DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanohashi (JP2022027158A, published February 10, 2022) in view of Kawaguchi (US 4,767,306).
As to claim 1, Takanohashi teaches (Fig. 2) an injection molding machine comprising a first cylinder (10) and an injection member (12) housed within the cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a molten resin supply device (Fig. 1, item 6) configured to pump a molten resin into the cylinder. Takanohashi’s injection molding machine applies a pumping force in the first cylinder to move resin in front of the injection member and accumulated on a front side of the internal space of the cylinder. Takanohashi’s injection molding machine is capable of injecting from a distal end of the first cylinder by moving the injection member (12) forward (Fig. 4, arrow on item 12).
Takanohashi is silent to supplying resin from a position closer to a proximal end of the injection member than to a distal end of the injection member.
Kawaguchi teaches an injection molding machine. Kawaguchi supplies molding material to a cylinder (22) from an inlet position closer to a proximal end of an injection member than to a distal end of the injection member (see Figs. 1 and 4-6) and an injection member that cooperates with the inlet. In the combination with Takanohashi, the pumping force applied by the Takanohashi molten resin supply device is capable of moving molten resin in front of the Kawaguchi injection member.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Kawaguchi into Takanohashi because the Kawaguchi supply location and injection member are an obvious interchangeable substitute for that already disclosed by Takanohashi. The Takanohashi injection molding machine has the functions of introducing molding material to the first injection cylinder and moving the molding material from the first cylinder to another location. In Takanohashi, this is achieved by injecting material into the front side of the first cylinder. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a proximal end molding material supply, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Kawaguchi’s inlet location (28) closer to a proximal end than a distal end and injection member – were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative molding material supply location).
As to claims 2 and 3, Takanohashi’s injection molding machine, molten resin supply device, and first cylinder (10) are discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Takanohashi’s first cylinder (10) is capable of supplying molten resin to a second cylinder (20), and the second cylinder (20) includes a second injection member (22) which is capable of moving backward in response (Fig. 4, arrow on item 22). Takanohashi’s second injection member is configured to inject molten resin to a mold (through item 40).
As to claim 4, Takanohashi teaches a controller (80) configured to control the injection member (12) and second injection member (22) and can control the device that supplies the molten resin to the injection device. The controller has a “determination unit” and “processing unit” and would therefore obviously have processing circuitry. When the Takanohashi controller controls the injection member, it provides an apparatus that controls the pumping and accumulating of molten resin into the front side of the first cylinder as claimed. When the Takanohashi controller controls the second injection member, it provides an apparatus that performs a metering and accumulating of molten resin in the second cylinder by discharging the molten resin from the first cylinder and performs a metering process as claimed. The Takahashi controller is configured to then inject molten resin from the second cylinder through item 40 by moving the second injection member forward. The controller is configured to perform the reservoir storage process and injecting process simultaneously as shown in Takanohashi’s Fig. 6 (see arrows on 12 and 22).
As to claims 5 and 6, Takanohashi is silent to an injection member that has a backflow prevention assembly configured to push out molten resin present in front of the injection member and prevent backflow to the proximal end of the injection member, as well as the injection member including an axial shaft without irregularities on its outer peripheral surface.
Kawaguchi teaches an injection member that includes an axial shaft body depicted as cylindrical (i.e. curved) without irregularities (Fig. 6, item 24) and a backflow prevention assembly (check valve with ring 23) at a distal end of the injection member capable of preventing backflow of the molten resin to the proximal end of the injection member.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Kawaguchi into Takanohashi because the Kawaguchi injection member is an obvious interchangeable substitute injection member for the plunger already disclosed by Takanohashi. Takanohashi already teaches an injection member that is a plunger (12) which has the function of injecting/moving the molding material from the first cylinder. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a different injection member, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Kawaguchi’s plunger (24) for injecting resin – was known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative pressurizing member).
As to claim 8, Takanohashi’s molten resin supply device (6) is configured to melt resin and supply it to the first cylinder (Translation, “melts and extrudes”). The recycled nature of the material is a process limitation that does not limit the claimed apparatus.
