DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,318. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations claimed within the current claims are already covered by the patented claims. Examiner has produced a comparison below between the patented claims and the current pending claims.
US 12,136,318
Current Claims
1. A gaming system comprising:
at least one processor; and
a memory storing (a) a current symbol position state defining, for each of a plurality of columns of symbol positions, a number of symbol positions wherein each symbol position is configured to include a symbol; and (b) instructions which when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor to:
cause to be displayed on the display device the plurality of columns of symbol positions corresponding to the current symbol position state, each of the symbol positions including an initial symbol;
determine, based on one or more returned values of a random number generator, whether to include at least one designated symbol at a first symbol position included within a first column of the plurality of columns of symbol positions, wherein the designated symbol represents a change in the symbol position state;
cause to be displayed on the display device, in response to a determination to include the designated symbol at the first symbol position, a replacing of the initial symbol at the first symbol position with the designated symbol;
in response to the designated symbol being displayed in the first symbol position, modify the current symbol position state for the first column to include at least one additional symbol position for a next symbol selection;
retrieve from the memory, the current symbol position state for each column;
determine based on the retrieved current symbol position state for each column, whether the current symbol position state for the column is at a maximum symbol position state; and
for each column wherein the current symbol position state is determined to be at the maximum symbol position state, increment a column specific counter to monitor a number of games that will be conducted with the column at the maximum symbol position state.
a display device;
2. The gaming system of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to set the current symbol position state of the first column to an initial symbol position state in response to determining that the column specific counter associated with the first column has reached a predetermined value.
3. The gaming system of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select stopping positions of a plurality of overlay reel strips based on the one or more returned values of the random number generator to determine whether to map the at least one designated symbol to the first symbol position.
4. The gaming system of claim 3, wherein the plurality of overlay reel strips include a first type of designated symbol and a second type of designated symbol, and wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to modify the symbol position state for the respective column differently depending on whether the at least one designated symbol is the first type of designated symbol or the second type of designated symbol.
5. The gaming system of claim 3, wherein a set of overlay reel strips is associated with each of the plurality of columns, each overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips including a different number of designated symbols, and
wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine which overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips to use for each of the plurality of columns based on the current symbol position state.
6. The gaming system of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select the initial symbols for the symbol positions by selecting stopping positions of a plurality of base reel strips based on one or more second returned values of a random number generator, each base reel strip of the plurality of base reel strips associated with a respective one of the columns.
7. The gaming system of claim 6, wherein the memory further stores a pay table, and wherein the instructions further cause the processor to evaluate the initial symbols for winning combinations based on the pay table.
8. The gaming system of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to display a wild symbol in each symbol position of a first column, in response to determining that i) a first column has reached a maximum position state and ii) the initial symbols of the first column include a wild symbol.
17. A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
cause to be displayed on a display device a user interface including a plurality of columns of symbol positions corresponding to a symbol position state, each of the symbol positions including an initial symbol, the symbol position state defining a number of symbol positions for which symbols are to be selected for each of the plurality of columns;
determine, based on one or more returned values of a random number generator, whether to include at least one designated symbol at a first symbol position included within a first column of the plurality of columns of symbol positions, wherein the designated symbol represents a change in the symbol position state;
in response to a determination to include the designated symbol at the first symbol position, causing the display device to display within the user interface a replacing of the initial symbol at the first symbol position with the designated symbol;
in response to the designated symbol being displayed in the first symbol position, causing the display device to modify within the user interface the current symbol position state for the first column to include at least one additional symbol position for a next symbol selection;
retrieve from the memory, the current symbol position state for each column;
determine based on the retrieved current symbol position state for each column, whether the current symbol position state for the column is at a maximum symbol position state; and
for each column wherein the current symbol position state is determined to be at the maximum symbol position state, increment a column specific counter to monitor a number of games that will be conducted with the first column at the maximum symbol position state.
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 9, further comprising setting the symbol position state of the first column to an initial symbol position state in response to determining that the column specific counter associated with the first column has reached a predetermined value.
11. The computer-implemented method of claim 9, further comprising selecting stopping positions of a plurality of overlay reel strips based on the one or more returned values of the random number generator to determine whether to map the at least one designated symbol to the first symbol position.
12. The computer-implemented method of claim 11, wherein the plurality of overlay reel strips include a first type of designated symbol and a second type of designated symbol, and wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises modifying the symbol position state for the respective column differently depending on whether the at least one designated symbol is the first type of designated symbol or the second type of designated symbol.
13. The computer-implemented method of claim 11, wherein a set of overlay reel strips is associated with each of the plurality of columns, each overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips including a different number of designated symbols, and wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises determining which overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips to use for each of the plurality of columns based on the symbol position state.
