DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 12 recite a claimed range of base excess. However, no unit is provided for the amount of base excess. For the purposes of examination, the claimed base excess is interpreted to have units of mEq/kg.
Claims 6 and 13 recite a calcium to phosphorous ratio. However, no basis (e.g. molar or weight) is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamka (WO 2008103179 A1) in view of Kaufmannn (EP 3698648 A1) and Chinachoti (US 2005/0085443).
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Yamka teaches a wet pet food [0007] for cats [0002] comprising methionine [0007], flax seed [0028], and fish oil [0028]. Note that the limitation of “treating or preventing urolithiasis” is directed towards intended use, and does not further limit the claim.
Yamka does not address the addition of calcium sulfate.
Kaufmann teaches the addition of calcium sulfate [0045] to a wet food intended for cats [0002]. Kaufmann teaches that such an ingredient is typical for a cat food.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include calcium sulfate in the pet food of Yamka. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Kaufmann teaches that calcium sulfate is a typical component of cat food.
Yamka additionally does not address the addition of sodium acid pyrophosphate.
Chinachoti teaches a wet pet food [0041] for cats [0013] comprising sodium acid pyrophosphate [0034]. Chinachoti teaches that the addition of sodium acid pyrophosphate, along with a biopolymer, facilitates hairball passage [0033-0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include sodium acid pyrophosphate in the pet food of Yamka. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to formulate a pet food designed for hairball passage.
Regarding Claim 15, Yamka teaches a wet pet food [007] for cats [0002] comprising methionine [007], flax seed [0028], and fish oil [0028]. Note that the limitation of “for treating or preventing urolithiasis” is directed towards intended use, and does not further limit the claim.
Yamka does not address the addition of calcium sulfate.
Kaufmann teaches the addition of calcium sulfate [0045] to a wet food intended for cats [0002]. Kaufmann teaches that such an ingredient is typical for a cat food.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include calcium sulfate in the pet food of Yamka. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Kaufmann teaches that calcium sulfate is a typical component of cat food.
Yamka additionally does not address the addition of sodium acid pyrophosphate.
Chinachoti teaches a wet pet food [0041] for cats [0013] comprising sodium acid pyrophosphate [0034]. Chinachoti teaches that the addition of sodium acid pyrophosphate, along with a biopolymer, facilitates hairball passage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include sodium acid pyrophosphate in the pet food of Yamka. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to formulate a pet food designed for hairball passage.
Claim 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamka in view of Kaufmann and Chinachoti as applied to Claims 1 and 15, above, and further in view of AAFCO (https://www.aafco.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/MBRC_minutes_Attachment_A-1.pdf , 2015) and NRC (“Your Cat’s Nutritional Needs”, https://nap.nationalacademies.org/resource/10668/cat_nutrition_final.pdf, 2006).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Yamka teaches the cat food ingredients as discussed above in regard to Claim 1 but does not discuss specific amounts.
Regarding the amount of flax seed and fish oil, Yamka teaches that flax seed and fish oil are present as fats, and teaches that the composition is nutritionally balanced [0026].
NRC teaches that cat food should have at least “about 9%” of fat based on dry matter (Page 3, Paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize flax seed and fish oil in the amounts as claimed in the composition of Yamka. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since NRC teaches that fat is an important ingredient in pet food. Note that wet pet food is about 75% moisture (see NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). The minimum fat requirement as taught by NRC is therefore 2.25% as an overall mass fraction of the wet pet food. A composition comprising, e.g. 1% fish oil, 1% flax seed, and >0.25% of another fat ingredient meets the limitations of the Claim and is sufficiently motivated by NRC. Additionally, note that where Yamka teaches the use of any suitable fats in the cat food [0028], it would have been obvious to have utilized a combination of fats as claimed.