As to claim 9, Takanohashi teaches (Fig. 2) an injection molding machine comprising: a first cylinder (10) and a first injection member (12) housed within the first cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a second cylinder (20) and a second injection member (22) housed within the second cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a molten resin supply device (Fig. 1, item 6) connected to the first cylinder and configured to pump a molten resin into the cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a connector region (70 and 35) coupled to a distal end of the first cylinder and a direction switching valve (50) provided between the connector (70 and 35), the second cylinder (20), and a nozzle (40), wherein the molten resin supply device is further configured to apply a pumping force to the molten resin in the first cylinder to move the molten resin ahead of the first injection member and accumulate the molten resin on a front side of an internal space of the first cylinder (see Fig. 6). Takanohashi shows the connector including a flow path (constantly) connecting the distal end of the first cylinder (10) and a supply-side connection port of the direction switching valve (50). Takanohashi teaches the first injection member is configured to move forward to inject the molten resin from the distal end of the first cylinder to supply the molten resin to the second cylinder through the flow path of the connector and the direction switching valve (See Fig. 4). The direction switching valve is configured to switch a flow of the molten resin supplied from the first cylinder through the flow path of the connector (70 and 35) and the second injection member (22) is configured to move forward to inject the molten resin supplied from the first cylinder into a mold device through the nozzle (40). See Fig. 6.
Takanohashi is silent to supplying resin from a position closer to a proximal end of the injection member than to a distal end of the injection member.
Kawaguchi teaches an injection molding machine. Kawaguchi supplies molding material to a cylinder (22) from an inlet position closer to a proximal end of an injection member than to a distal end of the injection member (see Figs. 1 and 4-6) and an injection member that cooperates with the inlet. In the combination with Takanohashi, the pumping force applied by the Takanohashi molten resin supply device is capable of moving molten resin in front of the Kawaguchi injection member.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Kawaguchi into Takanohashi because the Kawaguchi supply location and injection member are an obvious interchangeable substitute for that already disclosed by Takanohashi. The Takanohashi injection molding machine has the functions of introducing molding material to the first injection cylinder and moving the molding material from the first cylinder to another location. In Takanohashi, this is achieved by injecting material into the front side of the first cylinder. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a proximal end molding material supply, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Kawaguchi’s inlet location (28) closer to a proximal end than a distal end and injection member – were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative molding material supply location).
As to claim 10, Takanohashi teaches an injection molding machine comprising a cylinder (10) and an injection member (12) housed within the cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a molten resin supply device (6) connected to the cylinder and configured to pump a molten resin. Takanohashi teaches that the molten resin supply device is further configured to apply a pumping force to the molten resin in the cylinder to move the molten resin ahead of the injection member and accumulate the molten resin on a front side of an internal space of the cylinder (Fig. 5). Takanohashi teaches a motor (16 and/or 17) inherently configured to move the injection member (12) forward and backward, and configured to move the injection member forward to inject resin from a distal end of the cylinder. The Takanohashi motor is configured to move the injection member backward based on pressure of molten resin pumped by the molten resin supply device (as shown in Fig. 5).
Takanohashi is silent to supplying resin from a position closer to a proximal end of the injection member than to a distal end of the injection member.
Kawaguchi teaches an injection molding machine. Kawaguchi supplies molding material to a cylinder (22) from an inlet position closer to a proximal end of an injection member than to a distal end of the injection member (see Figs. 1 and 4-6) and an injection member that cooperates with the inlet. In the combination with Takanohashi, the pumping force applied by the Takanohashi molten resin supply device is capable of moving molten resin in front of the Kawaguchi injection member.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Kawaguchi into Takanohashi because the Kawaguchi supply location and injection member are an obvious interchangeable substitute for that already disclosed by Takanohashi. The Takanohashi injection molding machine has the functions of introducing molding material to the first injection cylinder and moving the molding material from the first cylinder to another location. In Takanohashi, this is achieved by injecting material into the front side of the first cylinder. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a proximal end molding material supply, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Kawaguchi’s inlet location (28) closer to a proximal end than a distal end and injection member – were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative molding material supply location).
Claims 1-4, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanohashi (JP2022027158A, published February 10, 2022) in view of Farrell (US 4,749,536).
