DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/01/2024 and 11/14/2024 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “evaluation device” in claims 1 and 20.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “evaluation device” which uses the generic placeholder “device” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, the limitation on “evaluation device” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to at least a detector shown as reference 9 in applicant’s Fig. 1 ([0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by US20090263069A1 by Hartog (cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Hartog teaches an apparatus for spatially resolved measurement of a physical quantity (at least Fig. 1 and 5; data graphs in Figures 2, 4, 6-8, and 11-13 all show spatially resolved measurement since the x-axis corresponds to a distance which is a spatial parameter), comprising:
a first optical fiber for the spatially resolved measurement (Fig. 1 [0031] first length of optical fiber 26 and the optical fibers connecting optical source 12 to optical fiber 26, continues to fiber 28 and 30);
a first laser light source for generating laser pulses (optical source 12 and pulse amplifier module 18; [0031]), wherein the laser pulses are coupled into the first optical fiber and generate signals for measuring the physical quantity by backscattering and/or reflection ([0031] "Each probe pulse leaves the pulse amplifier module 18 and enters a first port of an optical circulator 20, the second port of which launches the pulses (via a polarisation scrambler 22) into a sensing fiber 24 that is deployed in a region of interest"; " measure Brillouin backscattered light"), wherein the signals generated are coupled out of the first optical fiber ([0033] Backscattered light produced within the sensing fiber 24 returns to the launch end of the fiber 24, and passes through the polarisation scrambler 22 circulator 20, filter 38, to receiver/detector 40);
an evaluation device configured to determine the physical quantity to be measured in a spatially resolved manner from the signals coupled out ([0033] optical detector and receiver 40; see data figures with x-axis as distance for spatial resolution); and
a second laser light source (second optical source 36) for generating pump laser radiation in continuous operation ([0032] second optical source 36 produces continuous-wave light at a pump wavelength), wherein the pump laser radiation causes amplification of the laser pulses and/or of the signals generated in the first optical fiber ([0032] "so that Raman amplification can occur in the sensing fiber 24").
Regarding claim 2, Hartog teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the laser pulses in the first optical fiber generate a signal usable to measure the physical quantity by at least one of: Brillouin scattering ([0031] "measure Brillouin backscattered light"), Rayleigh scattering ([0058] various embodiment can measure Rayleigh backscatter), and reflection at multiple reflection centers, including fiber Bragg gratings or other distributed reflectors.
Regarding claim 3, Hartog teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the physical quantity to be measured is at least one of: a temperature, a dynamically changing temperature, a strain, a dynamically changing strain, a vibration, and an acoustic signal ([0033] "determine parameters relating to the sensing fiber 24 and its environment, such as temperature, strain, or attenuation").
Regarding claim 4, Hartog teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to amplify, by a Raman effect, the laser pulses or the signals generated ([0032] "so that Raman amplification can occur in the sensing fiber 24"; [0034] "co-propagating pump light amplifies the probe pulse as it travels down the first length 26 of the sensing fiber 24 by the action of Raman amplification").
Regarding claim 7, Hartog teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches a second optical fiber (see Fig. 1 optical fiber connecting second optical source 22 to polarisation scrambler 22; [0032]); and
a couple-in device connecting the second optical fiber to the first optical fiber, the couple-in device comprising a wavelength multiplexer or a multi-port circulator ([0032] "a wavelength division multiplexer (not shown) combines the probe pulses and the pump light"),
wherein the pump laser radiation generated by the second laser light source is coupled into the second optical fiber and is coupled from the second optical fiber into the first optical fiber by the couple-in device ([0032]; Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog.
Regarding claim 8, Hartog teaches the apparatus of claim 7 and further teaches wherein the couple-in device is spaced apart from the first laser light source (Fig. 1 shows that optical source 12 is spaced apart from polarisation scrambler 22 and unshown wavelength division multiplexer).
Although Hartog does not explicitly teach wherein a length of a first section of the first optical fiber from the first laser light source to the couple-in device is between 1 km and 100 km, Hartog does teach that the sensing fiber 24 comprises a first length of fiber 26 of 50 km, a second length of fiber 28 of 25 km, and a third length of fiber 30 of 25 km ([0031]). Further, Hartog teaches in Fig. 2 two examples (curves 52 and 54) that show the probe signal without any pump power can still obtain results up to 50 km. Additionally, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A.
