the other operating conditions, i.e., a second operating condition)
responsive to control signals ([0062] describes computing system 1210 is communicatively coupled to, i.e., capable of sending control signals to, turbomachine 14 to adjust, modulate, maintain, change, or articulate any one or more control surfaces to generate the flows of air, one or more embodiments of the flow of heat transfer fluid, and/or a liquid and/or gaseous fuel; and 1210 can include one or more computing devices such as a full authority digital engine controller FADEC, a digital engine controller DEC, or other appropriate computing device configured to operate the engine 10; turbomachine 14 is a core engine of gas turbine engine 10 per components of 14 described in [0056]; [0065] describes 1210 includes communications interface module 1230 which includes associated electronic circuitry that is used to send and receive data, i.e., send signals, such that module 1230 of the computing system 1210 can be used to receive data from one or more control surfaces, sensors, measurement devices, or instrumentation, or calculations or measurements corresponding to one or more portions of the engine 10 provided herein, and may execute one or more steps of the method 1000; computing system 1210 may cause embodiments of the engine such as described with regard to Figs. 1 and 4 to perform operations such as outlined in the flowchart in FIGS. 7A-7B with regard to method 1000; per [0103] method 1000 includes at 1062 varying or modulating, via a flow control device 130 at the second conduit 120 extended from the first conduit 110, the portion of the flow of cooling air extracted to the second conduit 120 from the first conduit 110 downstream of heat exchanger 141, and per [102] clearance control system is utilized to modulate the tip clearance based on engine operating condition; such that 1210 which communicates with, sends signals, to have the electromechanical actuator associated with 130 to cause 130 to modulate the flow of cooling air to generate the first and second flow levels of cooling air at the respective first and second engine operating conditions); and
a control signal from full authority digital engine control (FADEC) control (as discussed above 1210 includes FADEC control and sends control signals regarding controlling operation of throttling valve 130 to the first flow level and the second flow level of cooling air).
Sharma does not explicitly teach a second cooling tube configured to provide a fixed flow of the cooling air from the high pressure compressor to the high pressure turbine; and a motor controller for generating the control signals to control operation of the electromechanical actuator to the first flow level and the second flow level of the cooling air responsive to the control signal from full authority digital engine control (FADEC) control.
Fintescu teaches regulating the flow rate of air for feeding to a turbine ventilation cavity in a turbine section of an aviation turbomachine. Fintescu teaches in Fig. 1 a cooling tube 12 configured to provide a fixed flow of cooling air (per [0004] it is known to feed compressed air to a turbine ventilation that is formed around the outer casing of the turbine and that communicates with the flow passage for the gas stream through the turbine section(s), and per [0005] air in the turbine ventilation cavity is generally conveyed by a tubular duct, i.e., cooling tube, connecting the turbine ventilation cavity to a take-off cavity that communicates with the flow passage for the stream of air passing through the compressor of the turbomachine and a diaphragm may be located inside the cooling tube in order to calibrate the flow rate of the air that is taken off, and per [0006] taking compressed air to deliver it to the turbine ventilation cavity via the cooling tube provided with the flow rate calibration diaphragm does not enable the flow rate of the cooling air that is taken off to be regulated as a function of the operating speed of the turbomachine since the diaphragm disposed in the cooling tube is of constant flow section, the cooling air take-off flow rate is substantially constant, i.e., provides a fixed flow of cooling air, for the various operating speeds when expressed as a percentage of the flow rate of air flowing in the primary passage of the compressor) from a high pressure compressor (20) to a high pressure turbine (30). The diaphragm is dimensioned so as to enable cooling air to be taken off at a flow rate that is sufficient to ventilate turbines (i.e. purge them and cool parts thereof) when the turbine is operating at high speed (such as full throttle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sharma to include a second cooling tube configured to provide a fixed flow of the cooling air from the high pressure compressor to the high pressure turbine as taught by Fintescu to enable cooling air through the second cooling tube to be at a flow rate that is sufficient to purge and cool parts of the high pressure turbine when the high pressure turbine is operating at high speed (such as full throttle), to cool the various vanes and/or blades of the high pressure turbine to prevent damage to the parts from high temperatures of the gases flowing during high speed operation and to prevent the hot gas stream in the primary flow passage through the high pressure turbine from penetrating outside the primary flow passage during operation at high speed which could damage parts situated outside the primary flow passage (per [0002] - [0003] of Fintescu).
Sharma in view of Fintescu does not explicitly teach a motor controller for generating the control signals to control operation of the electromechanical actuator to the first flow level and the second flow level of the cooling air responsive to the control signal from full authority digital engine control (FADEC) control.