Regarding the amount of sodium acid pyrophosphate, Chinachoti teaches a wet pet food [0041] for cats [0013] comprising 1-5 wt% sodium acid pyrophosphate [0034], which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding the amount of methionine, AAFCO teaches that the minimum amount of methionine required for adult cats is 0.2 wt% on a percentage of dry matter (Page 13, “AAFCO CAT FOOD NUTRIENT PROFILES BASED ON DRY MATTER”). Note that wet food is 75% moisture (see evidentiary reference of NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). AAFCO therefore teaches greater than .05 wt% of methionine as an overall weight fraction in a wet cat food (.002*25%), which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding the amount of calcium sulfate, Kaufmann teaches the inclusion of calcium sulfate [0045] in a wet cat food [0002]. Kaufmann additionally teaches that a typical wet cat food comprises 0.8 wt% calcium on a dry basis [0099]. Note that wet food is 75% moisture (see evidentiary reference of NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). Kaufmann therefore teaches 0.2% calcium as an overall fraction of the composition. Additionally, note that calcium sulfate is approximately 30% calcium by mass. It would therefore be obvious to include 0.67% of calcium sulfate (0.2/0.3) in the overall composition of Kaufmann, which lies within the claimed range. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Kaufmann teaches calcium sulfate as a source of calcium, and additionally teaches the overall amount of calcium in the composition.
It additionally would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to utilize the amount of calcium sulfate as taught by Kaufmann in the composition of Yamka. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Kaufmann teaches that the calcium levels are “typical” of a wet cat food.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Yamka teaches the cat food ingredients as discussed above in regards to Claim 15 but does not discuss specific amounts.
Regarding the amount of flax seed and fish oil, Yamka teaches that flax seed and fish oil are present as fats, and teaches that the composition is nutritionally balanced [0026].
NRC teaches that cat food should have at least “about 9%” of fat based on dry matter (Page 3, Paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize flax seed and fish oil in the amounts as claimed in the composition of Yamka. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since NRC teaches that fat is an important ingredient in pet food. Note that wet pet food is about 75% moisture (see NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). The minimum fat requirement as taught by NRC is therefore 2.25% as an overall mass fraction of the wet pet food. A composition comprising, e.g. 1% fish oil, 1% flax seed, and >0.25% of another fat ingredient meets the limitations of the Claim and is sufficiently motivated by NRC. Additionally, note that where Yamka teaches the use of any suitable fats in the cat food [0028], it would have been obvious to have utilized a combination of fats as claimed.
Regarding the amount of sodium acid pyrophosphate, Chinachoti teaches a wet pet food [0041] for cats [0013] comprising 1-5 wt% sodium acid pyrophosphate [0034], which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding the amount of methionine, AAFCO teaches that the minimum amount of methionine required for adult cats is 0.2 wt% on a percentage of dry matter (Page 13, “AAFCO CAT FOOD NUTRIENT PROFILES BASED ON DRY MATTER”). Note that wet food is 75% moisture (see evidentiary reference of NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). AAFCO therefore teaches greater than .05 wt% of methionine as an overall weight fraction in a wet cat food (.002*25%), which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding the amount of calcium sulfate, Kaufmann teaches the inclusion of calcium sulfate [0045] in a wet cat food [0002]. Kaufmann additionally teaches that a typical wet cat food comprises 0.8 wt% calcium on a dry basis [0099]. Note that wet food is 75% moisture (see evidentiary reference of NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). Kaufmann therefore teaches 0.2% calcium as an overall fraction of the composition. Additionally, note that calcium sulfate is approximately 30% calcium by mass. It would therefore be obvious to include 0.67% of calcium sulfate (0.2/0.3) in the overall composition of Kaufmann, which lies within the claimed range. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Kaufmann teaches calcium sulfate as a source of calcium, and additionally teaches the overall amount of calcium in the composition.
It additionally would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to utilize the amount of calcium sulfate as taught by Kaufmann in the composition of Yamka. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Kaufmann teaches that the calcium levels are “typical” of a wet cat food.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamka in view of Kaufmann and Chinachoti as applied to Claim 1, above, and further in view of Yamka (2), “The Prediction of Urine pH Using Dietary Cations and Anions in Cats Fed Dry and Wet Foods”, International Journal of Applied Research in Veterinary Medicine, Volume 4 (1), https://jarvm.com/articles/Vol4Iss1/Vol4Iss1YamkaV4N1pp58-66.pdf, 2006
Regarding Claims 4, modified Yamka does not address the effect of the composition on urine pH.