Thus, it would be well-known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the length of a first section of the first optical fiber from the first laser light source to the couple-in device (before the pump source is coupled in) to be between 1 km and 100 km in order to efficiently arrange the device in a given space.
Regarding claim 9, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 8 and although Hartog does not explicitly teach wherein the length of the first section of the first optical fiber is between 5 km and 75 km, Hartog does teach that the sensing fiber 24 comprises a first length of fiber 26 of 50 km, a second length of fiber 28 of 25 km, and a third length of fiber 30 of 25 km ([0031]). Further, Hartog teaches in Fig. 2 two examples (curves 52 and 54) that show the probe signal without any pump power can still obtain results up to 50 km. Additionally, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A.
Thus, it would be well-known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the length of the first section of the first optical fiber is between 5 km and 75 km in order to efficiently arrange the device in a given space.
Regarding claim 10, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 8 and although Hartog does not explicitly teach wherein the length of the first section of the first optical fiber is between 10 km and 50 km, Hartog does teach that the sensing fiber 24 comprises a first length of fiber 26 of 50 km, a second length of fiber 28 of 25 km, and a third length of fiber 30 of 25 km ([0031]). Further, Hartog teaches in Fig. 2 two examples (curves 52 and 54) that show the probe signal without any pump power can still obtain results up to 50 km. Additionally, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A.
Thus, it would be well-known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the length of the first section of the first optical fiber is between 10 km and 50 km in order to efficiently arrange the device in a given space.
Regarding claim 11, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 8 and Hartog further teaches wherein the first optical fiber has a second section that extends away from the couple-in device for coupling-in the pump laser radiation from the first section of the first optical fiber ([0031] first length of fiber 26 extending from polarisation scrambler 22).
Regarding claim 12, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 11 and Hartog further teaches comprising: an active optical fiber doped with erbium ([0031] erbium-doped fiber amplifier (EDFA) 32), wherein the pump laser radiation in the active optical fiber causes an amplification of the laser pulses and/or the signals generated in the first optical fiber ([0031] EDFA positioned between the first length of fiber 26 and the second length of fiber 28"; [0034] the first fiber length 26 acts as a distributed Raman amplifier; [0036] power fain due to EDFA).
Regarding claim 14, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 12 and Hartog further teaches wherein the active optical fiber adjoins the second section of the first optical fiber on a side facing away from the first section of the first optical fiber ([0031] optical fiber 26 adjoins EDFA 32 on a side facing away from the optical fiber connecting fiber 26 to source 12) , wherein a third section of the first optical fiber ([0031] fiber 28) adjoins the active optical fiber on a side facing away from the second section of the first optical fiber (EDFA 32 adjoins fiber 28 on a side facing away from fiber 26; see Fig. 1 or 5).
Regarding claim 15, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 14 and Hartog further teaches wherein a length of the second section of the first optical fiber from the couple-in device for coupling-in the pump laser radiation to the active optical fiber is between 10 km and 180 km ([0031] sensing fiber 24 comprises a first length of fiber 26 of 50 km; fiber 26 connects coupler and active optical fiber).
Regarding claim 16, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 15 and Hartog further teaches wherein the length of the second section of the first optical fiber is between 50 km and 150 km ([0031] sensing fiber 24 comprises a first length of fiber 26 of 50 km; fiber 26 connects coupler and active optical fiber).
Regarding claim 17, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 15 and although Hartog does not explicitly teach wherein a total length of the first, second, and third sections of the first optical fiber is greater than 100 km, Hartog teaches the sensing fiber 24 comprises a first length of fiber 26 of 50 km, a second length of fiber 28 of 25 km, and a third length of fiber 30 of 25 km ([0031]; where fiber 24 is the second section and 28 is third section, thus the total length of the second and third fiber can be up to 75km). Further, as explained in claims 8-10, Hartog does not explicitly teach a length of the first section of the first optical fiber connecting the source to the coupler. However, Hartog teaches in Fig. 2 two examples (curves 52 and 54) that show the probe signal without any pump power can still obtain results up to 50 km. Thus, if the length of the first section is more than 25km, then the total length will be greater than 100km. Additionally, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A.
