DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanohashi (JP2022027158A, published February 10, 2022) in view of Kawaguchi (US 4,767,306).
As to claim 1, Takanohashi teaches (Fig. 2) an injection molding machine comprising a first cylinder (10) and an injection member (12) housed within the cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a molten resin supply device (Fig. 1, item 6) configured to pump a molten resin into the cylinder. Takanohashi’s injection molding machine applies a pumping force in the first cylinder to move resin in front of the injection member and accumulated on a front side of the internal space of the cylinder. Takanohashi’s injection molding machine is capable of injecting from a distal end of the first cylinder by moving the injection member (12) forward (Fig. 4, arrow on item 12).
Takanohashi is silent to supplying resin from a position closer to a proximal end of the injection member than to a distal end of the injection member.
Kawaguchi teaches an injection molding machine. Kawaguchi supplies molding material to a cylinder (22) from an inlet position closer to a proximal end of an injection member than to a distal end of the injection member (see Figs. 1 and 4-6) and an injection member that cooperates with the inlet. In the combination with Takanohashi, the pumping force applied by the Takanohashi molten resin supply device is capable of moving molten resin in front of the Kawaguchi injection member.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Kawaguchi into Takanohashi because the Kawaguchi supply location and injection member are an obvious interchangeable substitute for that already disclosed by Takanohashi. The Takanohashi injection molding machine has the functions of introducing molding material to the first injection cylinder and moving the molding material from the first cylinder to another location. In Takanohashi, this is achieved by injecting material into the front side of the first cylinder. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a proximal end molding material supply, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Kawaguchi’s inlet location (28) closer to a proximal end than a distal end and injection member – were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative molding material supply location).
As to claims 2 and 3, Takanohashi’s injection molding machine, molten resin supply device, and first cylinder (10) are discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Takanohashi’s first cylinder (10) is capable of supplying molten resin to a second cylinder (20), and the second cylinder (20) includes a second injection member (22) which is capable of moving backward in response (Fig. 4, arrow on item 22). Takanohashi’s second injection member is configured to inject molten resin to a mold (through item 40).
As to claim 4, Takanohashi teaches a controller (80) configured to control the injection member (12) and second injection member (22) and can control the device that supplies the molten resin to the injection device. When the Takanohashi controller controls the injection member, it provides an apparatus that controls the pumping and accumulating of molten resin into the front side of the first cylinder as claimed. When the Takanohashi controller controls the second injection member, it provides an apparatus that performs a metering and accumulating of molten resin in the second cylinder by discharging the molten resin from the first cylinder and performs a metering process as claimed. The Takahashi controller is configured to then inject molten resin from the second cylinder through item 40 by moving the second injection member forward. The controller is configures to perform the reservoir storage process and injecting process simultaneously as shown in Takanohashi’s Fig. 6 (see arrows on 12 and 22).
As to claims 5 and 6, Takanohashi is silent to an injection member that has a backflow prevention assembly configured to push out molten resin present in front of the injection member and prevent backflow to the proximal end of the injection member, as well as the injection member including an axial shaft without irregularities on its outer peripheral surface.
Kawaguchi teaches an injection member that includes an axial shaft body depicted as cylindrical (i.e. curved) without irregularities (Fig. 6, item 24) and a backflow prevention assembly (check valve with ring 23) at a distal end of the injection member capable of preventing backflow of the molten resin to the proximal end of the injection member.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Kawaguchi into Takanohashi because the Kawaguchi injection member is an obvious interchangeable substitute injection member for the plunger already disclosed by Takanohashi. Takanohashi already teaches an injection member that is a plunger (12) which has the function of injecting/moving the molding material from the first cylinder. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a different injection member, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Kawaguchi’s plunger (24) for injecting resin – was known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative pressurizing member).
As to claim 8, Takanohashi’s molten resin supply device (6) is configured to melt resin and supply it to the first cylinder (Translation, “melts and extrudes”). The recycled nature of the material is a process limitation that does not limit the claimed apparatus.
Claims 1-4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanohashi (JP2022027158A, published February 10, 2022) in view of Farrell (US 4,749,536).
As to claim 1, Takanohashi teaches (Fig. 2) an injection molding machine comprising a first cylinder (10) and an injection member (12) housed within the cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a molten resin supply device (Fig. 1, item 6) configured to pump a molten resin into the cylinder. Takanohashi’s injection molding machine applies a pumping force in the first cylinder to move resin in front of the injection member and accumulated on a front side of the internal space of the cylinder. Takanohashi’s injection molding machine is capable of injecting from a distal end of the first cylinder by moving the injection member (12) forward (Fig. 4, arrow on item 12).
Takanohashi is silent to supplying resin from a position closer to a proximal end of the injection member than to a distal end of the injection member.
Farrell teaches an injection molding machine. Farrell supplies molding material to the cylinder (16) from an inlet position closer to a proximal end of an injection member than to a distal end of the injection member, and an injection member cooperates with the inlet. In the combination with Takanohashi, the pumping force applied by the Takanohashi molten resin supply device is capable of moving molten resin in front of the Kawaguchi injection member.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Farrell into Takanohashi because the Farrell supply location and injection member are an obvious interchangeable substitute for that already disclosed by Takanohashi. The Takanohashi injection molding machine has the functions of introducing molding material to the first injection cylinder and moving the molding material from the first cylinder to the accumulation chamber. In Takanohashi, this is achieved by injecting material into the front side of the first cylinder. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a proximal end molding material supply, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Farrell’s rearward molding material supply (12) and injection member – were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (inlet location and injection member) for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative molding material supply location).
As to claims 2 and 3, Takanohashi’s injection molding machine, molten resin supply device, and first cylinder (10) are discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Takanohashi’s first cylinder (10) is capable of supplying molten resin to a second cylinder (20), and the second cylinder (20) includes a second injection member (22) which is capable of moving backward in response (Fig. 4, arrow on item 22). Takanohashi’s second injection member is configured to inject molten resin to a mold (through item 40).
As to claim 4, Takanohashi teaches a controller (80) configured to control the injection member (12) and second injection member (22) and can control the device that supplies the molten resin to the injection device. When the Takanohashi controller controls the injection member, it provides an apparatus that controls the pumping and accumulating of molten resin into the front side of the first cylinder as claimed. When the Takanohashi controller controls the second injection member, it provides an apparatus that performs a metering and accumulating of molten resin in the second cylinder by discharging the molten resin from the first cylinder and performs a metering process as claimed. The Takahashi controller is configured to then inject molten resin from the second cylinder through item 40 by moving the second injection member forward. The controller is configures to perform the reservoir storage process and injecting process simultaneously as shown in Takanohashi’s Fig. 6 (see arrows on 12 and 22).
As to claim 7, Takanohashi is silent to an injection member that is a screw with a shaft body and helical flight. However, Farrell teaches an injection molding machine using a screw with a shaft body (24) and a helical flight (26).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Farrell into Takanohashi because the Farrell screw is an obvious interchangeable substitute injection member for the plunger already disclosed by Takanohashi. Takanohashi already teaches an injection member is a plunger (12) that has the function of moving the molding material from the first cylinder to the accumulation chamber. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a different injection member, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Farrell’s screw (24 and 26) – was known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative pressurizing member).
As to claim 8, Takanohashi’s molten resin supply device (6) is configured to melt resin and supply it to the first cylinder (Translation, “melts and extrudes”). The recycled nature of the material is a process limitation that does not limit the claimed apparatus.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742