DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/02/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
FIG. 12: Although this figure includes the label I1, this label does not appear in the specification.
FIG. 23: Although this figure includes the label 24B, this label does not appear in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 12, 14, 15, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 12, as written it reads “further comprising an actuator includes a coil and a first magnet unit”. However, to be grammatically correct, “which” should be added between “actuator” and “includes” (underlined above).
Regarding claim 14, as written it reads “wherein the frame includes a first and a second rails; and a through passage that be formed at a position facing the first and the second rails through a center axis of the frame”. However, to be grammatically correct, the examiner believes that “rail” should be added between “first” and “and” (underlined above) and “rails” after “second” should be “rail”. Furthermore, the examiner believes that the phrase “that be formed” should be “that is formed”.
Regarding claim 15, as written it reads “[…] wherein the coils aligned along the optical axis”. However, to be grammatically correct it should read “wherein the coils are aligned along the optical axis”.
Regarding claim 19, as written it reads “a second recces”. However, to correct the typo, “recces” should be “recess”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: optical unit in claims 1-20, the lens unit in claim 1, the first magnet unit in claims 12 and 13, the second magnet unit in claim 13, the magnet unit in claim 14.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. That being said, the optical unit is described in the specification when it states “FIG. 1 is a perspective view illustrating a configuration of an optical unit according to a first embodiment of the disclosure” [0005]; “An optical unit 1 includes a fixing portion (lens unit) 2, the movable portion 3 that can move with respect to the fixing portion 2, and a voice coil motor 10 that generates a driving force to move the movable portion 3 with respect to the fixing portion 2. In the following, an example in which an axis C passing through the optical unit 1 coincides with an optical axis of the optical unit 1 will be explained. Hereinafter, an opposite side to an object side in a direction of the axis C can be referred to as image side. In the optical unit 1 illustrated in FIG. 1, the left side can be the object side, and the right side can be the image side” [0009]. Therefore, it is clear what structures are included within the optical unit. Thus, claims 1-20 are not subject to further rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) with respect to the term “optical unit”.
Furthermore, the lens unit is described in the specification when it states “The optical unit 1 can comprise the lens unit including the fixed lens Gb and the movable lens” [0010]. Therefore, it is clear what structures are included within the lens unit. Thus, claim 1 is not subject to further rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) with respect to the term “lens unit”.
Additionally, the first magnet unit is described in the specification when it states “The actuator can include 10 the coil 11 and a first magnet unit 12, the actuator 10 can be configured to move the movable portion 3 relative to the frame 20 in a direction of the optical axis. The first magnet unit 12 can include three sets of magnets 12, each set of magnets 20 can include a first magnet and a second magnet arranged on different outer peripheral surfaces of the movable portion 3” [0031]. Therefore, it is clear what structures are included within the first magnet unit. Thus, claims 12 and 13 are not subject to further rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) with respect to the term “first magnet unit”.
Furthermore, the second magnet unit is described in the specification when it states “Moreover, outside the housing portion 6, a housing groove 6a can be formed. In the housing groove 6a, a magnetic body (second magnet unit) 13, can be a biasing portion, can be provided. The magnetic body 13 attracts the magnet 12 with its magnetic force, thereby creating a biased state in which the movable portion 3 can be drawn toward the fixing-portion main body 20. The biasing portion can be not limited thereto, and it can be only necessary to draw the movable portion 3 toward the fixing-portion main body 20. For example, it may be a metal, such as iron” [0031]. Therefore, it is clear what structures are included within the second magnet unit. Thus, claim 13 is not subject to further rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) with respect to the term “second magnet unit”.
Additionally, the magnet unit is described in the specification when it states “The through passage 20a can house a part of the magnet unit 12” [0044]. Therefore, it appears that “the magnet unit” is intended to be the same as “the first magnet unit 12”, see [0031]). The examiner would recommend clarifying if this assumption is correct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, as written it reads “The optical unit according to claim 12, wherein the frame includes a first and a second rails that guide movement of the first and the second sliders, and a through passage that be formed at a position facing the first and the second rails through a center axis of the frame, and wherein the through passage houses a part of the magnet unit”. However, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the term “the magnet unit”. Therefore, it is unclear whether this magnet unit is the same as, or different from the “first magnet unit” recited in claim 12 on which this claim depends.
Regarding claim 20, as written it reads “The optical unit according to claim 1, wherein the first recess has a first length in a direction of the optical axis, wherein the second recess has a second length in the direction of the optical axis, and wherein the first length is larger than the second length”. However, the examiner notes that claim 1, as written does not recite “a first recess” or “a second recess”, thus, there is a lack of antecedent basis for these terms. Therefore, it is unclear what is being referred to by the terms “the first recess” and “the second recess”. The examiner notes that claim 19, recites “a first recess” and “a second recess”. Therefore, the examiner would suggest clarifying whether these are the same recesses as disclosed in claim 20. If they are the same, the examiner would recommend updating claim 20 to be dependent from claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito US 2018/0292641 A1 “Ito” and further in view of Wataya et al. US 2017/0265729 A1 “Wataya” and Iwasaki JP 2015060058 A “Iwasaki”.