14. The computer-implemented method of claim 9, further comprising selecting the initial symbols for the symbol positions by selecting stopping positions of a plurality of base reel strips based on one or more second returned values of a random number generator, each base reel strip of the plurality of base reel strips associated with a respective one of the columns.
15. The computer-implemented method of claim 14, further comprising evaluating the initial symbols for winning combinations based on a pay table.
9. A computer-implemented method comprising:
causing a display device to display a plurality of columns of symbol positions corresponding to a symbol position state, each of the symbol positions including an initial symbol, the symbol position state defining a number of symbol positions for which symbols are to be selected for each of the plurality of columns;
determining, based on one or more returned values of a random number generator, whether to include at least one designated symbol at a first symbol position included within a first column of the plurality of columns of symbol positions, wherein the designated symbol represents a change in the symbol position state;
in response to a determination to include the designated symbol at the first symbol position, causing the display device to display a replacing of the initial symbol at the first symbol position with the designated symbol;
and
in response to the designated symbol being displayed in the first symbol position, causing the display device to modify the current symbol position state for the first column to include at least one additional symbol position for a next symbol selection;
retrieving from the memory, the current symbol position state for each column;
determining based on the retrieved current symbol position state for each column, whether the current symbol position state for the column is at a maximum symbol position state; and
for each column wherein the current symbol position state is determined to be at the maximum symbol position state, incrementing a column specific counter to monitor a number of games that will be conducted with the column at the maximum symbol position state.
16. The computer-implemented method of claim 9, further comprising displaying a wild symbol in each symbol position of a first column, in response to determining that i) a first column has reached a maximum position state and ii) the initial symbols of the first column include a wild symbol.
1. A gaming system comprising at least one processor and a memory in communication with the at least one processor, the memory storing (a) a current symbol position state defining, for each of a plurality of columns of symbol positions, a number of symbol positions each configured to include a symbol, and (b) instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one
processor to:
generate a game outcome including the plurality of columns of symbol positions corresponding to the current symbol position state, each of the symbol positions including an initial symbol;
determine, by selecting one or more positions within a plurality of overlay reel strips based on one or more returned values of a random number generator, to map at least one designated symbol to a first symbol position included within a first column, wherein the designated symbol indicates a change in the symbol position state;
in response to the determination to map the at least one designated symbol to the first symbol position, replace within the generated game outcome the initial symbol at the first symbol position with the designated symbol; and
in response to a presence of the designated symbol in the first symbol position, modify the current symbol position state for the first column to include at least one additional symbol position for a next symbol selection.
2. The gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to:
retrieve, from the memory, the current symbol position state for each column;
determine based on the retrieved current symbol position state for each
column, whether the current symbol position state for the column is at a maximum
symbol position state; and
for each column wherein the current symbol position state is determined to be at the maximum symbol position state, increment a column specific counter to monitor a number of games that will be conducted with the column at the maximum symbol position state.
10. The gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to cause a display device to display the generated game outcome.
3. The gaming system of Claim 2, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to set the current symbol position state of the first column to an initial symbol position state in response to determining that the column specific counter associated with the first column has reached a predetermined value.
4. The gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select stopping positions of the plurality of overlay reel strips based on the one or more returned values of the random number generator to determine whether to map the at least one designated symbol to the first symbol position.
5. The gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of overlay reel strips include a first type of designated symbol and a second type of designated symbol, and wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to modify the symbol position state for the respective column differently depending on whether the at least one designated symbol is the first type of designated symbol or the second type of designated symbol.
6.The gaming system of Claim 1, wherein a set of overlay reel strips is associated with each of the plurality of columns, each overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips including a different number of designated symbols, and
wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine which
overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips to use for each of the plurality of
columns based on the current symbol position state.
7. The gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select the initial symbols for the symbol positions by selecting stopping positions of a plurality of base reel strips based on one or more second returned values of a random number generator, each base reel strip of the plurality of base reel strips associated with a respective one of the columns.
8. The gaming system of Claim 7, wherein the memory further stores a pay table, and wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to evaluate the initial symbols for winning combinations based on the pay table.
9. The gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to generate a wild symbol in each symbol position of a first column, in response to determining that i) a first column has reached a maximum position state and ii) the initial symbols of the first column include a wild symbol.