As to claim 1, Takanohashi teaches (Fig. 2) an injection molding machine comprising a first cylinder (10) and an injection member (12) housed within the cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a molten resin supply device (Fig. 1, item 6) configured to pump a molten resin into the cylinder. Takanohashi’s injection molding machine applies a pumping force in the first cylinder to move resin in front of the injection member and accumulated on a front side of the internal space of the cylinder. Takanohashi’s injection molding machine is capable of injecting from a distal end of the first cylinder by moving the injection member (12) forward (Fig. 4, arrow on item 12).
Takanohashi is silent to supplying resin from a position closer to a proximal end of the injection member than to a distal end of the injection member.
Farrell teaches an injection molding machine. Farrell supplies molding material to the cylinder (16) from an inlet position closer to a proximal end of an injection member than to a distal end of the injection member, and an injection member cooperates with the inlet. In the combination with Takanohashi, the pumping force applied by the Takanohashi molten resin supply device is capable of moving molten resin in front of the Kawaguchi injection member.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Farrell into Takanohashi because the Farrell supply location and injection member are an obvious interchangeable substitute for that already disclosed by Takanohashi. The Takanohashi injection molding machine has the functions of introducing molding material to the first injection cylinder and moving the molding material from the first cylinder to the accumulation chamber. In Takanohashi, this is achieved by injecting material into the front side of the first cylinder. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a proximal end molding material supply, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Farrell’s rearward molding material supply (12) and injection member – were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (inlet location and injection member) for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative molding material supply location).
As to claims 2 and 3, Takanohashi’s injection molding machine, molten resin supply device, and first cylinder (10) are discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Takanohashi’s first cylinder (10) is capable of supplying molten resin to a second cylinder (20), and the second cylinder (20) includes a second injection member (22) which is capable of moving backward in response (Fig. 4, arrow on item 22). Takanohashi’s second injection member is configured to inject molten resin to a mold (through item 40).
As to claim 4, Takanohashi teaches a controller (80) configured to control the injection member (12) and second injection member (22) and can control the device that supplies the molten resin to the injection device. The controller has a “determination unit” and “processing unit” and would therefore obviously have processing circuitry. When the Takanohashi controller controls the injection member, it provides an apparatus that controls the pumping and accumulating of molten resin into the front side of the first cylinder as claimed. When the Takanohashi controller controls the second injection member, it provides an apparatus that performs a metering and accumulating of molten resin in the second cylinder by discharging the molten resin from the first cylinder and performs a metering process as claimed. The Takahashi controller is configured to then inject molten resin from the second cylinder through item 40 by moving the second injection member forward. The controller is configures to perform the reservoir storage process and injecting process simultaneously as shown in Takanohashi’s Fig. 6 (see arrows on 12 and 22).
As to claim 7, Takanohashi is silent to an injection member that is a screw with a shaft body and helical flight. However, Farrell teaches an injection molding machine using a screw with a shaft body (24) and a helical flight (26).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Farrell into Takanohashi because the Farrell screw is an obvious interchangeable substitute injection member for the plunger already disclosed by Takanohashi. Takanohashi already teaches an injection member is a plunger (12) that has the function of moving the molding material from the first cylinder to the accumulation chamber. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a different injection member, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Farrell’s screw (24 and 26) – was known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative pressurizing member).
As to claim 8, Takanohashi’s molten resin supply device (6) is configured to melt resin and supply it to the first cylinder (Translation, “melts and extrudes”). The recycled nature of the material is a process limitation that does not limit the claimed apparatus.
As to claim 9, Takanohashi teaches (Fig. 2) an injection molding machine comprising: a first cylinder (10) and a first injection member (12) housed within the first cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a second cylinder (20) and a second injection member (22) housed within the second cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a molten resin supply device (Fig. 1, item 6) connected to the first cylinder and configured to pump a molten resin into the cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a connector region (70 and 35) coupled to a distal end of the first cylinder and a direction switching valve (50) provided between the connector (70 and 35), the second cylinder (20), and a nozzle (40), wherein the molten resin supply device is further configured to apply a pumping force to the molten resin in the first cylinder to move the molten resin ahead of the first injection member and accumulate the molten resin on a front side of an internal space of the first cylinder (see Fig. 6). Takanohashi shows the connector including a flow path (constantly) connecting the distal end of the first cylinder (10) and a supply-side connection port of the direction switching valve (50). Takanohashi teaches the first injection member is configured to move forward to inject the molten resin from the distal end of the first cylinder to supply the molten resin to the second cylinder through the flow path of the connector and the direction switching valve (See Fig. 4). The direction switching valve is configured to switch a flow of the molten resin supplied from the first cylinder through the flow path of the connector (70 and 35) and the second injection member (22) is configured to move forward to inject the molten resin supplied from the first cylinder into a mold device through the nozzle (40). See Fig. 6.