Yamka (2) teaches that a urine pH of below 6.6 reduces the formation of struvites (stones) in the urinary tract (Page 62, Discussion, Paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to configure the composition of modified Yamka to maintain a urine pH as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Yamka(2) teaches that such a urine pH reduces urinary tract stones.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamka in view of Kaufmann and Chinachoti as applied to Claim 1, above, and further in view of Jeremias (DOI: 10.1016/j.anifeedsci.2013.04.003, April 2013)
Regarding Claim 5, modified Yamka does not address the base excess of the food.
Jeremias teaches that commercial cat food has a base excess ranging from -180 to 377, which encompasses the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to configure a cat food to have the base excess as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Jeremias teaches that such ranges are typical for a commercial cat food.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamka in view of Kaufmann and Chinachoti as applied to Claim 1, above, and further in view of Hare Today (https://hare-today.com/feline-nutrition/nutrition/dont-let-calcium-phosphorous-ratios-scare-you, June 2019).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Yamka does not address the calcium to phosphorous ratio.
Hare Today teaches that a cat diet should have a calcium to phosphorous ratio of 0.9:1 to 1.5.1 (Page 2, Paragraph 2), which overlaps the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the cat food of Yamka with the calcium to phosphorous ratio as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Hare Today teaches that such a ratio is required for a cat diet.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamka in view of Kaufmann and Chinachoti as applied to Claim 1, above, and further in view of Houston (https://www.cambridge.org/core/services/aop-cambridge-core/content/view/S0007114511000894).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Yamka does not address the RSS struvite or oxalate value.
Houston teaches that an RSS struvite value of less than one, which lies within the claimed range, dissolves struvite stones in cats (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the composition of Yamka to have an RSS struvite value as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Houston teaches that such a value dissolves struvite stones.
Claims 8, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 20070122459 A1) in view of Yamka.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Yu teaches a method for preventing or treating urolithiasis in cats [0006]. The method comprises adding potassium sulfate to a dry food (Claims 2 and 3).
Yu does not address the addition of methionine, fish oil, or taurine to the pet food.
Yamka teaches a dry pet food [007] for cats [0002] comprising methionine [007], fish oil [0028], and taurine. Yamka teaches that the pet food prevents obesity and preserves lean muscle mass [0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize methionine, fish oil, and taurine in the cat food of Yu. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to formulate a cat food that prevents obesity.
Regarding Claim 15, Yu teaches a method for preventing or treating urolithiasis in cats [0006]. The method comprises adding potassium sulfate to a wet or dry food (Claims 2 and 3 and [0026].
Yu does not address the addition of methionine, fish oil, or taurine to the pet food.
Yamka teaches a pet food [007] for cats [0002] comprising methionine [007], fish oil [0028], and taurine. Yamka teaches that the pet food prevents obesity and preserves lean muscle mass [0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize methionine, fish oil, and taurine in the cat food of Yu. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to formulate a cat food that prevents obesity.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Yamka as applied to Claims 8 and 15, above, and further in view of AAFCO and NRC.
Regarding Claim 10, Yu teaches the addition of potassium equivalent to more than about 1 wt% of potassium chloride (Abstract) on a dry basis [0049]. Note that potassium chloride is 52% potassium, and potassium carbonate is 22% potassium. Yu therefore teaches the addition of greater than (0.52/0.22) = 2.3% potassium sulfate on a dry basis.
Yu teaches that the potassium source maybe included in either wet or dry foods [0026]. Note that wet food is 75% moisture (see evidentiary reference of NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). Yu therefore teaches the addition of 25% * 0.023 = 0.56% potassium sulfate as an overall fraction of the pet food, which lies within the claimed range.
Regarding the amount of fish oil, Yamka teaches that fish oil is present as fat, and teaches that the composition is nutritionally balanced [0026].
NRC teaches that cat food should have at least “about 9%” of fat based on dry matter (Page 3, Paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize up to 9% fish oil on a dry basis in the amounts as claimed in the composition of Yamka. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since NRC teaches that fat is an important ingredient in pet food.