Regarding claim 1, Ito teaches “An optical unit, comprising:” (“An optical unit 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 to FIG. 4 includes a fixing portion 2, a moving portion 3 capable of moving with respect to the fixing portion 2, a voice coil motor 10 that generates a driving force for moving the moving portion 3 with respect to the fixing portion 2” [0032]. Therefore, Ito discloses an optical unit (see FIGS. 1-4). The examiner notes that FIG. 19 illustrates an optical unit 1A according to a first modification of the first embodiment. Therefore, the components of FIG. 19 also represent an optical unit.);
“a lens unit including a fixed lens and a movable lens” (“The fixing portion 2 includes a fixing portion main body 20; a front frame portion 4 that holds an object-side fixed lens group Gf on the side closer to the object side than a moving lens group Gv held by the moving portion 3 and that is attached to the object side of the fixing portion main body 20; and a rear frame portion 5 that holds an image-side fixed lens group Gb on the side closer to the image side than the moving lens group Gv and that is attached to the image side of the fixing portion main body 20” [0033]. As shown in FIG. 1, the fixing portion 2 includes the front frame portion 4 which holds the object-side fixed lens group Gf and the rear frame portion 5 which holds an image-side fixed lens group Gb with the moving lens group Gv located therebetween in the moving portion 3. Therefore, the fixing portion 2 represents a lens unit including a fixed lens (i.e. object-side fixed lens group Gf for example) and a movable lens (i.e. moving lens group Gv).);
“a frame” (See front frame portion 4 and rear frame portion 5 as discussed in [0033] above. Therefore, the optical unit of Ito includes a frame.);
“wherein the fixed lens is located in a distal section of the frame” (See object-side fixed lens group Gf as discussed in [0033]. As shown in FIG. 1, the front frame portion 4 containing the object-side fixed lens group Gf is located on the distal section (i.e. object side) of the device (i.e. optical unit 1). Therefore, the fixed lens is located at a distal section of the frame (i.e. within front frame portion 4).);
“a movable portion located inside the frame, wherein the movable lens is located in the movable portion and wherein the movable portion is movable relative to the frame along an optical axis of the optical unit between a biased state and an unbiased state” (See moving portion 3 as discussed in [0033] above; FIG. 1; “Hereinafter, the central axis of the moving portion 3 is also referred to as the axis C. The reason for this is that the central axis of the moving portion 3 matches the central axis of the fixing portion main body 20 at the time of assembly” [0047]; “An optical unit 1A illustrated in FIG. 19 includes the fixing portion 2, the moving portion 3 capable of moving with respect to the fixing portion 2, the voice coil motor 10 (see FIG. 1, etc.) that generates a driving force that moves the moving portion 3 with respect to the fixing portion 2, and a biasing member 6 that biases, by attracting the moving portion 3 to the fixing portion 2 side, the moving portion 3 in the direction in which the moving portion 3 approaches the fixing portion 2.” [0098]. Therefore, since the biasing member 6 attracts the moving portion 3 to the fixing portion 2, the optical unit includes a movable portion (i.e. moving portion 3) located inside the frame (i.e. fixing portion 2), wherein the movable lens (i.e. moving lens group Gv) is located in the movable portion and wherein the movable portion is movable relative to the frame along an optical axis of the optical unit between a biased state (i.e. closer to the fixing portion 2) and an unbiased state (i.e. farther from the fixing portion 2).);
“a first slider slidably arranged in a space between the frame and the movable portion” (“FIG. 5 is a perspective view illustrating the configuration of the fixing portion main body 20. The fixing portion main body 20 illustrated in FIG. 5 is formed by a cylindrical shaped member with a predetermined axis C as the center. The fixing portion main body 20 includes a tube portion 21 with the axis C as the central axis” [0034]; “The inner surface of the tube portion 21 other than the lightening portions 21a in the radial direction is a cylindrical surface and forms a fixing-side sliding surface 24 that guides and supports the moving portion 3. The fixing-side sliding surface 24 has a shape of being divided in the circumferential direction by the lightening portions 21a” [0035]. Thus, since the inner surface of the tube portion 21 forms a fixed-side sliding surface 24 that guides an supports the moving portion 3 (i.e. the movable portion), the optical unit includes a first slider slidably arranged in a space between the frame (i.e. the fixing portion main body 20 of the fixing portion 2) and the movable portion (i.e. moving portion 3).).
However, Ito does not teach “a stopper arranged in the space, the stopper made of a non-metal material”, “wherein, in the biased state: the stopper is spaced apart from the frame”, and “wherein, in the unbiased state: the stopper contacts the frame”.
Wataya is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves an image pickup unit featuring fixed lenses and a moving lens which can be used within an endoscope (see [Abstract] and FIG. 1).
Wataya teaches “a stopper arranged in the space, […], “wherein, in the biased state: the stopper is spaced apart from the frame”, and “wherein, in the unbiased state: the stopper contacts the frame” (“a correction frame fixed in the fixed frame, configured to house the moving frame such that the moving frame can advance and retract, including a stopper configured to abut the moving frame to restrict movement in one direction of the photographing optical axis, and being adjustable to realize one of focal lengths of the observation optical system” [0012]; “Therefore, the operation rod 65a moves to a position abutting the front stopper 60. Along with the movement of the operation rod 65a, the moving lens frame 65 causes the moving lens 66 to move to an advance position for realizing a preset first focal length (for example, first optical characteristic of wide) (see FIG. 3)” [0082].
In this case, since the operation rod 65a causes the front stopper 60 to move (i.e. by abutting thereto) such that the moving lens frame 65 can advance the moving lens 66 to an advance position (i.e. a present first focal length), the abutting of the operation rod 65a causes the front stopper 60 be in a biased state in which the front stopper 60 is spaced apart from the frame to allow the moving lens 66 to advance. Likewise, when the operation rod 65a is not abutting the front stopper 60, the front stopper 60 is within an unbiased state in which the front stopper 60 contacts the frame, thereby preventing/restricting the movement of the moving frame 65 and consequently the moving lens.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a stopper as disclosed in Wataya in order to effectively restrict the movement of the movement of the moving frame and thus the moving lens in order to realize a preset first focal length (see Wataya: [0012]; [0082]). A stopper is one of a finite number of devices which can be used to restrict movement of components with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a stopper as disclosed in Wataya would yield the predictable result of effectively restricting the movement of the movement of the moving frame and thus the moving lens in order to realize a preset first focal length (see Wataya: [0012]; [0082]).