11. At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage media having instructions embodied thereon, wherein when executed by at least one processor in communication with a memory storing a current symbol position state defining, for each of a plurality of columns of symbol positions, a number of symbol positions each configured to include a symbol, the instructions cause the at least one processor to:
generate a game outcome including the plurality of columns of symbol positions corresponding to the current symbol position state, each of the symbol positions including an initial symbol;
determine, by selecting one or more positions within a plurality of overlay reel strips based on one or more returned values of a random number generator, to map at least one designated symbol to a first symbol position included within a first column, wherein the designated symbol indicates a change in the symbol position state;
in response to the determination to map the at least one designated symbol to the first symbol position, replace within the generated game outcome the initial symbol at the first symbol position with the designated symbol; and
in response to a presence of the designated symbol in the first symbol position, modify the current symbol position state for the first column to include at least one additional symbol position for a next symbol selection.
12. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage media of Claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to:
retrieve, from the memory, the current symbol position state for each
column;
determine based on the retrieved current symbol position state for each
column, whether the current symbol position state for the column is at a maximum
symbol position state; and
for each column wherein the current symbol position state is determined to be at the maximum symbol position state, increment a column specific counter to monitor a number of games that will be conducted with the column at the maximum symbol position state.
19. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage media of Claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to cause a display device to display the generated game outcome.
13. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage media of Claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to set the current symbol position state of the first column to an initial symbol position state in response to determining that the column specific counter associated with the first column has reached a predetermined value.
14. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage media of Claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select stopping positions of the plurality of overlay reel strips based on the one or more returned values of the random number generator to determine whether to map the at least one designated symbol to the first symbol position.
15. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage media of Claim 11, wherein the plurality of overlay reel strips include a first type of designated symbol and a second type of designated symbol, and wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to modify the symbol position state for the respective column differently depending on whether the at least one designated symbol is the first type of designated symbol or the second type of designated symbol.
16. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage media of Claim 11, wherein a set of overlay reel strips is associated with each of the plurality of columns, each overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips including a different number of designated symbols, and wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine which overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips to use for each of the plurality of columns based on the current symbol position state.
17. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage media of Claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select the initial symbols for the symbol positions by selecting stopping positions of a plurality of base reel strips based on one or more second returned values of a random number generator, each base reel strip of the plurality of base reel strips associated with a respective one of the columns.
18. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage media of Claim 17, wherein the memory further stores a pay table, and wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to evaluate the initial symbols for winning combinations based on the pay table.
20. A computer-implemented method comprising:
generating a game outcome including a plurality of columns of symbol positions corresponding to a current symbol position state, each of the symbol positions including an initial symbol, the current symbol position state defining, for each of the plurality of columns of symbol positions, a number of symbol positions;
determining, by selecting one or more positions within a plurality of overlay reel strips based on one or more returned values of a random number generator, to map at least one designated symbol to a first symbol position included within a first column, wherein the designated symbol indicates a change in the symbol position state;
in response to the determination to map the at least one designated symbol to the first symbol position, replacing within the generated game outcome the initial symbol at the first symbol position with the designated symbol; and
in response to a presence of the designated symbol in the first symbol position, modifying the current symbol position state for the first column to include at least one additional symbol position for a next symbol selection.
2. The gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to:
retrieve, from the memory, the current symbol position state for each column;
determine based on the retrieved current symbol position state for each column, whether the current symbol position state for the column is at a maximum symbol position state; and
for each column wherein the current symbol position state is determined to be at the maximum symbol position state, increment a column specific counter to monitor a number of games that will be conducted with the column at the maximum symbol position state.
9. The gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to generate a wild symbol in each symbol position of a first column, in response to determining that i) a first column has reached a maximum position state and ii) the initial symbols of the first column include a wild symbol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10, 13-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt et al (US 2018/0025585) in view of Jensen et al (US 2008/0108411).
In Regards to claims 1, 10-11 and 19-20, Schmidt discloses:
a gaming system (abstract) comprising at least one processor (¶43, electronic control unit comprising a processor) and a memory in communication with the at least one processor (¶43, memory storing game instructions, game logic, etc.), the memory storing (a) a
current symbol position state defining, for each of a plurality of columns of symbol
positions, a number of symbol positions each configured to include a symbol (¶43, memory stores game logic and instructions which are utilized to display a symbol array comprising a plurality of symbol positions), and (b) instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (¶43, memory storing instructions to control operations of EGM 100), cause the at least one processor to:
generate a game outcome including the plurality of columns of symbol positions corresponding to the current symbol position state, each of the symbol positions including an initial symbol (¶43, ¶45, displayed is a symbol array comprising a plurality of symbol positions);
determine, by selecting one or more positions within a plurality of overlay reel strips based on one or more returned values of a random number generator, to map at least one designated symbol to a first symbol position included within a first column (¶10, ¶46, ¶50, symbols are randomly determined and displayed including special symbols), wherein the designated symbol indicates a change in the symbol position state (¶50, a special symbol which is used as a trigger expansion event);
in response to a presence of the designated symbol in the first symbol position, modify the current symbol position state for the first column to include at least one additional symbol position for a next symbol selection (¶50, ¶52, if a special symbol appears in the outcome an array expansion is triggered).