Note that wet pet food is about 75% moisture (see NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). The minimum fat requirement as taught by NRC is therefore (25% * .09) = 2.25% as an overall mass fraction of the wet pet food. A composition comprising, e.g. 1% fish oil and >1.25% of another fat ingredient meets the limitations of the Claim and is sufficiently motivated by NRC. Additionally, note that where Yamka teaches the use of any suitable fats in the cat food [0028], it would have been obvious to have utilized a combination of fats as claimed.
Regarding the amount of methionine and taurine, AAFCO teaches that the minimum amount of both methionine and taurine required for adult cats is 0.2 wt% on a percentage of dry matter (Pages 13-14, “AAFCO CAT FOOD NUTRIENT PROFILES BASED ON DRY MATTER”). Note that wet food is 75% moisture (see evidentiary reference of NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). AAFCO therefore teaches greater than .05 wt% of methionine and greater than .05 wt% of taurine as an overall weight fraction in a wet cat food (.002*25%), which overlaps the claimed range of methionine and encompasses the amount of taurine.
Regarding Claim 17, Yu teaches the addition of potassium equivalent to more than about 1 wt% of potassium chloride (Abstract) on a dry basis [0049]. Note that potassium chloride is 52% potassium, and potassium carbonate is 22% potassium. Yu therefore teaches the addition of greater than (0.52/0.22) = 2.3% potassium sulfate on a dry basis.
Yu teaches that the potassium source maybe included in either wet or dry foods [0026]. Note that wet food is 75% moisture (see evidentiary reference of NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). Yu therefore teaches the addition of 25% * 0.023 = 0.56% potassium sulfate, which lies within the claimed range.
Regarding the amount of fish oil, Yamka teaches that fish oil is present as fat, and teaches that the composition is nutritionally balanced [0026].
NRC teaches that cat food should have at least “about 9%” of fat based on dry matter (Page 3, Paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize up to 9% fish oil on a dry basis in the amounts as claimed in the composition of Yamka. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since NRC teaches that fat is an important ingredient in pet food.
Note that wet pet food is about 75% moisture (see NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). The minimum fat requirement as taught by NRC is therefore (25% * .09) = 2.25% as an overall mass fraction of the wet pet food. A composition comprising, e.g. 1% fish oil and >1.25% of another fat ingredient meets the limitations of the Claim and is sufficiently motivated by NRC. Additionally, note that where Yamka teaches the use of any suitable fats in the cat food [0028], it would have been obvious to have utilized a combination of fats as claimed.
Regarding the amount of methionine and taurine, AAFCO teaches that the minimum amount of both methionine and taurine required for adult cats is 0.2 wt% on a percentage of dry matter (Pages 13-14, “AAFCO CAT FOOD NUTRIENT PROFILES BASED ON DRY MATTER”). Note that wet food is 75% moisture (see evidentiary reference of NRC, Page 12, Paragraph 1). AAFCO therefore teaches greater than .05 wt% of methionine and greater than .05 wt% of taurine as an overall weight fraction in a wet cat food (.002*25%), which overlaps the claimed range of methionine and encompasses the amount of taurine.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Yamka as applied to Claim 8, above, and further in view of Yamka (2).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Yu does not address the effect of the composition on urine pH.
Yamka (2) teaches that a urine pH of below 6.6 reduces the formation of struvites (stones) in the urinary tract (Page 62, Discussion, Paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to configure the composition of modified Yu to maintain a urine pH as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Yamka(2) teaches that such a urine pH reduces urinary tract stones.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Yamka as applied to Claim 8, above, and further in view of Jeremias (DOI: 10.1016/j.anifeedsci.2013.04.003, April 2013)
Regarding Claim 12, modified Yu does not address the base excess of the food.
Jeremias teaches that commercial cat food ranges has a base excess ranging from -180 to 377, which encompasses the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cat food of Yu to have the base excess as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Jeremias teaches that such ranges are typical for a commercial cat food.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Yamka as applied to Claim 8, above, and further in view of Hare Today.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Yu does not address the calcium to phosphorous ratio.