Ito in view of Wataya does not teach “the stopper made of a non-metal material”.
Iwasaki is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves an optical unit that enables a moving body to be disposed and held at a predetermined position without electrifying a coil at all times (see [Abstract]).
Iwasaki teaches that “the stopper made of a non-metal material” (“As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the optical unit 10 includes an optical unit frame 11, a diaphragm member 12, a blade member 13, a first stopper member 14a, a second stopper member 14b, a shaft portion 15” [Page 14, Lines 11-12]; “The first stopper member 14a and the second stopper member 14b are made of resin, for example” [Page 14, Line 34]. Therefore, since the first stopper member 14a and the second stopper member 14b, included within the optical unit 10, are made of resin, the stopper (i.e. combination of members 14a and 14b) is made of a non-metal material.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito in view of Wataya such that the stopper is made of a non-metal material as disclosed in Iwasaki in order to ensure the durability of the stopper. Materials, such as resin, can be utilized within a device repeatedly before wearing down, with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a stopper made of resin within an optical system to ensure durability. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito in view of Wataya such that the stopper is made of a non-metal material as disclosed in Iwasaki would yield the predictable result of ensuring the durability of the stopper.
Regarding claim 2, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Wataya further teaches “wherein the stopper has a shape identical to the first slider” (See [0012] and [0082] as discussed in claim 1 above. In order for the stopper to be able to abut the moving frame (i.e. containing the moving lens) to restrict its movement along a photographing optical axis of the observation optical system (i.e. such as the first slider/fixing-side sliding surface 24 of Ito: [0035]), the stopper must have a shape identical to the first slider, such that it fits within it. Therefore, the stopper has a shape identical to the first slider in order to ensure that it can restrict movement of the moving frame/moving lens.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a stopper, wherein the stopper has a shape identical to the first slider (i.e. fixing-side sliding surface 24 of Ito, for example) as disclosed in Wataya in order to effectively restrict the movement of the movement of the moving frame and thus the moving lens in order to realize a preset first focal length (see Wataya: [0012]; [0082]). A stopper is one of a finite number of devices which can be used to restrict movement of components with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a stopper with a shape identical to the first slider (i.e. fixing-side sliding surface 24 of Ito, for example) as disclosed in Wataya would yield the predictable result of effectively restricting the movement of the movement of the moving frame and thus the moving lens in order to realize a preset first focal length (see Wataya: [0012]; [0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above, and Ito further teaches that “the first slider” is “made of a first material” (See [0034] and [0035] as discussed in claim 1 above, and “Consequently, from among the members in the fixing portion 2, the member whose distance from the magnet 12 is small and that is affected by the attraction force is preferably formed by using a non-magnetic material. If so, it is possible to ideally make the attraction force between the magnet 12 and the member zero. As a non-magnetic material, for example, a metallic material, such as austenitic stainless steel, aluminum, titanium, copper, copper alloy, or a resin material, such as polyether ether ketone (PEEK), polyacetal, polycarbonate, and polyimide, may be used” [0072]. As shown in FIG. 5, the fixing-side sliding surface 24 (i.e. first slider) is included within the fixing portion main body 20 of the fixing portion 2. Since members of the fixing portion 2 are ideally formed of a non-magnetic material such as a resin material and the fixing-side sliding surface 24 is one such member of the fixing portion 2, the first slider is made of a first material.).
Iwasaki further teaches “wherein the stopper” is “made of a first material” (See [Page 14, Line 34] as discussed in claim 1 above.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a first slider and a stopper which are made of a first material (i.e. resin) in order to ensure that these components of the optical unit are minimally affected by the attraction force produced by a magnet (see Ito: [0072]). Materials, such as resin, are durable and are less affected by attraction forces caused by magnets with a system. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize resin to form the first slider and the stopper in order to ensure that these components are not impacted by magnetic forces and therefore, can provide stable positioning of a moving lens with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a first slider and a stopper which are made of a first material (i.e. resin) would yield the predictable result of ensuring that these components of the optical unit are minimally affected by the attraction force produced by a magnet (see Ito: [0072]) and thus can provide stable positioning of the moving lens.
Regarding claim 5, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 4 above, and Ito and Iwasaki further teaches “wherein the first material is a resin or a ceramic” (See Ito: [0072] as discussed in claim 4 and Iwasaki: [Page 14, Line 34] as discussed in claim 1.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a first slider and a stopper which are made of a first material (i.e. resin) in order to ensure that these components of the optical unit are minimally affected by the attraction force produced by a magnet (see Ito: [0072]). Materials, such as resin, are durable and are less affected by attraction forces caused by magnets with a system. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize resin to form the first slider and the stopper in order to ensure that these components are not impacted by magnetic forces and therefore, can provide stable positioning of a moving lens with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a first slider and a stopper which are made of a first material (i.e. resin) would yield the predictable result of ensuring that these components of the optical unit are minimally affected by the attraction force produced by a magnet (see Ito: [0072]) and thus can provide stable positioning of the moving lens.