Takanohashi is silent to supplying resin from a position closer to a proximal end of the injection member than to a distal end of the injection member.
Farrell teaches an injection molding machine. Farrell supplies molding material to the cylinder (16) from an inlet position closer to a proximal end of an injection member than to a distal end of the injection member, and an injection member cooperates with the inlet. In the combination with Takanohashi, the pumping force applied by the Takanohashi molten resin supply device is capable of moving molten resin in front of the Kawaguchi injection member.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Farrell into Takanohashi because the Farrell supply location and injection member are an obvious interchangeable substitute for that already disclosed by Takanohashi. The Takanohashi injection molding machine has the functions of introducing molding material to the first injection cylinder and moving the molding material from the first cylinder to the accumulation chamber. In Takanohashi, this is achieved by injecting material into the front side of the first cylinder. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a proximal end molding material supply, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Farrell’s rearward molding material supply (12) and injection member – were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (inlet location and injection member) for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative molding material supply location).
As to claim 10, Takanohashi teaches an injection molding machine comprising a cylinder (10) and an injection member (12) housed within the cylinder. Takanohashi teaches a molten resin supply device (6) connected to the cylinder and configured to pump a molten resin. Takanohashi teaches that the molten resin supply device is further configured to apply a pumping force to the molten resin in the cylinder to move the molten resin ahead of the injection member and accumulate the molten resin on a front side of an internal space of the cylinder (Fig. 5). Takanohashi teaches a motor (16 and/or 17) inherently configured to move the injection member (12) forward and backward, and configured to move the injection member forward to inject resin from a distal end of the cylinder. The Takanohashi motor is configured to move the injection member backward based on pressure of molten resin pumped by the molten resin supply device (as shown in Fig. 5).
Takanohashi is silent to supplying resin from a position closer to a proximal end of the injection member than to a distal end of the injection member.
Farrell teaches an injection molding machine. Farrell supplies molding material to the cylinder (16) from an inlet position closer to a proximal end of an injection member than to a distal end of the injection member, and an injection member cooperates with the inlet. In the combination with Takanohashi, the pumping force applied by the Takanohashi molten resin supply device is capable of moving molten resin in front of the Kawaguchi injection member.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Farrell into Takanohashi because the Farrell supply location and injection member are an obvious interchangeable substitute for that already disclosed by Takanohashi. The Takanohashi injection molding machine has the functions of introducing molding material to the first injection cylinder and moving the molding material from the first cylinder to the accumulation chamber. In Takanohashi, this is achieved by injecting material into the front side of the first cylinder. Therefore, the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a proximal end molding material supply, but provided the same functions. However, the substituted component and its function – Farrell’s rearward molding material supply (12) and injection member – were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (inlet location and injection member) for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with an alternative molding material supply location).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Takanohashi provides the ability for molten resin to overflow in the injection unit. Applicant argues that the reproduced passages cause resin to accumulate in the reservoir cylinder 10 or discharged outside the injection unit through part 30 and discharge valve 70. Applicant argues that the modification proposed would prevent the resin from accumulating in the reservoir cylinder and would require a substantial reconstruction and redesign of the elements shown in Takahashi and operate in a different way to avoid stagnation.
As best the Examiner understands the argument, it is that the ability to accommodate overflow is different because of the proposed change in filling location set forth in the rejection. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner notes that the Takanohashi valve (70) is still capable of sending material to a discharge area (through 60) regardless of where the entrance port is in the cylinder. It is unclear why the discharge or overflow behavior would depend on the injection location. Regarding stagnation, it is noted that the injection member (12) and facing portion of the valve (71) seem to have the same configuration. When the injection member can be advanced to the valve to remove all material from the cylinder, it is unclear how stagnation can be a problem.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742