Hare Today teaches that a cat diet should have a calcium to phosphorous ratio of 0.9:1 to 1.5.1 (Page 2, Paragraph 2), which overlaps the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the cat food of Yu with the calcium to phosphorous ratio as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Hare Today teaches that such a ratio is required for a cat diet.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Yamka as applied to Claim 8, above, and further in view of Houston.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Yu does not address the RSS struvite or oxalate value.
Houston teaches that an RSS struvite value of less than one, which lies within the claimed range, dissolves struvite stones in cats (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the composition of Yu to have an RSS struvite value as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Houston teaches that such a value dissolves struvite stones.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-19 of copending Application No. 19/319,905 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending independent claims teach all of the same components as the instant independent claims, and the copending claims have the same or overlapping amounts for dependent claim limitations.
Claim
Limitation
Reference application Claim
Reference Limitation
1
Flaxseed, fish oil, calcium sulfate, methionine, sodium acid pyrophosphate
1
Flaxseed, fish oil, calcium sulfate, methionine, sodium acid pyrophosphate, a source of dietary fiber
2
Wet cat food
2
Wet cat food
3
wt% Flaxseed, 0.1-10 wt% fish oil, .04-4 wt% calcium sulfate, .002-0.2 methionine, .015-1.5 wt% sodium acid pyrophosphate
3
wt% Flaxseed, 0.1-10 wt% fish oil, .04-4 wt% calcium sulfate, .002-0.2 methionine, .015-1.5 wt% sodium acid pyrophosphate, 0.75-2.0 wt% dietary fiber
4
Urine pH 6.15-6.56
4
Urine pH 6.15-6.56
5
Base excess of -80 to -100
5
Base excess of -80 to -100
6
Ca:P ratio of 1-1.15
6
Ca:P ratio of 1-1.15
7
RSS struvite ≤ 1.8, RSS oxalate ≤ 6.0
7
RSS struvite ≤ 1.8, RSS oxalate ≤ 6.0
8
Fish oil, potassium sulfate, methionine, taurine
9
Fish oil, potassium sulfate, methionine, taurine, dietary fiber
9
Dry cat food
10
10
0.1-1 wt% fish oil, 0.1-0.6 wt% potassium sulfate, .002-0.2 wt% methionine, 0.1-1 wt% taurine
11
0.1-1 wt% fish oil, 0.1-0.6 wt% potassium sulfate, .002-0.2 wt% methionine, 0.1-1 wt% taurine, 4-6 wt% dietary fiber
11
Urine pH 6.31-6.85
12
Urine pH 6.31-6.85
12
Base excess -50 to -200
13
Base excess -50 to -200
13
Ca:P ratio of 1-1.15
14
Ca:P ratio of 1-1.15
14
RSS struvite ≤ 1.8, RSS oxalate ≤ 6.0
15
RSS struvite ≤ 1.8, RSS oxalate ≤ 6.0
15
Flaxseed, fish oil, calcium sulfate, methionine, sodium acid pyrophosphate OR Fish oil, potassium sulfate, methionine, taurine
17
Flaxseed, fish oil, calcium sulfate, methionine, sodium acid pyrophosphate , dietary fiber OR Fish oil, potassium sulfate, methionine, taurine, dietary fiber
16
0.1-10 wt% Flaxseed, 0.1-10 wt% fish oil, .04-4 wt% calcium sulfate, .002-0.2 methionine, .015-1.5 wt% sodium acid pyrophosphate
18
0.1-10 wt% Flaxseed, 0.1-10 wt% fish oil, .04-4 wt% calcium sulfate, .002-0.2 methionine, .015-1.5 wt% sodium acid pyrophosphate, 0.75-2.0 wt% dietary fiber
17
0.1-10 wt% fish oil, 0.1-1.0 wt% potassium sulfate, .002-0.2 wt% methionine, 0.1-0.6 wt% taurine
19
0.1-10 wt% fish oil, 0.1-1.0 wt% potassium sulfate, .002-0.2 wt% methionine, 0.1-0.6 wt% taurine, 4-6 wt% dietary fiber
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/D.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791