Regarding claim 6, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Ito further teaches “wherein the movable portion is in a first position in the biased state, and in a second position in the unbiased state, and wherein the first position is closer to the distal section of the frame than the second position” (See [0098] as discussed in claim 1 above, and “According to the first modification described above, because an attraction force due to magnetism is applied between the biasing member 6 and the magnet 12 formed of magnetic materials and the magnet 12 is attracted to the biasing member 6 side, by suppressing a deviation of the position of the moving portion 3 that is in the fixing portion main body 20 and that is on the plane orthogonal to the direction of the axis C, it is possible to suppress the inclination of the moving portion 3 with respect to the fixing portion main body 20, thus improving driving stability” [0102]; “further comprising a biasing member that biases the moving portion in a direction toward the fixing portion main body by applying an attraction force due to magnetism between the biasing member and the magnetic portion” [Claim 12]. As shown in FIG. 1, the fixing portion main body 20 is located toward the distal end (i.e. object side) of the optical unit 1. Therefore, since the biasing member 6 biases the moving portion (i.e. moving portion 3) in a direction toward the fixing portion main body (i.e. 20) by applying an attraction force, the fixing portion main body 20 being located closer to the distal section of the frame (i.e. fixing portion 2), the movable portion is in a first position in the biased state (i.e. when attraction force is applied), and in a second position in the unbiased state (i.e. when attraction force is not applied), and wherein the first position is closer to the distal section of the frame than the second position (i.e. moving portion 3 is moved closer to the fixing portion main body 20).).
Regarding claim 7, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Ito further teaches “wherein the movable portion contacts the frame in the biased state, and the movable portion is spaced apart from the frame in the unbiased state” (See [0033] and [0035] as discussed in claim 1 above and [Claim 12] as discussed in claim 6 above. In this case, in order for the moving portion 3 to move along the fixing-side sliding surface 24 (see [0035], i.e. included within the fixing portion main body of the fixing portion 2/frame, see FIG. 1, [0033]), toward the fixing portion main body 20 (see FIG. 1) when the biasing member 6 applies an attraction force thereto (See [Claim 12]), the movable portion must contact the frame (i.e. via the fixing-side sliding surface 24) in the biased state. Conversely, when the biasing member 6 does not apply an attraction force, the moving portion 3 does not move along the fixing-side sliding surface 24, thus, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the movable portion is spaced apart from the frame in the unbiased state (i.e. in which no attraction force is applied by the biasing member 6). Therefore, the movable portion contacts the frame (i.e. via the fixing-side sliding surface 24) in the biased state, and the movable portion (i.e. 3) is spaced apart from the frame (i.e. via the fixing-side sliding surface 24) in the unbiased state.).
Regarding claim 8, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Wataya further teaches “wherein, in a direction of movement of the movable portion, the stopper is arranged on both sides of the movable portion” (“As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the moving lens position correction frame 47 includes plate-shaped guide portions 60c on both side parts, the guide portions 60c extended along the slit 61 in the proximal end direction from the front stopper 60 and straightly guiding the moving lens frame 65 of the moving lens unit 48. Concave portions 47b for potting a resin (adhesive) are formed on outer surfaces of the guide portions 60c” [0099]. As shown in FIG. 6, the front stopper 60 connects with both side parts of the plate-shaped guide portions 60c of the moving lens position correction frame 47. Therefore, in a direction of movement of the movable portion, the stopper is arranged on both sides of the movable portion (i.e. both side parts of the plate-shaped guide portions 60c).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a stopper which is arranged on both sides of the movable portion as disclosed in Wataya in order to ensure that the stopper provides effective restriction of movement of the moving frame. Including a stopper which is arranged on both sides of the movable portion is one of a finite number of configurations which can be used to restrict movement thereof with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a stopper which is arranged on both sides of the movable portion as disclosed in Wataya would yield the predictable result of ensuring that the stopper provides effective restriction of movement of the moving frame.
Regarding claim 9, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Ito further teaches “further comprising: a second slider slidably arranged in the space between the frame and the movable portion, wherein the second slider is configured to slidably move along with a movement of the movable portion” (See Ito: [0035] as discussed in claim 1 above. In this case, since the fixing-side sliding surface 24 is divided into multiple parts by the lightening portions 21a, these lightening portions 21a form multiple sliders including a second slider slidable arranged in the space between the frame (i.e. fixing portion 2) and the movable portion (i.e. moving portion 3), wherein the second slider is configured to slidably move along with a movement of the movable portion.).
Regarding claim 11, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 9 above, and Ito further teaches “wherein the first slider includes a first sub-slider and a second sub-slider, the first sub-slider spaced apart from the second sub-slider in a direction of the optical axis, and wherein the first sub-slider, the second sub-slider, and the second slider are arranged such that a center of gravity of the movable portion is located within a triangle formed by connecting centers of gravity of the first sub-slider, the second sub-slider, and the second slider” (See [0035] as discussed in claim 1 above, and “By making the fixing-side sliding surface 24 of the fixing portion main body 20 contact with the moving-side sliding surface 31c of the moving portion 3, it is possible to move the moving portion 3 in a state in which the moving portion 3 is always brought into contact with the fixing portion main body 20 and it is possible to suppress the inclination of the moving portion 3 with respect to the fixing portion 2, whereby it is possible to accurately move the moving portion 3” [0067]. As shown in FIG. 5, the fixing portion main body 20 includes the four lightening portions 21a between the fixing-side sliding surface 24. Therefore, these lightening portions 21a form the first slider which includes a first sub-slider and a second sub-slider, the first sub-slider spaced apart from the second sub-slider in a direction of the optical axis (i.e. axis C), wherein the first sub-slider, the second sub-slider, and the second slider are arranged such that a center of gravity (i.e. corresponding to the axis C, see FIG. 5) of the movable portion (i.e. moving portion 3) is located within a triangle formed by connecting centers of gravity of the first sub-slider, the second sub-slider, and the second slider.).