Thus, it would be well-known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the total length of the first, second, and third sections of the first optical fiber to be greater than 100 km in order measure over longer distances, thus increasing the efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 18, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 8 and Hartog further teaches comprising a multi-port circulator or a fiber Bragg grating to partially couple pump laser radiation coupled into the first optical fiber via the couple-in device into the first section of the first optical fiber ([0031]; [0033] circulator 20; a portion of the pump light from source 36 coupled with the wavelength division multiplexer would enter the fiber connecting source 14 to polarisation scrambler 22).
Regarding claim 20, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 7 and although Hartog teaches further comprising a multi-port circulator ([0031]; [0033] circulator 20), Hartog does not explicitly teach wherein signals moving back in the first optical fiber via the multi-port circulator are coupled into the second optical fiber from which they are coupled out and supplied to the evaluation device for the spatially resolved measurement of the physical quantity to be measured. Instead, Hartog teaches signals moving back in the first optical fiber via the multi-port circulator are coupled into a third optical fiber (see Fig. 1, fiber connecting circulator 20, filter 38, and detector 40; [0033]) from which they are coupled out and supplied to the evaluation device (detector 40).
However, Hartog teaches that other optical sources, detection arrangements, and processing apparatus can be employed ([0058]). Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See MPEP 2144.04 Sec. V. C. Thus, it would be well-known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange to components in Hartog such that the signals moving back in the first optical fiber via the multi-port circulator are coupled into the second optical fiber from which they are coupled out and supplied to the evaluation device for the spatially resolved measurement of the physical quantity to be measured in order to achieve a more compact design.
Claims 5, 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog in view of US20190101419A1 by Rowen et al. (hereinafter "Rowen"; cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 5, Hartog teaches the apparatus of claim 4 and further teaches wherein the first laser light source generates laser pulses having a first wavelength ([0031] wavelength of probe pulse) and the second laser light source generates a pump laser radiation having a second wavelength ([0032] pump wavelength), the first wavelength being greater than the second wavelength ([0032] pump wavelength is shorter than probe wavelength).
Although, Hartog does not explicitly teach wherein a wavelength difference between the first and second wavelengths corresponds to possible wavelength shifts in a Raman spectrum of a material of a core of the first optical fiber, Harthog does teach that the pump wavelength is shorter than the probe wavelength so that Raman amplification can occur in the sensing fiber.
Further, Rowen does address this limitation. Rowen and Hartog are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of Raman amplification.
Rowen teaches the respective pump wavelength is shorter than the probe wavelength, such that a corresponding frequency difference between the respective pump wavelength and the probe wavelength is a multiple of a frequency shift for which a Raman scattering coefficient is at least 25% of a resonant Raman scattering coefficient ([0031]).
Thus, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include that the wavelength difference between the first and second wavelengths corresponds to possible wavelength shifts in a Raman spectrum of a material of a core of the first optical fiber, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A. One would use a wavelength difference that efficiently caused Raman amplification to occur in the specific type of fiber being used.
Regarding claim 6, Hartog modified by Rowen teaches the apparatus of claim 5, and although, Hartog does not explicitly teach wherein the wavelength difference between the first and second wavelengths is not found in a maximum of the Raman spectrum of the material of the core of the first optical fiber, and wherein a distance between the maximum of the Raman spectrum and the wavelength difference between the first and second wavelengths is between 10 nm and 40 nm. Hartog does teach that the pump wavelength is shorter than the probe wavelength so that Raman amplification can occur in the sensing fiber.
Further, Rowen does address this limitation.
Rowen teaches the respective pump wavelength is shorter than the probe wavelength, such that a corresponding frequency difference between the respective pump wavelength and the probe wavelength is a multiple of a frequency shift for which a Raman scattering coefficient is at least 25% of a resonant Raman scattering coefficient ([0031]).