DeBlois teaches in Fig. 2, a motor controller 26 with converter 28 for generating control signals to control operation (per [0003] 26 controls operation of electromechanical actuator 30, which per [0009] the electromechanical actuator is a motor and therefore 26 is a motor controller, via communication with, generating control signals to, electromechanical actuator 30 as shown by connection arrow between 26,28 and 30) of at least one throttling valve (variable bleed valve 22 which is a valve which varies, i.e., throttles, bleed at different positions of the variable bleed valve; position of 22 is set by 30 per [0003] such that 26 controls operation of 22 via 30) to generate a flow level of bleed air (varying position of 22 varies a flow level of bleed air). An Electronic Engine Controller EEC 24 communicates with, sends signals to, motor controller 26 as seen in Fig. 2 by connection arrow from 24 to 26.
"The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. . . [W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR at 1395-66 (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sharma in view of Fintescu to include a motor controller with a converter for generating the control signals to control operation of the at least one throttling valve to the first flow level and the second flow level of the cooling air responsive to the control signal from FADEC control as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case combining a motor controller with a converter for generating control signals to control operation of an electromechanical actuator which adjusts position of a throttling valve responsive to a control signal from an EEC taught by DeBlois with the system of providing cooling air in the hybrid gas turbine engine which has the external source including full authority digital engine controller FADEC, a digital engine controller DEC, or other appropriate computing device configured to operate the hybrid gas turbine engine of Sharma in view of Fintescu to predictably control operation of the at least one throttling valve via the motor controller controlling the electromechanical actuator to provide the first flow level and the second flow level of cooling air.
Regarding claim 10, Sharma in view of Fintescu and DeBlois teaches all that is claimed above and Sharma further teaches all of the following limitations since the bottom half of hybrid electric gas turbine engine 10 as shown Fig. 1 includes another set of the same features as in the top half which is also shown in Fig. 4 referred to as teaching claimed limitations in claim 9:
a third cooling air tube configured to provide a second variable flow of cooling air from the high pressure compressor turbine in the hybrid electric gas turbine engine to the high pressure turbine within the hybrid electric gas turbine engine;
a second throttling valve located on the third cooling air tube and configured to control the second variable flow of the cooling air from the high pressure compressor turbine to the high pressure turbine, wherein the second throttling valve is electromechanically actuated; and
a second electromechanical actuator associated with the second throttling valve configured to actuate the second throttling valve to a third flow level when the hybrid electric gas turbine engine is in the first condition and to the fourth flow level when the hybrid electric gas turbine engine is in the second condition responsive to control signals.
Regarding claim 11, Sharma in view of Fintescu and DeBlois teaches all that is claimed above teaches the control signals from the motor controller controls the throttling valve to a plurality of positions each providing a different flow level of the cooling air through an associated cooling air tube (control signals from the motor controller control electromechanical actuator which controls modulating throttling valve 130 to different positions and different positions of throttling valve 130 generate respective different flow levels of cooling air through first cooling air tube 120).
Regarding claim 13, Sharma in view of Fintescu and DeBlois teaches all that is claimed above and Sharma further teaches a sensor ([0065] describes computing system 1210 which is external source can be used to receive data from sensors corresponding to one or more portions of the engine 10 including turbine section 27) for detecting operating conditions of the hybrid electric gas turbine engine (sensors detect data corresponding to one or more portions of the hybrid electric gas turbine engine 10 which includes turbine section 27, and [0077] describes modulating the amount of the flow of cooling air to the clearance control system 275 at high pressure turbine 28 allows the tip clearance to be desirably regulated across various engine operating conditions and associated changes in temperature at the turbine section 27; as temperatures and rotor speeds change at turbine section 27 across various engine operating conditions, the throttling valve 130 modulates the amount of the flow of air 94 provided to clearance control system 275 to maintain or provide a desired tip clearance) providing the flow of the cooling air (the flow of cooling air is provided from high pressure compressor 24 of hybrid electric gas turbine engine 10) and providing closed loop control of the at least one throttling valve responsive thereto (closed loop control is interpreted per Merriam-Webster online dictionary definition of closed loop: an automatic control system in which an operation, process, or mechanism is regulated by feedback: desired tip clearance in the high pressure turbine is regulated by feedback from sensors in hybrid electric gas turbine engine 10 which provide data to 1210 to control actuation of throttling valve 24 to modulate flow of the cooling air to achieve the desired tip clearance, i.e., closed loop control of the at least one throttling valve responsive thereto).