Regarding claim 12, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 9 above, and Ito further teaches “further comprising an actuator includes a coil and a first magnet unit, the actuator configured to move the movable portion relative to the frame in a direction of the optical axis” (See voice coil motor 10 in [0032] as discussed in claim 1 above, and “a voice coil motor configured to move the moving portion along a direction of the optical axis relative to the fixing portion main body, the voice coil motor including a magnetic portion that is arranged in the moving portion and that has been magnetized in a direction intersecting an optical axis of the object-side fixed lens group, and a coil that is arranged in the fixing portion main body and that is located on an outer side of the fixing portion main body in the radial direction with respect to the magnetic portion” [0004]; “The voice coil motor 10 includes, as illustrated in FIG. 3, the coil 11 arranged in the fixing portion main body 20 in the fixing portion 2 and the magnet 12 (magnetic portion) that is arranged in the moving portion 3 such that the magnet 12 is opposite the coil 11.” [0057]. Therefore, the optical unit further comprises an actuator (i.e. voice coil motor 10) which includes a coil (i.e. 11) and a first magnet unit (i.e. magnet 12), the actuator configured to move the movable portion relative to the frame (i.e. fixing portion 2) in a direction of the optical axis (i.e. axis C, see FIG. 1).);
“wherein the first magnet unit includes three sets of magnets, each set of magnets including a first magnet and a second magnet arranged on different outer peripheral surfaces of the movable portion” (“The magnet 12 includes, as illustrated in FIGS. 1 to 3, inside the flat surface portions 11ap of the first coil 11a and the flat surface portions 11bp of the second coil 11b, four prism shaped first magnets 12a and four prism shaped second magnets 12b that are opposite the flat surface portions 11ap and 11bp, respectively, and that are arranged side by side in the direction of the axis C” 0060]. As shown in FIG. 1, these four first magnets 12a and four second magnets 12b are arranged on the moving portion 3 (i.e. at 90° angles relative to each other). Therefore, the first magnet unit (i.e. 12) includes three sets of magnets (i.e. 12a/12b), each set of magnets including a first magnet and a second magnet arranged on different outer peripheral surfaces of the movable portion (i.e. moving portion 3).); and
“wherein, in each set of magnets, the first magnet and the second magnet are respectively magnetized in a radial direction of the movable direction, and magnetic poles of the first magnet and the second magnet face in opposite directions” (“As illustrated in FIGS. 11 and 12, the first magnets 12a and the second magnets 12b that are paired in the direction of the axis C are separately arranged. Each of the set of the first magnets 12a and the set of the second magnets 12b is polarized in the radial direction and the magnetic poles are inversely polarized each other” [0063]. Therefore, in each set of magnets, the first magnet and the second magnet are respectively magnetized in a radial direction of the movable direction (i.e. magnets 12a and 12b are polarized in the radial direction), and magnetic poles of the first magnet and the second magnet face in opposite directions (i.e. magnetic poles are inversely polarized).).
Regarding claim 13, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 12 above, and Ito further teaches “further comprising a second magnet unit arranged radially outside the movable portion, the second magnet unit configured to cause the first magnet unit to generate a magnetic force that places the movable portion in the biased state, wherein the first slider is located where a rotational moment around the first slider is generated in the movable portion by the magnetic force” (See [0098] and [0035] as discussed in claim 1 above, and “The biasing member 6 has a band shape formed by using a ferromagnetic substance member and attracts the moving portion 3 to the fixing portion main body 20 side. As the ferromagnetic substance, iron, nickel, cobalt, or an alloy mainly made of iron and nickel or cobalt may be used. In the first modification, it is assumed that the biasing member 6 extends in the direction of the axis C. One end of the biasing member 6 in the longitudinal direction is fixed on the side surface of the front frame portion 4 and the other end of the biasing member 6 is fixed to the side surface of the fixing portion main body 20.” [0099]; “In the optical unit 1A, the attraction force due to magnetism acts between the biasing member 6 and the magnet 12 and the magnet 12 is attracted to the biasing member 6 side. Consequently, it is possible to adjust the position of the moving portion 3 that is in the fixing portion main body 20 and that is on the plane orthogonal to the direction of the axis C and it is possible to suppress a shift of the position of the moving portion 3 on the subject plane” [0100].
Therefore, since the biasing member 6 includes a band shape formed using a ferromagnetic substance member that to attract the magnet 12 (i.e. within the moving portion 3) in order to adjust the position of the moving portion 3 in the direction of the fixing portion main body 20 (see [0100], FIG. 1), the optical unit includes a second magnet unit (i.e. within biasing member 6) arranged radially outside the movable portion (i.e. moving portion 3), the second magnet unit configured to cause the first magnet unit (i.e. magnet 12, see FIG. 1) to generate a magnetic force that places the movable portion in the biased state. Additionally, since the fixing-side sliding surface 24 guides and supports the moving portion 3 (see [0035]) when the biasing member 6 provides a magnetic force to the magnet 12 (i.e. on the moving portion 3), the first slider is located where a rotational moment around the first slider is generated in the movable portion by the magnetic force.).
Regarding claim 14, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 12 above, and Ito further teaches “wherein the frame includes a first and a second rails that guide movement of the first and the second sliders, and a through passage that be formed at a position facing the first and the second rails through a center axis of the frame, and wherein the through passage houses a part of the magnet unit” (See [0035] as discussed in claim 1 above, and “A groove 23c is formed on the fixing-side sliding surface 24 so as to protrude inward and outward than the image-side thick portion 23 in the radial direction. When the moving portion 3 is assembled, a magnet 12, which will be described later, passes through the groove 23c. Consequently, it is possible to smoothly construct the moving portion 3 with respect to the fixing portion main body 20” [0036]. As shown in FIG. 5, the fixing portion main body 20 includes the fixing-side sliding surface 24 which itself include multiple sections as a result of the presence of lightening portions 21a. The groove 23c is formed on the fixing-side sliding surface 24 (i.e. including multiple sections) to allow the moving portion 3 to travel therethrough. Therefore, the frame includes a first and a second rails (i.e. corresponding to grooves 23c) that guide movement of the first and second sliders, and a through passage that is formed at a position facing the first and the second rails through a center axis of the frame (i.e. cylindrical opening within the fixing portion main body 20, see FIG. 5), wherein the through passage houses a part of the magnet unit (i.e. 12, as it passes through the groove 23c).).