Thus, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include that the wavelength difference between the first and second wavelengths is not found in a maximum of the Raman spectrum of the material of the core of the first optical fiber, and wherein a distance between the maximum of the Raman spectrum and the wavelength difference between the first and second wavelengths is between 10 nm and 40 nm, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A. One would use a wavelength difference that efficiently caused Raman amplification and did not cause measurement error due to overlap.
Regarding claim 13, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 12 and Hartog further teaches wherein the laser pulses have a length in the range of 10 to 1,000 ns ([0031] 100ns).
Although Hartog does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is configured to achieve a population inversion in the active optical fiber due to a duty cycle of less than 0.1% of the first laser light source, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A. Since population inversion is required to perform amplification instead of absorption, it would be well-known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention configure the apparatus to achieve this limitation in order to efficiently perform Raman amplification which is the purpose of Hartog.
Further, Hartog does not explicitly teach wherein returning signals have a power between 1 pW and 1,000 pW, wherein the pump laser radiation has a power in the range of 1 mW to 100 mW.
However, Rowen does address this limitation. Rowen and Hartog are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of Raman amplification.
Rowen teaches wherein returning signals have a power between 1 pW and 1,000 pW (This range corresponds lower power signals in the range of to -90dBm to -60dBm; Fig. 6 shows OTDR difference signals in this range; [0026] this graph corresponds to the absolute value of the difference between two consecutive probe light measurements on a logarithmic scale, thus a returning signal, and Y axis shows the power in dBm), wherein the pump laser radiation has a power in the range of 1 mW to 100 mW ([0063] Raman pump laser 218 provides light pulses having a power of between 50 mW up to 10 watts). Additionally. Rowen also teaches wherein the laser pulses have a length in the range of 10 to 1,000 ns ([0013] 100 nanoseconds).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the optical source parameters as such for Raman amplification. Further, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Hartog to include wherein returning signals have a power between 1 pW and 1,000 pW, wherein the pump laser radiation has a power in the range of 1 mW to 100 mW as suggested by Rowen in order to avoid unwanted effects such as non-linear phenomena including spontaneous Raman scattering ([0017]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog in view of US6320884B1 by Kerfoot et al. (hereinafter "Kerfoot").
Regarding claim 19, Hartog as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 7, and although Hartog teaches that other optical sources, detection arrangements, and processing apparatus can be employed ([0058]), Hartog is silent as to wherein the second laser light source comprises a plurality of laser apparatuses, at least two of the laser apparatuses generating pump laser radiations with different wavelengths and/or polarizations, and wherein the pump laser radiations emanating from individual ones of the laser apparatuses are coupled to one another via wavelength multiplexing and/or polarization coupling before being coupled into the second optical fiber.
However, Kerfoot does address this limitation. Kerfoot and Hartog are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of Raman amplification.
Kerfoot teaches wherein the second laser light source (Fig. 4, pump unit 35) comprises a plurality of laser apparatuses (pump sources 32 and 33), at least two of the laser apparatuses generating pump laser radiations with different wavelengths and/or polarizations (pump source 32 is 1453nm and source 33 is 1495nm), and wherein the pump laser radiations emanating from individual ones of the laser apparatuses are coupled to one another via wavelength multiplexing and/or polarization coupling before being coupled into the second optical fiber (WDM or wavelength division multiplexer coupler 31; see Fig. 4; col 3 lines 1-10).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pump source with multiple lasers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Hartog to include wherein the second laser light source comprises a plurality of laser apparatuses, at least two of the laser apparatuses generating pump laser radiations with different wavelengths and/or polarizations, and wherein the pump laser radiations emanating from individual ones of the laser apparatuses are coupled to one another via wavelength multiplexing and/or polarization coupling before being coupled into the second optical fiber as suggested by Kerfoot in order to generate pump energy at different wavelength selected to maximize the amplifier bandwidth (col 3 lines 8-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US6885498B2 by Islam teaches a multi-stage optical amplifier that includes four pump sources whose outputs are combined using wavelength and polarization multiplexing in Fig. 10.
US20100157416A1 by Sugaya teaches in Fig. 32 an embodiment where the return light goes through a coupler into the optical fiber connecting the pump light to the coupler, where it is coupled out to a photodetector.
/KAITLYN E KIDWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877