However, Schmidt does not specifically disclose that:
in response to the determination to map the at least one designated symbol to the first symbol position, replace within the generated game outcome the initial symbol at the first symbol position with the designated symbol.
Jensen discloses that:
in response to a determination to map at least one designated symbol to a first symbol position, replace within a generated game outcome the initial symbol at the first symbol position with a designated symbol (¶117, a special (wild) overlay symbol causes the underlying symbol to be replaced).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the overlay replacement trigger as taught by Jensen into the gaming system as taught by Schmidt in order to yield the predictable result of appealing to player interest and enhancing excitement in order to entice longer play and increased profitability (Jensen, ¶115).
In Regards to claims 4 and 14, Schmidt and Jensen disclose that which is discussed above. However, Schmidt does not specifically disclose that:
the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select stopping positions of the plurality of overlay reel strips based on the one or more returned values of the random number generator to determine whether to map the at least one designated symbol to the first symbol
position.
Jensen discloses that:
the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select stopping positions of the plurality of overlay reel strips based on the one or more returned values of the random number generator to determine whether to map the at least one designated symbol to the first symbol
position (¶117, special (wild) overlay symbols are randomly determined to be displayed within the symbol display array and cause the underlying symbol to be replaced).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the overlay replacement trigger as taught by Jensen into the gaming system as taught by Schmidt in order to yield the predictable result of appealing to player interest and enhancing excitement in order to entice longer play and increased profitability (Jensen, ¶115).
In Regards to claims 5 and 15, Schmidt and Jensen disclose that which is discussed above. Schmidt further discloses that:
the plurality of overlay reel strips include a first type of designated symbol and a second type of designated symbol (¶13, ¶50, the type of resizing may differ based on different trigger events, for example different trigger symbols being the trigger event), and
the instructions further cause the at least one processor to modify the symbol position state for the respective column differently depending on whether the at least one designated symbol is the first type of designated symbol or the second type of designated symbol (¶13, the type of resizing may differ based on different trigger events).
In Regards to claims 6 and 16, Schmidt and Jensen disclose that which is discussed above. However, Schmidt does not specifically disclose that:
a set of overlay reel strips is associated with each of the plurality of columns, each overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips including a different number of designated symbols, or
the instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine which overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips to use for each of the plurality of columns based on the current symbol position state.
Jensen discloses that:
a set of overlay reel strips is associated with each of the plurality of columns, each overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips including a different number of designated symbols (¶117, each trigger symbol is associated with a number of duplications); and
the instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine which overlay reel strip of the set of overlay reel strips to use for each of the plurality of columns based on the current symbol position state (¶117-118, a random determination determines how many duplications of the trigger symbol will occur).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the overlay replacement trigger as taught by Jensen into the gaming system as taught by Schmidt in order to yield the predictable result of appealing to player interest and enhancing excitement in order to entice longer play and increased profitability (Jensen, ¶115).
In Regards to claims 7 and 17, Schmidt and Jensen disclose that which is discussed above. Schmidt further discloses that:
the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select the initial symbols for the symbol positions by selecting stopping positions of a plurality of base reel strips based on one or more second returned values of a random number generator, each base reel strip of the plurality of base reel strips associated with a respective one of the columns (¶43, ¶46, reels are spun and an outcome is determined based on an output of the RNG).
In Regards to claims 8 and 17, Schmidt and Jensen disclose that which is discussed above. Schmidt further discloses that:
the memory further stores a pay table (¶43-44, memory stores game logic and instructions which are utilized to display pay tables).
However, Schmidt does not specifically disclose that:
the instructions further cause the at least one processor to evaluate the initial symbols for winning combinations based on the pay table.
Jensen discloses that:
the instructions further cause the at least one processor to evaluate the initial symbols for winning combinations based on the pay table (¶54, paragraph [0054], symbol combination are evaluated for winning strings of symbols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the overlay replacement trigger as taught by Jensen into the gaming system as taught by Schmidt in order to yield the predictable result of appealing to player interest and enhancing excitement in order to entice longer play and increased profitability (Jensen, ¶115).
Tentatively Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 9, and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be tentatively allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as well overcoming the pending Double Patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Applicant is directed to the attached "Notice of References Cited" for additional relevant prior art. The Examiner respectfully requests the Applicant to fully review each reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention.
/Jason Pinheiro/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715