Regarding claim 16, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Ito further teaches “An endoscope for insertion into an inside of a subject to observe an inside of the subject, the endoscope comprising:” (“FIG. 24 is a diagram illustrating the configuration of an endoscope system provided with an endoscope according to a second embodiment. An endoscope system 100 illustrated in FIG. 24 includes an endoscope 90, a control device 94, and a display device 96. The endoscope 90 includes the optical units 1 and 1A according to the first embodiment and the modifications described above. In the second embodiment, a description will be given with the assumption that, for example, the optical unit 1 according to the first embodiment is included” [0108]; “The imaging unit 80 includes the optical unit 1 that condenses light from the object of shooting and an image sensor that photoelectrically converts the light condensed by the optical unit 1 and that outputs the light” [0111]. Therefore, Ito discloses an endoscope for insertion into an inside of a subject to observe an inside of the subject.);
“the optical unit according to claim 1” (See [0108] above as well as Ito: [0032], [0033], [0034], [0035], [0047], [0098]; Wataya: [0012], [0082]; and Iwasaki: [Page 4, Lines 11-12] and [Page 14, Line 34]);
“an imaging device configured to convert light guided by the optical unit into an electrical signal” (“The control device 94 includes a drive control unit 94a that controls the curved state of the curved section 91b, an image control unit 94b that controls the imaging unit 80, and a light source control unit 94c that controls a light source device (not illustrated). The control device 94 includes a processor, such as a central processing unit (CPU), and performs overall control of the endoscope system 100.” [0115]; “The image control unit 94b is electrically connected to the imaging unit 80 and the operating unit 92 via the electrical wire. The image control unit 94b performs drive control of voice coil motor 10 included in the imaging unit 80 and performs a process on an image captured by the imaging unit 80. The image processed by the image control unit 94b is displayed by the display device 96.” [0117]. Therefore, since the control device 94 includes an image control unit 94b that controls the imaging unit 80 and performs a process on the image captured by the imaging unit 80, such that the image is displayed by the display device 96 (see FIG. 24), the endoscope includes an imaging device (i.e. image control unit 94b) configured to convert light guided by the optical unit into an electrical signal.); and
“a controller configured to control driving of the optical unit” (See [0115]; “The drive control unit 94a includes an actuator and is mechanically connected to the operating unit 92 and the curved section 91b via the wire. The drive control unit 94a controls the curved state of the curved section 91b by moving forward and backward the wire” [0116]. Therefore, since the control device 94 includes a drive control unit 94a to control the curved section 91b (i.e. to which the imaging unit 80/optical unit 1 is attached, see [0111] and FIG. 24)) via the wire and the control device 94 includes the image control unit 94b to perform drive control of voice coil motor 10 included in the imaging unit 80 (i.e. optical unit), the endoscope includes a controller configured to control driving of the optical unit.).
Regarding claim 17, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Ito further teaches “wherein the first slider is located at a first position in a direction of the optical axis” (See [0035] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. As shown in FIG. 5, the fixing-side sliding surface 24 (i.e. first slider) is located within the fixing portion main body 20 (i.e. located within the fixing portion 2, see FIG. 1) and faces the axis C (i.e. optical axis). Therefore, the first slider (i.e. fixing-side sliding surface 24) is located at a first position (i.e. within the fixing portion main body 20) in a direction of the optical axis (i.e. axis C).);
Wataya teaches that “the stopper is located at a second position in the direction of the optical axis” (See [0012] and [0082] as discussed in claim 1 above. Therefore, since the stopper is configured to abut the moving frame to restrict movement in one direction of the photographic optical axis, the stopper is located at a second position in the direction of the optical axis.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a stopper which is located at a second position in the direction of the optical axis as disclosed in Wataya in order to effectively restrict the movement of the movement of the moving frame and thus the moving lens in order to realize a preset first focal length (see Wataya: [0012]; [0082]). A stopper is one of a finite number of devices which can be used to restrict movement of components with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a stopper which is located at a second position in the direction of the optical axis as disclosed in Wataya would yield the predictable result of effectively restricting the movement of the movement of the moving frame and thus the moving lens in order to realize a preset first focal length (see Wataya: [0012]; [0082]).
Regarding claim 18, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Wataya further teaches “wherein the first slider is distally located relative to the stopper in a direction of the optical axis” (See [0099] as discussed in claim 8 above. As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the front stopper 60 is connected to the plate-shaped guide portions 60c (i.e. first slider) on the moving lens position correction frame 47, wherein the plate-shaped guide portions 60c are located distally relative to the stopper (i.e. 60) in a direction of the optical axis (i.e. not shown, but existing within the opening within the rib 47a, see FIG. 5).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a stopper which is located at a second position in the direction of the optical axis, wherein the first slider is distally located relative to the stopper as disclosed in Wataya in order to effectively restrict the movement of the movement of the moving frame and thus the moving lens in order to realize a preset first focal length (see Wataya: [0012]; [0082]). A stopper is one of a finite number of devices which can be used to restrict movement of components with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a stopper which is located at a second position in the direction of the optical axis, wherein the first slider is distally located relative to the stopper, as disclosed in Wataya would yield the predictable result of effectively restricting the movement of the movement of the moving frame and thus the moving lens in order to realize a preset first focal length (see Wataya: [0012]; [0082]).
