This document is responsive to applicant’s amendments filed 2/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kink (US 9,161,525).
Regarding claim 1, King discloses:
A bait packet, comprising: a container defining a bait containing space with a bait in the bait containing space (see fig 9, ref 140); and an access structure protruding from the container into the bait containing space (164), the access structure has a first portion that is above a level of the bait in a first orientation of the bait packet and a second portion different from the first portion that is above the level of the bait in a second orientation of the bait packet, the second orientation is approximately perpendicular to the first orientation (two perpendicular orientations of the device necessarily result in the claimed configuration), the access structure including a plurality of first surfaces extending from a base of the container and defining steps extending from above the level of the bait and into the bait containing space with the bait packet in the first orientation (see fig 9).
Regarding claim 2, King discloses:
The bait packet of claim 1, wherein the container has an access opening extending through the container into the bait containing space in an open state of the bait packet, the access structure has a first end positioned at the access opening (see fig 9).
Regarding claim 3, King discloses:
The bait packet of claim 2, wherein the container has a tab enclosing the access opening and sealing the bait containing space in a closed state of the bait packet (see fig 9).
Regarding claim 4, King discloses:
The bait packet of claim 3, wherein the tab is integrally formed with the container and is removable by breaking or cutting to change the bait packet from the closed state into the open state (see fig 9).
Regarding claim 6, King discloses:
The bait packet of claim 2, wherein the access structure has a second surface connecting an end of the first surfaces opposite the base (see fig 10, ref 150).
Regarding claim 7, King discloses:
The bait packet of claim 6, wherein the first portion of the access structure includes a subset of the first surfaces and a part of the second surface (see at least fig 9).
Regarding claim 8, King discloses:
The bait packet of claim 6, wherein the second portion of the access structure includes an entirety of the second surface (see at least fig 10).
Regarding claim 11, King discloses:
The bait packet of claim 6, wherein the second surface has a width that is greater than half of a width of the access opening (see fig 10).
Regarding claim 12, King discloses:
The bait packet of claim 1, wherein the container includes a base and a cover attached to the base to form the bait containing space, the access structure extends from the base into the bait containing space (see figs 9 and 10 and ref 12).
Regarding claim 13, King discloses:
The bait packet of claim 12, wherein the base is a translucent or transparent material (see col 2, lines 35-38).
Regarding claim 14, King discloses:
The bait packet of claim 13, wherein the cover is an opaque material (see at least fig 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is found in the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD G DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644