Regarding claim 14, Sharma in view of Fintescu and DeBlois teaches all that is claimed above and the control signals limit the flow of the cooling air through the first plurality of cooling air tubes during cruise and low power modes of operation of the hybrid electric gas turbine engine (as discussed above in claim 9, computing system 1210 may cause embodiments of the engine such as described with regard to Figs. 1 and 4 to perform operations such as outlined in the flowchart in FIGS. 7A-7B with regard to method 1000; per [0103] method 1000 includes at 1062 varying or modulating, via a throttling valve 130 at the first cooling air tube 120 extended from the first conduit 110, the portion of the flow of cooling air extracted to the first cooling air tube 120 from the first conduit 110 downstream of heat exchanger 141, and per [102] clearance control system is utilized to modulate the tip clearance based on engine operating condition, and [0077] describes modulating, i.e., limiting, the amount of the flow of cooling air 194 through fist cooling air tube 120 to the clearance control system 275 allows the tip clearance to be desirably regulated across various engine operating conditions and associated changes in temperature at the turbine section 27, and that operating conditions include cruise and startup and idle which are low power modes).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. 20230143283 in view of Fintescu et al. 20100119356 and DeBlois et al. 20230014208 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Auker et al. 20180058243.
Regarding claim 12, Sharma in view of Fintescu and DeBlois teaches all that is claimed above but is silent regarding a hybrid electric generator for providing electricity to the electromechanical actuator and the motor controller.
Auker teaches a gas turbine engine (2 Fig. 1; [0013] describes 2 may be for an aircraft) with a drive shaft (6 Fig. 1; [0014]-[0015]) which drives a tower shaft (8 Fig. 1) which per [0017] delivers mechanical power to an electric generator (4 Fig. 1) which generates electrical power to be used by an electrical load of the gas turbine engine), and the electrical load 12 may be coupled to a power bus and communication between electric generator 4 and electrical load 12 may include one or more power converters per [0019]. In light of instant specification [0021], electric generator 4 is a hybrid electric generator as electric generator 4 provides electrical power to electrical loads of a gas turbine engine via a power distribution bus.
"The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. . . [W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR at 1395-66 (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid gas turbine engine of Sharma in view of Fintescu and DeBlois to have a drive shaft drive a tower shaft which delivers mechanical power to a hybrid electric generator configured to provide electricity to the electromechanical actuator as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case combining a hybrid electric generator providing electrical power via a power distribution bus to electrical loads of a gas turbine engine as taught by Auker with the hybrid electric gas turbine engine of Sharma in view of Fintescu and DeBlois to predictably provide electricity to the electromechanical actuator which is an electrical load of the hybrid electric gas turbine engine of Sharma in view of Fintescu and DeBlois.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. 20230143283 in view of Fintescu et al. 20100119356.
Regarding claim 20, Sharma teaches all that is claimed above in claim 15 but does not explicitly teach providing a fixed cooling air flow between the high pressure compressor and the high pressure turbine using at least one second cooling air tube.
Fintescu teaches regulating the flow rate of air for feeding to a turbine ventilation cavity in a turbine section of an aviation turbomachine. Fintescu teaches in Fig. 1 a cooling air tube 12 and providing a fixed flow of cooling air (per [0004] it is known to feed compressed air to a turbine ventilation that is formed around the outer casing of the turbine and that communicates with the flow passage for the gas stream through the turbine section(s), and per [0005] air in the turbine ventilation cavity is generally conveyed by a tubular duct, i.e., cooling air tube, connecting the turbine ventilation cavity to a take-off cavity that communicates with the flow passage for the stream of air passing through the compressor of the turbomachine and a diaphragm may be located inside the cooling tube in order to calibrate the flow rate of the air that is taken off, and per [0006] taking compressed air to deliver it to the turbine ventilation cavity via the cooling tube provided with the flow rate calibration diaphragm does not enable the flow rate of the cooling air that is taken off to be regulated as a function of the operating speed of the turbomachine since the diaphragm disposed in the cooling tube is of constant flow section, the cooling air take-off flow rate is substantially constant, i.e., provides a fixed flow of cooling air, for the various operating speeds when expressed as a percentage of the flow rate of air flowing in the primary passage of the compressor) between a high pressure compressor (20) and a high pressure turbine (30) using at least one cooling air tube (12). The diaphragm is dimensioned so as to enable cooling air to be taken off at a flow rate that is sufficient to ventilate turbines (i.e. purge them and cool parts thereof) when the turbine is operating at high speed (such as full throttle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sharma to include providing a fixed cooling air flow between the high pressure compressor and the high pressure turbine using at least one second cooling air tube as taught by Fintescu to enable cooling air through the at least one second cooling air tube to be at a flow rate that is sufficient to purge and cool parts of the high pressure turbine when the high pressure turbine is operating at high speed (such as full throttle), to cool the various vanes and/or blades of the high pressure turbine to prevent damage to the parts from high temperatures of the gases flowing during high speed operation and to prevent the hot gas stream in the primary flow passage through the high pressure turbine from penetrating outside the primary flow passage during operation at high speed which could damage parts situated outside the primary flow passage (per [0002] - [0003] of Fintescu).
Conclusion
/A.J.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741