Regarding claim 19, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Ito further teaches “wherein the movable portion has a protrusion, and wherein the protrusion has a first recess and a second recces configured to respectively house the first slider […]” (“The outer circumferential portion 31 includes a tube portion 31a and two flange portions 31b that are formed at each of the end portions of the tube portion 31a in the direction of the axis C” [0048]; “Each of the flange portions 31b includes a moving-side sliding surface 31c formed of the outer circumferential surface thereof and a flat surface portion 31d formed at a part of the outer side of the flange portion 31b in the radial direction. In the case illustrated in FIG. 10, each of the flange portions 31b includes the four moving-side sliding surfaces 31c and the four flat surface portions 31d that are alternately arranged at equal spaces around the axis C along the circumferential direction” [0049]; “Each of level difference portions 31e that is formed inner side of the tube portion 31a in the radial direction and that has a flat shaped outer circumferential surface is provided between four sets of the flat surface portions 31d. At the center portion of the level difference portions 31e in the axis C formed between the four sets of the flat surface portions 31d, each of notches 31f that is formed by notching the surface of the tube portion 31a and that has a flat shaped outer circumference is provided” [0050]; “The moving portion 3 is inserted into the fixing portion main body 20 while the moving-side sliding surface 31c is brought into contact with the fixing-side sliding surface 24.” [0053].
As shown in FIG. 10, the flange portions 31b (i.e. of the moving portion 3) include moving-side sliding surfaces 31c and flat surface portions 31d (i.e. which together represent a protrusion) with the difference portions 31e (i.e. recesses) being present between each of the four moving-side surfaces 31C/flat surface portions 31d. Therefore, the movable portion (i.e. moving portion 3) has a protrusion (i.e. represented by moving-side surfaces 31C/flat) surface portions 31d, and wherein the protrusion has a first recess and a second recces (i.e. corresponding to the four difference portions 31e) configured to respectively house the first slider (i.e. the fixing-side sliding surface 24) […].);
Wataya further teaches “the stopper” (See [0012] and [0082] as discussed in claim 1 above.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit such that the movable portion includes the stopper as disclosed in Wataya and wherein, a second recess of the protrusion (i.e. of Ito) is configured to house the stopper in order to effectively restrict the movement of the movement of the moving frame and thus the moving lens in order to realize a preset first focal length (see Wataya: [0012]; [0082]). A stopper is one of a finite number of devices which can be used to restrict movement of components with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito such that it includes a stopper which is located at a second position in the direction of the optical axis, wherein the first slider is distally located relative to the stopper, as disclosed in Wataya would yield the predictable result of effectively restricting the movement of the movement of the moving frame and thus the moving lens in order to realize a preset first focal length (see Wataya: [0012]; [0082]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito US 2018/0292641 A1 “Ito” and further in view of Wataya et al. US 2017/0265729 A1 “Wataya” and Iwasaki JP 2015060058 A “Iwasaki” as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Alexander et al. JP-2010015164-A “Alexander”.
Regarding claim 3, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above. However, the combination of Ito, Wataya and Iwasaki does not teach “wherein the stopper is a ball bearing”.
Alexander is within a related field of endeavor to the claimed invention because it involves an endoscope 22 which includes a stopper (see [Page 9, Para. 2, Lines 8-9]).
Alexander teaches “wherein the stopper is a ball bearing” (“It is desirable to include a spring loaded ball bearing for the interface stopper” [Page 9, Para. 2, Lines 8-9]. Therefore, the stopper is a ball bearing.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki such that the stopper is a ball bearing as disclosed in Alexander in order to allow for movement of the movable portion to be restricted and thus secure the moving lens at a preset focal length (see Wataya: [0082]). A ball bearing is one of a finite number of devices which can be used to secure components of a device with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki such that the stopper is a ball bearing as disclosed in Alexander would yield the predictable result of allowing for movement of the movable portion to be restricted and thus secure the moving lens at a preset focal length (see Wataya: [0082]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito US 2018/0292641 A1 “Ito” and further in view of Wataya et al. US 2017/0265729 A1 “Wataya” and Iwasaki JP 2015060058 A “Iwasaki” as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wataya et al. US 2017/0290497 A1 “Wataya-2”.
Regarding claim 10, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 9 above, however, the combination does not teach “wherein the stopper is arranged on an opposite side of the movable portion from the first slider and the second slider”.
Wataya-2 is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves an image pickup unit with a movable lens and a stopper member (see [Abstract]).
Wataya-2 teaches “wherein the stopper is arranged on an opposite side of the movable portion from the first slider and the second slider” (“On the other hand, the retracted position of the movable lens 66 for realizing the second focal length is finely adjusted by, for example, adjusting the position in the photographing optical axis O direction of the stopper member 58 on the rear group lens barrel 57 using the adjustment ring 59 after the front group lens barrel 55 and the rear group lens barrel 57 are positioned and fixed. That is, when the retracted position of the movable lens 66 is adjusted, for example, as shown in FIG. 6, the stopper member 58 and the adjustment ring 59 are fit on the outer circumferential surface of the rear group lens barrel 57 positioned and fixed with respect to the front group lens barrel 55” [0076]; “In the present embodiment, the movable lens barrel 65 is disposed in the rear group lens barrel 57, which is the fixed barrel, and capable of advancing and retracting in the direction along the photographing optical axis O. An operation rod 65a projecting in an outer circumferential direction is provided in the movable lens barrel 65” [0068].
As shown in FIG. 6, the stopper member 59 is located on an opposite side of the movable portion from the movable lens barrel 65 (i.e. not shown, but attached to the operation rod 65a), the movable lens advancing and retracting along the photographing optical axis O (i.e. via first and second sliders, for example, see Ito: [0035]: fixing-side sliding surface 24, FIG. 5). Therefore, the stopper is arranged on an opposite side of the movable portion from the first slider and the second slider.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki such that the stopper is arranged on an opposite side of the movable portion from the first slider and the second slider as disclosed in Wataya-2 (see FIG. 6) in order to accurately position/fix the movable portion to a specific location. When a stopper is arranged on a side opposite a first slider and a second slider, the position of movable portion can be easily adjusted and secured with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki such that the stopper is arranged on an opposite side of the movable portion from the first slider and the second slider as disclosed in Wataya-2 (see FIG. 6) would yield the predictable result of accurately positioning/fixing the movable portion to a specific location.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito US 2018/0292641 A1 “Ito” and further in view of Wataya et al. US 2017/0265729 A1 “Wataya” and Iwasaki JP 2015060058 A “Iwasaki” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saito et al. US 2020/0116974 “Saito”.
Regarding claim 15, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Ito further teaches “further comprising: coils; […], wherein the coils aligned along the optical axis” (“The coil 11 includes, as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, a first coil 11a that is wound around the outer circumference of the tube portion 21 in the fixing portion main body 20 and a second coil 11b that is arranged next to the first coil 11a in the direction of the axis C and that is wound around the outer circumference of the tube portion 21 in the fixing portion main body 20” [0058]. Therefore, the optical unit further comprises coils (i.e. 11a and 11b) wherein the coils are aligned along the optical axis.).
However, the combination of Ito, Wataya and Iwasaki does not teach “a sensor”; “wherein the sensor is configured to output a detection signal to detect a position of the movable portion”.
Saito is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves an optical unit with a moving frame (see [Abstract]).
Saito teaches “a sensor”; and “wherein the sensor is configured to output a detection signal to detect a position of the movable portion” (“Note that to the fixed barrel 41, a position detection sensor 57 such as a Hall element configured to detect a back and forth moving position of the moving lens frame 35 is disposed (see FIG. 4-FIG. 7)” [0062]. Therefore, the optical unit further comprises a sensor (i.e. position detection sensor 57) which is configured to output a detection signal to detect a position of the movable portion (i.e. moving lens frame 35).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki such that it includes a sensor configured to output a detection signal to detect a position of the movable portion as disclosed in Saito in order to effectively distinguish the location of the moving lens (i.e. contained in the movable portion) when performing a measurement. Including a sensor, such as a Hall element within a position detection sensor, within a device is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to track positions of components, such as a moving lens, with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki such that it includes a sensor configured to output a detection signal to detect a position of the movable portion as disclosed in Saito would yield the predictable result of effectively distinguishing the location of the moving lens (i.e. contained in the movable portion) when performing a measurement.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito US 2018/0292641 A1 “Ito” and further in view of Wataya et al. US 2017/0265729 A1 “Wataya” and Iwasaki JP 2015060058 A “Iwasaki” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iguchi et al. US 2018/0031800 A1 “Iguchi”.
Regarding claim 20, Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Ito further teaches “wherein the first recess has a first length in a direction of the optical axis, wherein the second recess has a second length in the direction of the optical axis” (See [0050] as discussed in claim 19 above. As shown in FIG. 10, the level difference portions 31e extend from the flat surface portions 31d to the notches 31f along the axis C (i.e. the optical axis). Therefore, the first recess has a first length in a direction of the optical axis, and the second recess has a second length in the direction of the optical axis.) and
Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki does not teach “wherein the first length is larger than the second length”.
Iguchi is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves an optical unit with a movable member (see [Abstract]).
Iguchi teaches “wherein the first length is larger than the second length” (“In the cylinder 25, two first recessed portions 25a and one second recessed portion 25b are formed. Specifically, the two first recessed portions 25a are formed at positions 180° rotationally symmetrical with respect to the axis C, and the second recessed portion 25b is formed at the position rotated by 90° around the axis C from the two first recessed portions 25a. The surface on the radial-direction inner side of the cylinder 25 excluding the first recessed portions 25a and the second recessed portion 25b is a cylindrical surface and is a fixed-side sliding surface 28 for guiding and supporting the movable member 3B.” [0089]. As shown in FIG. 18, the first recessed portion 25a extends from the object-side thick portion 26 to the image-side thick portion 27, while second recessed portion 25b only extends within the first and second grooves 27c, 27d. Therefore, the length of the first recessed portion 25a (i.e. first recess) is larger than the second recessed portion 25b (i.e. second recess).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical unit of Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki such that the movable portion has a protrusion with a first recess with a first length and a second recess with a second length in the optical axis, wherein the first length is larger than the second length as disclosed in Iguchi in order to easily facilitate movement of the movable portion within the optical unit. Recesses of two different lengths enables the movable portion to move there along with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the optical unit of Ito in view of Wataya and Iwasaki such that the movable portion has a protrusion with a first recess with a first length and a second recess with a second length in the optical axis, wherein the first length is larger than the second length as disclosed in Iguchi would yield the predictable result of easily facilitating movement of the movable portion within the optical unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ichimura et al. US 2022/0183868 A1 “Ichimura” is pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because it discloses “As shown in FIG. 2, the medical tubular body delivery device 1 preferably has a stopper 5 for limiting the position of the medical tubular body 2 in the lumen of the outer tube 10 and pressing the medical tubular body 2 toward the distal side. When the medical tubular body delivery device 1 has the stopper 5, it is easy to release the medical tubular body 2 from the outer tube 10 and cause the medical tubular body 2 to indwell at the lesion site” [0105].
/KAITLYN E SEBASTIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797